(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Kome,

keep to who you are comfortable with..no matter how much the charges are...

Oppsgal,

Find a place where it's convenient for you better. I have to arrange with my HB to bring me everytime i go also, cos it's so inconvenient. Luckily he works flexi timing. I don't even know which MRT/Bus will reach there. Cabfare sure damn expensive, considering I stay Bedok.

I was looking at the Bill Charges comparing EastShore and TMC. Eastshore is so convenient for me, as family all stay East Side, and it's like so much cheaper than TMC...keep thinking got a urge to change Gynae and go Eastshore. But my MIL/Mum and HB all against it, as they still feel that nothing matters more than feeling comfy with your gynae.

gingal

OIC. At least your HB so good fetch you.

Anyone watching tonight 9.30pm for the talk. Wonder will announce today the baby bonus.

When is the next talk again?

Oppsgal
Me also excited to know if they will announce the bb bonus today or not, but i don't think got the energy to stay on and listen leh.

Oppsgal, I thought i seen last few days' post that the announcements not tonight? Someone mentioned.

My HB ah? Haha..last round he did not, and I lost my BB.. Somehow maybe he felt he wans BB to feel his presence and to stay with us. So this time round he very obedient...

Oppsgal, Gingal, Kome,

Think tonite is national day message... a rather short one. Traditionally, goodies/benefits are announced on national day rally which is the 2nd sun after national day, i.e. 17 Aug 08. So i think should be next sun bah... maybe he would hint a little tonite.

what do you all wish for?

I wish for more subsidy on childcare or school fees, to encourage employers to give parents flexi-hours or time-off, more $$

My wish list is more complicated.
More Baby bonus, subsidy on maternity expenses and delivery, lesser homework for kids...
Do u know my colleagues are having to do homework for their primary school kids cos the homework is too cheem or too much for their kids? I know there are some teachers here... and i have no idea why it is happening.. But my colleague was complaining the other day that her pri 3 daughter got to read the whole sun wu kong book during the jun holiday and then write a character write-up for one of the characters. Daughter cant really read all the chinese characters so she got to read for the daughter!
Another colleague says her pri 1 daughter got to research on something (cant remem) and present it at class, counted in CA!
Seriously, with all these, i cant bear to have more than 2 even though i wish to have 3. Imagine working and having to go home to help kids do homework. Sorry if i offended the teachers in here... but that's the feedback i hear... and my colleagues are not particularly ks, they dont send their kids to more than one enrichment class a week.

HI Asura,

I agree with you that the school-load to sooo high nowadays. I have an eight yo nephew, and i see his homework, I *Faint*. I used to teach him when i'm staying with my MIL, my SIL often not at home...I nearly vomit blood sometimes. I remember that I require no coaching when i was in Primary School, as the school work was simple and not so much.

ya, talking about homework, my P1 girl is getting too much homework also. Everyday, there sure to be homework. With Maths having problems sums, and you need to draw block diagrams. Terrible.

Yah... so with the amount of homework, the increase in expenses, the stress at job, etc.... Really takes away all the satisfaction of having more bb. My colleagues also keep saying... why would i want to have 3rd one with so much homework... and bear in mind, the job at my office allows us to go home on time at 530... we seldom OT. If we are having probs, we cant imagine how other working parents cope!

one more to the baby bonus, i hope the maid levy can be lower much more, so if we need maid to help us in housework, it's more affordable

gingal/Asura79,

My gynae is not those branded gynae clinics, in fact we thought gg to see gynae from TMC would be ex so we took this family gynae at Balestier Plaza who had seen my grandma, mum for women's problems. It's near TMC, so no difference in distance if I go TMC or him and near my place somemore. Last year his charges same as yr2005 when I had my son, Then this year Apr, he increased quite a big jump. Last time his consultation only $55, this Apr onwards became $80. He has upgraded to 3D scan, so I think that's why scanning also became so ex. But I didn't require 3D or 4D mah, why I got to pay so much. But since my #1 with him, I decided to stick to him lor. He is experienced I must say, so maybe I'm paying more for experience?

Re: BF
MTBs, u can indicate u want TBF/BF before you deliver when u still in delivery ward or observation. the nurse at TMC asked me for my decision when I was admitted. Nurse advised me not to bf cuz I wasn't that well after natural delivery, got blood transfusion etc, so on 1st day and night wasn't given a chance to bf even though I delivered in the morn. I was upset and when lactation consultant strongly advised no bf yet, I nearly cried. Baby was cup-fed with water so that got liquid intake to pass urine but even before they do so, they would ask you for your decision. Cindy, you probably want to stop bf somehow before your newborn is born, cuz composition of milk different for your elder and newborn. Body now produces the right composition for your older child's growth so is not right composition for newborn even though may have ready supply.

oh...today thread is quiet. is everyone traveling out of Sg for long weekend? I know some companies today declared off-in-lieu for national day.

re: baby bonus
Contrary to what some MTBs here, I wish can have more maternity leave, for I think 3mths is too short. heehee.

re: confinement lady
I haven't book mine yet although my gf asked me to do so, saying that nowadays CF nanny very fast snapped up. Probably I would do so after 1st trim. My mum did for my #1 and I agreed with some of you that even own mum do confinement also stressful so this time I decided to engage CF nanny for ease of mind. At least you can expect them to do everything while you rest whereas own MIL or mum you can't.

sharon:: hahaha... gosh i'm still holding to the fact that he can sleep through the night soooon! maybe it's because we latch that's why they're used to the comfort!!! AHAHAH!!! yes my boy's younger, 9months. hehe!!

I just back from gynae visit, bb is only 2.45cm, aiyo so smalll. ahha! 9wk and 2days.

Cindy, wow...u 9wk liao. I'm looking forward to that day, mine now only 7weeks nia. hey, u very zai, your boi only 9mths, now u already having #2, must be v xin ku having to care for #1 at the same time. But gd thing is grow up together. My boi turning 3 this year I already find it xin ku to carry #2 now. Oh..got another 9mths to go.

fairymoss,
my girl also turning 3 in sep...

I also want lower maid levy n more cash to defray cost. i think for my 1st bb I go $1800 in 3 instalments... also i want more childcare leave.. 2 per year not enough!

haha.. cindy congrats..
seems like we having almost the same size bb..?

irene
tink tdy everyone off?

Me same as fairymoss, I hope for more maternity leave but i know that boss will not like it lor. Also must have more $$ if not how do we handle our financial.

I intend to order confinement food and do the rest myself. Don't know can tahan or not.

i wan shorter NS in case my bb is a boy! :p think guys' careers really lag behind their counterpoints in other countries due to the 2.5 year NS.

i went to the gynae today too, and my bb is growing fast, now 3.36 cm, my edd is now 1st march as per u/s so i m 10wks 5 days already. but gynae said the edd can only be more accurate at 6 months, so not very zun now. they were going to do a video recording today but bb was resting behind all the fluids n not very clear, so can't do it. m so disappointed! it now looks like a gummy bear!

so how r mummies gg to celebrate national day?

m gg to do a sg flag with my gal n watch the parade on tv with my neighbours

Sharon,
Ya, My hb also complaint abt the long NS when he was doing his. Now shorten to 2 yrs liao right after my hb batch and that made him complaint even more... hehe...

I'm going to see my gynae today at 6pm. This time will be hearing bb's hartbeats. So excited!

I'll be celebrating ND sleeping. ah... This is what I need.

gingal: I WANT MORE BB BONUS TOO....hehhehehee....

huh? not mentioned tonite ah? next weekend? oh oh... don't think can wait so long le. hehehee...

sharon: i tot of gg birdpark.... anyone of you mummies bringing ur younger ones?

Hi Sharon,

I din know EDD would change along the way... heh... Wah... u passing ur 1st trimester soon... that's good... What's the video recording for?

liz,
haha, yar, a lot of guys i know only work hard the first few months of NS, then after tat only the trainings r tough, otherwise just sit around waiting for time to pass :p

asura,
think it's just to record the bb moving and the heartbeat. it's the first time i've heard of tat too. the edd on u/s is according to bb size (i think) so it will keep changing depending on the growth.

I just came back from baby fair at TAKA. Haha ran down during lunch time. Very crowded. I brought quite a bit of stuff as its consider cheap. I brought pillow shower matt non-split type hot-flash, bottle brush and Avent bottles etc.... Now is a good time to buy hehe...

Hi Asura,

Though i was at 6w4d yesterday the scan and CRL showed that baby is at 6w6d leh. that is why my EDD was brought forward to 27 Mar instead of 29 Mar based on LMP. i think in your case, it should be normal. dun worry.

Jasmine,

Actually what are the things we need to buy? Need a list man... Shall see if my colleagues got any.

Bliss,

No worries, i wasnt concerned. If gynae never say anything, i shall take it as all is fine.. Just wondering only..,

Looking forward to my next scan on 19 Aug.

i think we need to buy a lot of things, especially new mtb.

you ladies getting those playpen or wooden cot for your baby to sleep?

Irene - I used playpen for my 1st girl until she was abt 2.. I intend to use it again. I find it portable since I can move it to living hall and can collapse and bring on travel. Useful. no need to buy extra protector unlike in the case of wooden cot.

my 2 elder girls used playpen also.
was thinking of the wooden cot now cos it can be converted into a toddler bed when the baby grow older.

pammie, how i wish i can sleep now.

actually the chances of using bb cot as toddler bed is not high plus wooden cot with hard wooden sides bb tend to get knocks n bumps dont' say kena stuck inside? i've read a few stories where bb leg or even head was wedged between the rails. so scary play pen better cos softer? hehee

but for me i put my bb on the floor safest of all no scared of bumps or fall off the bed. hehehe....

asura: don't buy so many things yet... my gf all ks go buy n buy n buy end up all no use. now headache where to store and sell out oso difficult. buy as n when you need ba. only get the basic necessities

asura,
here's my list from 2 yrs ago, may help as reference. the comments in brackets r my "research" :p
- bb cot/playpen (Depends which one you need. BB cot more ex. Personally I prefer bb cot cos more stable, and can adjust height level.)
- newborn size diapers (recommend Pampers Premium)
- nappy liners (if you intend to use nappy)
- nappy (if you intend to use nappy instead of diapers. You may need quite a lot. If not using, this can be used as a blanket cos is not too thick, airy for bb, 2 to 3 pcs will do)
- diaper cream (I'm using drapolene. Destin is used only when rashes get serious. california baby is the best, helps eczema too)
- pacifier (some of you may use)
- nursing bra
- breast pad
- breast pump (if you intend to express BM)
- warmer (if you need to warm up EBM)
- milk bottles
- steriliser
- bouncer / rocker (to rest your arms when u need to put bb down, good investment till bb learns to sit up)
- bathtub (good to get one with a newborn support, available at kiddy land, taka)
- soap (johnson is still the best)
- big towels
- hankerchief
- bb clothings (depends if you like 2 pc or rompers, short sleeve for daytime and long sleeve for nite time or windy/rainy days)
- bb blanket/swaddler (needs lots if mummy has no time to wash, coz bb may puke)
- bb hat (if you are not using the blanket to cover the bb's head in the 1st 2 mths during outing, advise to put on a hat)
- mittens and booties (may hv to buy really small ones, )
- formula Milk (if you are not bf. dun buy any to tempt yourself if u intend to TBF)
- milk powder container, thermal flask, container for normal temp water (for outing if you are not bfing
- brush (to clean the milk bottles, usually if you buy steriliser, it will comes with one brush)
- bb detergent (some use this to wash the milk bottles. I dun)
- bb washing powder (i separately handwash bb clothes for first few months)
- wet tissue (Pigeon brand))
- carseat (if you drive. Strongly encourage due to safety purpose and also to train your bb since young that they must be in carseat whenever during travelling.)
- bean sprout pillow (mayb useful)
- changing mat
- cotton wool (round type, for CL to clean the belly button in the first few weeks and to clean bb eyes/face)
- cotton stick (is it called cotton stick? those stick which comes with cotton at both ends. Buy Pigeon brand, the thinnest one. May need to clean the nose or outer ears for bb)
- scissor/nail cutter (to cut bb nails. they grow very fast!)
- Ru Yi You (to rub on bb's back and tummy to prevent/get rid of wind)
- pram/stroller
- bb carrier (i love bb bjorn coz can't manage sling, but some say ergo is better)
- bib

magd,
yar, i agree,just buy the basic necessities coz quite a lot of things are optional. for mummies who r doing confinement, better to be well prepared though coz u can't go out and buy stuff as and when u want.

My #1 i have let him sleep on the floor and he don't like to stay in baby cot when he older now. Coz want to 'lock' him in there, but he cried and make alot of noise. My #2 i intend to put in baby cot to let bb get use to it and will stay in there instead of runnin here and there.

kome,
same here! my girl stopped sleeping in her cot n invaded our bed. so as a compromise, we put her on a mattress on the floor.

How is everyone today?

i think i will choose baby cot instead of play pen coz baby cot with wooden panels allow more air circulation so not so hot sleeping inside. Secondly, i dont have bend down so low to put baby inside. With the playpen, its normally just inches above the ground, one day need to bend down so many times, scared i backache...hehe...emum thanks for your list, very comprehensive, will use that as my shopping list

queenie:: haha yes seems our bb about the same size! hehe!!

starflower, I have both cot and playpen, the playpen height can adjst 2 levels. Different functions from the cot. cot i put in the room and the playplan i put in the living room.

fairymoss:: haha ya loh faster close shop ma hahaha!! i wanted 2 kids of close age gap so they would be closer. So now my #1 and #2 will differ by 14 months, i think is quite good! but don't know good for me or not lah ahhaha...