(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Good morning ladies!!!

I went for my check up last sat and saw my bb somersaulting in my stomache during the scan..hahaha..was so funny!! My girl was with us and when she saw her little sibling on the screen, she kept saying "baby baby"..

I am now in my 11+ weeks and bb measured 5cm. I asked my gynae if it is necessary for me to the Oscar test and he told me that his practise is that he will not recommend patients to do it but the Triple Test is necessary. However, if patients request, he will also not reject. He explained a lot to me about the Oscar test and why some gynaes would recommend and some leave it to the patients. At the end of the day, I think i will go for the triple test and see how the results first. My next check up is 2 weeks later and will be measuring the thickness of the baby's neck.

Kome, ya manz.. i totally don't feel like doing anything at all..jus hope tt friday faster come. I m into my 15th wk. going to see my bb next week... yeah..
Thanks for the comments on the clothes. i will get one or 2 from her first and try.

Kristen, hees. very fun to see bb moving in our tummy right?? me too, was sooo happy to see bb so active during the scan. sometimes if bb still sleeping, i will "purposely" cough a few times to wake bb up.. wahahhhaha.. bad mummy

Morning mummies .

This week is my 11 weeks , really feel tired coming to work . Can only see my bb next week when I going for the Oscar test .

Wintertime
I already plan to take leave on tis coming friday to rest at home. Also had booked the ticket to go for 2N weekend cruise in Oct. hope can rest enough.

kome,, awwww.. so envious.. i am also thinking if I should do the same too. but but, no where to go.. doubt my hb allows me to fly these days. I cancelled all my biz trips now. i thinking of going to batam instead...

Wintertime
If can afford better to go now, or else very difficult to go holiday when tummy getting bigger or after delivery already.

Heehee....i am trying to get away from my job. Very tired and really don't feel like doing anything.

Thanks babe, gingal
Sometime have to force myself if not wholeday stomach very pain. Nowaday I eat more banana and take Fybogel, better now but still bleed a bit. Since having MS, my taste bud changed and a lot of food unable to take as wanna puke when taken.

RE: 1st trimster
Asked my gynae before and he told me to use 40weeks divide by 3

Anyway, I'm happy to be in 2nd trimster now
but still go MS leh...

wow, so many pple takin leaves... my hb on leaves too cos he's clearing his annual leaves.. i cna't cos not much leaves left and I want to save it for next year..

I just registered for the antenatel class.. starting on 30th Nov..

Wintertime
I gt not much leave also. I taking my childcare leave this fri and 1 day for the cruise. My company have not mention anything abt the additional chilcare leave leh. Not sure have or not. After that i left only abt 8 days leave to keep for next year only.
so little.

asura - mayb the baby somersaulting in yr stomach...hehe

the stuffs i read abt u mummies seeing yr babies move is so exciting...i can't wait to see mine too...12th week this wed...yay!

been waiting what seem like ages towards the 2nd trimester...

am contemplating whether i should go back to work in my 13th week cos i'm still spotting..and i feel unsafe gg back to office until the "safe month" which is the 4th month...been away from office for v long le, even tho boss is nice enough to let me take long leave, but felt quite bad to stay away for so long...and oso quite sian to stay at home le....decisions decisions....

i'm thinking bb is still my utmost priority...i'm even willing to quit my job for little one until i deliver but hb alone can't support the finances...moreover i will miss out on those govt benefits if i am to enter a new co next year...and i foresee will be quite difficult to look for a job after i give birth...

idlecat - i read that preggies can onli eat small bananas, not those big Del Monte ones....just to let u know in case u take big ones...

i puke a few times yesterday, and the worst thing is, i puke nothing out except saliva & air (funny cos i did eat food but i can't realli puke the food out)...my aunt said she puked 9times an hour the last time she was pregnant....my case is not as bad as hers but i still feel sick almost the whole day....

kome, me too.. i m now only left with 8.5 days leaves to bring to next year..

pinksorbet. yup, bb is ur priority now.. can you request to work from home since you still having spotting? i guess u r right, i think not many companies esp those SMEs will want to hire women employees these days..

RE: Antenatal Classes

I have just booked the antenatal classes conducting from 16 Oct to 18/20 Nov by Ms Wong BB (Thurs 7 to 9 pm) at AMK Hub. My husband is going overseas posting so i would be attending the class alone. I remember some MTBs ask me to jio for the antenatal class as they are also alone. Cant remember who leh... so sorry... if u are keen and able to join me, do sign up for the same antenatal class.

wintertime - i wish i could but right now my colleague is able to cover me, so dun tink my boss will go thru the hassle of making me work from home...and besides the materials are in the office so dun tink am able to...

i tink i will monitor my condition the next two weeks and ask my gynae for opinion...if have to, will have to be thick skin and ask boss for further unpaid leave...oh well...

do we have to book antenatal classes that early? cos i oso tink of attending but was waiting to explore onli during my 2nd trimester...

Asura, i was given at later date cos i requested for wkend classe.. 16th OCt is wkday right? which time slots u going?

Since government had annouce giving 4 mths maternity leave, I think lesser company want to employ women to work already ba...

pinksorbet, i KS mah.. cos I heard someone saying tt it's fully book liao.. so I quickly call in cos I wanted Mrs Wong Boi Boi classes cos my gfs all say she's very gd.. plus i wanted a wkend class, now i m given 30th Nov sunday class.. so if you gals are interested in wkend class, better book fast cos by then, should be just right timing for you. for mine, i wil be in my wk 27th by the time i attend the class

asura, ya.. wkday too rush for me n hb already..

kome, ya manz.. u bet. i think i m going to "lie" to my next employer that i will stop at 1 when i go interviewing.. once got the job, then "accidentally" have my 2nd one.. ahahahhaa..

wintertime - wow the popular classes taken up so fast! how much do u have to pay?

oh and once get the job mus wait till after a certain period of time then get pregnant....sianz...i actually wanted to change my job next year de, after i give birth cos the thought of switching job has been in my mind long ago...my hb look at me wild-eyed when i told him yesterday...he said..."what abt those benefits? u will lose out leh! use finish first then leave la, cos u won't be entitled to the new benefits after u enter a new co"

Wintertime
I remembered when i was been interviewed in this job last yr Dec. they did asked me if i gt plan for #2 and i told them no. Haha.....but now so lucky strike again.
1697508.gif
Don't know what my boss will think.

hi mums to be,

how many of you out there takes the bus/train to work? and how many of you get driven around by your hubby?

am thinking of getting a weekend car so that travel is more convenient, but not sure if its really necessary....

pls share..thanks!

Moomooland
I taking bus and transfer to MRT to work. I got a weekend car but usually is for hb to drive and send us back to PIL place and stay during weekend.

me currently 90% driven by hubby , 10% take train / bus . Actually getting a car , u must consider the cost involve , not only monthly instalment , maintenace , insurance , petrol etc . If finacially not constraint , u can get a small car . U have to consider , weekend car only can drive 7pm - 7am and weekend Sat after 3pm then can drive .

hi kome,
we're considering the weekend car for the hubby...and of coz i was tasked to do the research to compare the pros and cons of taking the cab or buying a weekend car...

also, we thought of getting the weekend car to travel, esp if we need to get baby stuff and go for checkups or even delivery...

views, anyone?

Hi Moonmooland
Heard from hubby that cat 1 coe dipped alot this month. He bought me a mitsubishi i car in may when the coe was very low. This time coe is lower. My engine is 660cc turbo engine.
You must weigh your finances as we are expecting a new life soon. For my car expenses monthly expenses is about S$800-S$1000 including petrol, instalment, maintenance etc. My petrol is less than S$200 monthly, instalment is about S$600. It is a huge burden. The bb is unexpected. Hubby bought the car to prepare me on my driving skill bef i was pregnant so i dont have to squeeze in the train and bus when i go work thou my journey to work is still not too far but buy some convenient.

Moomooland
Wish a boy and Guest had mention are correct. You have to consider your financial. When we had #1, my hb and I thought that we can afford it. But after having the weekend car for 2 yrs, i find it a burder in my financial wise and #2 coming out some more. I agree that it is convienent to have a car esp when you have kids, but is the financial that we cannot tahan.

Pinksorbet,

I think ideally we should be going for the Nov/Dec classes. But cos i wouldnt be ard in Nov/dec, i called parentcraft to check whether i should go for the later class or the earlier class. They recommended the earlier class.. So not too late if u still want to think about it. If u looking at weekday classes, there shouldnt be much problem. It is the weekend classes that are fully booked.

It's good for first time mummies to attend the parentcraft as it's will teach u what to expect and how to breath on the actual date for natural delivery . Me went when I had the first one but ended with c-sect as breech baby .. think she got my message that I want her to be born on same date as hubby though EDD is 2 weeks apart and think she know if natural cannot so cause me to c-sect and that day my gynea chosen happen to me hubby's birthday as well . Second baby , I told bb , mummies no $$ liao so natural can save $$ so in the end I mananged to deliver thru natural ... hee hee ... so this one must also tell bb no $$ liao as your are 3rd one so must be good also natural ..

Moomooland,

I agree with the Mummies. It's convenient, but think of it as a long-term liability. These days once bought a car, cannot suka suka like last time sell it away if cannot afford to pay for maintenance and installments etc. More worth if can drive more years. For me, I drive since got married cuz working in Tuas and staying in central Singapore. Can save me time but of course it's more expensive than taking MRT & bus but cheaper than taking cab to work daily esp with the taxi price hike now. Hubby works from home half of the time and sometimes if he's out to meet clients, he can claim taxi fares. I agree it's more convenient once you have kids but if you are not fetching children daily from the caregiver and only use it for weekend to bring kids out, then I suggest you either get a weekend car or simply take taxi. I fetch my son to and fro my parents' place daily and weekend we bring him to PIL's place or going out. But all these convenience has a hefty price to pay. We are spending about 300 on petrol/mth for a 1.8L car. Car is fully paid so there's no worry of monthly installment and interests but it's painful to part with money 1 shot but save on interest long-run if taking loan.

kome,

The quality of the clothes are good. Love it. Except for a yellow dress which i felt the color is a bit off.. but still acceptable. Too occupied over the weekend to take pic. heh... mj is more interesting.. hee

guest123,

I'm not able to view my shipment progress for the gap clothes. It's been shipped on 4 Sep US date, but besides that, can't see other information from UPS.

Asura79/Kome, wah..clothes arrived ah? must be very happy got new clothes to wear to work. heehee. I'm still waiting for my clothes to ship here leh...long wait till neck long long liao.

Going to NT scan tmr at TMC at 11am, any Mummies going tmr? In my 11th week now, so excited can see bb again.

moomooland

Guest's petrol is less than $200 a mth - that's not even 50% of the amt of petrol we incur a mth! plus road tax and insurance and instalment - ours is also higher than Guest's.. and we paid 30% in cash when we bought the car in 2005. I can't comment on weekend car cos' I dont know what hours you can drive and whether it will be more costly for you to put the stickers to drive..

hi all, seems like the general consensus for the car owners here are, unless absolutely necessary,else dont get a car... thanks for your views...

think i will continue taking the cab for now...

fairymoss,

my clothes are here but i dont get to wear them yet. Abdomen only look slightly bloated and i can still fit into most of my working clothes except for those that are tight at the chest area cos my bust really bursting. So feel that now wear maternity clothes like very kwa chang.

Fairymoss
My colleague who bought together with me said vpost will send us an email once the parcel arrive at their site. We have no news yet. Will update you again.

Car
Currently i am staying 8km away from my house to work place and sometimes my hubby will drive my car to work on wkn on we drive my car out on weekends. Mine is a 660c car, low capacity and low insurance n tax. I bought the mit i sport series car in may with a coe of abt $10k for S$52k. Insurance and road tax a year is abt $2k. Hubby paid little down payment. He has a car too. 2l civic. he works in tuas and need a car and petrol a month is at least S$400 with the current old pricing...
If you really need a car, get a decent car. I dont really suggest getting a picanto thou. mit i car is turbo engine thus mtnc is 5,000km per mtnc unlike other car. toyota vios is not bad too. decision on getting a car is impt and decision on getting a wkn car is impt too...

moomooland
i'm oso taking cab at the moment but hb is considering getting a car at a later stage...

oh, sat i had fever and sore throat. i din take any medicine. just rest more. sore throat is there. painful when swallowing saliva. Suddenly have headache now.. sigh..

Guest : not feeling well , better see doc early and can just take normal medicine and recover rather than get worst then need to take antibiotic which we try to avoid if possible .

Fairymoss & Asura
I already started to wear. Even though i wear the maternity clothes which are bigger, pple can still see my tummy popping out. Morning will be smaller abit but later in afternoon becoming bigger. No choice need to wear them already since i cannot wear my old clothes already.

Yes, pls do take care. I just got this believe that we shouldn't be sick during pregnancy. Don't understand why i have this thinking. Maybe hope bb will not absord too much medicine ba....

Guest123,

Hmmm..ok shall wait. I think mine send out together as yours cuz I saw that there are 31packages in the same shipment. I think they consolidate all orders and send in bulk to UPS. I don't like UPS tracking system, can't see the progress. DHL can see where the package has gone, from state to state so that you feel more an xin.

Wish a boy, Kome
Thanks for your concern.
My sis told me the last time she let her fever healed itself.. I am better just that still having sore throat. Thou of having some honey esp manuka or rare honey.
ya, we should not get sick during pregnancy. i used to be on mc almost every month and trying hard not to fall sick...

Fairymoss
ya. my colleague told me got 31 parcels too.. prefer DHL...

<font color="#F87431">mummies</font>
anyone start apply stretch mark cream on their tummy liao?? if not, when can it start?

<font color="#F87431">pinksorbet</font>
yup, maybe loh. but if I felt the sensation, it will also give me rest assure that bb is well cos
bb is moving mah.

<font color="#F87431">sharon</font>
oh....is it, did not know that those plaster/clay thing they use to make a mold is like that.

yup, I'm one of them, hoping for bb boy.

<font color="#F87431">misscandy</font>
yeah, usually, preggie woman got werid taste.

<font color="#F87431">Asura79</font>
hmm..maybe the buttery fluttering u felt is bb moving his body or fart. :p

<font color="#F87431">faiymoss</font>
re:braless esp bf time. I will tied a knot using my t shirt then will place 2 handkerchie each in one b. so that it will absorb the leak.

<font color="#F87431">Idlecat</font>
welcome. wow, pass 2nd trimster leh, envy, me got to wait till this weekend.

yup, constipation is common in preggie esp we consume the multvitamins , calcium tablets. so must eat lot of veg, fruit and water.

Afcai,

I have started applying moisturiser on my tummy shortly after my tummy starts to show. I am using the BodyShop Cocoa Butter. It is supposed to be for very skin and it is very rich but absorbent. However, I do not apply faithfully everyday but only like once every 2 days...