(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

how is everybody? So long din log in. I was reading the posts though..

Daphne..

i was at Mrs Wong's class ytd. Very informative. Next week I wont be going on the 25th though cos hubby in shanghai. We asked her and she said can join Thurs class.

Re: Waxing

Err i read somewhere that somebody asking about waxing. Well i went last week. I find that it was less painful that pre pregnancy time. The girl was very gentle and she told me to come back just few weeks before I am due.

Re: Weight gain

I gained 7kg already. But I was underweight before i got pregnant and ytd from her class she said could afford to put on 18kg.. hehee...

Re: Baby mall spree

i am in the same spree as well... hehe... i went to buy the braun thermometer as well.. it costs abt us$47 +... so much cheaper than in sin...

Re: Babyplus

I am in my level 6 now... err... i think quite fast wor.. i started first day of my 18th week... but not every level is used for 9 days so mummies do check.. some 8 days then 7 days..etc i follow the guideline..

Sung : I bought from NTUC pharmacy , a pack of 6 sheets for a few bucks , cannot remember how much is it exactly .

thanks wish a boy! i'll check it out

by the way, do you mummies use any waterproof sheet for bb? can really just put on top of the bedsheet or better to lay it below? worried will irritate bb but luv the idea that urine wun seep through hee hee

I have been away for 8 days in Bali and this thread has gone so far out.. i am still trying to catch up reading on the posts that i have missed.

I was very sick before my trip and was recuperating throughout. didn't get to go anywhere but laze around the hotel premises and catched up on sleep alot. Not much to do at where i stay. I avoided Kuta and seminyak area due to the execution of the 3 Bali bombers.

All i see at where i stay was Banana Plantations, Cows, pigs, chickens, ducks, Mountains, sand and sea. Did managed to go around hunting for artifacts to display at home but didn't find a piece screaming at me telling me that its the one. kekeke...

bought a miniature stone carving lamp for my display, larger carvings suck as garden lamps and stone wall murals need to be ordered and freight back to SG. can do online though...

Re: Birth method

I have not really thought about it, maybe too early? cos by default will be natural birth. haven;t think about epidural yet, i need to speak to gynae about the side effects on me, i am allergic to some pain killers.

any mummies considering Water birth? or have any experience about water births?

Elicia:
I also have red spots and skin allergies after using Palmer's Cocoa Butter Stretch mark cream on my tummy & boobies. i switched to Elancyl now.

Re: Areas that i apply stretch mark cream
so far... i only apply on belly... but from u mummies's advice.. think i need to start to apply on my arms, thighs, hips, buttocks & boobies too... kekekeke

Vernice,

i agree with you that the price of maternity clothes are outrageous in SG. for mummies who are small framed, then can get larger size clothes to wear during this period of time.

i am alreay an XL pre-pregnancy, so not much of a choice for me. I got my maternity wear from Old Navy & Motherhood.com .. both online from USA

Sung,

Regarding Vibrating sensation, i do experience it as well. i felt mine on the left of my tummy next to my belly button.

Baby movements:
I started to feel them last week (week 19)- heartbeat, bubbles popping, vibrations, kicks & baby pushing me(area above belly button)I also hear my bb breakwind with the poot sound.. heheheh....

Lenny, I also been just applying the stretchmark cream on my tummy. Been lazy to put on other areas. Think must be more hardworking and apply on my buttocks and thighs.

Mummies:

Re: Cordlife
I am not sure about it yet. i think you gals are aware about USA's new President, Obama.

i heard from the news while i am in bali from either BBC or an overseas news channel - something like he is against the research of stemcord. i donlt know if it will affect future research that will maximise the use of our baby's stemcord. i need to read more info about this.

from my western colleagues, such research is banned in UK and USA (part or all, i am not sure)

I may be wrong.. but such biomedical research are best from the Western countries.. u may need to ask if it will affect the ones that we decide to bank with

Re: Air travel

I did feel my tummy tightening when the plane takes off and during landing. i was quite uncomfortable although the flight to Bali is about 2hrs 15 mins. oh.. i took SQ for my bali trip.. i was expecting them to include priority borading for pregnant woman but they did not.. its only for their PPS Club Members, Families travelling with young children & elderly. i was actually disappointed cos i expected more from SQ. But lucky i booked my seats near the front so its easier for me to get out when we arrived

Mummies who wants to travel by flight, do take extra care. My colleague's sister in-law lost her baby during the flight cos the umbilical cord detached from the placenta cos of the pressure.

generally its ok, but then again.. it depends on individual.

i was very sick on last wed, diahorrea, vomitted, fever and got rashes all over after drinking ginger, lemon & Honey tea..

i was so afraid that i will lose my baby as i was already on flu & Anti biotics medication for a week and had to let go of my daily supplements.

the place that we stayed is 2 hrs from the nearest hospital and i don't trust Indonesian doctors even though i am from indonesia myself. My hubby was wooried sick and we actually prepare to return earlier than we planned. thankgod everything was ok.

Wintertime,

sorry for my late reply, i hope i am still in time.

the hotel that i stayed while in Bintan was Bintan lagoon. I find it quite nice.

if u are going to the art market, there is a little cafe that sells nasi padang where you can order local dishes served in small portions and taste good. me and hubby ordered 5 dishes, 2 rice and 2 drinks for around SGD25.00

i even took pictures of the food that we ordered. i will try to find them, and let me know if u want me to send u the pics.

the BBQ dinner at Bintan lagoon is only so so.. but breakfast is good. if you are staying there for more days, will be good to buy some milk.. or bring milk powdercos we paid SGD8 for a 1 litre of pasturised milk from the hotel.. very very ex...

Kome,

Thanks.. i am still recovering from my irritating cough. Gynae told me let it recover naturally and don't take anti biotics liao but can take strepsils

Vernice80,

Which part of korea are you staying at? Korea has very nice kids stuff and good wuality too. you should try the AM.PM mall at Dongdaemun and the malls along the whole stretch of main road.

Kome,

i don't know if i should consider that i gained weight. in my first 4 mths, i lost 3 kg. during my last check up on Sat.. my weight increased 2.5 kg.. so now i am around my pre-pregnancy weight at week 20.

Lenny
So you did not increase much weight also? From my pre-pregnancy till now (wk 23), i had only gain 2.3kg.

Kome,

yep.. i lost my appetite since i got pregnant. all my friends are so shocked cos i am a food lover.. i really pig out at buffets.,. if u go to my FB, i do capture food and make it as a food photo album for my korea trip.. kekeke.. more intersted in food then places.. kekek

As for cooling drinks like sugarcane and coconut... think it depends on individual ba.. mummies whose base is heaty are those who are not afraid of cold temperature can still drink to tone down the heat. my nose has been bleeding since last week and my lips are brigh pink cos of heatiness so i am going to drink coolong drinks to bring down the heat.

as for mummies who are base are cooling, feel cold easily.. then better stay away from cooling drinks

About drinking tea or coffee during or straight after meals... better not...
my colleague's wife who is a nutritionist told me that if we drink tea with our meal.. all the vitamins and nutrients from the meal will not be absorbed cos the tea or coofee will wash them out of our system.

Mummies:

forgot to mention one more thing about our base in terms of TCM..

women with heaty base cannot eat too much herbal soup or "jin Bu".

i didn't believe it at first. all my symptons started after i ate Angelica herb duck. (Dang Gui roast duck).. i started nose bleed and cough till now from last week of Oct till now.

My body base is the heaty type.. i sleep with my aircon turned to 18 deg or sometimes 16 deg with me wearing spagetti straps night wear.. i felt weaker now that i am preggie.. so air con is turned to 22deg. my hubby shivering every night and curled up like cooked prawn every morning.. poor thing.. kekeke

Kome/Cindy,

Me also intending to buy some stuffs from babymallonline, but waiting for MIL to tell me what
is needed. Do keep us update if the stuffs' quality and colour is nice ok? Thanks

ilyena/fatfish/Queenie/sportyger,

I'm also attending Mrs Wong's Class tmr! I will be with Hubby...

Hmmm...How do we identify each other??? Put on a Rose brooch??? Hahahaha
I was told to put on comfy clothes as we will be sitting on the ground throughout the lesson.
Think my back will ache wor...

vernice80,

Do keep us update...the clothes quite nice, we can consider for CNY wor.

Re: Jshoppers

The Free shipping is only to Japan right? I think we still need to pay shipping to Singapore...

WishABoy,

I'm like you. Total I put on 1 kg only from pre-preg weight. Also due to 1st trimester i lost about 3 kg,
and I was already overweight to start with pre-preg. Keke
I think as long as BB is growing well, our weight does not matter bah. I'm aiming not to put on more than
10 kg for whole pregnancy...right now still workable! I don't want to be unable to shed any weight off after
giving birth wor...

Nana,

i will be going for my 1st lesson tmr, i booked the Thurs Class.
I think we both can switch class next week. I can't make it on the 27th Nov and will be joining the 25th Nov
class. Keke... So Coincidence.

Hi Lenny,

Welcome back! Hope u are feeling better..

Birth Method:
I was watching almost every episode on Discovery Channel on "Gift of Love". They showed C-sections and it looks gross!
Initially I wanted very much to opt for C-sect, but now having 2nd Thoughts. Hope can go natural...

Re: Travel Plans...

I was told by my Gynae that I cannot go anywhere after End Dec..
Means any travel plans has to be completed by 2nd week Dec 09...
I feel like going somewhere...but really too rush to plan liao. Maybe gonna drive up Genting again...I just went 1st week Nov.
Cannot imagine gonna be curfewed from Dec onwards...

gingal,
Sure will keep u all updated if it is approved.

Gingal,
I am also on Thurs class heehee..we should find some way to identify each other in the class

Lenny,
I am at Seoul. The clothes and shoes here are real nice..but now they stock up more for winter so no pt buying for bb.

Re: Weight gain
So envy those of u who actually lost weight in the 1st trim. I didn't lost weight at all and have till now gain 6.7kg tho i didn't eat a lot wor..most of time just eating for sake of eating..no cravings at all! so i told my hubby he is one lucky guy - don't have to go all the way to satisfy my cravings and i didn't have much MS too

vernice,

Hmm..how do we identify each other?
Keke... I am a 60+ kg short hair mummy.. and stands at 1.58m...keke

I think I will go and smile at everyone in the class assuming all are from SMH..

Pinksorbet,

I have booked my hospital stay room liao. opted for a 1 bedder room so hubby can stay over. my hubby may need to travel soon after bb born so he wants to spend as much time with bb as possible. maybe he more "kan chiong" about bb than me.. kekek

Quality wise is okie except that they are all "mao mao' one, quite soft. Abit disappointed for the 24pcs set as the colour are duller than what had be seen from the link.

Lenny,

Really will landslide ah? I think they improved the roads alot liao leh. I used to drive la but on NS Highway only, not as "gungho"/tough as u thought I am. My hubby does the driving up, not me now...Where else can I go?? Cruise is so expensive on Peak Periods...Batam/Bintan is out if I can't do Spa...

The "Gift of Love" is on Channel 12 Discovery Channel, not Channel 16, is on the basic pack..U shld be able to watch it. It is on every Monday 5pm-6pm, but I dunno which is the repeat timings. Maybe you can check on the Guide.
It's a nice programme, when I first started watching, they featured Mummies who are not in time to get to hospital to deliver and delivered in the vehicles on the way there. Then now they are showing Mummies who successfully have babies through IVF. Recent Episode is on Multiple births, they showed the whole process up til cutting up at the Operation Theatres...Hahahaha, gross to see the Tummy that is being Cut up! Looks all meaty and bloody...

I just successfully subscribed addtional channel 70 Discovery Home and Health...and whilst I'm talking about the Gross Cut-up Tummies on C-section, they are showing other operation stuffs, they cut away Fats inside the bodies on a extremely overweight woman...Arggghhh... Gross but I can't help looking... I think dat's y ppl says I really am a Typical Gemini! Loves to watch Gross scenes but will still feel Yucky...

BTW, talking about Horoscopes, our babies are gonna be either Pisces or Aries right??? wonder if anyone knows the characteristics for both?

Kome,

They look better than their pictures online i feel. "maomao" means the "mao" will come off??? did u try the material maybe on your black clothes??? See if the 'mao' comes out. If they do, then better dun let Baby wear leh.. cos maybe will cause asthma?

oo gingal good call... channel 70 has a lot of shows for mummies... =) i used to watch it regularly but now... bit lazy liao... hee...

anyone getting water retention already? jus noticed today my foot getting swollen... =( maybe becos toopid hubby made me wait for him for almost 1 hr at the taxi stand... grrrrrrrrr... and there was no where to sit... *bish*

someone asked abt if its too late to use babyplus now... according to the book and babyplus web, they say its not too late... though advisable to start week 18, can always start now... =) i actually made a boo boo... didnt notice supposed to start level 2 yesterday... then happily use level 1... til jus now i look at the book to fill up today's timing then noticed supposed to be level 2 *smacks forehead* so blur me... LOL... can feel baby movements now... jus now baby inside protesting already becos today i came home late so before put on the baby plus, she inside boxing i guess.. hehehehe... now on liao she keep quiet liao... hee

missycandy,

Yes, my feet and small legs will get swollen easily. That happens if i stand or walk too long and eat too salty. I heard somewhere that water retention happens also because we don't drink enough water, not because we drink too much water. If we dun drink enough water, our body will automatically retains water...just like camel??
Now my feet much better, as I make it a point to raise them up as often as I can, and try to drink more water.

Hey Gingal,
just saw your email. Glad you like the clothes.

Miss Candy,
I started using mine at week 21, which means for every level I need to stay for 8 days.

Nana,
I think you might have mis-interpreted the Babyplus instructions. If you started on the 18th week, then the "No. of days to stay on EACH audio lesson" is 9.5 days. The no of days stay constant as your progress from week 18 to 19 to 20 etc etc. I started in week 21, so according to the chart, I have to remain on each level for 8 days.

alfafa,

Yeah! I like them very much...
Thanks for the prompt response and sending out the items.

Ladies, Do check out alfafa Ebay Site...

KOME...

how much did you pay for the delivery for mallonline???
i have selected some items and total of delivery charges comes up to US$76.95 and my shopping is US$67.00
it's kinda dear right....

ilyena/fatfish/sportyger/gingal

hmm we can wear slippers to mrs wong class?
if can, i will be wearing my black birkies.
my hb will be attending with me too..
tml den i decide wad colour clothes to wear den we can identify each other?

missycandy
ya i also have swollen feets. i rem tt day i was complaining abt my swollen feets in e thread. lols. but is on n off one.. think we cant sit n stand too long at one position. n muz reduce salt intake..

bb plus
anybody know if aniwhere selling 2nd hand babyplus?? coz hb don wan buy leh i tink he finds the 1st hand too ex n he don quite believe it.

lenny
do take care of ur body..drink more water n tk more fruits? hope u hv a speedy recovery~~