(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Mummies who did the Oscar test at around $280 , does it include blood test or it's just NT scan ?
my gynea told me below are the scan for DS

1) NT scan is $150 , accuracy 70%

2)blood test there is 2 types .
a)PAPP-A accuracy is 75% cost $300
b)triple test accuracy is 60% cost $125

So he recommend can do a combo and the test accuracy will increases as follows :

1 + 2a = 95% accuracy
1 + 2b = 80% accuracy

So if I take 1 + 2a total cost will be $450 leh ...

NT scan is measuring the thickness of the baby neck.
They have a range to meet, if too thick, will have risk of having ds, then maybe need more tests to confirm.

Sun
Sorry not able to help you. Never do OSCAR scan.

Mummies who done OSCAR scan
Pls help to advice SUN as how it is like to do OSCAR scan.

Extracted from Babycentre:

"What is nuchal translucency (NT)?

This is a <u>collection of fluid under the skin at the back of a baby's neck</u> at 10-14 weeks that can be measured using ultrasound. All babies have some fluid, but in many babies with Down's syndrome, the nuchal translucency (NT) is increased.

An NT scan is a method of assessing whether your baby is likely to have Down's syndrome. It's a screening test. A screening test can only estimate the risk of your baby having Down's, as opposed to a diagnostic test, such as CVS or amniocentesis, which will give you a definite diagnosis (but also carries a small risk of miscarriage).

The NT scan can't tell for certain whether your baby is affected. However, it can help you decide whether or not to have a diagnostic test."

Sun,

in short, OSCAR Test involves measuring the NT and also checking for Nasal Bone.
it will be combined with another blood test and the overall risk will be generated by combining the results as well as factoring in Mummy's age and past history.

Wish a boy
wah so expensive ah.. i am not sure leh. but i know i need to pay S$280 for oscar test at tmc. it is the latest technology and highest accuracy rate.

Guest123 : That's why lor , my first 2 preg , years ago , at that time only triple test to test DS . So now I also confused which to take lor and what is the different between mine and OSCAR ?

thanks bliss for the link , now I know OSCAR test which is actually equal to my gynea recommendation NT scan and PPAP-A blood test . Woo then mine is expensive lor , $450 compare to TMC around $320 since after 10% discount is $280 .

yeah i attended the classes conducted by Mr Wong BB last year. Quite gd
Her classes are very packed. To get a gd seat (free seating on the floor with mat &amp; pillows), sit near the mirror is the best view (when u reach there u will know what i mean)

What do u have for lunch ladies?
i ate japanese bento set (mix tempura/cold soba/raw sashimi/california maki/chawamushi/salad/miso soup) Yum Yum

Asura,
me notti mummy la, wanna curb my craving but too difficult cos my colleagues were eating them too...make me buay tahan! I only ate 3 slice of raw salmon (not too much hor:p)

Eliz,
tom yum seafood(clear soup) my favourite too!

Steph,

Wah.... u should refrain in future.. i asked gynae abt sashimi. She say if i really want to take, take in the 3rd trimester when bb is fully formed and ask me to only 2 or 3 slices then.

Ya Steph, better don't take for now lah... coz we don't know how fresh, safe and hygienic the Sashimi is being prepared. It's really quite a risk leh..

Asura &amp; Eliz,
guilty liao

during 1st pregnancy, i only took it in my 3rd trimester. Dunno why...just cannot control this time round. The california maki also with roe &amp; mayo, i also took le.
If possible, no raw food during pregnancy la. Me broke alot of rules liao

Steph
Think you will be very tired after your #2 born. Coz by that time he will start to walk and run already.

Steph,

Dont feel guilty lah... eat already then bo bian... but better refrain until u are in late 3rd trimester. Ur son very very cute!

minnie24,
I am sure your baby will be a lovely bundle of joy too!
Here's my boy at birth at 37wks...see so small &amp; wrinkled...
1692324.jpg

Kome,
Lucky got MIL to help look after #1 during wkdays. Weekends me &amp; hubby take over full time shift to look after. Now i feel very tired already, low energy &amp; i can't imagine when #2 arrive le...very scared (dunno can cope anot). Later u'll see a mad woman running after #1 &amp; breast feeding #2! Aiyo headache man. Still cannot decide whether to cater confinement food or engage CL when #2 arrive.

bliss,
#2 is unplanned. We got a shock when i tested positive. I managed to accept it but hubby took sometime to accept baby. We TTC for almost 3.5yrs for #1. Didn't expect #2 to arrive so soon.

steph
you same as me. My mum help me to look after #1 and weekend we take over. But i think i abit better than you in a way is that my son already 21mths, so i just sit in sofa and he walk and play around himself. But sometimes he will pull my hand and walk with him. I also so tired that cannot tahan. I asked my hb to handle him and me resting.

Steph
I decide to order CL food and asked my mum to help out looking after #2 during my confinement., but have not discuss with my mum yet and see what is her reaction.

Yup, Afcai have given me some link for the confinement food. Cost abt $1100 - $1450 for 2 meals 7 days. No choice, both my mum &amp; MIL don't want to do it for me. This is what i can think of now.

Eliz,
hehe...they bought but nobody strike le. My hubby also bought my son IC no &amp; ward no:p

Kome,
Even though tired but i will still carry him &amp; play with him often cos as our tummy b'com bigger, we have more difficulties in movement. Later scare he dun wan mummy

Kome,
I am considering between Newbaby &amp; Natal essential to cater for confinement meals but not cheap though.

Thanks babe!

Steph
Ya lor agree with you. I don't want my son to feel that i don't love him after got #2. I do carry my son for short while also, cannot too long coz my son weight 13+kg feel breathless after carrying him and tummy also abit pain.

Steph ...

v cute ler your boy ... my cousin's gap even nearer ... the wife preg again when the bb was only 5mths ... must say its q tough but i guess when the younger one turns 1yr old ... should be v fun for them to play tog.

kome ...

i oso try to carry my son but he sometimes will just jump onto my tummy so i v scared of him =p