(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Pinksorbet, from my previous experience, I dun feel the pain till I was about 4-5cm dilated.
So from 0-4cm, it’s just tightening.. then from 4cm, it’s like menses cramps… then till later when my waterbag is burst, the pain is the real pain… (think of it, I scare)
But then again, this is me la.. different people experience different things.

pinksorbet,
I also occasionally experience very mild menstrual cramp like feeling. Asked gynae y'day and he says normal due to wt on uterus as BB is bigger now.

Congrats to all who popped!!!

Am so pissed off. During the whole pregnancy, I didn't have stretchmarks on tummy or swollen feet. But 1 week after delivery, I got both!

Devil, yes must pump throughout the night too. Not sure if this is the only cause but after I drink the papaya fish soup, my MS is so much. Kept squirting everywhere haha

Seabreeze, heard from my friend who had confinement done by the same nanny that she breastfed her own child for only 1 month. Oh well, I will refrain from being as bitchy as her and shut my mouth unless I can't take it anymore.

For all mums who haven't given birth, please test yourself for Strep B. I tested positive and went through 3 courses of antibiotics (the bacteria was very resistent in me) so they started treating her immediately after birth. If they didn't, she might still be in ICU now or worse. It is rarely but potentially fatal in babies so please please do not risk their lives.

teddybaby
I guess Dr Adrian has the standard answer. I also told him of my cramp-like pain last week and he said the same thing. Hahha...

pinksorbet ...

oic ... i am still taking my iron and calcium everyday and he oso recommend that i take it during my confinement and when i am bf-ing

my feet and finger joints are also swollen ... now cant even fit in my wedding band ... could wear it during the CNY period still

and everynight still exp leg cramp but think its cos the fan is blowing at me heehee

Jasmin, didn't know u also under Dr Adrian. When's ur EDD?

Pumpkinseed:
U went thru 3 courses of antibiotics?? Does that mean u need to take the strep b test after each course to determine if bacteria totally gone? Were u given antibiotics IV drip during labour as well?

irene/teddybaby - thanks for the infor....

seabreeze - mayb u try to turn the fan not direct towards u? i dun experience leg cramps every night...but yesterday got an attack once...hb had to massage for me...

pumpkin - thanks for the infor on strep B...i will ask my gynae whether i need to do cos she never suggest i do this test...

teddybaby
Yup, I'm under Adrian at his cck clinic. My EDD is 12 March but has no signs of bb coming out yet. Dr Adrian always say let bb decide when he want to come out...

Devil, no choice if you want to establish good flow of MS. But I cheated last night. All 3 of us slept from 4.30-9am...nice!

teddybaby, yes 3 courses because it kept coming back. We were hoping to clear it up before delivery to minimise chance of infecting the baby. I took the test only once. It was a must do for me because I was having abnormal discharge. Had to take antibiotics intravaneously right after admitting. It may differ with each doctor though but mine didn't want to take chances because my infection seemed to be very resistant.

pinksorbet, if you are not exhibiting symptoms, I think some doctors won't test for it.

pinksorbert ..

am used to it liao ... everytime i just stand up then the cramp is gone and go toilet to pee liao since i already stand up liao hahahaha

my hubby super lucky lar ... i never wake him up lor

Congrats, Queenie, Starflower & Wishaboy..

P3, aiya, wish Dr Tseng agreed to do VE for you, i oso curious and thinking of doing it leh.. Why did he say you should be popping by this week or next week leh?

Caca, i already 3kg at 37wks plus..scared my baby too big to come out too and to think I ate such a huge breakfast this morning..
Better start cutting down, cos I no symptons at all too...

pumpkin seed ...

for my gynae its a routine test for preg ... but usually he will just give 1 course of anti-biotics and inject anti-biotics during admission and thats it

even when i ret for pad smear aft delivery ... he didnt do anything to treat it too

but i know tatt he PD will look out for signs of infection in the bb if the mummy has strep B infection

Pumpkin,
Strep B got symptoms one meh? What are they? How's your discharge like? I don think I have any, juz the usual discharge (not itchy, but slightly yellow), but wanted to play safe as i know it can have very serious effect on BB. Anyway the test is not expensive either, don wan to take the risk.

pumpkin - is it? mayb i jus ask my gynae and see wat she says...

seabreeze - i dun wake up my hb too whenever i have cramps/pains...its he ownself wake up one cos he's quite a light sleeper unless he's super tired....

congrats to mummies have popped!

updated from yesterday checkup. baby is 3kg at wk38. will be c-section this sunday!horray

so who is taking over the reign of giraffe club chairman? i'm not qualified yet since my EDD is near to end of mar...haha

~from giraffe club member

hahaha eh where's the speech?? heeheehee

ivy: how nice to noe the date to expect ur baby!! for me is wait wait wait...

hahaha and i dun even noe how does cramp feels like!!! never cramp before and everyone keeps saying cramp feeling but i jus dunno!! =[

Good morning all, this is ur Ex-Giraffe Club Chairman's maiden speech.....

It was 6am in the morning. Contractions came. The rest happened in a lightning flash. By 11am, i was 7cm and with the aid of epidural which only caused constant shivering, by 1.30am i was fully dilated and started pushing very hard. After 15 more minutes, hyperventilation kicked in and i felt dizzy & exhausted. Gynae decided on forceps, nurse Lana gave 1 more purge of epi and with 2 other nurse pushing my tummy, my hubby pushing my shoulder forwards, i took 1 loud and last deep breathe, closed my eyes and gave it all I've got and Baby Keanan rolled out into the world. His cries are the most assuring sound i've heard in my life & I burst out into tears. Suddenly, everything in the labour ward seemed so surreal. Hubby helped the nurses around and nervously took photosnaps of the newborn to hide his apparent calm. Weight & height of baby Keanan was taken, "oh, 3.3kg, above the 3kg average here" remarked one nurse. My whole body felt numb, weak and overwhelmed. My Giraffe Club Chairmanship is over. And the rest was history....

To see the expression of this 7pounder6oucer who may one day learn to appreciate this little birth story, please click onto:http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v673/kd2000/030320091110a.jpg

Wah today already gt 3 mummies popped, Congrats!!
Queenie..wah must be God strength to let u take w/o epi!

Prosper, u are NEXT!

Congratulations to mummies who have unloaded!

Caca,
I think we are in the same situation.... I was admitted for pre-term labour in my 35th week and was giving drips and medicine to control the contractions. 38th week now and still no action. :S

Grace!
Those confinement food smell that I am smelling coming from your unit is it? Haha. Congratulations for the safe delivery of your boy
You are reminding me of my career in pumping at unearthly hours is going to start soon.

starflower: congrats... Baby Keanan is so cute!! lookinf so focus and even smile for camera!!1

prosper: jia you we here waiting for ur gd news...

Pups,
Thanks...Hmmm....if u smell all the ginger etc etc then ya lor...heee~~
Ryan shld be discharged this week, so the next time, u'll not oni smell confinement food, u'll be hearing alot of the crying... =)

Grace,
I smell a lot of ginger and sesame oil. Haha. But I was thinking it may not be from your unit since our kitchens face different sides and I get the smell from my kitchen window. Maybe there is another mummy doing her confinement in our block. Not surprising, really. I seem to smell confinement food all year round :p

Hmmm... crying. When my girl comes along, there is going to be a symphony! Don't I pity the level between ours. Haha.

BTW, I order my cooking ricewine frm a middleage lady, she said in order to hv ample breastmilk, dun take papaya, take LOTS of fish!!

I use han yu pin ying to list a few...

Hong2 Shi2 Ban1
Wu3 Yu2
Bai2 Chang1 Yu2

Make sure these fishes meat are fresh n no fishy smell...avoid indonesia and thailand

havent had time to read the other days posts yet...

just an update - i gave birth on 3/3/2009 to baby Megan weighing 3.405kg, 50cm in length, both mum and baby is fine...and eating well..now trying to breastfeed ;)

mine was induced natural with epidural...

will update birth story again...take care mummies!!

starflower, queenie, congrats...
Cindy you almost killed by #2? I almost killed and stress up by #1, as she have high fever yesterday after dinner time, refuse to eat dinner and I reaslised she down with fever. And hubby got to work late at school as got parents sections. She refuse to take her fever medicine even I put it inside ice-cream she ate half way and realise tyhe taste got medicine inside and didnt finish. So no dinner for her she stick to me I almost cant even eat my dinner. So struggle to finished my dinner bring her to room she fall asleep. Woke up when daddy came back lucky got bao in fridge, ask my maid to heat it she ate some with barley water. Fall asleep at 11pm, I pump milk after that and went to sleep at 12 midnight woke up to check her temperture gosh went up to 39.5... Have to insert the bullet for fever...

Morning
Congras so many mummies pop le.Envy

I still waiting till reali neck super duper long very sian and frusted reali hope I can download soon.

Keron & jeris
Ya we onli 1day diff hope we can see each other I will PM u mine hpp when u admit u can text me see I there ant haha.Anyway have just check cervix yesterday very sad to know cervix is still close.Gynae say if gt to induce will be
16march le.So I reali pray hard baby come out soon so no need induce very scare induce cervix dun open than gt to go E Csec but reali nothing we can do lor nw try to walk more.

Pups
Same here I gg to be 39 week this fri reali hope baby guai guai download by herself so no need go for induce heard induce very painful de .Think if induce I cant go without epi le.I feel like I gg crazy at first tell me baby will come early no good wait scare baby too small.Now tell me gt to induce scare baby too big I hard to deliver cos gynae say nw 1 week baby can grow like 300g.So if another 1week plus baby might be 3.5kg le hard to push .

Kome
Haha same here lor I fri 39week le.Worst still had VE done yesterday but fully close haiz I friday 39week le still no sign I dying le so scare.

Those who have gone for induce can kindly advise me how is the procedue like I reali very scare I need to go for induce than cervix dun open very scare pain also ahhhhhhhhhhh going crazy everytime I think of this.

moomooland
Congras do update me on how u was induce I reali very worry I need to induce very painful or cervix cannot open up gg crazy le.Rest well Thanks

congrats moo moo & wish a boyyyyyyyyy!!!!!!!!! heeeeeeeeee

i took mc today.. but its counted as my ML... haii... anyway my mum is here already... my air con cnt be repaired... arghxxxxx the mainboard something wrong.. have to wait for the stock to come in! they said 1wk plus!! arghhh i told them make it snappy becos im going pop anytime le.. if nt nO air con.. sian...

okie i go lunch... bye

Congrats to Queenie, moomooland, Starflower & Wishaboy!!

Starflower
ur BB keanan so photo-friendly.. can smile so nicely. A Charmer!!

Moomooland, Wishaboy
Rem to update ur birth story and share ur precious experiences with us

Queenie
U SUPER!! Another mommy with no epi. COOL! Rest well and rem to update us on ur Super Woman Story.. =P