(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Asura,

Happy Birthday...10th october is a good date wor.
I have a couple of friends also this birth date. keke
Today is also my Wedding Anniversary...5th Year...Wootzzz...Time passed fast!

pinkdemoness,

Initially was hard to get by the time at home. So I started going through the channels of my SCV set
and start recording shows that i would not have the time to watch if I'm still working.
My hubby and I sleep quite late every night, we turn in at abt 3 am in the morning,
so my night were quite easy to pass as I have him accompany me, dinner out, shopping, chit chat, watch tv shows.
When I wake up, usually after 1pm, I will prepare my own lunch, and start browsing the net.
Reading from this thread, to keep up with you girls for the day's happenings, sometimes takes 1 hour..keke
Then there will be non-stop Msn-ing from my friends and ex-colleagues whilst watching the recorded shows.
I also thought of cooking dinner sometimes, but everytime I buy the fresh food to cook, will turn out, my parents
or his parents wanna asked us out for dinner, thus i gotta throw the food away as can't keep them too long.
I gave up the idea of cooking from thereon. U can try cooking if it interests u...

Another thing You can do is, start up a Blog for baby...
It will keep U busy...
I'm also not spending alot of $$$ also...gotta learn to shop smart now. Realised alot of BB stuffs is expensive
in Singapore, rather buy direct from US sometimes, as shipping is now so convenient and not expensive.
U want, u can start shopping online too...treat it as window shopping loh.
http://www.borderlinx.com has some sites that you can start browsing, go to "Start Shopping".

Hope all these helps! Enjoy your rest at home, and very soon BB is arriving wor, that shld keep us real busy then.

Happie Birthday Asura!!! =)

my due date is jus days after my birthday... hopefully can celebrate my birthday and not spend in hospital =P hee hee... i dont want share same bd as my kid... wait say i steal their glamour/limelight... i also wan my own limelight =P

for breast pump - 1st choice is Avent Duo but costs 799 =( 2nd choice is Ameda which is 300+++... il buy after giving birth...
Baby centre web is having promo... might want to check it out =)

Welcome to the new mummies here =) More & More coming... =)

I also want PRINCE!!!!! =P

This morning after brushing my teeth also vomitted... but the yellow gastric juice... quite a lot... -_-"

Last night i also had leg cramp.. on my left calve... but luckily only short while... i faster stretch my leg... i used to get it last time and dr gave me potassium tablets... but nw i think its pregnancy related bah... at most jus eat more bananas ba... last time was quite bad i used to cry when i got it... no matter how i stretch it wont go away... then next day when go to work, walk with slight limp... -_-"

idlecat - *hugs*

Hi MTB,

Currently living overseas and will be going back s'pore to give birth, yet to decide gynea but thinking of dr kowa from mount e, my edd will be 26 mar.

Welcome fatfish, ivy n 2dogs1kid!!

Very happening thread here!

Hav a good wkend...hope 2 update my bb gender when i see gyni next mon...

Indeed, for those who feel pressurized over e tests...like wat those mtbs share...itz not an absolute certainty...all gyniz wan 2 break good news...so dun fret too much...pray hard tat God will watch over u all who feel jittery over e tests' results...

Wishaboy : Consider Medela PIS
hello mummies...

welcome Flatfish...yes..baby will be fine, healthy and good

ASURA...HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU...!!!!!!

pinkdemness: glad to hear that spotting has cease..jut try not to worry so much and stress yourself...rest more if you can..

Idlecat: like alot mummies has said...don't stress yourself too much..the upset juice will flow to your baby de....pray to GOD and serrender yourself to GOd...he'll protect you and baby.

Kome : Had purchased Ameda Breastpump
Asura: Consider Medela Swing or Freestyle
Sung: Consider Medela PIS or Aveda
Padi: Consider Medela PIS
Jtho: Consider Medela PIS
Irene06: Consider Ameda Pump
Daphne: consider Medela PIS

Hi all New MTB WELCOME!!

Breast pump:
Jasminenbc: Consider Medela PIS or Avent Duo

Wish a boy,
I saw new got BP selling Medela PIS freestyle for $550 & PIS at $450 leh, don't know is it the same 1 you talking about??

Sun,
Breast pads, if you thinking to breast feed for long think have to store up a lot lor, when I have #1, I spend a lot of $$ on breast pads, so now I see got ppl selling cheap will just grab. The lady I buy from she got the Pigeon jumbo pkt which consist of 144pcs in each box, I think I paid her $50 for 2 boxes, consider cheap I think, think if you can get your hubby colleague to help you buy back might be cheaper than here and singapore don't sell jumbo size pkt.

Asura,
HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!

Wish a boy,
Will PM you on the breast pump thingy please do keep me update. Thanks

Breast pump:
missycandy: Avent Duo or Ameda

I m new here..glad to find this site

pls add me:
D.O.B- 31.07.1979
EDD - 31.03.2009
GYNAE- DR HENG ( EAST SHORE )

Currently eating NEurogain S. wats the diff between Neurogain BP and S? Which is better? I saw BP in pharmacy but not the S one..

I'm from Jan 08 thread. I have some complimentary Rustic Nirvana's massage vouchers to give away. Can be used for pre or post. If any of you are interested, pls pm me. cheers.

I've been a silent observer for some time now. Hope to join in the discussions from now on. Please add me to your updates. Thanks!

Alfafa77
4/03/09
Queenstown, Stirling Rd
Dr. Lui
Mt Alvernia
Bad scan but doc suspects baby to be a princess. Will confirm during DS on 24 Oct

currently in my 19th week

Am currently an unplanned SAHMTB but I'm certainly not complaining. Hats off to all MTBs who are still working FT despite the discomforts. I quitted from a senior & high stress sales job with the intention to move into something more family friendly, but as it turned out, I found out about my pregnancy during the last days of my notice. Came as a huge (but pleasant) surprise as we totally didn't expect to conceive so quickly - it was within the first month of trying. Needless to say, there is no point in job searching after that given how discriminatory the local job market can be.

I'm currently focusing on getting my driving license. Will be sitting for my first test when I'm about 6.5mths preggie and I hope, oh I hope I can pass on first trial.

Have a great weekend!

welcome more new mummies!

lingz,
i m overseas too, currently in seoul. where r u? i may b planning to gv birth here though, coz i wan2 get my no.1 into a routine with her daycare n it wil b easier for her when no.2 comes.

alfafa,
i took my driving test when i was pregnant with my first one too. r u with the school or private? if school, u can request for an earlier test date, provided tat u r ready of course!

jasmine,
i find tat i dun hv much use for breastpads when bfeeding my no. 1. i only use it during let down coz the other breast tends to leak a bit, and even then, i sometimes only need to keep a hanky closeby to wipe up. after some weeks, the flow regulated automatically n i dun leak anymore, so no use for breastpads. guess every mummy is different!

any1 here engage m'sian CL? i guess i have to apply work permit for them or pay levy, something like this, right?

Morning everyone!

Thanks so much for all the well wishes for my birthday. The dinner at Morton's was really enjoyable. Strange thing is that i thought we are having a recession but Morton's is full house for the nite! cant imagine a recession when everyone is able to spend at least $100 on a meal there. Unfortunately my favorite prime rib was sold out yesterday... sad sad and we had to settle for ribeye.

Think my bb also said happy birthday to me! Las nite, felt a gentle "thump thump" like 2 kicks where the bb is. Quite different from everything else i felt before. So i like to think that it is my bb telling me "Happy Birthday". Hee hee

jtho,

Think the malaysian confinement lady comes in on visa. No need to apply visa or work permit for them. Havent heard any of my colleagues who hired confinement lady needing to apply for anything for them.

Hi Mummies, sorry to intrude into your thread. I have a Medela PIS advance for sale. Use 1 week only and now letting go at $530. There is still a year warranty. I will be throwing in 3 boxes of milk storage bags and 2 X 30mm funnels. Interested, please contact me at 93664880 or pm me. Thank you.

wow...our thread has alot of new mummies....welcome to all

jtho - i was oso looking into engaging a CL yesterday...my fren who applied b4 needed to apply a work permit for hers...i tink b4 u engage one, check with her whether u need to apply one for her...

Asura - Happy Belated Birthday! Yr bb gave u two kicks to wish Happy Birthday! Aww...thats so sweet! :D

yesterday i finally bought a few bb stuffs frm john little: cotton wool, bb wet wipes, powder container, and bath mat..
but then i wondered why would i buy cotton wool and bb wet wipes..i thought both of these have the same use right? which is to clean bb skin/butt?
and then..i have a question about nappy liners?
if we decide to use disposable diaper, do we still need nappy liners? what's the use of it? i thought nappy liner is used together with cloth diaper..

sorry..such a silly question right hehe..FTM got confused..

asura, thanks for your reply.
i just checked the mom website. it states that we need to apply temp work permit for the CL, which lasts for up to 12 weeks, and have to pay levy for the CL.

pinksorbet, thanks for your advice.
i will check with the CL when i get to speak to her.

miss83,
wow, u're fast to buy those bb stuffs. i am thinking of stocking up after Xmas but will look around for good bargains now.

haha..my mom just scolded me for buying things too early...
i'm afraid i forgot those small stuffs...so i thought i just buy first if i see..but for big items such as cot, sterlizer, etc I'll wait till xmas sales or nearer to my EDD..

miss83,
it's ok to buy earlier lah, should start enjoying the excitement of shopping for baby! n dun feel silly asking questions, when my bb was born, i was so flustered tat i wish i hv checklist and instructions for everything, bathing, change diaper etc, coz so many things to remember!
- cotton wool: for cleaning baby's ears, eyes, belly button during bath
- wet wipes: for cleaning baby's butt when poo poo
- nappy liner: mainly used with cloth nappy so it's easier to clean when bb poo poo. some pple will still use this with disposable diapers, coz it can catch the poo poo n can reuse diaper again (if not too wet). but some pple think unhygenic to do tat :p

jtho,

Thanks for checking. Think no one knows that the levy is compulsory. Then again, my worry is pay levy and end up she fly us kite how? that would be a waste of money.

I am new to this forum, hope to join in the discussions with March Mommies here.. =) Please add me in..

p3pp3r
20/03/2009
Eunos
Dr Paul Tseng
TLC Gynaecology Practice / TMC
Prince

miss83,
i think it's good to have some cloth nappies on standby even if u r not using them as nappies. the material is very light and airy so they r useful as light blankets and burp cloths too.

Miss83,
I was also browsing at Robinsons 2 days ago! But I'm worst than you, I saw nappy linens and thought these are the same as cloth nappy... didnt know its to put on top of the cloth nappy? Alamak... I really have alot to learn kekee. Like you, I'm also contemplating to buy some cloth nappy (for wearing at home) and can switch to disposables when going out to save cost. However, the thought of having to wash the dirty nappies with baby poo is quite troublesome.... guess I will still buy some for standby.

Asura,
Happy Belated Birthday! Wow, what a delish dinner at Mortons.. I remember getting free burger sandwiches at Mortons Bar when I used to go there for their Martinis! But I've since stopped taking beef about 2 years ago.

Jtho,
I've booked CL from Msia too. She was recommended by my cousin and they didnt mention anything about work permit. However I do recall reading in some other thread that sometimes CL may need to go back to "stamp" their passport after 14 days.

Hi Alfafa & Joyce,
Big Welcome!!

Re Classes
Well, I am not considering to attend any classes at all. I wonder if there are any FTM who are like me?

morning gals.. quite active on a sat morning..

jtho, i do not need to apply for any levy for my malaysian CL. think those are very experienced one. even need to apply, they should be the one applying and paying for it.. not us bah..

Asura, happy belated birthday..

ast pump:
wintertimeL consider medela PIS

welcome new comers..

oh, i just went for my wkly exercise and then went to NLB to collect the bb's journel kit. luckily the person in charge was okay and quite friendly.. The journel was quite nice, vey colourful..

gd day mummies, i encountered spotting agn and this time when i clean, some streaks of bloods came out together... so worried n crash down to gynae..appt suppose to be on mon but too worried le...

gynae say it due to mild infection n prescribe a tablet to be inserted...n tdy also scanned n take a look at bb...ITS A BOY!!! so happy n touched that i weeped...silly hor...however cant measure bb's length cos he was so active during the scan n keep moving n showed his butt n kicking away...DS ratio also out le, everything was fine and ok...1:27872...felt relieved out of a sudden...but still will have endless worries...have a nice weekend all...

hopefully my infection goes away soon...if not i'll be so worried...

thanks kome for the prince dust...helpme update k, tks...keke...

Welcome all new mummies.

Will updates all the details on mon coz my excel sheet is at my office PC, not able to do it now.

Pinkdemoness
Congrats to you, your wish has come true. I am so happy for you. Must have a good rest.

Re: Malaysian CL
If don't want to pay for temp work permit etc, CL have to go to JB get their passport stamp and out again so that they can continue to stay in Singapore for another 2 wks, but i think this is illegal ba ....

e: Cloth Nappy
Its good to let newborn bb wear nappy instead of diapers during daytime. Coz some babies have sensitive skin or diapers is too heaty and some babies cannot tahan and will have rashes. That is the reason as why most parents still wear cloth nappy.

jtho,
Talking about Avent Duo. Im thinking to get Avent Duo to Medela PIS in the 1st place coz my sister uses that b4 and have a good expenience using that with thumbs up feedback, but its expensive buying new ones at stores will be at $799, I saw it at Philips warehouse sales few months back selling at $500 after discount but didnt get it as its too early to buy and also still too expensive for me. The suctions power think should be as strong as PIS ba. But now I considering PIS instead as I got all the spare parts as I have a normal medela dual pump.

jasmine,
thanks for the info.
i saw some pple selling brand new avent duo on ebay at $499. i'm now considering avent bcos hubby said it will be easier to get avent parts in france if we go back in future. we are thinking of going back to settle down b4 bb turns 3. so if i get bb#2 later, it will be nec for me to reuse the BP.

jtho,
Wow! You originally from france or born here and going there? Staying in france not cheap in expenses right? In your case like what your hubby says better buy Avent if you think is easiler to get replacement parts from there. I don't think I can afford to buy new set as price is really too ex for me. Am looking around for 2nd hand in good condition. But think will look nearer to my EDD date. As pump not use for long will tend to get spoil.

jasmine,
i'm a local here, my hubby is a french. i cannot really compare the living expenses between spore n france cos i so far only go back for 3 - 4 weeks holiday, so dunno if long term expensive or not. but i guess like any other country, living in the city, like paris, london & melbourne, will cost more than living in the countryside. and our house is in the countryside so i guess not so expensive bah.
when i asked him to find out if BP is cheaper in europe, he said it is not cheaper there and found out that Avent is the brand commonly used in france.
u can try to check ebay for the BP cos i found out some are rather cheap, 2nd hand or brand new also have. yeah, i also think of getting the BP after Xmas, nearer EDD. hopefully can get good bargains then.

jtho,
So nice to have a house at a country side, my hubby like country side house after visiting NZ on our honeymoon, he always wish that we could one day be staying there NZ or Australia when we're old, but guess its not easy for us. Im expecting my #2 child incase you're not aware of and will close factory after this. My #1 now coming to 2 yrs old. When I have her I do breastfeed her, but stop direct feed when I started work, not that I lazy to direct feed her she just suddenly reject to latch. My mum says must be she know that mummy is staring work so don't want to tired me out hehe... I stop breast feed my girl when she almost turing 1yr old. So when I started work I start pumping my milk for her for day use, at 1st I pump 3 times when Im at work once when I reach office onece after lunch hr and once before I go home, as night time we gave her FM as she will be fuller not not get up frequent for feeding. That time I also buy 2nd hand BP as some mummies stop breast feed and give up selling their newly brought BP, so its cheaper than buying new ones. For #1 need to buy lots of new stuffs so I save on buying a 2nd hand BP. For now as Im not going to have #3 so thinking to buy a 2nd hand BP as well to save $$ as time is really bad now, can save how much is how much lor.
BTW is this your first baby??

jtho,
Yeah, for Breast Pump, you can look into Motherhood forum local BP for overseas BP, sometime its cheap to order from there, like breast pump parts its cheaper to order from there tha to get direct from stores. Ok we'll continue on Monday or if I do log on tmr. My girl is barking me to play with her.

jasmine,
yes, this is my first baby. that's why dunno many things and need advice from mummies here.
i hope i can bf my bb for at least 6 mths, anything more will be a bonus. after that, i wish to try for second child, as i'm not young anymore. ideally, i want 3 children, but may have to stop at 2 due to age. i know having kids in s'pore is not easy as everything for children is expensive, especially education. that's why i hope we can move back to france before my child turns 3 so that he/she can study there. the french school in s'pore will cost us $11k a year when the child reach 3 years old. whereas education in france is subsidized.
as for the breast pump, thanks for the info regarding Motherhood forum. will check it out.
enjoy your weekend with your family.

Welcome all new March Mummies!

Congrats Sassybaby & Pinkdemoness on your little princes.

<font color="0000ff">Breast Pump</font>
wintertimeL consider medela PIS
kazooie: consider Medela PIS or Freestyle

hi miss83 - i read somewhere that early stages shld nt use the wipes as it contains chemicals? i dunno... prolly 1st mth will use the cotton balls at home... save $$ hehehe... only when go out then use the wipes... =)

Wah, more and more Mar mtbs...welcome to all new mummies!!

Pinkdemoness &amp; Sassybaby..congrats on your little boy =)

PigPig/ 2dogs1kid, welcome...hee..seems like o<textarea>Wah, more and more Mar mtbs...welcome to all new mummies!!

Pinkdemoness &amp; Sassybaby..congrats on your little boy =)

PigPig/ 2dogs1kid, welcome...hee..seems like our gynea, Dr Heng will be very busy for the mth of Mar..hee..

Jasmine,

My issue is the cost. With the double pump being mroe than twice the cost of a single pump, difficult to ignore the cost. All my colleagues use single pumps. Some use manual pump and successfully pump for more than 6 months in office. What they told me is that single pump tends to be a little messy. The only thing that makes me feel like getting a double pump is the time saved. My husband is against 2nd hand pumps so i cant get 2nd hand ones. So we are still weighing between the costs. Of course, it would be great to get a double pump but end of the day affordability prevails.

asura,
i can understand wat your colleagues meant by messy, coz one side pumping and the other side is leaking! hehe... the few times when i pumped with my avent isis, had to be well-prepared. pump on one side, when milk comes, quickly hold a cup to the other side so dun waste the milk coming out!

missycandy,
wun cotton balls b very messy? sometimes it takes me so many wet wipes to clean up a poo, can't imagine cotton balls! :p

jtho,
so r u planning for yur bb to take up sg citizenship since u re not planning to stay here for long? my hsbd is not local either, and now tat we know the bb is a boy, we r worried abt the NS obligations.