(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Jasmine,

What is PIS advance? Is it very bulky? If too bulky, my hb would not allow me to bring back. Got pic?

ooo yeh gingal!! i like arnolds!!! but quite far from my hse leh.... =\ popeyes no nid say la.. even further... hahaha... hmmm nw make me gian for arnolds liao... i didnt knw the did delivery! is it all ovr Sg??? ooooooo.... yum yum...

Asura,
I have been looking out for breast pump and don't intend to spend so much as this is my 2nd child. I would either want Avent Duo or Medela PIS as is more powerful than the normal set. Can ask you hubby to check for me can. Thanks in advance...

asura and jasmine,
thats wat i understand from some of the stores in US..but anyway, i emailed medela company to confirm if got intl warranty.
To check out pricing, can go to amazon or drugstore.com.

But i think its hard to get more than 1 set if you tombang others. The box itself is quite bulky cos got all those styloform packaging etc.

I used the avent duo the last time, paid S$799 for it! Its also so much cheaper in US when i just check. But this time round decided to try out medela cos got good reviews from frens.
Although wun have 3rd kid but will still spend on a good pump and if i can get it cheaper from US, later i can sell it away cheaper also so will sure have buyers....

asura,
if you want Avent BPA-free bottles, can get from US too...SG haven not started selling and dunno when will start cos they are trying to clear the old stocks of non BPA free bottles.
Go GAP/ON outlets there to stock up your bb clothes too cos its cheap...
If you want baby car seats or prams, get there too...cheap!

kome,
i am not sure if the $300 savings will be eroded by the shipping. But can always try to check out with the online retailer? I know drugstore online do ship international.Amazon usually dun ship international for electric goods.

Asura,
Here's the pics. For medela PIS.
1701032.jpg
1701033.jpg

Avent DUO below:
1701034.jpg

Jasmine/Kome,

If u dont mind me deciding when i am there whether i can buy for u. Cos I am flying back alone.. with my bb bump bigger at that time, it would be difficult for me to carry much things. Thus, i have to decide based on luggage availability and my capability cos if i never remember wrongly, when i change from domestic flight to intl flight, i may need to bring the luggage to a different counter if it is not the same flight company. Website says that the Medela PIS is 11 lbs. So in the event that i get only 1, got to give it to Jasmine first since she requested for it first.. hope you understand.

Jasmine/Kome,

There's another method. I can buy there and airmail it to u if it work out to be still a lot cheaper..

Asura
Its ok lar. Most impt is to see if you able to carry back and yourself now. I don't mind if i have it or not. Will try to find other source also.

Ivy,

Thanks! My mom already bought be a bb pram the last time she came back from US. But my hb's friends say that the material is too hot for sg.. dont know yet.. havent unwrapped yet. As for clothes, probably get my hb to ship back when he comes back in oct/nov next yr.. have got enough clothes until then.. cos my mum bought me quite a bit.. and since she is coming back in apr/may, she would most prob bring more back.

Jasmine,

I am getting medela cos my colleagues say medela is better. But hor... what's the diff between PIS and the normal set? Am trying to figure the difference.

Asura,
Thanks thanks, I understand if you can't afford to carry too many packages and need to transfer flight, just email me when you're over at states, do you have my email address? If Avent Duo is much cheaper than Medela PIS I would take Avent Duo instead as its also very good suction. I saw from their website: Avent Duo is selling at US$219. But we must check if the warranty cover international before buying, if not no point buy from there.

Ivy,
Just to check if I have Avent UNO the adapter can it be use on Avent Duo?

Asura,
When I have #1. I use ameda which I buy from yahoo states but it broke down after 6mths, and my colleague lend me her medela mini plus, which I think is normal suction, took me 20 mins to empty both breast. My sister used Avent Duo, what I heard from her is the suction is much more powerful than normal ones, think it will be more faster to finish pumping if we're working mums. The only problem is if purchase from states we have to get local adapter in order to use it.

Asura,
Medela PIS & Avent Duo the suction should be = I think. Thats why Im thinking if either 1 is cheaper and the warranty is international than I would purchase from there. If airmail can work and its much cheaper why not. Anyway when will you be there? During christmas?

jasmine,
you mean the motor for uno? nope, it wun fit..i had the uno, then sold it off and bot the duo cos its more efficient when i went back to work...

Let's see what medela company and drugstore reply me abt the warranty..Actually so far, i have yet to see my frens needing repairs for their medela motor cos its basically a simple suction/pumping machine. If really not intl warranty, i still feel its worth the while to get it with a $300 savings.

Jasmine,

We havent decide on the dates that i would be there yet. Currently is end Nov/Dec. Cos my hb is leaving on 22 Sep, need to check his schedule when he is there before we finalise my trip. Anyway, 1 to go hardly have discounts. Heh..

Let me ask my mom on the cost of postage to send something abt 6 kg to sg using airmail. She has been sending me stuff since young...

Jasmine/Kome,

Think we also should check out the cost of shipping the stuff back on vpost.. There are some links to websites from the website kome gave. They offer free shipping within US.

Asura,
Ok lets see if have international warranty. Wait till Ivy let us know.
You let me & kome know how much is air mail postage, but hor if electrical product by airmail ok or not? Or by UPs is better? Don't know whats the cost like can check also. If its about the same I can share with kome the cost.
Ivy,
Thanks for letting me know. What I mean is the adapter for Avent Uno can it be use on Avent Duo, I don't mean the motor I mean the adpter.

jasmine,
its diff kind of connector for the adapter too. (uno vs duo).

Target.com also sell it the medela. Think can forget abt VPOST, they go by vol weight. The box might be 6kg but volumtric weight will go well beyond that.

Jasmine,

UPS a bit chem for my mum to check. That one wait for my hb to go there check. Anyway, i would terribly bored there when he is working during my trip there.. maybe i can help check it out as well.

Jasmine/Kome,

My hb is posted to a very ulu place (Idaho), not even sure we get to see any factory outlets there... lots of potatoes maybe.. hahaha.. so if registered mail/UPS works, best is ship the stuff to my hb's accomodation.

Well, if your gynae recommends his multi vits, then take those. My gynae only asked if I was taking any of my own and I said yes although they're not prenatal vits. So she recommended to switch to prenatal vits during the 2nd trimester. Anyway, will try it out. The price of the GNC prenatal program pack was $66.50 before the 20% member discount and last about 2 months.

FYI, I bought a Medela Mini electric pump during Robinson Sales last week and the warranty is only 6mths.

The best place to see all the different brand is Robinson at Centrepoint. You can find Avent/Medela/Pigeon/Ameda at the 6th floor.

asura,kome,jasmine
saw that u are planning to buy the breastpump from US? need to think about the voltage differences too. think it's lower in the US so it may "explode" if u plug it in in singapore.

Asura & Kome,
OMG if its what like sharon says than we have to consider buying from there, not safe leh. If half way pumping milk and it explode how??

Jasmine/Kome,

I have a lot of US electrical items at home. As long as use converter would be safe. Dont worry, would not explode as their voltage is lower than ours. Anyway, wouldnt pump milk halfway explode lah... never read wrongly, we only need to recharge the pump at night. The rechargeable batteries is sufficient to last during the day.

hee.. sorry to scare u, but i did bot something tat "exploded", ie. the adapter was burnt coz voltage was too high n it gave a spark n a big pop! gave me a big fright. lik asura said got to use an converter.

asura,
was the converter u got bulky?

Kome,
Haha... yeah never though of it. When you have no.1 you didnt breast feed ah? My girl just wean off when I return to work after 3rd month, just don't know why also she just refuse to drink direct just few days b4 I went back to work, like she knows mummy going to work so better stop drinking direct, so when she stop direct, I just pump out when I go office, I pump 3 times in office when I went back to work again. So end up I only stop pumping when she is almost 11mths old.

sharon,

My husband buy one. Think it is quite bulky. Definitely cannot plug in using the international plug. Think ivy mentioned that the converter is $20.

Jasmine
I did breastfeed my son, but for abt 50 days only. That time never think of breast pump, i was so tired and my son quite heavy so i gave up.

erm...
think so far no such problem for me too. My sis lappy, camera all from US and is still using in SG using converter...so shld be okie.

Kome,
Yeah its true, I was so tired during confinement, in the middle of the night sometimes I just give formula, sometimes feed direct. But baby can't wait for me to warm up the breast milk so I just mixed lor. But during day I tried to feed breast milk not formula.

Thats why i gave up so easily. Now intend to buy breast pump from the beginning, so that i hope can continue to bf longer period. I don't feel like investing too much also, wanna close shop after this.

Ivy,
But hor the Ameda set I brought from states, did burn out after 6mths of usage. And I use local converter adapter and I did check on the voltage to use?? Somehow its just burn down the motor.

jasmine,
the motor was burn out arh? but if its voltage problem then it shld be the adapter that die off? The Ameda set you bot was brandnew?

Mmm...after the discussion, i think mummies have to decide whether to take the risk for the savings..
cos so far it works well for me hence i will take the risk.

I google and found this information:
Answer: Singapore's voltage is 220 - 240 volts AC, 50 cycles per second. There are two options. If the voltage and cycles are the same as Singapore's you can purchase adapters. The plugs for the outlet are three pronged. You can buy adapters in any hardware store, and they'll cost you between $10.00 and $12.00 Singapore dollars.

I recommend the adapter where you can simultaneously plug in two pronged; flat and round, and three pronged plugs. If the voltage and cycles are not compatible you can purchase transformers. Any appliance with a clock in it will not keep the correct time and my colleague tells me her lamps over heat.

Stereos will work fine using a transformer, but TV's may be in another format and unable to receive the signal here, so you should check with the manufacturer and see what they recommend (for example a US TV will not work in Singapore; the Singapore signal is sent in PAL format). Any appliances that run continuously or that are used frequently are not recommended to be used with transformers as it can damage the motor after using for a period of time. Any DIY store (same as a hardware store) has a good selection of various transformers and converters.

**So i think converter is not a problem. Its the cycle rate that might pose a problem cos we need to use transformer. So far none of my US appliances need transformer. Let me go and ask my fren who bot the pump and ask if they indicate the cycle rate on the pump..But i know she have not been using transformer, only converter.

Kome,
Now milk powder so expensive. So the longer we breast feed can't safe and is good for our baby.

Ivy,
Thanks for the infro. for me I would want the set to be under warranty as broke down may happen for voltage normally the plug in on the motor will show what voltage to use if Im not wrong. Do let us know if they reply you on the warranty is it under international. Thanks

I just went for my NT scan today at TMC, I was there are 11am, anyone there also? The scan was super fast. BB cooperated v well when we asked him last night to guai guai let sonagrapher scan. Only took me less than 15mins to get everything done. The scan also showed that I'm getting A BOY!!!!! Sun, can help me update? BB is abt 6cm at 11+weeks. The sonagrapher didn't tell me EDD, instead she asked me when my EDD is and she keyed into computer. Didn't get any results straight, they would send to my gynae whom I'm seeing this Friday.

Asura!! hee hee... can i also tonpang? i wld like the Avent Duo ... but not ask u to carry back la... heh... help me check out hw much it is to purchase there and if u mail to me from states hw much wld it cost... thanks =)