(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

I have been browsing this thread for a few weeks before posting.
My Last period started on 15th June, based on estimation, I am about 7 weeks pregnant. Waiting for my first gynae visit next Monday, though the wait is driving me crazy.
wanted to ask a few questions:
1) what exactly is spotting? Is faint brown discharge considered spotting? If so, i have been experiencing spotting for the past few days, and I am getting very stressed out over this.
2) I woke up today and had a throat infection and a very bad headache, decided to stay at home and rest. went to see doctor just now, the doctor gave me some panadol and lozenges. Just wondering if the headaches are normal in pregnancy? I havn't had any morning sickness symptoms since tested postive..... and also quite hesitant to take medication also, as not too sure whether baby will be affected.

prom:: hahaha yes yes i need to do the sugar test but the weewee won't need to be AS MUCH as needed if i need a full bladder for scan hahaha!! really maybe i should try that! i told the nurses to give milk by spoon or syringe so he won't prefer the teat but the PD assigned to me is not NOT NOT PRO bf so he told the nurse cannot give like that! grrrr. so mad.

Elaine, congrats! Brown spotting is apparently normal in early pregnancy but I would advise you to book an appt with a gynae asap. A check up is advisable and it's a gd time to go since you abt 7 weeks preggie, u'll be able to see baby's heartbeat. And if really necessary gynae might give you duphaston for the spotting.

Fairymoss,

Where's ur gynae? That's really expensive! Gosh... now i feel that my fees are alright... How much was the package? Not only med expensive, the ultrasound is also very expensive.

Cindy,

Are you suppose to be still BFing if you are pregnant? heard that it is not very good. Best check with ur gynae on this.

Elaine,

I also keep wondering what is spotting so end up gate crashing at the gynae when i saw red shreds of blood in my discharge. Not sure if that is considered spotting.... but it looked like what i have in the very last day of AF plus i also had cramps so it scared me to hell.

Panadol is supposedly safe. Though i would rather not take them if i am able to tahan, esp in the first trimester.

I think ur gynae visit next mon is just nice. If u dont get cramps and ur brown discharge dont become red, u can safely wait for mon. Remember to tell ur gynae so that he/she can decide whether need to prescribe duphaston.

Hi Asura, my cramps come and go. It's quite different from my normal menses cramp though which can last throughout the first day of my menses.
I din take the medicine the doctor prescribe yet. But think my body temperature is getting higher though, think will rest early tonight, hopefully can get better tmr for work.

Elaine,

I had sharp pain and sharp cramps when i rushed to see gynae. Pulling feeling is normal. Drink more water okay... if really cannot take it, please take panadol... bb cant grow well in sick mummy also... ur doc know that u are preg when he prescribe u the med? If he knows then the med is safe, but my colleagues always say they prefer to just sleep the sickness away.

prom, can de can de! i saw other bb being fed this way, i asked and got the reason but when i requested kanna rejected. don't laugh okay it's real.

asura:: my gynae say now should be ok... but as tummy grows bigger a little difficult so that's why i wanna stop but am used to the convenience SIAN!

hihi Promeganate - cn help me calculate? my LMP 22 June.. I ovulated on 8th July... when i went for scan on Monday, gynae said probably week 4-5... how to count what day/week im in and my EDD... thanks!!!

sashamama - hugs... take care...!

cindy - the pump no gd ah? hmmm... so its better to jus keep feeding directly ???

cindy,
i m still bfeeding too! so hard to wean off, esp coz my gal is coming to 2 now and really throws a tantrum if she doesn't get it. my gynae said tat she wil slowly wean herself off as the milk supply drop, so i m just adopting a wait and see attitude!

finally can officially join this thread after much procrastination...

reason being I was spotting since 4w4d.
now i'm still spotting intermittently.

went to see Gynae today at 6w4d. happy to see baby's flickering heartbeat and it measures 0.79cm now.
this gives me more hope on the pregnancy.
the scan shows that there is a small blood clot that is causing the spotting.
gynae said it should go away in 1-2 weeks time and need to rest more.

Sun,
here are my data:
Nick: bliss
YOB: 1978
EDD: 27/03/2009
Residence: Jurong West
Baby #: 2
Gynae: Dr SC Chew
Hospital: Mt E

Bliss,

Congrats and welcome to our thread....
Wow... ur bb is big! Mine was only 0.49cm at 6w3d, heh and the scan state average. Did ur scan indicate large? sorry... cant help but wonder cos ur bb is almost twice my bb size.

hi girls,
im almost in my 10th week...does your gynae ask you to go for Downs Test? I keep seeing FTA and OSCAR...is it similar to the Downs Test?

congrats bliss n elaine..

elaine
spotting is quite common.. brownish spotting shdnt have much probs.. but juz keep in mind not to run, squat, jump, carry too heavy things etc.. mayb u will wan to monitor the spotting.. if it persists too many days i wud suggest u juz go to visit ur gynae n get duphaston to stablise the sac..

Re: Gynae fees
my gynae charge me $40 for consultation fees, $40 for ultrasound scan, $7.50 if im not wrong for 1 mth supply folic acid and $25 for 20 tablets of duphaston. $40 for vaginal scan..

queenie - ur gynae same as mine right? hw come he charge me more for consult =( he charge me $50 leh... =(((( scan & duphaston same price...

question - can we drink green tea or no good?

Re: Folic acid
Don't buy from gynae... very ex! A whole box cost only $2 plus from Unity! Same goes for iron pills, much cheaper from Unity!

Re: Feeding baby via syringe
It's very common for newborns up to 2 mths... reason is to avoid nipple confusion for the newborn if you intro bottle teats too early b4 the newborn is accustomed to working for bm (the sucking motion requires more effort thru bf as compared to bottle feed). I would insist no FM in hospital and if need be, cup-feed or syringe some water (if no choice then glucose)...

Asura

haha my bb was 0.47cm when i had my scan during 6wk1day.. it was stated in the scan pic given by dr..

Moomooland

i tink oscars test is for down syndrome..
can oni do between wk 12-15

HI bliss & Elaine, Congrats and welcome!

Dear All, Tmr going for my Appt, last visit BB was 0.72cm, so anxious to see how much BB has grown. It's been 10 days since my last visit...Tmr is Friday and usually Friday alot of ppl also make appt..sure a long wait tomorrow.

OK, Tired ler, will take a rest...Take Care all Mummies and Good night!

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $45. Very good condition in box and used less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) MomsInMind baby sling @ $10. Good condition

3) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Punggol MRT. Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1615927.jpg

cannot sleep... torture.

Just something to share about BF'ding. For those of you who are intending to BF for bb,pls pay attention to the fact that if you opt for C section under GA you may not be awake until several hours later to pick up your baby and by then the hosp may have given FM to the bb. Unless you give specific instructions abt this.

During my time, I had an emergency C section at 1am, but opted for Csect under epidural so I was actually able to hold my bb for a while. HOwever, due to the side efects of epidural, my body was shaking violently and I didn't dare to hold on to the bb for long. Also I was kind of in shock about the whole thing and BF was not on my mind. An hour later I was wheeled into the hosp bedroom then the nurse asked me if I was fit enough to BF. I think around 2am or so I gave my bb the 1st dose of BM.. can't really remember also...

I had very good experience BF'ding my DD, and she was able to latch on very quickly. I love the sensation of milk flowing and a satisfied baby.

Unfortunately there are mothers whose babies can't latch on for some reason and they try to pump.. this may go on for a few months, but every now and then try to latch cos' sometimes you may succeed sometimes no.

I lost my milk supply around 7 months after a long biz trip to US and was very sad I couldn't carry on to BF my dd.. I would have loved to BF till she was abt 2..

sasha:: please TAKE LOADS of care and get yourself back to perfect health! i'm sure you will be able to concieve it's seriously much easier. I had a wash like you in jan07. got preggie in feb 07 and a pig bb in nov 07. i hope my positive story spurs u on. however ever since that wash, hb and i only focussed on hitting on the right day - ONCE and if have then have if not wait for next month. cause as dr wong says might be the quality of the sperm and we then adopted the once a month HIT plan, to ensure sperms of top quality.. aiya, why am i talking about this. hahaha

sharon:: YES i don't know how to stop, at night before he sleeps i will give him FM, but his bad habit is he will get up like 2 to 3 times in the middle of the night. If i don't nurse, wha.. thunder and lightning liao! so i still don't know, but i was thinking, if continue to nurse till bb is out, then bb will have ready milk? hhaha no need to face engorgement issue? haha!!

missycandy:: for me, I find the pump useless. but to my friends,a pump is a saviour as the bb refuse to latch. but i don't believe in refusal to latch unless we give him bottle where he can grow attached to. hahaha... for me, i had really bad engorgement when i went home andi had to get a lactation consultant to come to my home to teach me how to CLEAR the rock hard boobs. it was SO SO painful. and she told me for the first 4 to 6 wks, just latch on as and when bb wants, is good enough to build up a good supply. if u pump after bb drinks, next time might deal with oversupply prob. So i listened to her and in the end, i didn't end up using the pump AT all. really a hassle. haha but it depends on individual and on bb!

pammie:: pammie is right. mine is Csection under GA, but i did tell the hosp that I want to BF and they waited for me to wake up before giving bb to me to latch.
And like pammie, i really loved it.

cindy,
my girl is the same! but worse coz mine is nearly 2 yo and STILL waking up 2 to 3 times at night! yours is younger right? she cries really loud and for really long time. seems like everyone i asked can only recommend the cry it out method, which both hsbd n i cannpt tahan. anyway, recently i realise that she's been responding well to "no more nan nan, nan nan painful " :p coz it's hurting a bit to latch on, so she's not tat demanding at night now. think for me, it's picking the right timing to slowly wean off. i m satisfied as long as she's sleeping through the night!

pammie,
i agree! nothing beats the feeling of bfeeding, esp direct latch on. tat's y i m still doing it! it's great bonding and gvs a tremendous sense of accomplishment. the first few months a tough though, hopefully 2nd time round will be easier!

i had a a natural birth with epidural, but even then i suffered quite badly from the after effects, so will try to go natural this time round. anyone heard of this?
http://www.hypnobirthing.com/

Morning everyone

Sashamama
Pls be strong and do take care of your health now. Like what others gals mention, you will have a healthy bb next time.

Today, i got no choic but to wear a maternity dress to work as those that can be wear have not wash yet. My manager saw me wearing and say that i look like pregnant. Haha.....no choice but to let her know that i 2 mths pregnant already. Actually only hope to let her know when i more stable in 3rd mth. Don't know what will she think.

gingal
Is this your 1st visit?

gingal
so fast going again? Need alot $$ leh. Me don't dare to go so fast, my appt next tues evening 14 days after my 3rd appt. Have you heard bb heartbeat on your 3rd visit?

Moomooland

My gynae promotes triple test. Wonder does it works like the other test for down syndrome.

gingal

Yours a package? How come so fast got checkup? My package only starts when I am about 12-13 weeks. Before that I have to pay $120 for the U/scan + consultation. If want triple scan for downsyndrome have to pay $222

That was because 1st Visit, I can only see empty sac, thus my gynae wans me to go back again to make sure can detect heartbeat next round. I had a M/C previously and when scanned also can't see anything. Guess my face worried, so Dr. booked my next visit within the week.

2nd visit, i had brown/reddish discharge, so i went voluntarily. managed to see the BB's heartbeat, but took a jab also to "An Tai".

3rd visit has to be within 5 days, as i experienced spotting last round, he wants to make sure i'm ok. So i went and spotting stopped, managed to measure the foetus and confirmed heartbeat is strong.

Now is 10 days later... my 4th visit. Boh Pian la, My Gynae very kiasu now, esp. with me, he knows me and HB very sad last round cos of the M/C. he helped us to conceived again, and thus I guess he is doing his best to help us keep BB.

I don't mind spending for more visits la...as long as BB is healthy and safe. Luckily my Gynae charges not expensive.

Oopsgal,
No wor, My Gynae don't have package de. I think it's better w/o taking a package, cos heard some gynae will restrict the visits. My U/scans are all free, consultation $30+++. My Gynae always say anything must call him, little little problem, quickly go back to see him. So i visit him very often, this makes me not so worried la.

gingal

So cheap! Wow... so good leh. My package is definitely restricted. Can only got after 12 weeks. That means each month got one U/scan. The package only about 7 U/scan

oh, i heard of him, my colleague went to him for her 1st pregnancy. nice gynae, but waiting time quite long right?

gingal
Your consultation very cheap. If mine so cheap i don't mind go to see him a few times to be more an xin.

My gynae charges each consultation fee $75 U/S ant $85. My gynae only accept package at wk 12 onwards @ $1200, unlimit consultation + FA & multi-vit.

Kome

Mine is $600 + another GST for monthly scan + vitamins + urine test only.

Normal delivery $1000. Then hospital another about $1400. Expensive leh!

Triple test $222.

Gingal, ur gynae can only visit at TMC? All the way there very far?

Oopsgal,

Yup, he is a Guy, somemore about my dad's age, keke...not weird leh. Ppl say Male Gynae more "Wen Rou".

Irene,

Yupz, long wait. But priority usually given to preggies. We just have to call in the morning to take a Q-no, the nice counter ladies will tell us an estimation of the time to go down. Sometimes, estimation abit wrong also la, so will take at least 1-2 hours wait there. The longest I have waited is 3-4 hours once. But nvm loh, eat at Delifrance, read magazines etc, time will pass fast.

Kome,
Urs Expensive leh...i once asked my gynae, why he nvr charge extra for U/Scan. He says it's his machine mah, put there liao, never use also wasted, why must charge extra, then he kinda laugh at my question...Duhzzzzz...

Oopsgal,

Yah, he is only at TMC, even delivery also only TMC, no other choices, he is too busy to run around. What i like about him is though he is so damn packed everyday, after his consultations, he will return every enquiry calls for that day himself personally. Be prepared to pay high carpark charges despite the low gynae fee. hahaha.

gingal
So will your gynae still give you the pics since he did not charge you for U/S.

I find mine expensive too after compare with your gals here, but no choice i trust his skills.

Kome

I think mine more expensive. If want extra consultation have to pay $50 per visit.

Yours can everyday go visit also free. haha..

Dear Kome,
Yes, he does.
He forget to give me on my 2nd visit though, i also dun dare ask, cos the U/Scan is free... He apologised on my 3rd visit that he forgotten to give me. i was given my 1st pic on the 3rd visit. He says to keep, as he is going to give it to me every visit.