(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

st,
I have attended. But I didnt seat through all the talks. Only the cordlife talk I finished. The rest is more for 1st MTB. Not much of the bazzar to buy from.

the weather is cooler than this morning. i was at home the whole day and watching tv while working. this morning was so stuffy and hot, cant imagine what will happen to me during the 1 month confinement as my MIL and mom told me i cannot expose myself to the aircon.. is it true?

Keron,

I think my MIL says Aircon is better than the fan direct at us. As long as we rembr to put on socks and blanket ourselves when we on the aircon.

Keron,
For me I do on the air-con at night day time just open the window.
When I have #1 is in Nov so not too bad as its raining very frequently. Don't about march weather think it will be hotter than now.

alfafa

Thanks for checking out the CB info. I asked the CordBlood agent all those questions stated in the ST editorial and he basically stated all not true. Now I read the article you linked here, I don't trust him man. If in the end, we spend all this $$ to store our own bb's cordblood and it's not much use to us, then really might as well donate to public.

He even told us that Asian CB is low supply in public banking as it's mostly in the West where CB is stored. He added that Caucasian CB may not be suitable for Asians. True or False?

My hubby was convinced to go private whereas I'm not.

Hope you can find out more, anyway. Cheers gal.

Daphne,
Left you haven't PM me for the email address. Better do so if you read my post.
Going to be no more stock soon as some mummies already email her direct liao.

Those of you planning to deliver at TMC, can anyone explain the huge cost variance between the maternity package shown in this link http://www.thomsonmedical.com/maternity_pkg.htm
compared to the hospital bill size shown in this one http://www.thomsonmedical.com/bill_size.htm. Hee, I actually posted this question here over the weekends, but probably u gals missed it...or did no one know why??

Jtho: I'm also looking for carseat that can last from newborn to at least 4yrs old. Interested to know where did u buy the carseat, brand and cost? Thks!

i sure die if no aircon....

kome, do let me know if you have received the bb stuffs, so tempted to buy the bb clothings now but also scared of the poor quality.

Keron&Jeris : Ya me too want to buy from babymallonline but want to know quality also .. buying on my own spree as troublesome to join the spree ..

My sister-in-law used to work for Cordlife and she has advised me to go public for cordblood banking for the 1st child. As usually, the 1st child will not be able to use back his own blood cells for treatment. Unless you have other children, would be advisable to invest & may come in use should any emergency arise. Like mentioned, if donate to public cordblood bank, can tap onto the pool to find a match.

Keron,
Sure, will update once i get it. I so anxious to see also, but no choice hb will only go to woodlands at wed.

oppsgal> most of the time, the child cannot use back his own blood cells as there would already be some deficiency at birth and that's why the child would develop the illness.

i attended the sat talk... but as i reach quite late only manage to catch the last 3 talks.. i enjoy the baby massage one.. didn't sign up with cordlife.. as me and hubby still think should we go private or public... anyway still early right?

We sign up during the talk because got discount on that day.

No idea that the child cannot use back own blood cells. The talk says can use for transplant.

That day wait until 1230pm still no food.. So hungry.

Oppsgal,
Yeah thats why I left after 1st speaker finished her talk. And I only interested to know about how codlife goes about blood banking. So after that I left to take lunch really hungry after 2plus. They should have the break earlier right.

wishaboy,

I dun hv FBI card. Let me wat's the diff interms of disc for those with FBI?

keron,

aircon is better than fan according to one of preg bks I hv read.. as long as aircon dun blow direct and keep it at 25 degree. I will die too if no aircon esp mar and apr is so warm.

st - ya... she gave me 3 pics of the baby.. one whole body... one sucking hands and one of the feet... hehe

winter/alfafa - how come u all so fast ah? i stil lvl 1 leh... hmmm... weird... u all use for 9 days for each level right?

fatfish if on air con dont wear socks & long pants can? i bth hot leh... i always wear singlet & shorts to sleep... even if i cold i wil jus cover with my comforter.. i wont wear long sleeve or long pants...

yiyi123,
that carseat can sit up to 4 yrs old.

missycandy/winter/alfafa,
i using babyplus oso. will start lvl 3 tomorrow.

Morning everyone!

Am in US now... Hb went to work..
It is 2:13pm here for me. JUst gotten over my jet lag.. Think bb also got jet lag cos the day after I arrived, she din move much... during the flight, she was moving a lot... think she must be exhausted from being disturbed by the noise of the plane. Heh

Babe,

Re: Pte vs Public Cordblood

My friend and her hb are both doctors in UK. She is still taking up specialisation while her hb is a PD. I wanted to take pte cordblood initially but my friend told me not to waste money and do public instead. Her reasons were exactly the same as in the ST article. The only thing is i am not sure abt the cost of using cordblood from public bank later if really (touchwood) need to use Cordblood. I think if the ST article is not true, Cordblood and Stemcord could have sued the newspapers or something. So do beware of salestalk. Ultimately, it is one's choice on whether pte or public.

Babe,

Wanted to add that even if there are really lesser asian cordblood, it should not matter. If we can use another same blood type blood for blood trasfusion, regardless or race, i dont think there is a problem looking for a match in cordblood for other races. Just my penny of thoughts. Would check with my friend on this when she comes online.

Asura
Do enjoy your trip. When will you be coming back? Since already in US must buy as many things as you can since its cheap over there. :p

Cordlife : Can below mummies pls do tell me who is firm and who is considering to sign up as without a firm no. of people signing up as grp very difficult to get the exact discount . As I see some of u like still considering and cannot make a decision and still waiting . I will set a dateline so it's easy for me to go negotiate for you all . Dateline will be 21 Nov 2008 to let me know who is firm and whether u have the FBI/SBI card .

<table border=1><tr><td>Name </TD><TD>Hospital </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>FBI / SBI </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wishaboy</TD><TD>Mt E </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>kome </TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasmine</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>Daphne </TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wintertime </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Qianqian82 Elicia</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yiyi123</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>misscandy </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sung</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>IIyena </TD><TD>Mt E </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fatfish</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>sinmey (sinmey) </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

missycandy,

where did u do your scan? did u reqested for the pics? so beside the 3 pics they also printed out the rest of it on the paper right??

Daphne,
Have email you her email address. Yes its for preggy mums to take. 30 capsules in 1 bottle and $26 per bottle exclude any postage cost.

Jasmine
I did not take the nerograin. I am taking the Natal care triplus purchase from my gynae one. Can keep till after delivery than continue to take it right?

st
u mean DS? i did at TMC last sat n she printed few pic for us to keep as memorable when my hb requested fr her...

Hi Sunshinebaby, yes... I just done my DS last friday and confirmed a princess...

We were hoping for a boy, coz my No 1 is a girl. So can close shop...

Thanks Kome. BTW, mummies, do you know if I have food poisoning, will it affect baby?? I have it on Saturday night... But Sunday night then see GP... Coz No doctor..

sunshinebaby

i also did my DS at TMC but forgotton to ask for pic to keep...the person only printed out the report togther with the pics(is printed on the paper).

so is must request one lor...else they will not print? so have asked since we pay so much $$$