(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

1689937.gif
, ok gtg for my check up. Chat with your gals tomorrow.

<font color="#00FFFF">Kristen_mum </font>
me me, during my first preggie, I donate my child's cord blood to SG cord blood bank. during my 2nd or third trimster, I just walked to the office, press the bell (they forbid ppls gg in so they locked office) and ask them I wanted to donate. then a lady asked me to fill up the form and then tell me the procedures etc. I did ask if my frenz delivered in other hospital how. she told me that just call them, when my frenz delivered, they will send ppls to go and collect the donation.

if it is suitable why not, I just donate cos I find that it is a waste to throw away like that. it is also hassle free. they only draw yr blood before birth and then drain the cordblood fr the placenta or whatever issue. I was too tired to see. some even take their placenta to make into powder. one actress even bring home, wash and cook.in fact, the placenta very nutrients. oops, the sight of placenta already made me faintz liao. can't imagine got to eat....

heard that the malay even buried their placenta.

hi girls, long time never login...my 1st 4 days in office quite ok, everyone knows I'm pregnant &amp; was quite nice to me, glad that I told them before I came in...

I'm also doing my OSCAR this sat, crossing my fingers that everything is well, I'm already 33...=( Re the birdnest, I'm craving for it too! told my hubby this's the only time i can eat such ex stuff without feeling guilty, hee... my gynae told me cannot eat birdnest too early, she has a patient who eat every week starting from 6th wk of pregnancy &amp; in the end, lost her baby...think baby is still too small, prob will start eating it from 3rd semester onwards

hmmm like quite a few occasions have to eat tang yuan right?? i knw "yan yat" (people's day = everybody's birthday) also eat tang yuan... its just before christmas if im nt wrong... mus ask my mummy....

ooo craving for tang yuan now.... aballinG! *drooLs*

yEHhhh tomorrow its Fridayyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so looKin forward to da weekend to sleep &amp; nuaaaa!!!! getting fatter day by day.... mus go find my milk pudding n aballing liaOx... oooo tomorrow my snowskin mooNcakes lai liaOooooo yummmmiiieeeeeeeeee yuMzzzzzz!

Kome,

The clothes are all very nice. Except for a yellow dress which i think not as bright as the website's color. But still quite ok.. Very comfy too..
Would try to see if got time to post it up over the weekends. Fell asleep before 10 pm yesterday, no chance for me to even take pic..

Morning
Update my check-up yesterday:

bb measure 5.9cm, my gynae said that it is the correct size w12d1. Have sign up for the package already so next time don't need to pay money for consultation already. Dr had measure the sizee of bb's neck also. Everything is fine. Next check up will be 1 mth later

Asura
I find their quality is quite ok also. Think maybe better than This fashion ba..... ok, take your time and out up the photos. Resting is more impt now.

Wish a boy
Yup, its a relieved to hear that.

Heehee.....i asked my gynae know the gender already and he said still early. He mentioned that genital will only be form at aroung 13 weeks.

Yesterday went for my second visit with Dr S C Chew. Bill came up to be S$214. S$70 for consultaion, S$140 for scan, folic acid S$4. We were given a instant pic of the scan as well as a cd with several pics of the scan and a few second video clip. However, when bb waved at us it was not captured in the video... BB is 2 days bigger, supposed to be 10 weeks 2 days yesterday. 3.57cm long. Growing well. Doc told me to continue taking duphaston for one more week as there still blood clot in my womb. Hubby ks, told me to do oscar scan at tmc which cost S$280 at NUH cot S$180 i think... He said NUH queue is crazy and far so he opted tmc.. Going to the doc on 20/09/08 at 8am then rush to tmc to try for their first appt too.
We were so happy to see our bb waving at us.. so sweeeeeeeeeeet...

I made a mistake, the tmc parentcraft is at tmc itself. i signed up for 29/11/08-13/01/09 sat 7-9pm with mrs wong. S$235.40.

Guest123,

Wa, good that you get to see baby now.
my appointment was 2 weeks ago.
will be seeing Dr Chew only on next Sat.
and it's at 7.50am! after which like you, have to rush to TMC for OSCAR at 8.30am.
But it's okie lah, everything can be completed in 1 day.
i also have a small blood clot which was why i had spotting for the first 4 weeks.

i am immuned to his fees liao... i always bring my check book along cos dunno how much to draw!

Bliss
same lor. i have to be there at 7.50am too. and hubby might not be able to join me... i wont be driving. guess i will be taking cab. cos i get gan jiong when driving and esp rushing so not safe for me and the bb.
I did not have spotting.
Everytime i draw at least $300-S$500 just in case.

I dont think other clinics provide cd for patient right?

Kome,
Congrate! Everything is all right. Your baby same size as mine, when I went for my last visit at 11 wks 6days. Also 5.9cm. Now my appetite is better, how about yours?

Guest,
So your gynae is not from TMC ah? I will be visiting my gynae on 20 Sept too by then I will be almost 16 weeks. What I heard is SGH cost $180+ for OSCAR scan, dont know about NUH.
TMC if you're going to deliver there than you apply for FBI/SBI card than the OSCAR scan is $280 after the 10% off.

Guest,
I think there are not many clinics that provide the CD cos the Gynae needs to have a 3D/4D ultrasound equipment.
but it comes with a high fee.
anyway, our thinking is that as long as Dr Chew is pro and we feel safe with him, i am willing to pay lah.

for #1, i paid a total of $3500 for all the visits, supplements, blood tests and other necessary tests leh.

If your hubby is not going with you, then maybe ask your mum or sis along lor.
i asked my mum to accompany me to OSCAR for my #1.

Guest123,
Did your gynae say why you have blood clot? I have blood clot and on duphaston also, but forgot to ask my gynae why...waiting for next visit to ask and hope by then its ok.

If not wrong , my gynea also give us the CD when we do the full scan . Normal visit is a 4D pix of baby .

Blood clot is those old blood that did not purge out during last menses . Me too have but getting smaller since my last visit .

My gynea also using hi-end 4D scan machine . Last time my package starts at 12 weeks and with normal delivery will be $1.4k which is in 2002 If with assisted delivery , I top up $300 and C-sect another $600. Only blood test and medicine I need to pay separately . When I had no. 2 in 2005 he charge me same price since it's no. 2 but this time round don't know will he charge me the same . I rememebered that my SIL seeing my gynea who delivered last year , her package is $1.8k .

Mine also got no CD leh. Agree with bliss, if clinic provides CD the charges will be abit high.

Jasmine
Thanks. My bb is abt 5.9+cm but exact forgot already think going to be 6cm ba. Mine abit to the smaller side (i think).

Actually before i seen my existing gynea Dr Douglas Ong for my 1st preg , I seen another gynea recommended by my colleague also in Mt E cannot remember the name , but can remember his clinic only accept cash and cheque , we not comfortable with him as he given me all the -ve comments on the first visit of scanning , he told me mine don't look like preg and request that I take blood test to confirm preg , then say even confirm preg , no good as miscarriage risk is high as the egg is at the low side etc etc ... cause me to cry and so upset about it . Not only that , as first time mummy and daddy , we wanted to ask more but he was like chasing us out and tell us take blood test then talk etc , that consultation cost $250 for less than 5 mins scan and talk .. So in the end after the blood test result out , I went to Dr Douglas Ong instead who is recommended by my SIL's friend and was so comfortable with him as he really listen to your question and doubts and he never rush thru the appt even though there is a Q outside . He will answer all your doubts before seeing the next patient . For my first visit , I did not tell him that I seen another gynea before him as I want to see what is his diagnosis , he told me yes confirm preg and see him in another 1 week , then I ask him is my preg high miscarriage risk or the egg at the low side , then he told me no problem , the egg will move up soon don't worry etc . So first time mummies , the most impt thing about gynea is whether u are comfortable with him/her and $$ is secondary issue .

good morning.. aiyo..sianz, suddenly pile up with lots of work and hardly check in this thread. hope everyone's okay..

Kome, great to hear everything's fine. congrats..

I can't wait to see my bb in 2 wks time!!

Bliss
My sis spent abt the same cost as you. On the screen we can see 4D and pic print out will be in 3D. If hubby cant make it i will get my best friend to go with me..

Teddybaby
haha... i din ask why there is blood clot leh.. forgot.haha.

Doc said the blood clot will slowly diminish... saying the baby din attach very well thus still on duphaston. Last time S C Chew did have package not till current few years..

Kome
Dont worry, your bb will grow... eat well and rest well.

Hi mummies, I'm back. was on leave on mon and tue and on course on wed and thurs. back in office today.

TMC oscar test and NT scanning are all fully booked. Haiz. I need to change my gynae appt from the 13th to the 22nd. need to wait additional one week to see baby.

Hello mummies, it seems like everyone is longing to see their bbs. Hehe.. me too. How I wish I can install a window on my tummy so that I can see my bb whenever I want to.. :D

Morning All!

Been a while since I last posted. Quite busy with work and other things.

Anyway, still have been reading up all your posts.

Kome
Congrats, you passed your 1st trimester! Your bb size is correct according to 12w1d (5-6cm). No worries, k?

My appt is coming next wednesday, yes can't wait. It's been a long 4 weeks since I last visited my gynae. Still can't feel any bb movements yet like some of you have already. Guess I have too many layers fat on me! Haven't put on any weight either though eating plenty of good food for the bb. My mum's been very excited about the bb (been announcing to everyone) so she has already started feeding me home boiled bird's nest. But I ask her not to give me too much at this time.

I'll be signing up for Parentcraft @ TMC as well but will be starting earlier 19/10/08 (Sundays).

Guest,
actually Dr Chew has a so-called package. it only starts from week 20.
they will assume normal delivery and is about $1900 so gotto pay $900 upfront and balance pay after delivery together with hospital charges. my C-sec fees came up to total of about $2500.

so from week 20 onwards, no need to pay for scan fee but each visit still need to pay $30 for consultation, excluding supplements.

ya, was also told that the blood clot is probably due to implantation not occuring properly.

babe
Thanks, had been long waited for the coming of the 2nd trimester. Hopefully during 2nd trimester, no MS and smooth pregnancy journey thru the rest of 6mths.

Kome,
Our baby size is normal, thats what my gyane says, they're in normal size in this state, don't think is small lah. When your appetite gets better they will grow well, don't worry.

Jasmine
Heehee....not really that worry lar.
1691374.gif
Size does not matter its bb health more impt to me. My appettie still not very good. Same as usual hungry but after eating a few mouthful, i don't feel like eating already although stomach does not feel full.

kome,
glad to know ur bb is growing well. it is the correct size for 12 weeks.

jasmine,
the lady also tried to shake my tummy to get bb to move with the scanner but bb just refused to turn over. haha..think he is too comfy in his original position..glad to know ur result is also very good.

my sis told me everytime i do something, talk to the bb. eg, telling bb that we are going to let the doc do a scan, be good, position yourself and say hi. if doing oscar and position is not right then tell bb move left,right,up,down a bit. be good bb, dont waste doc's time and we can go home soon... .blah blah..

Kome,
Give yourself another 1-2 weeks. Should getting better by then. Coz I just got better only and this sunday will be 14 weeks liao.

hi mommies

I had my checkup ytd too. I'm in my 11week today. BB measures about 4.38cm and gynae say BB looks healthy and is fine. Saw BB side features, fingers n toes on the ultrascan. BB is even bouncing around during the scan. The clinic book an Oscar appt for me @TMC on next friday. So can see BB again next week.

I'm still on duphaston for another week. Think it's becoz i told gynae i have cramps for the past few days.

I have yet to sign up for my FBI card, and my Oscar appt is at 8am. So early and dunno can apply the card before the test..

MTBs
my last appt w my gynae was last sat n he mentioned 2 wks later he gg to chk on down syndrome... i'm wondering wat test he'll conduct as i didn't ask him in detail coz MS is making me uncomfortable... anyone hv any idea?

Guest123,

How do we sign up for the parentcraft? Think i got to sign up for earlier classes as i would not be in sg in dec for a couple of weeks.

Asura79
you can call 62514090 to book.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
Childbirth Education Course
We regard childbirth education as an integral part of our family centred care. Awaiting the arrival of your baby can cause unnecessary anxiety and apprehension.

The Childbirth Education Course consists of six weekly lessons. You may wish to sign up for the full course or any two lessons (only for subsequent deliveries) and we will include the Doctor’s Talk at no extra charge.

With this in mind, the Childbirth Education Course is organised for expectant mothers and their partners to prepare them for the experiences and challenges ahead.

Course Duration
6 weeks (5 weekly lessons plus one Doctor’s Talk)

When to book
Confirmation of pregnancy around 20th week of gestation

Time (subject to change)
Weekday Classes 7pm to 9pm
Weekend Classes Saturday
2pm to 4pm l 4.30pm to 6.30pm l 7pm to 9pm
Sunday
10am to 12pm l 12.30pm to 2.30pm l
3.30pm to 5.30pm

Course Fees
Delivering at TMC Delivering at
Another Hospital
6 lessons
(weekday classes) $181.90 $203.30
6 lessons
(weekend classes) $214.00 $235.40
2 lessons + Doctor’s Talk
(For subsequent deliveries only) $160.50 $181.90

Lesson 1
Physical &amp; Mental Preparation • Antenatal Exercise
• Nutrition Before &amp; After Delivery
• Myths &amp; Traditions
• Coping with Pregnancy Discomfort
• Back Care &amp; Postures
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 2
Pain Relief • Antenatal Exercise
• Physiological Approach to Breathing Relaxation
• Changes in Pregnancy Leading to Signs &amp; Symptoms of Labour
• Other Alternative Types of Pain Relief in Labour
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 3
Labour • Antenatal Exercise
• Physiological Approach to Breathing Relaxation
• Learning to Cope in Labour
• Mechanisms of Normal Childbirth
• Husband’s Role
• Hospital Tour
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 4
Practical Hands-on
Baby Care • Hands-on Child Care
• General Care
• Skin Care
• Diaper Care
• Bathing
• Coping with a Fretting, Crying Baby
• Coping with a Sleepy or Wakeful Baby
• Coping with Colic
• Instructional Video
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 5
Feeding • Breastfeeding
• Bottle Feeding
• Sterilization of Feeding Equipment
• Weaning (introducing solid food)
• Learning to Enhance your Child’s Physical &amp; Mental Development
• Q &amp; A

Lesson 6
(Doctor’s Talk)* • Husband’s Role during Childbirth
• Problems Associated with a Newborn
• The Process of Labour
• Living with the In-laws
• How to Raise a Brighter Child
• Post-natal Depression
• Back Care &amp; Postures
• Instructional Video

For more information or bookings, please call our Thomson ParentCraft at 6251 4090

Asura,

You are allowed to call in and should try to book earlier. Just tell them you will be away so you need to book earlier. Ask for Ms BB Wong's classes. She's good and her classes are usually well booked in advance.

Yea, thanks for bringing up the Parentcraft subject earlier as I've almost forgotten to call them myself. I'll just walk into their office to pay on my next gynae visit this coming Wednesday.