(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

good sfternoon mummies..

another yummy soup for our growing babies..
SCALLOP WITH BALCK CHIX SOUP

ingredients:
1. 01 black chix ( cut into pieces)
2. red dates ( 4-5 cloves)
3. dang gui ( 2-3 pieces)
4. wolfberries ( handful.add more for sweeter)
5. dried scallop ( 5-6 for flavouful and tasty)

cooking method:
1. place chix, dried scallop, red dates and dang gui in to the water till boil.
2. add wolfberries when boil and slow heat for about 1hr.
3. add sait prior to drinking or serving.

enjoy the soup mummies ....

went for my oscar test on the 1st sept...and result has not been annouced yet..heard from sister...no news is good news...crossing my fingers hehehehe.....
my next appt will be on the 8th sept...so will hear from gynea that baby is safe and sound...

all the best to all mummies too....

mummies.....

my oscar test was in SGH and it cost about $180+...so maybe you can ask your gynea for the appt ..it'll be cheaper..

pinksorbet...

pls try to minimise your movements..it'll really help and also not to eat things that are " cooling" ........fruits jut limit to apple.
veg....all those greenish ones and water only...
duphaston i you have..must eat...
it'll be alright..sometimes it's the clearing of old blood...

mummies..
attending weddings........most of the things can eat....even the shark fins..
but jut avoild chinese rest. soup with shark bone..its a no no...

Afcai,

Yeah...the EYS physician advised me not to take "dang gui" during pregnancy cos she mentioned something like it will affect the placenta. No doubt "dang gui" can "bu xue" but she said not suitable to take during pregnancy. However, we can take it during confinement.

I also was not aware of this prior to her advice and had drink a bowl of "dang gui" soup my MIL brewed for herself and gave me a bowl. After hearing, I told her I have taken and she said to stop and dont take anymore.

May I know if we can take salad (raw veges or raw fruits) during pregnancy?

kristen_mum

yes you can eat raw veg(preferably home prepared)...but do avoid putting creamy dressings ( coz sometimes the dressing might contain raw eggs)...eat vinigrette, olive oil....

Dang gui eat during confinement only when your menses clear if not will cause more bleeding which happen to my colleague and she ended in the hospital due to excessive bleeding as she took dang gui in the first week after delivered .

wish a boy..
so much confusion right...
aiyah.....my chinese phycsian also told me that it's sfe to eat.....she has told me to cook it with red dates, wolfberries and dang gui...

ya so that's why chinese herbs best don't anyhow take on the safe side . my MIL also told me cannot take dang gui and when she want to boil that for me she will ask me menses clear already ?

Daphne,

Is there an alternative to dang gui? My mom say not to take dang gui during pregnnacy esp in the first few months.

Missycandy,

Our clothes have arrived at my home. My husband happened to be at home to receive it... so good.. initially thought got ot get from post office.. so troublesome... hee hee... arrange with u after i see the goods tonite on the collection.

Asura
Great. have new clothes to wear already. Put up here and let us see leh.

Missycandy
Yours also, put up here and see.

asura79...

the soup......can forgo the dang gui....just add scallop...will have the taste as good.....

the drink..normally i dun put the dang gui..jut add wolfberries, red dates and dried longang...hahaha..

afcai ....

yap now too early liao ... i rem tat i took only in 2nd and early part of 3rd tri only =)

think just 1 bowl of shark fins is fine ... not as if we take everyday. guess everything in moderation ba

Daphne,

Before i was pregnant, i make this drink very regularly. After pregnant, i dont dare to make. Any idea whether it is safe?
Drink is made up of the following:
- red dates
- wolfberries
- dried longan
- tangerine peel

asura79..

yes it's safe to drink....
so can cook and drinlk regularly....and it's good for the "QI" the face will be brighter and glowy..hehehee

asura79 ....

this is the drink that i keep drinking during the whole confinement period except that tangerine peel is replaced by ginger.

i was told that during confinement cant drink plain water ... see i havent even go to 2nd tri yet already think of confinement. how i wish i can pop now!!

Mummies, I remember vaguely that Mrs Wong BB mentioned that although dang gui is good for bu xue but it interferes with milk production. So if want to breastfeed, check it out first. I didn't take dang gui during confinement and many months after, but got enough milk ss to tbf. Dunno issit the effect of papaya fish soup that I drank almost everyday or not drinking soup with dang gui. I dunno whether the TMC book have or not.

wishaboy, daphne, seabreeze,

Thanks... Now i can go back to make the drink again. Am missing this drink... yummy. Din dare to drink initially...

i cannot tahan not drinking plain water, so besides the red date longan tea, i also drank water. But old people say no gd. I try to refrain from drinking plain water during next confinement.

<font color="#00FFFF">DAPHNE CROSAILO </font>
thks for sharign the black chicken soup. my mum cooked something like that except no scallop but she placed some other herbs like 'tang sheng" and some other dunno what herbs.

for me, I eat fruits like apple and kiwi. anyway, agreed, dun eat too much cooling stuff cos might affect bb getting astma easily next time.that's what old folk said.

<font color="#00FFFF">Kristen_mum</font>
oic.thks for the infor, will retrict dang gui. cos sometimes, i placed 2 pieces into the soup and also my mil will place it on the stream fish.

<font color="#00FFFF">Wish a boy</font>
huh...cause more bleeding?? I consume a lot during cl. my lochia last for 2mth.

<font color="#00FFFF">fairymoss </font>
for me, my mum make brown rice water for me. she had already fried the brown rice, sun it and then just place them in the bottle. so she will place some brown rice and then boil water into the flask. so i will drink fr there during the night. for red longan, will drink in the day.

<font color="#00FFFF">Auras79 </font>
just to take note, red dates (buy those without seed will not cause heatness) is heaty. dried longan (buy those more ex one, got 2 type, my col told me will not cause phelgm or heatness forgetten which liao). wolfberries gd for eyes. anyway everything drink in moderate not daily will do.

fairymoss....

can drink longan drink coz it's not colling stuff....add red dates and wolfberries...hehehe
yummy and safe for prggies..

let me update u abt my OSCAR and checkup yesterday.

went for my scan at 9.15am but bb was not in the correct position though happily moving the limbs. so was told to walk ard. went in the 2nd time but this time, bb was sleeping facing down and not reponding though we tried all means. when in the 3rd time at ard 10.40am and bb still not cooperating. but luckily bb must have received the signal i sent..telling 'it' to be good and turn face up. so 'it' finally turned and the OSCAR was finally completed.

went to visit my gynae thereafter and she did another scan. we managed to see a little thingy in between bb's legs and Dr Wong said possibly a boy but will be more certain on the next visit at 16 weeks.

spent more than a thousand dollars yesterday at TMC for FBI, OSCAR, blood test and gynae's package..feel so heart pain..what a day.

anyway, glad that the results for OSCAR and blood test are very good. finally have a peace of mind.

Asura
You can
1) right click on the photos
2) Open with Microsoft office pict Manager
3) Click on edit Pictures icon
4) At your right hand side, select resize pict to less than 600x600pixels
5) Select compress picts, to documents
6) Save and you can upload here already.

fairymoss ....

my mum say that cos the plain water will cause 'gas' in the stomach and its 'cooling' during confinement we need all the heaty stuff so that it 'bu' back everything. so i only drink milo, logan water &amp; soup. but i must say that its only when you cant drink plain water that you will miss it. now i HATE plain water!!

Daphne, yeah i kind of miss the drink now leh..heehee, but next time confinement everyday drink this i think i will sian easily.

Gonna eat mooncake now...yummy.

Guest123, u got any news from Old Navy? I haven't leh, so angry with them. I sent them mail twice and they didn't answer my question and use the same standard answer template for my 2 mails (replied by different ppl). My order from Motherhood arrived at vpostusa already and it's ordered the same time as Old Navy. Siao liao this time.

seabreeze, but hor, i drank the longan red date tea during confinement until i got sorethroat, so i alternate it with plain water as i thot it's too heaty for me. confinement not supposed to be heaty but i still got sorethroat and hard stools lor.

i'm now reading this book "The New Art and Science of Pregnancy and Childbirth" written by four obstetricians from KK.

In the book, it is stated that for Chinese Angelica Root aka dang gui, "Pregnant women should consult a licensed TCM physician before using it as it may induce uterine contractions."

it also states that chinese ginseng should not be used when pregnant.

fairymoss ...

thats strange ler ... my mum drink for 3 days then she kanna sorethroat but then again she shouldnt be drinking mar hahahaha

my ex-maid even stole some to drink every morning until she had such a bad out-break and my mum told her off.

for me it was ok heehee maybe make it more diluted and eat fruits everyday to help.

corene,

good to know that ur bb is fine... so cute. Wah... so the whole scan took almost 2 hrs?
By the way, can share how much is Dr Wong's package? It is with effect from the day of payment?

Kome,

Thanks for the instructions. Would see if i can do it tonite.. if not then over the weekend... Woo... cant wait to go home and see my new clothes!

I have extra packet of Organic Raspberry Leaf Tea for sale. Just bought the tea leaf from moms in mind online recently. Then I realised I have bought too many packets and won't be able to finish myself.

Selling @ $5.00 per pack (Free normal post)

Interested parties, kindly email [email protected]

Anyone has donated your child's cord blood to the Singapore Cord Blood Bank at KKH?

I am thinking of donating my no. 2's cord blood to the public bank since I read that this will increase the chances of finding suitable donor for patients in need. My daughter's cord blood was stored with Cordlife though becos back then I was not so informed about the advantages of storing with a public cord blood bank as opposed to a private cord blood bank.

Any comments?

Kristen_mum ...

same thought as me ... i stored my #1 at Stemcord and now thinking of donating the #2 one to the cord blood bank since they say no point in storing for both.

hi Asura,

Details for Dr Wong's package:

From 12 weeks: $738 (w/o gst)
From 20 weeks: $638 (w/o gst)

package comprises of consultation, normal ultrasound scan and urine test for all scheduled visits. not inclusive of multivits, additional visits. appointment on saturday will charge an addition of $10.

yes, it starts immediately the day i signed up.

wish a boy,
thanks..

kome,
it is up to individual..although i'm not consider high risk cos 28 this yr but hb and i think OSCAR gives us the assurance. the ratio for my age is abt 1:900. in the end, my test result is abt 1:13100.

Corene
1689568.png
....understand can be more an xin, but i think i will still stick to my decision will not go for OSCAR scan ba......

Kome,

I am going to do OSCAR cos i read that in the event of DS, the parents should know of the condition earlier so that they are better prepared and so that they can make their decision earlier.

corene,

Wah the new ratio is definitely more reassuring. My Oscars is on 16 Sep... looks like probably need to spend $1k too!

Me going for the OSCAR and blood test though gynea told me that my age 34 , DS risk is 0.3% but me kiasu will take do it . My first 2 preg also did the triple test as last time no Oscar test .

Asura, if u wanna sign up for FBI, go earlier to sign up b4 proceeding to ur OSCAR. u can have immediate discount when u make payment for OSCAR by showing the temporary card(receipt).

corene,

Thanks... I have applied for the FBI already.

But after discount still very expensive... haiz... now then i know why they say 4K not enough?

corene,
When I have OSCAR scan last week, my baby also facing at a wrong position, actually the lady wanted to ask me to go ut and walk around for a well, but than she tried few times by moving the scanner on my tummy to make my baby move and turn and finally she got the right position to snap. Took her half hour to complete the scan. I just call my gynae clinic to ask for my blood test result as I will not see her until 20th Sept. But I need it coz I did a extra test for my thyroid, and need it to go TTSH for doctor. Luckily all my blood test result is good, red blood cell is in good range too, supposed I don't need to take any iron pills this time round also.

Asura,
Yeah we going half hour early to do the registration for the FBI/SBI card, in order to get the discount for the OSCAR scan. Yeah you have to drink more water and don't visit toilet for the OSCAR scan.