(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

nana - ya.. i actually opted for Mt Alvernia... the last time i went there was like during student days... and that was in erh... 2000/2001? hehehehehehehehhehe

the babyplus thing is interesting but pricey... nt sure if we shld get it.. will have to discuss with hubbs...

Today, I am very upset when I see my Triple Test report show Down's risk is very high! Can't help dropping tears :'(
So, I shall be going for Amniocentesis next week. Very scare of bad news. Actually, when the clinic nurse called me up on Monday to see gynae, I've already sense something not alright as usually "no news means good news". So sad...

<font color="0077aa">Queenie</font>,
welcome.
no lah, I won't be buying any bb stuff liao, will reuse my gar one. Will only need to get breast pad only 9wait for xmas sales).

haa...maybe yr pain tolerance is higher that 's why u can ensure it...did u take epidural then??

<font color="0077aa">Cindy</font>,
what is keloids? but can cut same wound meh....heard ppls saying that only can c-sect thrice only.

haa..even I bought the infant fm, dunno I self drink in the end with milo. bb only took 2-3 times only. me kept on letting bb latch on to stimulate the reflux of milk flow and hope milk will flow early loh.....

<font color="0077aa">Sun96</font>,
yup, I only had playpen. when bb bigger (abt 6-8mth), I will remove the top panel and then let bb slp inside. but hor, disadvantage is that one got to strain back to carry bb inside the lower part of playpen. anyway, my playpen has been almost used for 20mth until my gar only switch to slp on mattress 2mth ago only at my hse...but at my mum'plc, she will slp in yao lan until 1.5yr old and then my mum will let her slp on mattress beside her.

re: breathless when walk.
same same. think part of the package in preg.

re: carrier and stroller.
stroller is a push type of bb cart while carrier is used to sling or place the carrier onto yr shoulder etc to caryy yr bb.normally, when bb head had head support abt 4-5 mth then can user the carrier.but if u use those sling (like those MIM sling) then NB also can use.

<font color="0077aa">kome</font>,
my hubby dun like stroller cos very bulky and troublesome to carry if board bus. so normally when gg out, he is the one who carry my gar.

hmm..details scan got check bb brain? tot details scan mostly check gender and measurement?

oh...if can, try normal delivery first loh. I also scared i dun have strength to push. cos now and then, when i walked a bit fast, i will be breathless(need to take deep breath).

sometimes, I also kana leg cramp in middle of night. but hor, strange only on left side. what's abt u?? leg cramp on which side or ?? yup, I knew the feeling, it is like the whole legs stiff, can move and the 'geng' is pulling apart....

yup, when in crowded bus or place, I will place my hand in front when i walk for defend in case, ppls just knock or hit my tummy.

<font color="0077aa">Irene</font>,
hmm..but did u go for slimming class or exercise etc?? if not, how do u slim down after each birth? tot, our waist line will increase at least 1 inch after each birth. my col describe her waist saying for each birth, our 'swimming float" (in chinese) will expand. tot, ppls will gain weight after delivery, hmm for u, opps wor...think shd be gd news right....

<font color="0077aa">jtho</font>,
only one of the time when i wore tight tight shirt and shorts, an auntie gave up seat on the bus to me. think wearing tight clothes will tend to show tummy......

<font color="0077aa">pinksorbet</font>,
heard that ppls said first child gar better cos gar more 'guai' then when one got no#2, the no#2 if bb boy, he will follow her sister to be guai guai loh...if vice versa, then the second one will be copy what his elder sibling does.

yup, also when wash hair faster to dry if not need to take at least 2hrs man....

yup, glad and touch wood and hope no more spotting for the rest of the preggie days...but got lot of yellow discharge/liquid too.

<font color="0077aa">mangogal</font>,
now, tough I dun have spotting these 3 days but got yelloe dishcarge and sometimes liquid. ppls told me it is what amonia acid leak (something like that). like last preggie, when i asked doc, she did not say anything, it seems not that serious. but after sometimes (abt 1-2 wk), the yellowish discharge/liquid disappear then.

we are here to share lah, no need to felt paiseh or sorrie to said u ask so many qns. just felt to ask, we will answer to the best....:p cheers...

so is this yr first preg?

yeah, this thread is so active and fast that I got to read 3-4 thread back man....cos I can't afford time to post during office hr.

hmm...same as u leh...me also gg to 15 weeks this sat.

<font color="0077aa">miss83</font>,
heard that ppls said first child gar better cos gar more 'guai' then when one got no#2, the no#2 if bb boy, he will follow her sister to be guai guai loh...if vice versa, then the second one will be copy what his elder sibling does.

my friend told me that dr adrian sometimes spoke in such a scary way that scare u out cos she just did her d/c only.

oic, dunno did I read wrongly that I see bakuteh cannot consume....anyway, doc mentioned that just eat whatever u can....but for me, not so much appetite.

re:normal delivery stay.
even I normal delivery, i still need to stay 3D2N (due to blood tranfusion and then felt dizzy when go down the bed). if not, usually, ppls can go hm next day if both mummy and bb are fine. unless bb kept on slp and dun wake up for milk or crying. that's the case of my friend's bb cos my friend has the epdidural on her thigh, hence this epidural called P....(forgot the name) will make the bb sleepy after delivery. for c-sect shd be 3D blah....

<font color="0077aa">SeaBreeze</font>,
hmm tot hospital only cater one fm brand only. maybe private and gov hospital different. we did ask KKH last time when I had my gar, the nurse mentioned that they have only 1 type of fm and will change either few mths or yearly...

re:diaper
hmm think huggies ultra also a gd brand mah...anyway, we just finished the packets given by the hospital, after that, we use cloth diaper then. on night time use pureen brand. haa my hubby said that my gar butt is cheap stake can use any brand (of cos, now she is allegic to huggies dry comfort). I also like nepia.

agreed, pet pet is popular. carrfour is selling $12.45 per packet (of cos, not NB size. think NB size is only $7.80). if one is POSB ccc still can get 5% rebate. then the cutting is so big too. true true, but hor, NTUC does not offer NB diaper...usually, Pet Pet diaper on offer is from M - XL. last time, when NGH pharmacy on offer 2 for $23. I ordered 16 cartons (3 inside a box) and asked them to delivery free to my house. of cos, I shared the cartons of diaper with the mummies in my neighbourhood lah....

<font color="0077aa">Asura79</font>,
my friend told me that bb 's tummy is like a mini golf ball so they dun drink much for the first few days. so she just latch on the bb and did not let bb drink any fm for 3-4 days.

<font color="0077aa">DAPHNE CROSAILO</font>,
wow, so fast looking into first mth liao...hee...anyway, I ordered my first mth cake fr bengawalon solo. there;s a shop called gin tai too...very famous for wedding and full mth cake....

re;breathless after est too much.
I also encountered this too. not only that, when I walked also like that.

think we also need to avoid some type pf veg right...like kang kong and those white veg....they are cooling...

<font color="0077aa">Wish a boy</font>,
for bf bb, bb seldom poos loh. one of the time, my gar only poos on her 5-6 days only. my mum tot she kana constipation but I told her it is normal that bf bb dun poos regularly. anyway, their poos also very mushy one...

<font color="0077aa">SG</font>,
hmm..maybe we intake the food very fast loh. hmm..an interesting qns which can test our gynae loh to see what's their answer wor....

<font color="0077aa">Jasmine</font>,
yup, usually, diaper has shelf life of 3 yrs. but hor, when I called the consumer of the diaper(contact as stated onto the dryer diaper), the person told me no expiry date as long as it is not opened and also do check there is no yellowish stains on the diaper then still can be use loh.

<font color="0077aa">fairymoss</font>,
diaper will turn bad if not store properly. maybe in a moist place...then diaper will turn yellowish.

<font color="0077aa">pinkdemoness</font>,
ppls told me that the yellowish liquid might be the 'yang tai shui" leak loh....i had a lot for 2 weeks during my first preg. for me, now, tough no spotting but now change yellowish liquid or discharge leh.

<font color="0077aa">Nana</font>,
why want to drink red date tea now? tot would be gd to drink more during Cl period mah...red date, longang are very heaty stuff.

Idlecat, is this ur 1st bb?
Noe ur impending worry n fear...
Keep us posted on ur latest devt...
Hopefully it turns out fine.

tuskywoollie

afcai
tink most likely will get bb cot coz my mum advised no need to bend too low to put down the bb, not too gd for our back...

MTBs,
hv any idea where to find gd, cheap bb cot?

idlecat,

Dont worry too much ok? The triple test only measures the down syndrome risk of the bb. Amnio would measure the actual outcome. Take care and dont worry too much, least affect the bb.

morning asura79

idlecat
when my gf got preggy, triple test result for her bb ger oso not gd, she's very worry but she finally decide not to go for any further test and her bb ger is born healthy, nothing wrong with her... dun worry, take care...

Idlecat

dont worry i go throught the same situation like you 3 weeks ago when my oscar result came out and this tue i just go for my amino and result came out normal yesterday. i ask for express result

if you need further details may pm me.

what is your ratio, mine is 1:43. my gynea said he got a patient 1:2 also passed the amino test.

Sun : wait for year end sales and robinson got sales for bb items then u can get it from there . Meantime if got time go and check the design which u like . U must consider whether u moving the baby cot out of the room as some baby cot is too big and cannot go thru the door . For playpen , when baby u can put the baby on the basinet which u don't need to bend too much during the first 2 months . Maybe from 3-4 months onwards as worried bb learn to flip then take away the basinet .

Idlecat : If u doing the triple test , accuracy only 70% so the result might not be correct . For me I did the Oscar test which include a PPAP blood test and NT scan of the neck which these 2 combine will give about 95% accuracy . My friend also got high risk but after the Amnio test , turn out ok . Heard a lot of false alarm cases so don't worry too much . Remember after the Amnio test , don't carry anything heavy or stress yourself as this is no good . Take good rest after that and u will be ok .

Diaper : As long as u don't open , not an issue . Same my gal that time I also bought a few packs then all of a sudden she fully toliet train for day and night so in the end left a few packs and kept almost for 2 years but still ok , now use for my younger gal . One pack was open but keep at dry area and now I checked no yellowish stain so ok to use .

Red dates logan : boil will make the taste better . But don't take too much as consider heaty stuff . Take more in 3rd trimester to Bu Qi to get ready for delivery .

Afcai
This is the first time for this pregnancy that i had leg cramp. The cramp was on my right leg. Don't know why till now still very painful and this morning i actually cannot walked properly. Yesterday although still abit pain but not so jialat.

Babe
I got saw it selling @ lifestyle. The carrier is this.
1777701.jpg

1777702.jpg

Idlecat
Pls do not worry too much. Coz my SIL also showed that her blood test was not good, after the amino test it turns out ok. Your bb will be healthy and fine.

Kome : can it be your shoes with no good support sole that is causing a problems to leg pain as my first preg hor , due to the shoes , I have leg pain at the feet heel area and after I bought the scholl flat shoes with good support base , then I ok . try to wear shoes with good support base and see if it helps . Another thing is don't take too saltish food as it might be the cause for leg cramps .

Afcai : BF bb , my collegues and friends ones all poo a lot of times during BF and that's what they told me .. think different babies different reaction . Like my SIL one , take similac FM baby lao sai till mad and just a newborn for a few days cry like mad as lao sai too many times till buttock as red and as big as apple ... so much pain u know .. poor child ... even when bigger gal , try the similac gain IQ also lao sai .. think not suitable for her gal ..

So far i do not have cramp prob. i wear crocs shoe. marie jane style most of the time. i do alt with other shoes. alternate shoes is good.

re milk
i heard fr two mummies that dont take enfalac... cos both their child got constipation and had to go for accupunture (tui na)..

Hi sun96!

How have you been? MS easing liao? I dont know why i suddenly feel like puking the wholeof this morning. This morning when i brush my teeth, almost vomitted out. Think should be food cant digest in my tummy... but yesterday dinner i had kimchi instant noodles with steam fish leh..., dont know what went wrong. Just hope i feel better later or else spoil my birthday... sian..

Wish a boy
I am wearing a platform shoe to work but when in office i will wear flat shoe all the way till after work. Not sure is it coz by ny platform shoe or not.

Yup, i like saltish food alot. Will try to cut down on that. I understand that too much will cause high blood pressure also, but abit hard for me. Slowly i will try to reduce the intake for the saltish food.

asura
MS still on n off but definitely much better compare to the past few mths... me oso same, this morning feeling terrible nauseous, hope it will be better later...

today yr birthday!!!
1777734.gif
any prog 2nite??

Sun96,

Thank you! Yup... my birthday is today. Husband already at overseas posting... so my younger brother is very nice to give me a treat tonite at Morton's. Yum yum!

Dont worry, from the looks of it, ur MS should be over soon in a few more weeks!

morn mtbs!

Happy Birthday Asura

Idlecat - big hugs! dun worry too much k, it may be like all the other mummies saying, a false alarm. you must rest well and not worry too much.

Afcai - it'll be good to drink a cup of water rite after you take prune juice. hee i discovered it helps in making my digestion and bowel movements faster.

Cindy - pm you for the Goo.n website. thanks in advance!

Mangogal - dun worry, yellowish discharge is considered normal lah. hee like the other mummies said, as long no spotting, no itch or smelly smell, is ok. i hv quite a bit on some days and others days only white discharge. chk with gynae, he said it's ok.

Nana - red date tea, if you want to boil can boil together with some ginger, "gou qi zi" and longan. Simmer over the fire for abt an hour should be done. I tried tat to bu xue as advised by TCM. taste good but rem to cut the red date open to get more of the taste and smell out. yup, it's heaty so avoid if you already heaty or hv constipation.

Re: Baby Journal Kit
Yesterday i went to SK to collect the kit. A guy, don't know is security guard or librarian, really gt attitude problem. I told him i would like to collect the bb journal kit, he asked for my NRIC and took my IC to a room (don't know what he do to my IC). After abt 5 mins he came out of the room, look for form and asked to fill up.

After i filled up the formed, he said i must filled up the top portion parts indicated that i had collected the kit. I told him that i have not collected before leh why should i filled up the formed. He said i am collecting now so must filled up. Ok, nevermind i just filled up the top part and returned back to him. Than another guy saw it and asked me to filled up the date of birth for the child. Than i told him my child has not even born yet how would i know the date of birth. Than he just took back my formed and checked with other forms and never said anything. I just walked away.

I was so angry with their attitude. My Hb cannot tahan their attitude and just walked away first.

sun96 &amp; st,
I bot Lansinoh milk bags as my frend recommended them to them saying it can contain more than Medela, plus the material is gd. It is BPA free if I'm not wrong. This is a link from baby r us in USA: http://www.toysrus.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2967914. The review is not bad too. But if u r buying in US, best to get from Walmart cos cheapest. But so happen that Target was having sale, so I bot from Target. BabiesRUs slightly more expensive, but still much cheaper than S'pore. I also stock up on Lansinoh disposable breast pad (for leakage). Basically all the baby stuff in USA is much cheaper, esp those USA brand.

Babe: why did u say the combi stroller comes in 3 pieces leh? Mine is in 1 piece and its easy to use cos its 1 hand operation for opening &amp; folding

Idlecat: Don't worry too much. Like the rest say, the test is not that accurate. Hope all will turn out well for u after your next test

Re: Red dates logan
If afraid of heatiness, best to omit logan. Just red dates &amp; wolfberries is also gd. Oh and red dates logan tea is not cheng teng...cheng teng is cooling, best not to take or take too much during pregnancy

Haha, ya Dr Adrian speaks very fast, ears must open big big then can catch what he say. Other than that, he's ok. He is a assuring doc and also approachable. His appt card got his HP no. which he says can juz call him if got problem. So far when I call or sms him, his response is very fast

teddybb
thks... do u noe local selling how much for the milk bags n breast pad? juz wanna compare how much cheaper...

Daphne,

For my #1, we cater tarts from Chocz and my mum make all the red eggs herself and we ordered ang ku kueh from the market stalls. We packed the eggs and ang ku kuehs together with the box of tarts in the chocz plastic bags. Cost savings also else to cater separate eggs from them think not worth lor and they actually make it the night before.

sun96,
A few mths back, my frend told me Mothercare selling 25pcs for S$15, works out to be 60cts per pc. I have seen the breast pad when I came back to S'pore, impression is its more expensive here, but forgot the price.

teddybb
norm for BF, the milk will store in bottle or bags aft pump? which is better? bottle or bag? norm how MTBs do?

kovanguest ....

my son drink the enfa series and had no prob ler ... but then again every bb is different so even the brand of FM need to trial and error. anyway now he on the cheap dumex dugro hahaha

idlecat ...

dun worry too much. my bb oso got raised NT and i went for the CVS at 11 week to check for any genetic disorder. Luckily the result came out fine so now waiting for the detailed scan at 20 weeks ... me now only 16 weeks so still have to 'tong' for a while more. Hopefully result come out ok too =)

Asura ...

Happy bday!! Enjoy your dinner tonight ... heard that the steak there is v good.

for pigeon brand breast pad, how much is selling in sg? for how many pc? coz my hb's coll gg jap in dec so tot of asking him to buy when he's back... norm how many we'll need?
but btw lansinoh n pigeon i oso dun noe which one is better... hahaha

Oh ya.....i forgot.

Sun
I think can get the small milk bottles abt 4oz to keep the breast milk also, but i think need to find something to cover. I forgot my old glass bottles got the cap or not, need to go back and see.

Asura : Happy Birthday . Think it's the brushing of the teeth that make u want to puke . Me at times also when I brush the teeth I will have this vomiting symptoms .

Red dates logan : remember to remove the seeds of the red dates as MIL told me that with the seeds more heaty .

Kome : Oh not , me thought of going Seng Kang to collect this weekend and now seeing your post make me think twice .

Sun
LAst 2 years, my hb brought for me at $7.90 per box for the breastpad. Think got 25pcs in a box.

Wish a boy
Haiz.....don't need to care abt them just fill up the form, take and go.

sun ...

for a start can store in bottles but once you seriously start storing can get alot so its easier to just use the milk bag to store. Save space and money. that time at the peak, my whole feezer was nothing but milk hahahaha

Regarding Enfalac FM : My gal take that and ok . no constipation issue . Think regarding FM milk , different bb react differently so need to try an error lah .. like my friend son , take FM kept having reflux issue and ask her to change to others and try , then she try soya milk then quite ok lah . Think maybe the son a bit allergic to cow milk .

i saw pigeon breastpads selling at $8.90.
forgot how pcs le.

For my last pregnancy, which i breastfeed for 4mths, i use up quite a lot of boxes. can't remember how many le

my Son also takes Enfa and also okay ley!! hehe
In fact quite heng ah, cause it was the first FM i tried and no probs.. so hahah we stuck to FM enfa series all the way.

sun96,
Ya, like what seabreeze says, milk bag saves space cos can lay flat. Actually I'm a FTM, but from what I see &amp; hear from frends who have babies, they have a few bottles on hand to store for the day's usage and milk bags for the excess as need to keep emptying our milk to prevent engorgement and keep the milk supply going. My cousin also had her freezer packed full with milk bags when I visited her. She had so much that can even pass to another nephew.

Kome, ya hor, amazon sells even cheaper. If in USA, can buy from amazon. But if in S'pore, not sure if its worth the delivery charge?

Teddybaby
I not sure also leh.......mmmmm......i so blur now. Don't know want or don't want to get the milk bags.

Kome

Write a feedback form to complain? If is me, I will complain. Have to sign the bottom of the form to say collected.