(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Haha.....i haven even open up and apply although i had mention before to apply from 2nd trimester onwards. Mmm......should start tomorrow.

Hi gals, havent posted for a while. Been reading that some of you have already sign up for prenatal courses. How to get info on those classes and where do i sign up? Sorry very blur

sportyger,
If your gynae check up is at TMC, you can check it out from their parentscraft like Asura did. But must book early like others who wanted the Mrs Wong class.

Kristen_mum

I am also using bodyshop cocoa butter. Got one very strong smell.. Not very nice.

Think I am allergy to the cream. Nipples itch after apply.

<font color="#F87431">Kristen_mum</font>
oic. I got the cocoa palm butter sample too. just have not applied yet. dunno safe or not. cos last preggie, only apply during my 5-6mth onwards.

sportyger,
Yeah, you can check with them see whether to register there or have to go up to 3rd flr parentscarft. I didn't sign during my 1st preggy as I need to go for C-sect for delivery. This time I also need to go through C-sect so don't intend to sign up also.

afcai
I've only applied the stretchmark cream twice since I hit 2nd trimester! Haha, must remember to do it tonight. Tummy is growing now.

sportyger,
For more info on Parentcraft @ TMC:
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#firstborn
You can call up 62514090 first and see which day classes suit you best. Ask for Mrs BB Wong's classes. You can book tentatively and let them know how you can pay later.

pinksorbet, you can find the details here.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
it's abt 200 bucks depending if you r delivering in TMC

Kome, hahaha.. tt's my strategy manz.. must learn from you.. anyway ur boss can't do anything to u mah.

moomooland, ya. i agree with the rest. i think u have to reconsider your finances. if it's not tight, then it's okay and you can go ahead. however, do set aside abt 1.2 k at least per month for car. don't forget still got insurance, road tax and maintainence.. i jus paid my 2k half yr road tax and annual insurance.. heart pain..

oppsgal, i tried the butter cocoa cream.. too strong for my likings.. I am using clarins one.. i think it's much better..

Hello Mummies!

i am back.been tied up by work since last week till now.. Oh My.. this thread is really moving fast.

I went for my second check up last thursday and was told that my EDD moved back a week. now its 5th April 2009. think i will still stay in the same thread anyway cos EDD changes. my bb was at 9 wks 4 days and measure 2.73 cm. we saw bb lying on the floor of water bag and limbs all faing upwards.. was waiting for bb to move but bb didn't seem to care and only entertain us by moving his/her left feet. hehehe...

i was worried. my first check up, i was told that bb is growing faster than the scheduled date that's why EDD moved forward a week to 31 Mar, now moved back to 5th April.. i have been thinking if its because i am not eating enough or eating right.

i will be due for oscar on 26th Sep, i am keeping my fingers crossed that all turns out well.

Afcai,
I am very tempted to drink adult milk powder but i normally will get diahorrea when i drink that, so i can only drink HL milk now

Kristen Mum,
welcome to our thread! about taking chinese herbs.. i have no faith as nowadays, don;t know what the chinese put inside their herbs liao

Kome,
about Bird nest, can i take the concentrated one and then take a teaspoon in the morning and one at night? cos i don;t think i can brew them myself

Oppsgal,
about cold drinks, i do drink them cos the weather is so hot. i really can;t stand it but so far no carbonated drinks

Guest123,
About the Roe that u asked, don;t think we can eat that. if you watch japan hour, you can see how they took it out from the Salmon's belly. its really raw..

Idlecat,
Welcome to this thread. about constipation, i normally take papaya to help mw with my bowels.
for me, any hot drinks after food can trigger bowel movements now, especially tea with milk

just went to my best friend's wedding at Orchard hotel on Sat. food is not really good.. but its the ambience that u pay for, the sharks fin has too much starch till we can eat like soya bean beancurd.

went to satisfy my black peppercrab craving last thursday at still road after check up. my happiness was dampen when we kena a parking ticket. haiz.. diff to find parking there, got to walk far.. hubby risk it cos i can't really walk. think next time will da bao and not eat there.

pink - see GP... i also keep getting fever on &amp; off... i asked my Gynae abt it... he said next time have fever go see GP and just tell him gynae told to find him... he thinks it may be some viral infection or something ba.... he says definitely not related to the pregnancy... *shrugs* see how bah....

went for my scan jus now... can see baby grow liao... cn see the head &amp; body... quite funny... hee hee... cn see it moving a bit... but gynae jus focus on the heartbeat lo... cn see it beating &amp; hear it... anyway, apparently now im week 11 liao -_-" my EDD is 30 March... baby is only 4.07cm ... i lost weight also... ard 1kg... hehehe... havent been eating well bah... can feel im falling sick again... nose getting blocked... throat getting sore... feel warm... hai...

anyway, Dr ask me go back next week... want to do Oscars... but i was asking Hubby.... he says its up to me... i dont see the necessity because i dont have any risk factors... i'm not into my 30s... both sides no family history of down.... so not sure if want to do or not... plus he said will cost ard $200... not sure want to spend that money or not...

Anyone here who did not or am not opting for it ?

oh ya also, there is a baby talk seminar at suntec this Sat 13 Sept... the clinic gave me the brochure... if i show my appt card, its free! if not then $15 per pax/$20 per couple (incl. refreshments &amp; free gifts)

topics covered are :

1. Effective baby handling tips &amp; live baby massage
2. Cord blood banking
3. Pain relief for easy labour
4. Guide to a successful pregnancy
5. Give your child the best protection from Day 1

anyone going ?

tks lenny n misscandy...kk, think will see gp ltr or tml if gets worse...blocked nose n sore throat, like misscandy...rubbed some vicks to ease e block...is it ok?

missycandy, i did not go for oscar test too. i m now in my 13th wk and have discussed wif hubby abt it, not becos it is exp, it is becos i m not in 30s and no family history of down syndrome too. but we are considering triple test which my gynae is doing for me later on with other tests.

another reason y we did not do it is becos i tend to get worried easily, so i dont want to put stress to myself. moreover whatever the result is, i believe there are more tests to come.

missycandy

i didnt go for the oscar test as well.. i don wan ltr do liao worry this n tat..

Re: confinement
i also not sure leh. tats what my aunt told me. lol.. ya i agree,v hard to open mouth to ask for ang pow too. hehe

Lenny
Few days never saw you here already.
For the bird nest don't take too much also, think take 1 teaspoon every alternate day will be good enough.

Hi keronjeris and Queenie,

im also not doing oscar cos' at my age, the results will be 50-50 and since im not doing any triple test or amnio hence no point in oscar. My gynae also agree w me..

my mom says morning sickness will last for 40days and boy, she's right. my MS started in late July and only yesterday I felt that it's probably over! Last fri, I was still puking v badly but yesterday I was able to tolerate the cooking smell and felt hungry.

missycandy, queenie, and keron, I also opted not doing the oscar test for the same reasons like u missy. I'm not in the 30s and when i had my #1, i also didn't do the oscar test. I only opted for the triple test. hee

I also will not do the OSCAR scan in order not to put too much stress for myself and i do believe in what my gynae say. If he never ask me to do it, i will not purposely go and do the scan.

Pammie,

Dont know leh.... I tot my MS was over cos the past 2 weeks were on and off nausea and feeling really great. But my nausea started coming back with vengence on a 24 hr basis from sat..
Feeling terrible now.. So bad that i got to take some time before i fall asleep cos feeling too nausea already.

afcai,
yup i just delivered my boy in Jan08. The age gap bet #1 &amp; #2 will be ard 14mths. Good thing is #1 will have a close playmate. The thing that shudder me is i am not sure if i can cope with two (baby+toddler). It's almost like taking care of twins. Anyway, me &amp; hubby will cross the bridge when we come to it. The more i think abt it, the more i worry &amp; stress lo.

Re: Oscar test
My oscar result turn out fine
I am also into 2nd trimester, now 13.5wks. MS comes on &amp; off.
According to my NT scan, EDD show 9Mar09. So confusing cos initial EDD was 15Mar09. Anyway the sonographer say EDD will be plus minus 2 wks based on LMP.

i am into my 12weeks and this is my 2nd.
Am also not doing oscar or NT scan. But might go for triple blood test in 16th week.
Reason also me not in 30s, no family history and if really anything i also dun think i will give it up...Had suffered 12 weeks of bad puking so its hard to give up. Pray hard that things will be fine like the 1st round.

Any 2nd time mummies here is anemic? I was healthy for the 1st born but was found to be anemic this time round. Doc say usually 2nd time will be anemic if mummy did not rest well during 1st confinement plus the stress and tiredness of taking care of 1st born....

As mentioned earlier, i had fever on sat and still having sore throat. last night i went to buy manuka honey. wanted to buy umdf20+ but cost S$70+ and the normal manuka cost S$20+. I went back and put one teaspoon full into my mouth and slowly swallow it. Had it this mrng too. Hope my sore throat will heal soon. I prefer to heal by itself than taking medicine and drinking more water.

steph:: hehe i delivered my boy in nov 07. So the age gap between him and this will be 16 months. Like you, on one hand i'm happy he'll have a close playmate, on the other, ahah dont' know how to cope. probably will totally lose our lives man!!

Healing by itself is sure better than taking all those medicine, but it will take longer to heal. Hope your sore throat will quicklg go away.

asura,
im in my wk 10. was fine the past week, but ytday and today start feeling nauseous again, is almost like the whole day thing, no puking tho, just very xing ku. hope MS goes away soon.

it's a long wait for my next gynae visit and OSCAR scan on 24Sep. can't help but abit worried, wonder whether bb is growing well...haiz

Kome
thx. i will take a few times of the honey a day. anyway honey is good.

in fact i saw fr this forum that many suffered fr ms. i am glad that so far (touch wood) i nvr vomitted and nvr experience bad ms, just no appetite. Hope it is a boy.. haha
alot of pple ard me find me slimming down alot (as in overall) and i look pale. I will start taking chicken essence a few times a week after the taking duphaston and cure from sore throat.

I won't be doing the OSCAR and tomorrow will ask my gynae if I can just do other blood tests besides the triple test as my hubby and I don't see the point in doing these tests in the first place. They are both not 100% accurate and may cause undue stress on me as well as my family. As parents to be, our worries will never end even once our bb is born. But we will be happy the day our bb arrives in this world, no matter what. Stay positive gals.

Cindy,
How is your boy doing now? How many teeth liao?
My boy only sprout 2 teeth from lower gum

Is your boy very active, crawling &amp; learning to stand up? Able to sleep-thru the nite? I co-sleep with my boy on our bed nowadays. One thing gd is i don't have to wake up, bend over to check on him (several times). I can just turn my head &amp; pat him if he wake up. Still need to wake up once in the middle of the nite (2 or 4am) for his milk feed.

guest:: i also never vomitted and never experience bad ms, i'm already into my 14th week. This was exactly the same as when I had my #1 - a boy, the only difference is when i had #1, my appetite was really good but for this one, appetite not so good. ahha i hope to get a girl though!!

steph:: hehe my boy is very active yes, wants to move here and there, point his finger asking us to bring him there, carry also cannot stay still, move here and there, aiyo, really terrible. He doesn't know how to crawl on all 4s, he's still creeping around on his tummy. But i guess different bbs different, not all will crawl haha so i will just wait for the day he suddenly stands up to walk! and yes he is learning how to stand up, whenever he can grab onto sometihng he will sttand up..
He has 7 teeth already!! -.- 4 upper and 3 lower. I can see another upper one sprouting out so it will make 5 upper and 3 lower. hehe. Sleeping through, NO LOH!! i really can't wait for the time he doesn't have to wake up. but now seeing your boy still got to wake up aiyo! Usually 9pm i will put him to zzz, if i'm having a good night, he will get up at 3am, actually to me, it's considered sleeping through the night as it's a 6hr stretch, so if he gets up at 3am, to 4am, i will make milk for him. BUT if he gets up at like 12, 1, 2 am i will try to pat him back to zzz. I try not to co-sleep unless really necessary as i really don't want to make this a habit haha. although he does sleep better with us. but not really comfy to sleep cautiously. haha! You still breastfeeding?
I just stopped totally recently.

marbride,
You can try to take more red meat (beef) or food with more iron to get back more red blood cell. For me I also 2nd time mummy, I just did my blood test with OSCAR, its shows my red blood cell in in the range and is on the higher range, so don't think I need to take any iron pills.

(JTS) Stretch-mark cream,
Those who dont like Body shop coco butter can try, Elancyl stretch-mark cream, but now outside hard to find as stock running low. But that day I went for my OSCAR check up at Thomson Medical, the shop at 1 flr selling and I see still have lots of stocks, now they're selling 2 tubes at $47.30 instead of $90 plus, so is like buy 1 get 1 free now. So mummies who want to get the cream do act fast, I already have mine, I think 2-3 tubes is enough to last through till giving birth.

Kome,
Thanks, i have been very tied up at work lately that's why didn't log in.

Guest123,
I am not sure about honey. i wanted to buy honey from GNC but the staff discourage me cos she say bees products might cause asthma. better check with your gynae..

asura - i tink i will check out the december classes....thanks alot

wintertime - thanks for the link....i'm not delivering at TMC tho so i tink charges are definitely gg to be more expensive...i will check and bookmark the link...thanks alot...

Sore throat,
Honey must go with lemon juice than will make throat better. I have told must of my friend with sore throat to drink that and it works. Do have a try if sore throat never go away. If you got cough than drink it warm, if not I prefer cold its better taste.

for preggies..the nurses told me a temperature of 38degrees is then considered fever for preggies...37degree plus is normal...cos preggies's temperature tends to go on the high side...

so this explains why preggies always feel feverish...i do too...

for those MTBs who r having fever...its safe to take the normal type of panadol, not those extra strong types...

yesterday i was having backache and headache, so took MC and stayed at home. sad to say that i have rashes all over my tummy and thighs area. in the end my GP said it is due to the tearing of skin, meaning i will have stretchmarks soon.

he prescribed topicream, saying can use as stretchmark cream too. anyone using that too?

good morning mummies..

hope everyone's weekend has been great...went to the gynea yesterday to take my OSCAR results...and it's a breeze..baby is looking ( well baby hung loose in the scan with limps all hanging down ...relaxing..hahaha)healthy and playful in the womb..hahaha.....

gynea told me that my placenta is lying low at this moment but not to worry..but everything seems fine..

phew was so worried about the results...coz i am 35yr old and baby is my 1st..so more worrisome..

i have booked for the parental classes with mrs wong too...starts on the 14th oct...
oh it's 5 lessons with 1 doctor talk ( on tuesdays only)...so i boked for weekday coz her class i heard is very crowded.

Cindy
I hope it is a boy!
Boy for a first child got priviledge leh.. haha

Pinksorbet
My sis advised me not to take panadol leh.. so i try to heal the natural way..

hello afcai...

i just started applying the tummy cream....coz tum tum is showing and i am using elancyl...smells good and non- sticky...
it was a recommandation from fren. she has 2 children and told me that the cream was very useful...she has no stretch mark at all...
read in a article....it's genetic...depending on your mom..if she doesn't have..then chances are..you won't...hehehe

Cindy,
sad to say i only breastfeed my boy for 1 month.
Hopefully this time round, i can bf longer.
My boy has learn to crawl backwards instead of forward
He can position himself on all fours but doesn't know how to crawl on all 4s. He is learning to stand up &amp; can stand upsupported for few seconds. Everything he see, he will put it into his mouth...drooling lots. Who is taking care of yr boy while u work?

oppsgal...

pls do not apply cream on your nipples....use a nipple cream if you have to...otherwise..occassionally us warm cotton bud and wipe the area...if it's dry and itchy..the normal cream too thick for your nipples..might coz blockage...

Daphne,

Are you going alone? If u are, then i shall see if i can change it to 14 Oct when i go make payment next tues... Currently i am booked onto the 16 Oct one cos i thought thurs class, then work 1 day, then weekend! Hee hee

Oh dear.....i forgot abt the stretchmark cream Yesterday tot of start using it but forgot all abt it. Must remember to apply tonight.

Daphne...yes placanta will move up later in yr second trimester ya...dun worry and relax....be a happie mummy =)

keronjeris - talking abt rashes my buttocks feel v itchy and i keep scatching ever since my gynae gave me the "an tai" jabs on my butt (haha sorrie i know its gross)... told my gynae but she said some preggies will feel itchy all over...dunno how come liddat oso...maybe its the hormones? *shrug*

Guest - cos the other day i felt v sick and feverish i called the clinic up...the nurses told me its safe to take normal panadol for fevers, and i did ask my gynae b4 too and she said the same thing...hat is if u realli cannot bear with the fever lo....if u can, of cos better not to take medication...