(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

morning =D
I signed up for the 27th thu class also...will be seeing you gingal!
going for my gyane appt tomorrow hopefully can peek-a-boo hehe...
as for baby movements, I also can't feel anything yet am in my 16 weeks.

sung
i hvn't call NLB yet... plan to collect on sat so will give them a call on fri... hopefully by then, the kit still available...

MTBs
anyone hv a chklist on wat to buy in getting ready for the BB for FTM? coz not sure wat to get...

Daphne,

My classes are starting next thurs. Cant join u for teh 25 nov class cos i am most likely out of singapore for quite a few weeks starting that week. TMC Parentcraft advised that i go for the earlier one cos the classes commencing in Jan may be a little too late for me. So bo bian, i got to try to remember the things they teach. Hopefully, they got notes.

Kome / Sun96,
they shd still hv stocks, give them a few lib outlets to ch for you

oh oh if you reach the lib n the librarian appears abit hesistant in giving you the kit, tell them you called n chk earlier.

Sun
I had mange to find the previous post by Sharon for the list:

<font color="aa00aa">here's my list from 2 yrs ago, may help as reference. the comments in brackets r my "research" :p
- bb cot/playpen (Depends which one you need. BB cot more ex. Personally I prefer bb cot cos more stable, and can adjust height level.)
- newborn size diapers (recommend Pampers Premium)
- nappy liners (if you intend to use nappy)
- nappy (if you intend to use nappy instead of diapers. You may need quite a lot. If not using, this can be used as a blanket cos is not too thick, airy for bb, 2 to 3 pcs will do)
- diaper cream (I'm using drapolene. Destin is used only when rashes get serious. california baby is the best, helps eczema too)
- pacifier (some of you may use)
- nursing bra
- breast pad
- breast pump (if you intend to express BM)
- warmer (if you need to warm up EBM)
- milk bottles
- steriliser
- bouncer / rocker (to rest your arms when u need to put bb down, good investment till bb learns to sit up)
- bathtub (good to get one with a newborn support, available at kiddy land, taka)
- soap (johnson is still the best)
- big towels
- hankerchief
- bb clothings (depends if you like 2 pc or rompers, short sleeve for daytime and long sleeve for nite time or windy/rainy days)
- bb blanket/swaddler (needs lots if mummy has no time to wash, coz bb may puke)
- bb hat (if you are not using the blanket to cover the bb's head in the 1st 2 mths during outing, advise to put on a hat)
- mittens and booties (may hv to buy really small ones, )
- formula Milk (if you are not bf. dun buy any to tempt yourself if u intend to TBF)
- milk powder container, thermal flask, container for normal temp water (for outing if you are not bfing
- brush (to clean the milk bottles, usually if you buy steriliser, it will comes with one brush)
- bb detergent (some use this to wash the milk bottles. I dun)
- bb washing powder (i separately handwash bb clothes for first few months)
- wet tissue (Pigeon brand))
- carseat (if you drive. Strongly encourage due to safety purpose and also to train your bb since young that they must be in carseat whenever during travelling.)
- bean sprout pillow (mayb useful)
- changing mat
- cotton wool (round type, for CL to clean the belly button in the first few weeks and to clean bb eyes/face)
- cotton stick (is it called cotton stick? those stick which comes with cotton at both ends. Buy Pigeon brand, the thinnest one. May need to clean the nose or outer ears for bb)
- scissor/nail cutter (to cut bb nails. they grow very fast!)
- Ru Yi You (to rub on bb's back and tummy to prevent/get rid of wind)
- pram/stroller
- bb carrier (i love bb bjorn coz can't manage sling, but some say ergo is better)
- bib

asura
i tink they hv books for yr future reference... not sure issit 3 books in total...

sung
they will hesistant to give u the kit? y? they shouldn't hv tis attitude since is a free kit by NLB...
1772207.gif

morning gals..

cindy, ohhh.. it's a long wait right? I waited so long for my next visit too.. soo glad that I will be seeing bb next thursday. the next time u go, remember to talk to ur bb.. tell bb to be guai guai open legs wide to get u see gender.. so that u can get pretty clothes for him or her.

Kome, must be ur bb's movement.. hees... i feel so funnie when bb moving around.. hope he don't kick me too hard at later stage..

sung, thansk for posting up. the kit looks so cute.. i will call and check if it's still available.

haha that's the impression both hubby and me got yest when we went to collect. the lady din really want to give and said is for mothers who hv given birth already. so i told her i called and chk and it's for pregnant mothers as well. hee she "guai guai" gave me after that lor :p

sung
ya lor... any diff btw not yet given birth n given birth ma? dun tink so lor... eventually both will hv a bb... tsk tsk tsk

good morning mummies...

babe &amp; miss83..
yes..i take it as to see baby longer..and that makes me happier too...hehe..whenever the scans they take very long..so i can watch baby..

gingal...
wow great...so will look forward to seeing you..maybe you might want to just move the class to tues...hehehe??????

hello mummies, just came back from my gynae appt... so disappointed cos gynae just checked on bb's heartbeat and didn't do a scan this time. he said he didn't recommend to do it bcos it is very easy to make mistake as week 16 is still early. my next appt will be on 5 nov for a detailed scan. gynae said it will be more accurate by then.
after my appt, i went to collect the baby journal kit. yeah, it's cute and the quality is quite good.

miss 83, congrats on knowing the gender of your bb. i still need to wait for 1 month

sung, i also tot so... so after he listened to bb's heartbeat, i continued to lie down waiting for him to do the scan for me. then the nurse told me it's done. i was puzzled so i asked my gynae and the nurse why no scan, then both said that it's easy to make mistake. however, gynae spent time to explain the double test (nt scan and blood test) i did during my last visit. and he said everything in the report is good.

i was so disappointed but hubby said it's ok as long as bb is healthy and the report indicates no problem.

hmnn hugs hugs! true that it's good as long bb healthy. but honestly, i look forward to my gynae appt cos can c bb. very disappointing not to see. besides isn't each visit ultrasound be included in the package price?

Kome, thanks for providing this useful list

jtho: whether or not can tell the gender I feel gynae shld still do the scan and give u a copy. Isn't it part of the package or part of fees you paid for? But since already over..then like what your hubby said, as long as BB is healthy then most impt. But I can understand your disaapointment cos we only get to see BB every few wks

sung &amp; teddybaby, i haven't sign up for any package yet cos package only starts after week 20. i dunno abt other hospital whether it's the same. so means that i didn't have to pay for the scan this round.

but anyway, i managed to hear bb's heartbeat and it sounded good!

sung, u intend to sign up for banking of cord blood, is it?
hubby and i also interested. but need to find out more cos we want to know in the event if we are not living in s'pore anymore and need the cord blood, will they be able to send the cord blood to europe.

jtho...

i thought the US are including in all consultation fee....i dun have a package from my gynea...but the last time i went to see her..she scanned and never charge me extra..

maybe you can demad...and let your gynea know that the wait and want to see baby instead of listening to the heartbeat only...
hope he'll understand...

dun feel sad "hug"......bring forward your next appt...

jtho, i c, my package starts at wk 13. anyway, it's most impt your bb healthy and strong

yup, want to sign up for cord blood, just can't decide which provider to sign up with hee. oh, for stemcord, some other participant ask your qn too. they said can be arranged but couple must bear the cost. this is not covered by their stemshield insurance plan too. cordlife, i'm not too sure.

sung....

i am also very interested in signing up for the cord blood....CORDLIFE bah..can check with cordlife if your gynea has a connection with them???
coz they have a list and maybe can have a discount..
my gynea esther ng is with cordlife..so most likely i'll take up their package..

daphne, i guess the charges for my gynae is very different. the bill goes by every item that i do during the visit. so if no u/s, then no charge for u/s, only charge for consultation. and fyi, my gynae charges are quite steep. sometimes he even waived some charges if he can.

discussed with my sisters and they said i should not be too anxious, just take it easy... even my niece said that at least i can hear bb's heartbeat, should be happy that bb is growing and happy in my tummy

as for bringing forward the appt, i normally dun do that cos my gynae's appt very difficult to get and i dun want to appear too pushy also cos he has been very nice to me and taken very good care of me as i had a miscarriage before.

jtho:: haha yesterday my gynae also want to use the thing to hear heartbeat only and i request for scan loh.. but aiya scan liao, he also cannot confirm, think too early they don't wanna confirm hehe!!

wintertime:: SO LONG LOH! yes sigh!!!

kome:: haha OKOK!! my dreams come true... ahaha i just hope it's a girl girl la. don't gimme a thing..

sun,

i faced that problem at BM NLB lor... the librarian dont even want to give us... in fact, invent all sorts of excuses including not us having to borrow 4 books. So 2nd round, after i called the NLB hotline and confirmed that only requirement is gynae appt card and NRIC, i was prepared to go down and scold them if they give me problem again. Do they think their gift is somehting we can sell? If everyone gets it.. bo liao right?

daphne / sung...
yeah, i might sign up with cordlife cos it seems that they are more international than stemcord, and they have a tie up with NUH... so we only pay $800 when we register instead of $1400.

asura, i got mine from queenstown library... they didn't even ask for the appt card, just ask me to fill up a form and ask for my ic, very simple!

Asura
I think those librarians think free gifts than we go and take, so they very reluctant to give us and maybe after that period of giving away the kit extra one they can take home ba......

Daphne, hee the first one i ask was my gynae, actually to see if he has any recommendations and preference but he said up to us to decide coz is personal choice :p

ic, ic. hee guess i'll shop ard somemore and decide later, still got some more time

jtho, that's really a huge discount, so good! dun tink gleneagles hv any tieup with any cord blood bank. i'll check again next wk at my gynae

Kome, cindy

my gynae only said it looks like a boy..so i take it that he can't confirm yet..I'm still 16weeks..next app is on 4th Nov..
but yesterday during the scan I did see something like a small rounding ball between baby's leg..so I'm quite sure bb is a boy

Miss83
I saw mine really very obvious there is a 'W' shape, so i can also say that mine is 90% confirm boy also. Haha.....still wishing that bb put his hand there and mislead us. *wishful thinking*

Kome, Sun, Asura,
I just got a email from the mummy who is trying to check for the Neurogain for us. She will check for us if can manage to get the stock in for us as supplier stocks running low. So if you'll wanted to order better email her ASAP ok as she will not be ordering anymore after that. Her email is [email protected].

hey gals
i remember someone posting up the number for NLB. can I have it again? want to call up and get a copy before it runs out!!

asura,
i think the NLB are having lots of calls and request from MTBs from this thread haha..
then they might suspect how come suddenly alot of ppl asking for this gift..are they going to sell it..

I have come back from my gynae appt...the scan result show i am having a prince! Gynae took specific measurements for bb's head and body....weighs 120g...

I have asked bb previously to guai guai let gynae scan cos mummy wanna know whether he is boy or gal...which he did! I asked my gynae issit confirm a boy, she said yes and showed me the birdie...Bb position is good that when my gynae highlighted the birdie to me, i could see it clearly....hehe...

Tho i wish more for a princess, i am still happy that its a prince, healthy most important...then if i happen to have a second one i definitely hope for a gal liao....wakakakaka...but i dunno if i will have the courage to try for another one....lets see how i go thru this one first

SG - u're welcome ya
if u are attending the East Shore antenatal class, do let me know wat u tink of the delivery and hospital facilities when they bring u on a tour...

pinksorbet

Congrats on ur prince! I still have to wait 1 more week before my next gynae visit next thurs. But dunno can see or not. Hope can see the gender of BB at the next visit.

minnie - u mus sayang and talk to yr bb ask him/her to be guai guai let gynae scan too

do u hope more for a prince or princess?

hee the number is 63323255, jtho, one wrong no. ;P

thanks jtho! i'll check out their website tonight

congrats pinksorbet!