(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Re: bathing
me used to taking of her alone liao, including bathing her. BUt the other day she set me a new challenge - she poo-ed poo-ed in the bathtub. OMG.

Re: expressing milk while alone with bb
agree ... it's impossible to follow a schedule which is why I never. From 5 times a day to now I'm only able to express 4 times a day. Sometimes I simply let her continue to cry if it's not an urgent cry ... can start to distinguish between her cries now. Other times I would cover my pump with a piece of tissue while I go and attend to her, then cvome back to continue pumping. Since BM can be left outside at room temperature for more than 2 hours I figured it is ok. I try to latch her at times as well, to relieve the engorgement when I am not able to pump.

re: cranky baby
I now realised that some of those occasions when my bb just refused to be soothed is because she needs to burp. Because ever since I managed to burp her consistently using the (way) over the shoulder method I managed to calm her down some of the times. And she gave really loud burps on those occasions. She also seemed visibly more relaxed right after the loud burps.

Hi alfafa,

thanks for sharing! i have tried something similar - so for your method, the baby's head is resting on your shoulder or are u saying that his neck is on your shoulder and his head is actually beyond the shoulder?

No worries, hope it works for you too.

Nope her head is not resting against my shoulder, her head, neck and even some of her upper torso (a bit only lah) is over my shoulder. her lower chest is against my shoulder. Hard to describe but if you try a few times you will know what I mean.

Ann, my way is to rest bb's whole body on my chest while one of my hands is gently cupping her back. this way i wont disturb her sleep and also she feels more secured too.

mommies, heard abt mdm rokiah and i m so interested to try her as well!! i realised my milk supply stopped at 120ml (feed bb with EBM during daytime and latch on at night), think i will get her to help if the MS still remain at 120ml for another week...

my bb used to cry and cranky during night time, but after the bb shower, funny thing is night time she can sleep, but daytime she can remain awake from 1pm to 6pm, so in a way, does it mean she can differentiate daytime and nighttime?

vivien, my MIL used to push my bb to me when she cried and insisted i got to feed her. i was so pissed off and complained to my hubby about it then he told her off. Now if my bb cries, my MIL tried to feed bb with some water, if not pacifier and some cuddling before she push the bb to me and show me that she is really hungry. Btw, if my bb is hungry, can see her mouth trying to move to the breast area as if she is looking for the milk source. this is taught by the nurses in the hospital when i delivered, hope this info helps. Another way for me to differentiate is her cries. normally if she is in hunger, she will cry like tearing the house down.

jtho, your bb so poor thing, try to change the diapers as often as possible, dun wait till diapers are totally soaked. sometimes when i dont like the way my MIL takes care of my gal, i will use "doctor" to tell her not to do it. In a way, there wont be conflict between us, and also my bb wont be suffering in silence too...

ah, i think i can visualise what you mean .. can understand why ur husband was resistant :p shall try it out during the weekend when my husband is ard to "supervise".

hey, at least ur bb pooed in the bathtub, my boy actually "expelled" his poo onto my clothes! cos i tot he was done with his pooing and opened his diaper, only to have him shoot his poo at me! that was a messy affair ...

Hi Keron&Jeris,

thanks, will try that out as well
Ya, sometimes its quite distressing to see my poor boy trying to sleep while there i am trying my darnest to burp him, thus disrupting his sleep.

re: avent warmer
i have this at home..but just want to confirm with u how to use it correctly. when we put the bottle in..how long we need to wait for it? is it until the light bliknking? i waited til the light blinks and goes off...when i pick the bottle, the milk is HOT! i thought it warms up to the room temp?

miss83, i have the avent warmer at home passed down by my friend. according to her, it will be faster to use hot water to warm the milk rather than using the warmer. i have not used it yet cos my bb will cry like hell when she is hungry, so i use the fastest and most conventional method which is hot water in mug...

ann, my gal likes to fart and poo after each feeding. my MIL always receive her "machine gun bullets" on her clothes, haahahaaa.. i got to learn that when bb fart and pooed, wait till she cries then change the diaper, but to be careful cos they might urine when the diaper was opened. Always keep some tissue papers on standby just in case your bb urines.

Hi ladies, I have a problem with my baby. Was wondering if you ladies face the same issue. It seems like my baby takes her time to suckle when latched on my breast, and of cos, become sleepy. I try to wake her up and keep her going on her feed. I put her down when she is just about to fall asleep. However, she wakes up shortly (half hour to 1 hr) after and cries for more milk. When I give her about 40ml of EBM (which I have so painstakingly stocked up after each latching) she guzzled it down quickly. Makes me wonder if she is taking her feed properly! I get so angsty when I hear her cry so quickly after a feed. So tired.

Keron&jeris, at least ur baby is a gal .. my boy shoots his urine like a fountain! i always have tissues on standby but its not foolproof cos he will fidget. I tried to make a cone-shape thing to cover his penis during diaper changing to minimise the "damage".

I'm sure alot of mummies with baby boys have experienced first hand how far they can shoot their pee

earlier today MIL told me to stop bf-ing when i go back to work. she says so troublesome to pump. then where to store milk. i told her i have cooler bag. can put in fridge at work also. but she said formula is also okie. so many kids nowadays on formula. blahblahblah. i think she is afraid bb too sticky to me. i nvr tell her i seldom latch le. but she feels that bb is very sticky to me. duh. is my bb what. she said too used to my smell n breast wait i go back to work wun drink milk la. -_-" i jus ignore her. haiii. anyway also dunno if my MS cn sustain or increase or not. hehehehe

haha.. shoot urine like fountain..
my boy always shoot himself one.. and amazingly he still can slp when he kenna his own holy water. hehes.. maybe is warm so v shiok?
i try to use tissue cover but so wasting tissue paper.

btw, how to know if got blocked ducts har?

see u all increasing MS after seeing Mdm Rokiah i also feel like inviting her for a session..
but seriously donno is there a need or not.
Coz i don pump out milk anymore.. after 2-3 rounds of power pumping im v lazy and tired to continue..

Strangely, a lot of our mothers & MIL dun seem to approve BF. My MIL also commented on my MS and sort of hint dat I shld give FM if no milk. My CL also the same. Haiz.. They are like," So little BM, might as well dun give"

hi missycandy, try your very best. my hubby is very pro-bf, but my mom and MIL aren't. reason is becos during their time, bf is not popular and most kids are on FM. i told my hubby i will bf as long as i can, but if my workplace doesnt allow space to store, i also no choice.

padi, my bb also like that, i latch her on so frequently till she took my nipple as pacifier. without latching she cant sleep. So in the end, i decide to express and feed her EBM in daytime and latch her on during night time.

ann, i can imagine how the cone-shape thing looks like... so funny!! hahahah!!

luckily my mom is pro bfing.. she bf me until i almost 3 yrs old back then. im the only lucky one among my siblings..
But sometimes, mommy also will ask questions like u got enough milk boh? Even hubby asked such qns. Especially during growth spurt and early stage when baby is always crying for Milk..
so when i noe ( i tink i noe haha) i shd have enuff supply.. got demand then got supply mah.. i tell them.. whatnot enuff. i can squirt my milk at u like machine gun ok..

not sure abt my mil.hardly communicate with her.

altho bfing is taxing on us mommies but this is the best bonding we can have with our own child.. even hb oso don get such bonding as much as us..

keron - im trying ba. no worries. i wun give up. even with my little supply. i wil stil express. store n feed her de. =) latching is a struggle though. so will see how. but as long as she gets my bm im happy. no matter hw little. =)

jo - becos alot of pple our generation grew up drinking fm. and well we are mostly healthy and doin well ma. so they think its okie. plus nowadays so many added stuff in the milk. heh.

queenie, my mom told me during their time, doc will prescribe them medicine to stop the milk supply. nowadays, we dunno what pple add to FM, esp after the melamine case. so i tink BF is still the best!!!

keron ..
ya lor. last time when my mom delivered me she kenna Fine.. im her 3rd child..
now we deliver govt give $.. lols.

even my granny - 80 over years old also second to BFing.. she say is bcoz BF is more simple and easy way out. but of coz back then, they have to work so have to stop BFing.. last time where got breast pump, milkbags etc.hahas.

i guess last time medicine studies not tat advanced.. but of coz, we BFing we muz also take note of the food we makan in.. abit troublesome but worth it when u c the child is more healthy..

oh ya the melamine case.. is a tragic lor to kids. and a disgrace to their country.

the geylang serai food poisoning case..
the poor pregnant lady m/c .. oso bcoz of food.. scary.

<font color="119911">padi,
dats always the case for latch on, u wun noe hw much bb drinks, but for ur case, i tink the latch on is not enough, dats ur bb can finish the EBM.</font>

jtho,

I pump after bb feed. So nowadays i only pump about 6 or 7 times a day depending on how often bb feed. Actually i cant wait for the no. of feeds to be reduced.. means longer sleeping hrs at nite!

Haven't posted here for a long time. How is everyone?
I had a flu the last few days and my MS dropped quite a bit during that time. Feel like giving up with b-feeding

Going to see PD tomorrow.

Oh dropped by to say there is something going on at expo. Not many details though.

New Mom Exhibition
30 April 2009 - 03 May 2009

Event type : Family
Venue : Hall 4B
Admission : Public - Free Admission
Event Schedules : Time: 12 noon to 10pm

Show Profile :

New Mom Exhibition provides you with amazing choices and unbeatable value on everything for your pregnancy, baby and toddler.

Get set to make the most of our HOT DEALS &amp; GREAT PROMOTIONS!

Organizer : Vivacious Media Pte Ltd

Contact Details :
Tel : +65 6404 3673
Fax : +65 6343 9600
Email : [email protected]

mummies, bb can take warm milk nt necessary hot milk rite? my mil says i din warm up my milk/ make fm hot enuff...but i read it someware bb doesn't mind taking rm temp milk but nt hot milk..these days my bb like having colic, can't sleep well..then my mil commented on the milk thing..so sian..hiaz...

Missycandy, Hehe seems like your mil very a lot of comments. Same like mine. Also ask when I wanna give Fm, so she can help in the feeding and I won't need to be so tired blah blah. I just ignore. Haha. Told hubby and hubby also told her saying bm good and best for bb now, Somemore free! She say ok ok but when he go work, she continue her nagging of when wanna give Fm, what brand etc. Irritating! But don't worry. Bb will still be close to us and not them! I know cause I stopped bfing totally my #1 at 2months cause went back to work and took the last month to establish partial bfing which is to latch him only at night, day time Fm. And I did that till he was 10months. Now he also sticky to me like don't know what Haha. never go to my mil no matter what he wants.. Even though she been bathing and feeding him all this while. Hehe. Satisfaction.

Queenie, Haha, me also. After hearing so many good things.. Also feel like giving a try but thinking back, me gg to stop Tbf soon so don't wanna engage la.. Haha. Just 1 to 2 months more will intro Fm at day time and keep night time as latch feeds.. lazy to pump so no pumping at work for me.. Haha.

SG
i understand how u feel. everytime i use the bottle warmer to 'warm' up my EBM, it actually is almost like room temperature. then my CL will say too cold already. initially she even made me keep the bottle warmer and insisted on her method of using hot water. that's fine with me but she only put the EBM into the very hot water like 5 mins. how do i know whether the EBM was warm properly and evenly? so now i insist that i handle the EBM.
and once i caught her giving my boy FM which is very hot. i was watching her feeding but my boy was screaming the moment she put the bottle teat into the mouth. so i quickly touch the bottle and shouted at her that the milk was too hot. then she touched then say ya a little hot and told me to go and add water. since then i always checked on the milk that she gives my son, or instead, i will prepare the milk (both EBM and FM) for my son.

SG
ya babies think shd prefer warm milk.. coz our Bm oso warm one mah. hehes.. too hot will spoil the nutrients?

cindy
i got a shocked.. tink i still SEH despite i juz made my little terror to slp. i tot u are gg to stop BF in 1 2 mths' time. haha...how u let ur body adjust to night time latching only? wont engorge ah?

jtho
wow. whats wrong with ur CL har? cannot understand simple instructions one meh. #$$##@! feel like slapping her and bang the wall. cant she do everything and put herself in a baby's shoes ?? i read the rest saying ur CL use dettol on ur boy ah? paiseh lazy to go thru archives. she ought to be shot.

re: bottle warmer
my sil is using Pigeon.. takes abt 15mins. i don really like the idea of it.. when my bb wk up the next 5 mins want Milk liao.. if by then, i bring my EBM to warm up.. think he might have tear down the whole building. hehe.

re: baby shower
Made up my mind. Engaged Neo Garden.. very hectic schedule on 12 Apr..

1-5pm Relatives
5pm onwards Friends...

jtho...hiaz...i'm doing the traditional way...soak in hot water then test on my wrist...i tot warm is enuff but my mil says it will cause wind if nt hot enuff...dunno hw true..so nw everytime bb gt wind in his tum tum..she will remind me again on the warming part abit sian...coz everyone is doing tat leh, she prefers me to latch bb...

queenie, true hor...maybe i shld tell my mil if too hot will destroy the nutrients...btw, bb quite easily gt wind in his tum tum rite? sigh...my bb will cranky/cry whenever he gt wind..sian..

mummies. have u all started letting bb wear shorts in the day? i see weather so hot so i let my bb wear shorts sikali all the neighbourhood aunties see liao says i shld give him long pants..hiaz...coz i see my bb sweating mah...gt heat rashes somemore. hmm....

SG
i hear pple say b4 too hot might destroy nutrients. but i donno how true it is.. haha. ya now 1st mth - 3rd mth think is the easier stage for babies to get wind and bcome colic..
muz jia you on burping.. and putting on those ru yee oil. or ever colic drops.

my mom also prefer me to latch on. actually i oso prefer that way la. u noe, my sil during her confinement she most of the time feed baby with EBM. And now my niece is 6mths old have been down with cough and running nose for the past 1 mth. and my mom say is bcoz during the 1st mth baby keep drinking EBM.. (my niece goes infant care too) so i donno how true my mom is.
she rather feed baby with FM then EBM.. +_+

SG
from baby discharge until today. I only let him wear long pants one time only. The rest of the days he only wear diapers. LOLS.. donno any1 also same as me or not..

mommies,
(tying w one hand again cos pumping)
i read on kellymom that the warmer/hotter the milk the more nutrients are lost. no joke leh. like that might as well feed sugared water. so these days i only "warm" up the milk enough to take the chill off ... not literally warming it. i read that this is good enough ... besides, bb has no patience to wait. i've been doing that for two weeks now and at first i was worried that bb might find the milk not warm enough ... but ok what. she lapped it up like normal n is in fact less cranky cos she didn't have to wait for long.

sg,
i don;t swaddle bb during the day which is when i put her in th living room, without aircon. she would just be dressed in her romper that's all. my bb is scared of heat ... like mommy. she perspires quite a bit too. i even turn on the fan to blow in her direction, though not directly. my mil used to insist that we wrap her w a blanket no matter where we are. then after one time at her place when my bb suddenly got v cranky n kicked the blanket away (afterwhich she promptly calmed down) she no longer asks us to wrap bb liao/ now sge also says that my bb is scared of heat ... tells us not to cover her too much. hahah

ann,
not quite as morbid lah as you think lah. maybe i didn't describe well. her upper chest is just slightly abive my shoulder line, not over my shoulder. my bad. basically just much higher than you would normally carry her in the shoulder post. this allows just the right amount of pressure on hr chest and tummy which is why she burps v well in this way. a bonus is that my bb likes to lift her neck up in this position - good training/ in fsact by now, at 6 weeks plus she can lift her neck up v well n for v long already. and she is so comfortable in this position that i continue petting her in this way to put her to sleep after she burps

queenie,
ya true. our bm should not be over heated. in fact that's my beef with the hand me down avent bottke warmer. old model which will simply go on heating to super huigh temperature if i don't switch it off myself. twice I forgot to switch off in time and my milk became pretty hot (slightly scalding) when I dripped droplets on the back of my wrists and I ended up pouring away two bottles of 90mls. So heart pain. Don't want to give "empty" (as in no nutrients) milk to her that's why.

I don't like to use my bottle warmer as a result. Don't know if the new models have auto off or not but I think that is a crucial feature to look out for hwen buying one

Re: swaddling/wrapping bb
I do make sure that she wear her mittens and socks though. jus took off her mittens after she turned 6 weeks, but her socks are a must cos even when she perspires I notice her feet can feel cold sometimes.

whew just done pumping.

I realised I get more milk pumoing in the middle of the night. Managed to get 225ml in 50-60min, about 30min each breast. Takes me a while cos I need to massage very thoroughly whenever I pump.

ok need to zzz liao. One more hour before she wakes up fr her feed. zzzzzzzz

<font color="119911">jtho,
did ur terrible CL leave?

SG,
warm is gd enough, dun need to b hot. if not wrong, the temp for water to make FM shld b 60 deg C. my thermo flash has 60 deg C for makin milk.

my bb onli wear diaper in the day, keke.

Queenie,
not true ba, my #1 oso drink exclusive EBM till 1yr old n shes stronger den her fellow frenz. tink its the bb immune system.

my CL onli let bb wear diaper oso, i c bb got wrap up in d day wif such hot weather, dunno she can take it anot.

alfafa,
i took over ur shift, pumpin milk nw, keke.</font>

queenie, can la. that's why me using last 4 wks of ML to train body to stop making milk in day time but continue in night time. demand and supply ma.
engorged def will la, but can tahan cause slowly drop a day feed in a wk.
night time continue to latch.

SG, queenie:: me only let her wear rompers, haha day and night, romper. Onyly night time then I swaddle her to make her feel secure and able to sleep more snugly. but seems useless cause she also don't zzz at night! haha!

Need to rant off here. Pump my milk this morn and my MIL saw me putting the milk away then she commented "so little". So angry and sad lor. I am already trying my best to get the 80ml liao, still make this kind of comment. Went back to my room and cry, haiz so sad.

alfafa77
When you get 225ml over 50-60min, how is the milk flow like? Every 10mins you have 'fountain of joy'...hee~~??? just curious bcos everytime I oni pump 15mins &amp; I get 130-150ml so wondering if i should continue for a longer duration... =)

Am from Nov 08 thread

Am clearing my inventory

1) disposible breast pad (pigeon, medela)
2) 1 x Pigeon Nipple shield (boiled but never use)
3) 2 x tin Nan HA1
4) 1 x tin S26
5) 2 x Mamy poko S
6) 4 sachets of Palmer Nursing Cream

PM me if interested

My bb only wear rompers and sometimes only top+diaper nia. I think should be fine ba. But we swaddle day and night. He's 17day old as of today. In air-con room, besides swaddling with the nappy, would also give him blanket. If on fan only swaddle with nappy.

Re: pumping
I sometimes in a dilemma where to pump or not to pump cuz latch on and still feel breast heavy but dunno if he would wake up for feed pretty soon or not. There were many occasions when I pump he wakes up.

Re: CL
Now my turn to complain abt CL. Initially she started off well, ie. 1st 2 wks when my hubby took leave to accompany me, and my maid is around. Then now 3rd week, my hubby goes to work and my maid at my mum's hse cuz hb schedule was erratic and couldn't fetch my elder son from mum's place. So daytime only me and CL. Now CL just walked into my study room, informing me that she's gg out to do some personal shopping at the neighbourhood shops! CL likes to feed lotsa ebm as well. there's once that I just latched on, and I knew that bb drank a lot cuz lots of swallowing sound during feed. After that, put bb down to nap, bb wakes up 5mins later and CL warmed up 100ml ebm without asking me how much to feed! I was in my room then and not aware till I saw the bottle in the warmer, too late liao. Decided not to see if got finish or not, cuz if didn't finish would sim tia. After a while, I walked out and asked her, she said bb finished all. I was surprised and also skeptical abt what she said. that was a few days ago, when bb was only 14day old. Then last night after latching on, I decided to warm up ebm myself and I handed her 50ml of ebm, she commented, huh? so little where got enuf. My reason of not giving so much at one go is I want to reduce wastage on our precious ebm. My CL whenever she sees that there's a few bottles of ebm in fridge, she would quickly want to use them up, without asking me want latch or ebm or the amt to give. My maid also caught her washing hands with water only after changing diaper. setting bad eg for my maid cuz we insist that maid use the 7-steps mtd to wash hands to ensure hands are thoroughly clean and here we are closing one eye to CL's unhygienic practice. Sorry that mummies got to bear with my ranting. gg to fetch pump now to express before bb wakey again.

missycandy.. my mil oso asked me to giv FM to my baby.. but i insisted i wan BF my baby.. mayb she realli scared bb too stick to mee.. she even requested bb to slp wit her but i rejected.. =(

cindy, me oso let her wear romper-day &amp; night.. dan lik u, only night time then I swaddle her to make her feel secure and able to sleep more snugly. but same thing, shhe stil wil wake mee up for her 2hr milk..

sportyger, sayang sayang.. i understand that the words can be hurting.. esp when we are trying our best to give our kid BM.. my mil always ask the first question when she hears my bb cry, is he hungry? u got enough milk or not? want top up with FM?? grrhhh.. so sian after listening. they din know tt such passing comments can hurt us so much..

alfafa, ur ms so gd.. over 200ml per pump.. no wonder u can throw away 2 90ml BM.. if it was me hor, i think i will still give my bb the 90ml cos it's so precious to me.. hahaha.. but like wat u say, no nutrients... bad mummy.. hahahha

moomoo,i wanted to try cofee too, but still care not try.. craving for ya kun coffee or teh with half boil egg.... hmm...

soooo happy, this wk long wkend.. this means my hb will be around tomorrow to help out on my little monster.. this monring, my boy din want sleep from 5-7am.. i woke up at 3.30am for his feed, then i went pumping the excess at 4am.. so basically i stayed up from 3.30 all the way to 7am.. soooo shag.. I wonder when can i have a straight 8 hrs of sleep?? guess tt day will only arrives when i stop bf.. hope i can tahan 6 months..

<font color="119911">sportyger,
haiz, juz ignore ba, hw come she so blunt?

fairymoss,
hw come ur CL can go out shopping? tot usualli onli allow them on the last few days to go out for a while to get the things they wan. so irresponsible. so when shes out, bb is alone wif u?</font>