(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi Sashamama,

Do take care & stay strong. Dun worry. For me, i saw baby's heartbeat at week 8. Maybe your baby is growing gradually & steadily, trust that u shld be able to see the heartbeat soon

Sorry for not replying to u all earlier cos I have spotting yesterday and got frightened.

I think drinking cold water or fruits will definitely lower the temperature in our body. Now the womb needs to be warm so not good to lower the temperature that's why me think dun drink cold or eat anything directly from fridge better.

I just went to my gynae today to check if everything is ok. Received a jab and gotta eat the pills to be safe. today can see the embroy abt 5.0mm. now into 7 weeks le. doc say me gotta rest alot. hope everything will be alright soon.

btw, wat is a sac? how come now then i can see the embroy? mmm?? confused. So the pic that the doc took earlier was only a sac not the bb yet???

clio
I don't know the answer to this one but I found one for all of us!

After the 9th or 10th week after your last menstrual period, you might be able to hear your baby's heartbeat at your prenatal appointment. Your obstetrical practitioner probably uses a Doppler instrument for this purpose, which bounces harmless sound waves off the fetal heart. The way the sound comes back is affected by motion, so a beating heart creates a change in the sound that can be picked up by the receiver in the Doppler. Whether you actually hear the heartbeat at 9 or 10 weeks depends partly on luck-the instrument must be placed at just the right angle. It also depends on the position of your uterus, and if you're slim or heavy. By the 12th week, the heartbeat can usually be heard consistently, using the Doppler instrument for amplification.

Hey girls, how's everybody doing?

I'm going for my 3rd gynae visit tomoro, I'll be 9weeks 1 day. I saw baby's heartbeat on my last visit at wk 7 so I really hope baby's growth has been smooth and steady. The last time baby measured 9mm.

Plus I'm one of the 'lucky' ones with no MS even though I'm taking Duphaston, so I do get worried sometimes, cos the only symptoms I get are growing boobs, fatigue and frequent hunger.

Clio, I'll tell you if gynae uses doppler to hear heartbeat tomoro. The last time I was only shown baby's heartbeat on the screen.

This is strange. I actually feel "safer" during weekdays cos i know anything happen can go see gynae straightaway. Weekends now give me fear of no help. But weekdays got to work... and it is very draining.

Joy
The sac is the first to appear in your uterus. It just looks like a round black image It is where your BB will grow inside. The fetus will show up as a white image inside the round black image on the u/s. Hope that makes sense. Your gynae measured the fetus CRL at 5mm.

Asura79, thanks dear. Only thing I'm sad about is that hubby has a meeting at 2pm and my appt is at 3.40pm and he might not be in time to join me

Promegranate,

The thing is I am quite uncertain on when i should be worried or when i should not be. Like what is considered as spotting, when does spotting require attention, whether my stomache aches are due to cramps or due to bowel movements or uterus expanding, etc... very confused. Pop into 24 clinic, dont know whether i am "da jin xiao guai" or not. My dh sure think i am crazy. Yesterday he asked whether should buy a couple of test kits to keep myself assured. Hee hee... lucky this time round i feel quite pregnant cos bottoms getting tight... hee... 8 more days to my 1st gynae visit... really envy you... tomorrow's ur 3rd one already.

Promegranate,

My dh would only be able to go with me for gynae visits until i am in wk 14 and hopefully he is able to be back in time for bb's birth. So think of me as an example, then you wouldnt feel sad abt hb not able to go for session with u.

On the topic of horoscopes, wanted to check with you girls whether Ox babies are popular.

This is the reason why I ask - For instance it is very obvious that Dragon babies are very popular and that translates to worrying abt a place in good pri/sec schools. And now I hear from one my colleagues' nephew who is a Dragon baby and took his A levels last year. He attained B,C,C,D for his A level subjects but still could not get a placement into local uni!!!! Now that's a scary thought.

Hi !!

I'm back.. But MS is real bad! Vomitted for the past whole 2 days. Spotting got bad on Sunday night, but Gynae not in town so PA ask me to go KK 24 hr Clinic.

I'm in my 6w4d. Went KK to scan coz spotting n advise from gynae's PA. BB is ok and saw a tail and something attaching to my womb. Doc say can see heartbeat. ask me not to worry. Was prescribed duphaston.

No improvement on MS today. Cant eat, drink or sleep. Feels so horrible. Am still spotting.

Asura79, I know exactly what you mean. I was super kanchong when I saw brown stains 4 weeks ago and made my way to the 24hr clinic at KKH, after speaking to my gynae's nurse. Sometimes, to get assurance and a peace of mind, we should get ourselves checked. We don't need to worry about what others say, cos we know how important our baby is to us.

And you know what? I'm put away my regular pants. I wonder if I'll ever be able to wear them again but it's maternity pants for now.

You know I was so upset that DH might not come, but after hearing abt ur dh being away, I shall thank God for the occasions when he can join me.

Wah Promegranate, your 3rd visit already *envy too* i keep wondering what baby benefits will be announced on national day. I hope it will be cash grants, more baby bonus payouts, including for 1st born babies...we'll know this saturday :p

Promeganate,

Thanks... From all the advice, i know i am not alone in this worrysome stage..
Have told DH that we would clash at a gynae or go 24hr clinic if there is another case of spotting. *keeping my fingers crossed that there isnt anymore*

Re: Maternity pants... am waiting to tell my colleague on my condition so that they can tell me where to buy clothes extensions. Think might still need them after give birth.

yah... brownish. the KK doc says it's ok just have to monitor. I had bad cramps so really worried ytd. Duno it's becoz of my bad MS, really vomit real bad and very bad giddiness.

Starflower,

No need to wait till Sat.. the national day message is on fri at 8:45pm. Cant remember if the national day message is different from teh national day rally. Every year, the benefits and goodies are announced at the national day rally. Got a feeling this time is childcare grants + more paternity leave.

starflower,

yeah! how can i forget the new baby package. i'm eagerly waiting for the announcement too, i think the national day speech will be aired in Friday at 745pm. I heard it would benefit mother and baby. lets see!

Asura79,
just pop my United Square and the choices are quite wide. Extensions are found at most maternity shops.

Minnie24,
Your baby is really testing mummy huh? Hang in there, girl!

!!thanks Asura79, Promeganate!!

Promeganate
yah... keep making so worry, already so sick but still worry about condition of baby. I guess this is motherhood.

You girls caught the news yesterday? Out of the 6000 odd babies born last year, only 59% of babies were born to Singaporeans! Now I'm sure that's one of the reasons for the change in baby benefits!

minnie24,
hahaha we are doing our part for the nation! we are going to produce a smart and steady group of oxen! we need more benefits!!! hahaha

im back! doc says stil early stage wor. 4th-5th week... asked me to go back next monday to see if heartbeat is present then... but he says overall is doing quite well... all is in order... he was pretty surprised and shocked too... becos i saw him in June for TTC... then 1st time try tio already... he kept on saying he is quite shocked... hehehe....

he says to take care and not tell anybody until 3mths... he says 1 in 5 females miscarriage in the 1st trimester... so he says must be extra careful... no caffeine.. no raw food... no BD until 3 mths!!! =X he says i can take cold drinks... no worries... jus no raw food and caffeine and no heavy duty work... and no BD... yeaps... thats abt it i guess... hehehehe...

so i want/need to be queen at work for this whole week... must tell my supervisor & boss... if possible just sit in office all day... =X my work actually needs us to travel a lot... but im quite worried... so this week must be extra kiasu... hehehe... he says once in 6th week and can hear/see heartbeat its 90% safe already... *cross finGers*

actually he did mention a few more things but i was tryin to silent my hp becos my colleague was calling me so i didnt pay attention... dang!

but overall quite excited! hee... cnt wait for next week... la la la! eh.. chances are might be april baby liao... -_-"

hi MTBs!!!

promeganate
wow 3rd visit for u... me still waiting for my 1st appt tis fri, hope by then can see n listen bb's heartbeat =)

yeh... actually im very happy with my gynae... he's very positive! he gives me good vibes! though have read some bad reviews abt him... have also read good reviews... and so far... seen him 2 times... feel that he is good and very positive abt my pregnancy... which has rubbed off me... so im not too worried abt it... =) *excited*

oh ya he also gave me duphaston.. he said an tai... thickens the uterus lining so that foetus can be more firmly implanted... its the same med he gave me to induce my menses.. ironic...

missycandy,

Glad to know tat ur Bb is doing well. Ur gynae so cute....tell u not to tell anybody till 3 mths. Maybe u can start the thread for April 2009 MTBs.

Hihi mummies,

Back from my 1st visit for my #2... everything is well, currently 7.5 weeks and can hear and see heartbeat plus the form of bb measuring ard 13mm or so...

Updates:
EDD: 20 March 09
Birth year: 1978

Actually there is no hard and fast rule on restrictions on cold drinks/food/fruits for preggies... guess if the mummy tummy don't feel well then avoid. Otherwise, moderation is fine
sometimes "defrosting" drinks/fruits may even intro more bacteria than taking them cold...

Take care mummies!

just came back from my 3rd visit from the gynae too...baby's size is 2.73cm
i am 9 1/2 wks preggie...wonder if that's big or small...tummy's getting bigger that's for sure..ha!

made an appt for Downs Syndrome Risk Assessment at TMC on the 25th Aug...

Anyone on Neurogain/Fish Oil yet?

So excited to hear you all back from appts and everything is well. My next appt is on 8th Aug, which i think many MTBs in this thread also same appt day. Anyone be TMC dat day for afternoon appt???

Same as my #1, I am only on folic acid no and then 2nd tri will be on iron pills and maybe calcium then 3rd tri on omega 3. Lots of fresh milk, Anmum and cheese throughout... also salmon/tuna in 3rd tri if not taking fish oil...

Hope that helps!

Bad news for me... I bled today at 430pm when i pee, red colour, so rushed to see Dr Wong. Did a scan, still see waterbag and yolk sac but still no bb nor heartbeat. She's now less hopeful. I had a jab in my butt, took more duphaston. She said it could be that bb is unhealthy due to the egg or sperm which is why it's not growing. And the body will naturally flush it out through breaking the roots which translates to bleeding. No amount of hormonal jabs nor pills will help to make the bb healthy if it's not.

I had a blood test, tmr the clinic will call and tell me my HCG level. It should be between 2000-10000. Then I'm to go back on Thu morning for second blood test and the HCG MUST double. If it doesn't, then there's enough reason to conclude that bb is not healthy and i'd need to do a wash. Doc also says to get ready for cramps and immense bleeding (m/c), to admit myself into TMC A&E.

I'm very sad but i guess I need to hope for the best but be prepared for the worst. I know you gals all care and worry for me. I will be strong. Am on MC again... Will keep you gals updated

Welcome to the new mummies and Congrats to the good updates from gynae visits! No matter what, I'd be wishing all you mummies here a smooth pregnancy and delivery and will drop by still if I have to leave this thread
JIA YOU!!!

Dear Sun,

Here's for your easy updating:

Joy (Change From Joy101003)
EDD: 23/03/2009

Annt
YOB: 1976

Angelmummy
YOB: 1980

Clio
EDD: 12/03/2009

Maddy
EDD: 20/03/2009
Birth year: 1978

Nick: Lizy
YOB: 1979
EDD: 07/03/2009
Residence: Yishun
Baby #: 1
Gynae: Dr Marianne Hendricks
Hospital: KKH

Nick: Koala75
YOB: 1975
EDD: 08/03/2009
Residence: Bishan
Baby #: 1
Gynae: Dr Eunice Chua
Hospital: TMC

*** Dear Longan, Wintertime, Pika, Shannie, Blessed_min, Mooniie, Minnie24, Den2, Joy, Elsie, Any year of birth updates?

Dear Sashamama,

Don't worry too much. What God wants to give, he wants to give the best to you. It might be a blessing in disguise if it is not healthy, cos as I mentioned God only wants to leave the best to you.
Rest well, and not worry too much, my gynae has reassured that even when i had lost my 1st pregnancy, me and hb is fertile and very soon will be bestowed with a child. Which is so true. Rest well and prepare for the BEST that GOD is gonna bestow to you. Still keeping you in prayers!

Dear gals,
Thanks... i just can't sleep the past few nites... Luckily dh's business allows him to be flexible in his timing and he'd be with me these few days... he distracts me with computer games, food and his silly jokes :p We will pull through this no matter what. Thanks for all your support

sashamama,
if it's meant to be, it's meant to be, don't be too sad... there's always another chance as long as u keep trying. take care!

sasha, you're a strong mommy. HUGS. we will always pray for the best, and hugs. Rest well, and keep us updated.

Shaha,
I agreed wif them. All will be well soon.... wat will be will be... Mayb u got to go thru some trial to hav the best... All tis hav shown tat ur hubby is veri nice to u(Go thru thick n thin)...U r a strong mummy...Jia you!