(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

fish oil...

aiyah...i think i better go and buy the neurogain too.....coz i jut realised ( coz due to convenient i buy from my gynae brand EPAX) that it costs $70 /box.....when i saw some mummies said it's much cheaper.....

mums and babes...
yes i find that shop is quite good too at united sq..they are having sales now too...i managed to get most of the big items from there too...the sales person winnie is quite good at explanining..and also not that kind of pushy...i bought those items and requested to have them deliver to my in DEC and Jan..hehee they accomodated>...

jasmine...

oh...do you still have the offer for fish oil BP..??
please let me know...i'll be very delighted to be included..

thank you..

alfafa
reading ur post about durians really makes me want to grab one..and I do have one seed of durians left in my fridge..so quickly eat it just now

I think durians really boost weight..i also notice my bump is bigger and more obvious now that everyone start commenting on that..I did have some durians this week..I hope wont cause me diabetes..I only took 3 seeds on monday, 1 on thurs and another one just now...quite moderate rite?

I also notice that after eating durians, my bb keeps moving2..hee...does he like durians too...or is there any other reason? like..too heaty????

Hi Jasmine,
Thanks. Went to Kiddy Palace @CompassPoint but don't have MAMA LOVE playpen.

Hi Cindy,
Thanks. I thought can get Avent BPA-free bottle locally.
Actually I bought Medela storage bottles as it is BPA-free but quite expensive to buy more, so looking for other brand.

RE: Fish Oil
My gynae also prescribed me EPAX fish oil but the pill is so big that I have difficulty swallow it.
So, sometimes I take Neurogain instead as the pill is smaller. But EPAX's DHA is higher so will still take EPAX more often.

I attended yet another wedding dinner last night (2 days in a row!) and ate and ate and ate. Checked my weight this morning, am now 65kg!!!!! I started out being 56.5kg. So that's 8.5kg that I've piled on *faint* Everybody says I'll lose it but what if I dont???

miss83,
I wanna eat durians too but each time I see durians, I don't have enough cash with me! It's fate, I guess. Maybe it's nature's way of helping me keep off the extra weight gain! You know my baby moves alot too when I have lots of sugared/ sweet things to eat for the day. Could it be why you baby becomes more active? Cos your baby is high on sugar in the durian?

Daphne,
Thanks for the papaya milk shake recipe. I shall try that one day. Could even experiment with other fruits to make the milk supplement more fun to drink. Excellent idea!

sg - thanks! hee yup, i tink bb shares same tinking, we can't stand the doc haha. haha we jia you jia you k, try keep our weight within the range, else i guess got to just work harder during confinement to lose it. hee dun eat lesser k, coz bb still need the nutrients
haha i really avoid all sad shows, not watching the 9pm show at all. coz usually already emotional, watch already sure cry, no good for bb.

missycandy - your radiographer quite good, at least got explain after that. hee guess the pic would be really good memories for you after that hor, to see your bb sucking his thumb

i bot the bumwear package set - $245 for 6 diapers and 15 inserts + free 3 inserts. else the original price is $27 per diaper and $7 per inserts. we really want to use cloth diaper to help bb's buttock breath and lessen likelihood of getting nappy rash. haha can also save $ in the long run over using disposable diapers. so trying it out. can go take a look.

oh yeah, your list of potluck items looks great. haha we are also having a family gathering at our plc for christmas. but i'm too lazy to call for potluck or buffet food, got more cleaning up after tat. tink of only calling pizza! :p

caca - haha not sure leh, so far my gynae and the doc who did the scan, all said everything's normal, never mentioned if bb is too big or not. and no one asked me to cut down on food. actually, not really eating a lot more, just morn snack of apple and sometimes afternoon snack on bun/biscuits. hee i'm going to satisfy my durian craving so maybe next appt, will hear more from my gynae haha ;P

idlecat - i noticed marina sq KP has alot of mama love bb cots, not sure if they have mama love playpens though. their range different from toa payoh and compass point KP. hee dis are the usual KP i goes to.

hi mummies.. long time no log in .. looks like alot of us have gone thro' DS already. I did mine at 20wk +2d.. bb was 309g. I have not gained any wt - still trying to gain the wt i lost so now still below pre preg wt. But i think in 2 wks time shld catch up. some days I still vomit bags of water .. terrible.

Does anyone know if DS gives any indication of Down's risk? I recalled at glen E last time they did give an indication but not in TMC.

Gingal, you are my first sale leh. I don't have anymore Ralph Lauren baby stuff cos my friends already "chooped" them. Since it's the first sale here, I pay for your registered mail (it's SGD2.24 according to Singpost website). So you only need to pay $1.50 for the normal postage. I feel it' important to get registered mail becos I have ever bought stuff online but never receive them before. I don't think the seller lied to me that she sent the items. So I can only assume that things went missing during post. Alernatively, if you purchase one more item I'll deliver FOC i.e. no need to pay any postage at all.

I'll PM you my bank details. I'll also delist the item from ebay right away. Once you transfer the items I'll go to the post office the next day to send to you. Cheers!

Miss83, if I had only one seed I will make my hubby go out and buy more! Now my hubby also forbid me to eat durians, lucky my craving is over ... for now.

Jasmine, do you still have the lobang - neurgain DHA for pregnant ladies (not children)? $26 is very cheap. I want to join in if there is.

Joyce, SG,
In fact $28 for one bottle of 30 is cheap already. I bought mine from the NTUC Unity Pharmacy yesterday for $34+ ... $34.50 thereabouts.

SG, think you are better off buying from outside. $40 a bottle is quite exp. I also want to know where Joyce & Jasmine get their supplies.

Caca, I pronounce you safe. So don't need to worry anymore.

RE: Babyplus. Very happy with it so far. My baby appears to respond well to the "lessons" by kicking more. Sometimes when I am late for the lesson she will kick also. Am on the 3rd set of lessons to date.

RE: CORDBLOOD

Is anyone else going to donate their baby's cordblood to SIngapore public cord blood bank? I read in a ST editorial article that actually our own baby's cordblood is extremely unlikely to help said baby. More likely to help other family members. While donating to the public bank means you no longer hav ownership of your baby's cordblood, it also means that you are contributing to a national and global pool of cordblood ... and vice versa you could, in the future, tap into this massive pool should the need ever arise. Thought it makes sense to share something that can save people's life. My hubby and I will most likely take this route. The website for the national cord blood bank is this http://www.scbb.com.sg/

Cindy
Thanks for info. I will pop by tom since I will be at taka.Thanks

Sung
Think I am just worrying too much cos when I ask gynae he say its the normal size. I think onli when closer to due date than shall see.

Alfafa77
Haha Thanks.

alfafa
Re: Private vs Public Cord Blood Banking

My hubby and I just attended the BabyTalk yesterday @ Suntec. We spoke to a CordBlood agent there. I have read the ST editorial article you've mentioned a few
weeks ago and vaguely recall how the author discussed the following (apologies and disclaimer for inaccuracies):

1) CB collected is only sufficient for a person not exceeding 30kg.
CordBlood reply: Not true, can be up to 45-50kg.

2) Private CB collection will extract as much cordblood and may take a bit more from the baby.
CordBlood reply: Not true, as CB will only extract the blood after the cord is cut so it will not interfere with the delivery itself.

3) If Bb grows up and has cancer, most likely, not able to use his own CB for treatment.
CordBlood reply: It's a myth, CB is young immature stem cells so unlikely to contain cancer cells.

4) Public CB: After you donate the CB to public banking, you lose the rights to your bb's CB and when you need CB, you will need to pay $25,000 to use it. This is
verses $5k+ for storing Private CB.

My initial thoughts were similar to yours, to just go public, but after asking them, I'm again rethinking on whether it's just better to go private. Don't know who to believe.
If any mummies have gotten any feedback, please do share, thanks.

Re: NeuroGain..anyone noes is there a difference between NeurogainPB & NerogainS? my gynae is selling NeurogainS..if no difference, i might as well like alfafa77 mentioned, buy from outside.. =)

sung, ok ok...will jia you jia you to eat more healthy food and see if my weight can keep within 15kg by the end. =)

missycandy..hee..interesting wor..seldom can capture bb's sucking thumb..gd tat your gynae captured tat for u..can show yr bb nx time.. =)
Re: potluck..hee great to have chicken wings wor..my favourite hahahaha

Me went kiddy palace yest'd and bought a cow cow clothing for bb..today went Tom & Stef...bought mittens, clothings + 1 top for myself..realise my clothings getting very limited liao..some of the bottoms also too tight aldy. hee..CNY coming..tink shld start looking ard for new tops/pants, just incase can't find suitable one later. =)

Hi alfafa,

I have replied your email!
Cheerz! I'm getting another one piece, please see email and also take it off ebay wor!
Thanks for offering free registered post, and will be back for more once you placed up the other items soon!

I'm now going out and will only be back late night...will reply you as soon as I'm back!

hi does anybody know where to get the brand "micuna" bb cot?? or any place where they sell nice white colour bb cot?? me been looking ard but still not settle for one yet.. very headache cos i very ma fan...

nothing bought so far.. hopefully tis coming fri will get something from tollyjoy..

Princess, happen to see this white cot babytown.com.sg..at $399

COSCO 2 in 1 Convertible Wood Sleigh Bed (White)

Product Code: BID Condition: **NEW**

Price: S$399.00 Note: Available online only

This sturdy crib from Cosco is designed to accommodate a growing baby. Its contemporary, sleigh style blends in well with any nursery theme. Provides great styling for a child's room. Converts from a full-size crib to a toddler bed, offering extended use for your child and a great value for you. Uses standard-size crib mattress and bedding. Wood construction with white finish. A contemporary sleigh design white cot with 2 plastic teething rail covers. 2 position side railings and 2 position mattress platform. Mattress included. No wheels. Product in Inches (L x W x H): 57.0 x 29.5 x 43.0. Shipping Weight (in pounds): 72. Includes Classic Pooh Bed Set. Model #10121WAL-A. Made of Beech wood.
1886470.jpg

thanks SG.. saw tis website too but cos i cant feel it n see it.. i kind of hesistate.. want to look ard more first.. saw kd at causeway but dun really like it unless other outlet hv more of other design then maybe i go takea look..

went to bb hyperstore n kingdom today but still comparing prices rite now... very stingy when i become pregnant cos wan save more n buy more for bb...lolx...

misscandy... me ...me will go cos haven buy anything yet.. wan go grb some things although dunno hv anything for me to buy...

btw.. where tom n stephanie?? heard they hv lots of stuffs.. wanna go take a look..

SG - i wanted to get the fish oil from outside and have asked at Guardian Pharmacy...the salesperson told me Neurogain S is not sold in retail shops as it contains stronger nutrients that are for pregnant mothers....hence we can onli get Neurogain S from gynae...
However if u do not mind the lower Neurogain PB u can get from normal retail shops which cost about $30+. In the end i decided to still continue buying from the gynae instead since Neurogain S is not sold outside.
I would still check with other places like NTUC Unity Healthcare if i happen to pass by those...

Re: Baby Cot vs Playpen
My fren has advised me to get playpen instead of baby cot..as baby cot can onli be used up till certain months...for playpen can get those adjustable height ones...i may just get those...

I haven't buy anything for bb yet...i'm still hoping for year end sales to get bb stuffs...

Gingal, you have mail! I've wrapped both items for you.

Babe, hey thanks for sharing. This is important stuff. In that case I wonder why none of the private CB bank responded to the article. Hmmm ... I'll give the Public CB a call to find out more. Also, I'll be seeing my gynae is two weeks' time. I'll ask him as well. If I need to pay $25k to tap into public CB then I think it makes more sense to go private. Once I find out I'll let you know.

MissCandy, next Wed I'll be using Lvl 4 on Babyplus liao.
I was very blur. Didn't read instructions carefully and for the 1st two weeks I only had one session per day, instead o two as per recommended. Even for now, sometimes I find myself only able to stick to one session.

I can't wait to graduate to the next level because I get bored of listening to the same rythmn myself!

SG,
wow I didn't know there is difference. My gynae only told me to get neurogain but he didn't specify further. I assume as long as it is for pregnant woman that is the correct one.

I went to the foodfair at expo today but bought .... ALOT OF BAK KUA! wahahaaha I'm so going to pig out! Then you all will hear me moan about weight gain next week. This is called "totally asking for it".

hehehe

Pinksorbet,
Just saw your message. Went to check my neurogain and confirmed that indeed, it is neurogainPB. It says it is for pregnant woman. I bought it at $34+ at NTUC Unity Pharmacy just yesterday. But I think Joyce has a source that charges $28 only. Think my gynae is ok with PB because he says buy from outside is fine.

yah I agree with you. I'm not experienced yet but according to my friends, some of them prefer playpen or those dual purpose type (cot cum playpen) rather than just cot, for the reason you've stated. In fact, I'm inheriting a dual purpose one from my SIL. They tend to be smaller than a full size baby cot and are more mobile i.e. can roll around.

Ok loggin out now. Cheers

RE: Public vs PTE CB

Babe, I just saw this article online and thought I should share it. I will also check with the public CB directly to get info from the horse's mouth.

The article below, rather outdated though, is posted on Singhealth. Says that if you donate to the public CB, you can tap into their national and global pool of CB should the need arises. If there is a match, you will have priority over non-donors. Also, as a donor who later require use of the CB, you don't need to pay the SGD26k which non donors are charged for tapping into the pool. This is how they maintain their facilities, by charging non donors a (big) fee while keeping it free to donors.

http://www.singhealth.com.sg/Newsroom/NewsReports/2004/Public+Cord+Blood+Bank.htm

alfafa - i also sometimes dun have the time to listen to it in the morning... so i jus do in at night when i get back from work... yeh sometimes hear the beats a bit cannot tahan... but sometimes im so engrossed with my comp that then when it stops i also dont realise it..... hahahaha... how come u so fast.. hmm... u in which week huh? im wk20 goin 21.. hmmm... mabe becos i started in wk19.. hehe

morning gals..

alfa, missycandy, i already in Level4.. can't wait to move on to next level too..

today monday not so blues.. cos i only working 2 days wk!!! and i will be going to bintan on wednesday to celebrate my wedding anniversary!!! yippe..

miss83,
It may be due to "sugar high" that baby is moving. I remember my baby got very hyper last time after I indulge in sweet stuff like Kit Kat Chunky!

Wintertime,
That is so nice! I had originally wanted to plan a short getaway with just hubby but these 2 weeks I am busy at work and first 2 weeks of Dec he cannot take leave and last 2 weeks of work, my colleagues have already booked their leaves! Sigh. Lets see if we can go in Jan after everyone settle back to work :p

Wintertime
Do enjoy yourself now.

Haiz......mum complaining my son very mischevious this morning again, difficult to look after him and etc.....

ladies any comment on cruise trip??
safe ?? and eh fun??
we thinking of going but now peak and wanna go in jan.. but then 7th mth can go??

Kome ...

think parents will complain alot at this stage but when you take the child away .. they will bu she de heehee

cos now my mum keep having 2nd tots abt my son going to cc and ask me to send him to a more branded one hahahahah told her tt i let him try out the not so branded one first ... if i find that its really terrible then i will change him ...

then she say ... yar lor maybe by then #2 bigger liao can send my #1 back to the 3hr kindergarten hahahaha *faint*

alfafa77 ...

my #1 cord blood is banked with stemcord so thinking of donating my #2 cord blood to the public bank cos no point banking for both ... v siong oso

Janbebe
Last mth i go for my cruise so vividly remembered that when i book the ticket for the cruise, it stated there that pregnant woman after week 24 not allowed on board.

Seabreeze
Maybe you right. My son going to CC next year. hope they can help to discipline abit. Nite time than i discipline.

Daphne,
The BP already over for a well already. This lady actually got order another batch but not on BP, she just helping coz I asked her whether can get more for me, so I did post and ask mummies in our thread sometime back and only kome & Asura email her direct to make their order as she got much stock left. If you want her email I can PM you, you can check with her she still got stock left?

Idlecat,
Maybe you can try Toa Payoh Kiddy palace I got mine from there or you can ask the promotor to check for you which branch selling this brand.

alfafa and seabreeze:: ehe me also thinking of gg to donate to the public bank le.. Must we go tell gynae? where can we find infor on public bank? My #1 also with cordlife very xiong to give both le. hahas!!

Morning everyone! hehe wintertime, enjoy yourself! we wanted to go bintan too, but aiya, delay delay until my hubby say:: WHY DON't we just settle for a 1night hotel stay then no need pack so many things for #1? MEN! LAZY MEN!

morning everyone, monday blues again. Got very bad ligament kind of strain on my thighs, think it might be due to long hours of sitting while i was playing mahjong yesterday. later got to see doc for mc. anyone experienced this?

kome, remember you mentioned about order bb clothings from babymallonline earlier on. has your order arrived yet?

Morning mummies .

Spent an hr reading the post earlier .

I went for my normal 20 week checkup last Fri , confirmed again with gynea it's a prince . BB weighs 300g and gynea told me normal . So can start my online shopping liao ..

Keron
Have arrive but i have not yet collect from her. Will be collecting on this coming wed. Will update you again on the quality and colour. So excited to see the clothes.

Wish a boy
Your wish have come true, so happy for you.

Wish a boy,
Have CordLife replied you yet? I have check with them on Sat baby talk. Have told the lady that we thinking to gather more mummies to join as a group see can get better rebate. She says for what she know if we got FBI or SBI card if can refer another friend to join we can just get another $50 on top of $450. She say is up to the sales person to decide whether we can get group discount. And have ask her when is the best time to register, she say better register before we reach 3rd trimester to ensure all are being book. So now Im waiting for your replied to confirm enroll.