(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Thanks ladies for all the comfort. Feeling better now. I was actually tearing as I wrote the earlier post...guess its the hormones wrecking havoc. Ya, I've drawn up a task list/ things to buy/ budget, ironically, this is the list that made nervous, cos I then realise got so much haven't do yet. Like Kome, I wld prefer to settle everything b4 I deliver...haha, scared my hubby gong gong, if during confinement need him to buy things, he also don know which brand or what type to buy. Actually not to say him, even we as MTBs can be overwhelmed by all the different brands and models out there. Guess I just have to tell myself to take it slow

sunshinebaby,
yes the bathtub is above the drawers but it is removable. also, there is an attached pull-out frame to support the bathtub so u can actually put the bathtub above the frame. that means the bathtub will be side by side with the changing pad, and u can avoid wetting the drawers.

sinmey
dun worry.. maybe ur bb grew much bigger by now liao... anyway if u r going for natural delivery, itz good tat bb dun get too big arbo got problem delivering.. alamak.. mine seem like a bit too big at 20w6d le weighing 414g with my height like only 150cm only nia and worse still i opted for a totally drug free delivery.. aiyo.. hopefully he wun get too big till i cant do natural delivery..

Teddybaby
You are a first time mum, so try to take things easy and relax. Enjoy all the shopping and searching but not stressing yourself. For me that time i gon gon, just buy whatever i remember and the rest hb buy during confinement

yeah, teddybaby,
that's right.. dun stress yourself. i also have not bought all the small items. was thinking of slow buying them over the next 2 months. normally i can only do my shopping on weekends. so if 1 weekend can clear 4 or 5 items, good enuff for me.
even thinking of asking my SIL to help buy the avent BPA-free bottles from france and send them over to me, if avent already launch in france. but haven't even tell her yet.
so far, i only bought 4 items which are the cot bed, changing station, stroller and car seat, that's all!

jasmine,
thanks for the info.
but honestly, i dunno how to join the spree. everything i go into the BP, i got headache, dunno how to search.
but will try.

me juz register for the facebook so pls add me.. my email address is [email protected].. me not very sure how to use so will try to figure out first..

re X'mas decor

went taka the other day.. yes they r already selling x'mas tree n decor at the b2 atrium wif kids toy n clothing..

caca..

if u not anxious to go on fri for the tollijoy fair then i can go on fri afternoon n see wat they hv then i come back n update u so u wont travelled so far to juz take a look.. or waste your trip if nothing to buy.. i will be going on fri afternoon but sure of the timing yet need my hb to fetch me there when he finish meeting his clients..

Hi mummies, an update on my gynae visit yesterday. The baby is getting heavier, she is 685g at 24 weeks. Everything is fine and she was moving a lot.

Re: glucose test
Caca and fatfish, i will also have to do glucose test. I am quite afraid cos will have to draw blood and I have always fear for that. Do you all have any idea how much blood they will draw.

Re: christmaas tree
I bought my christmas tree from concourse last year. they sell a lot of different christmas decorations.

Re: massage lady,
I have booked my massage lady and it cost $500 for coming in for 6 days.

Teddybaby, Kome,
Actually talking about forgetting to buy things prior to delivery, I think I am really a candidate for that. I think it is complacency that I already have most things at home cos of #1 that I am sure I will miss things out :p

sportyger, you mean we can book the massage lady in advance? do you need to pay any deposit?

missycandy, Mount A called me and they told me no more slots available for the lessons from 1.30pm to 3.30pm, so i have to take the later lessons which are the same as you... hahaa.. i sent my application by mail and fax last week and in the end they told me they did not receive when i followed up with them yesterday.

Some playpens i realised come with a tray on top of it. I will be buying a cot and playpen as i am staying at a mansionette, quite tough for MIL to keep climbing the stairs as she will be taking care of my little one. Anyone the same as me?

sportyger,
They will draw a tube of blood 3 times each hr 1 tube & give you a container for urine also. What I fear is the test result actually.

Re: glucose test
issit a must to do this test? very sianz le since i lack of iron liao.. and wan more blood outta me.. aiyo.. scarly i faint sia

Keron, I didnt have to pay a deposit as it was recommended by my SIL. I just told her my due date and she reserved that time for me.

Jasmine, wow they will draw so much blood, "faint". I am also afraid of the result. What will happen if they fnd our glucose level high.

have a GREAT wkend dears. me gg taka for dinner today!
Muacks to all.

jtho:: i've bought some avent BPA boottles. they look sooo cute haha orange colour.

sun,
The result they will measure by each hour de. I also don't know why have to be 3 times. But the reason show each hour your blood glucose level.

Joyce,
Think if you parents got history of diabetic or over weight MTB they will ask to check glucose test ba.

sportyger,
If result is bad, gynae will ask to rent their glucose meter to monitor ourself at home & at work. It depend how many times we need to prick ourself to check glucose level. Last time I was told to do it just before and 1 hr after each meal, until I so scared I prick my feet instead of finger...

Jasmine, so you check your glucose level at home until u give birth. I can imagine how scary it is. Hope we will not have to go through it.

Joyce, I was asked to go for the glucose test as my sugar level was slightly high during my first trimester.

sportyger,
Yeah if gana have to monitor until gynae see our result is better to normal than don't need to monitor lor. Gynae will give a chart for us to read down each check and will ask to watch out our diet, cannot take flour stuff like bread, even want to take have to take wheat or whole meal bread. Avoid taking rice, flour, potato etc... which will increase glucose in our blood. So now Im watching my diet try not to take too much sweet stuff and rice.

Packing up and going off le... Have a nice weekends everyone...

I have not been online for some days, as after back from Genting Trip during the weekend, I feel so tired and need to recuperate and rest abit. Keke, abit lazy.

As you have known, I will be having a Princess...
I'm now at 22weeks +, did my detailed scan at exactly 20weeks. Baby was said to be slightly big at 340g and her head and tummy ratio is bigger than average. My gynae says that if I wish to opt for Natural Delivery, I have to monitor my Sugar and starch intake now as right now he is recommending C-sect based on baby's growth rate and size. "Sweat"... I am also at risk of diabetics, as my urine detected high glucose level and that also explained why baby is bigger...(Note: He mentioned Fat Baby, not tall..haha, her length is average). I was having Ice-cream and chocolates and durians for dessert almost everyday since week 8, and during MS Period, I was downing only Ribena, I think that's why I'm now at risk of diabetics. Now Hubby is real strict... No more soft drinks (rembr we all raved abt Rootbeers the other time, i cant take anymore
), no more ice cream (I still have 2 tubs Anderson's Ice Cream and 1 tub Ben & Jerry's in my refrigerator, Hubby says will eat all up and none for me), No more chocolates... and no more fruits...

It's really terrible feeling that during 2nd trimester when we have all recovered from MS and starts enjoying Food and i'm now deprived of it...Sometimes my hubby will let me taste abit of the sweet stuffs (a sip from his drink/ a bit from the chocolate or a small teaspoon of the icecream) when I tell him that baby will salivate next time when she is borned, if mummy's craving at this stage is not satisfied...Haha That is Old wife's Tale la..dunno true anot, but at least i get to taste a bit sweet. So all mummies, pls take care and not be like me.. I regretted, I should have gone moderate of the sweet stuffs, instead of now gotta Stop taking. (Sorry me so Lor Soh, keke)

Regarding Charges for 1-bedded room in TMC:

I think I still owe some Mummies on the charges of TMC's 1-bedded Room charges. Here it goes,

Exclude Gynae's Delivery Charges, Normal delivery, 2 nights stay;
$1988 and Maximum claim is $1250, thus we need to pay $738 (b4 tax) cash. That is only for the hospital stay.

We have dicussed and both hubby and me are more comfy with the 1-bedded room, though he is not gonna stay with me overnight. But from what I see, alot of us opting for 1-bedded, not sure if enought rooms for us Mar 09 Mummies anot..keke..worst come to worst, maybe will upgrade to the next grade deluxe room... If i rember correctly, It is about $200-300 difference in charges only.

I think we might be able to afford it, since we have alot of Hand-Me-downs from cousins and SILs, includes 2 Baby Cots (one at MIL hse and one at my hse), baby bouncer, bottles steriliser, breast pumps, car seat, lots baby clothes...That almost helped in a big amount of savings, thus we intend to take a better room...both sides of our family norm is that relatives will visit newborns in hospitals, thus a private room will be nice as they come in big groups..I wont want to disturb others should I be placed in a shared room...

gingal
huh 340g at 20w consider big liao ar? how come my doc din tell me sia, then chiam liao lor for me... will have to ask him on my next visit liao..

so if not enough 1 bedded will have to upgrade or downgrade right? but charges think shld be the same as 1 bedded charge le.. this is my understanding from the recently tour i have been to..

same here, mine and my hubby's side will be coming to visit us oso, so 1 bedded will be better in term for privacy and mini private gathering.. =)

Joyce,

Yup, I was told by my Gynae consider on the Big side, maybe cos mine is baby Ger? But maybe he meant my Baby's Head and waist ratio also? But my Gynae very funny one, dun like FAT ppl, i was on the heavy side, and he always ask me lose weight last time when I was not pregnant yet. Now I only put on total 1kg, he is so happy...Maybe he is abit 'Kua Zhang' so to scare me to cut down on my sugar and starch intake?

Hmmm... If i opt for 1-bedded means i get to upgrade for free? Downgrade also pay 1-bedded very Boh Hua leh...

GTG for Dinner...See Ya!

qingal, when I went for my gynae check ytd found that my bb ger weight is also slightly on the high side so thats also one of the reason why she asked me to go for the glucose test.

hi all, how do we know if we need to go for glucose test? does it indicate on the routine urine dipstick?

btw anyone went for the motherhood fair at United square tdy? any good grabs?

pinkdemoness, the routine urine stick will show if your glucose level is high. If your stick consistently show high glucose level and your family has history of diabetes, your gynae may ask you to go for glucose test.

jasmine - i will pm u the clothes web ba... cos i didnt tk pics...

wishaboy - i will also pm u the web of the pics i bought... show ur frn see she wan or not...

for playpen - im aiming Graco brand... we actually saw at robinsons but it was the last piece so hubby says to wait lor... its red in colour.. it has the changing bed, side light/music and a toy thing above the bed...

christmas tree - jus nw went ikea.. they dont sell plastic trees.. only the real ones =\ so we just bought 1 box of decorations... hee hee...

went for my DS today... waited quite long... =\ anyway, met another mama there.. but she is frm the apr thread... hee hee... =P everything is normal... i saw the report said i had low lying placenta but my gynae didnt mention anything abt it wor.. he said all normal... weight also normal... its 341g... and im having a PRINCESS. hahaha! when i went to my gynae's clinic, she was telling me that today all the mothers who went for the scan and came back to see gynae were all having girls... heh heh heh... my gynae also tried to do 3D scan in his clinic but he said position is not right, so cant do... but he said every visit he will try and see can or not.. he said if go to the hospital to do the 3D scan, it will cost 200-300bucks... so he will jus do it at his clinic... =)

okie type quite long hor =x i will attach the pics when ive scanned the pics ba.. nw a bit sleepy and lazy =x oh ya... baby was also sucking her thumb and playing with her feet... heh heh... then one part the radiologist said she was drinking water... ??????? got thing for them to drink inside meh???? hmmm *shrugx* funny bah...

keron - wa.. is it... then dunno they will tk note of my application or not wor... but i did it via the phone... shld be more or less confirmed right? maybe i shld call on monday just to make sure hor... kiasu a bit... =X hahahah we same class lor! kakakaka =X

the routine urine stick test is to test for Glucose & Protein... =)

Hmmm... I did the normal urine dipstick. So it is to check for Glucose level and Protein. If Gynae never mentioned the protein level, means my infection is cleared? Cos I seemed to have more discharge than usual and sometimes itchy, i washed myself with Latacyd at least 3 times a day, if I don't there will be increased itch...But it seemed like it is not due to infection, i also try to be clean and dry, hope not due to hygiene.

The urine dipstick showed that I was on high glucose level, and if there is no improvement next visit, Gynae says will check if i have Diabetics... So Sad... My hubby is using this to keep reminding me, I'm like under alot of stress...

missycandy,

Congrats on knowing you will be having a PRINCESS..Keke like me..

So good ur doctor does 3D scans for free??? Means soon you will be able to see baby's features and compare who she looks like more...
Hope she coorperate on your next visit and let u see wor.

sportyger,

Hope everything will be fine for you too! It is terrible just thinking no rice and no sweet stuffs...
So right now U also try to cut down on sweet and starch stuffs?

gingal, my bb weighs 519g when i was in my week 22 during the DS at hospital...haven see my gynae yet coz she's going for holiday..dunno bb's weight consider ok or nt. i went to see babycentre like slightly bigger than avg. dun be sad k...meanwhile try to take less sugar food who noes during 3rd tri..yr gynae will tell u ok to take some sugar liao? cheer up!! me also will crave for sweet stuff like gassy drinks..to "brighten" up my day haha coz needs some glucose to wake me up.

missycandy, congrats on your little princess..yr bb so cute sucking her thumb and playing with her feet..hee my bb dunnoe wriggle ard during DS..and bumps everyware on my tummy during the scan..tink bb uncomfortable with the scanner pressing him ba. haha...

wishaboy,

I was told by both docs that high amnio fluid must go for glucose test..also nt too sure why. yah must cut down starch and sweet stuff.

As for the playpen, I meant it can be adjusted. It comes with 2 levels. Bassinet? R u refering to the 'tray' for changing bb?

seabreeze
gd to hear that your bb is doing fine after what we hv been thru. Yes! We can start our tonic and start our shopping. I was also given a disc with scanning process..interesting eh..

caca
I m still considering if I want to make a trip to the Tollijoy fair coz dun wan to make a waste trip. Shall keep u updated.

Congrats misscandy on your princess..

wow SG,
519g in 22w...

Me also now in 22w2d... I wonder what is my BB's weight now. But i feel much heavier and i'm moving slower these 2 weeks. I wonder is it cos I'm having a baby Girl, I'm craving badly for Sweet Stuffs...abit Buay Tahan not taking.

fatfish/wishaboy,

any idea how does tummy feels with high amnio fluid? I remember my Gynae pressed a little on my tummy and after that did a scan last visit, saying he wans to check on the fluid. These few days, i felt my tummy very hard, dunno why...

gingal, yah lor..dunnoe consider big or nt..gua gua..and i still ate durians last week..i always feel better (less giddyness) after sweet stuffs tats why i've also been taking desserts, ice-cream n gassy drinks. can understand yr buay tahan..me coming to 25weeks liao..can only see my bb n gynae in 10 days time.

Re: hard tummy..i tink is norm. ba..mine also wor..tink its stretching and bb growing tats why.