(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

PeachMoMo,
My yoga class is at Whatever Yoga.. i only attended 1 class so far and think is quite good.. Same as u, i've been talking abt it since my 1st pregnancy and oni get myself to go for the class now.. haha.. you can check out the website whatever.com.sg for more details..

the way you all talking about weight gain makes me feel quite lousy leh cause to me 7-8 kg like nothing. As i have said, i have gained 15kg so far leh and i am going 23 weeks.

i think a bit of cramps or pains are normal. just not on and off pain around the womb area, or at the back.

Talking about sales, never have chance to go. But I am participating a lot in the bulk purchase sales at motherhood. haha cause I am not able to go anywhere except online. So i spend a lot too, but on myself, not on baby, cause already spend too much on my previous pregnancy.

next week is 24 weeks for me, need to take steriod injection to mature baby's lungs cause of my previous premature labor histories. I am different fr u all...need to take that injection, gynae said just in case. sigh... but bor bian.

Seems like all of us are counting down now. left 4 more months and it will be feb! yeah! excited.

Hey all! I just came back from my scan at Siemens. Its a training that they are doing, testing out a new machine. I got to see my bb!
Ha! Real life pictures of him. He is so funny, showed me his face and him sucking thumb. Then i made a comment about his nose being so round, next thing u know, he covered his face. Rubbed his hands at his eyes. The lady said he must be quite sensitive cos he shows as if he's crying. So funny! Then after my comments, he refuse to show us his face already.

I got to take home a DVD of the pictures and videos taken. Dr Liu said luckily i called earlier cos he had to reject many mothers.

This is the picture of him sucking his thumb. Its actually a video but they also gave me still images.

attachment_icon.gif

baobao suck thumb (25 weeks).tif (29.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

PeachMoMo:
so good.. too bad i cant make time for it. Otherwise, pple pay $300-300 for it.. getting it FOC is so good!
Your BB so cute.. heee... i also hope i can get a sucking thumb scan pic... *envy*

Thanks catmomo. But i think i will still do it at my gynae's place. I thought its included in the package? I think its included in my package with Dr Chang. He has the machine and I think he specialises in scans.

Ai yo, my bb is sensitive new age guy la. little comments, he hide. wa lao!

how do you know abt baby weight? when i ask my gynae, he only tell me the estimate of baby weight at week 23. maybe the machine he use is not able to measure the weight.

i also ask abt the 3D scan, cos i keen to do. However, my gynae say not advisable, as the frequency of the scan is very high. so ask me to wait for baby to come out then see.

fatjo, can pls update my details. mine is #1, and baby girl.

iceblue: u r not kiasu la. i also bought my baby cot and mattress already but still looking around for cot bedding set. im not intending to buy stroller yet as i want to use sling / baby carrier; also want to let bb try on her stroller whens shes slightly older to make sure i dun buy the one she doesnt like. other things that i have bought are breast pumps, some washable breast pads, newborn clothes/layettes, towel, blankets, wash clothes, etc.

3D/4D scans:
i am not opting to do it. my gynae did ask me if i am keen and i asked her if it is necessary. she says my detailed scan is normal and usually she will highly encourage her patients to do 3d scans only if the detailed scan showed something abnormal as 3d scan can give a clearer picture of the abnormality. she did mention that 3d/4d scans do emit higher heat level and hence, may increase risk of thermal iinjury.

babyox:
baby's weight is usually computed via a formula derived from entering the measurements of bb's tummy circumference and some other areas. this weight is usually estimated.

Hi all, there is another review by a doctor in today's Straits Times on Public Vs Private Cordblood bank.
In short, he wants to say that each has their pros and cons.
I like the last sentence, he said "Why not both?"

Do we have enough cord blood for both banks? Sounds very kiasu ahh?

peachmomo:
u so gd, managed to go for e scan... i oso wan! but too bad, think i was too late... no choice lor, see her when she's born then...

anyway, do u mummies giving birth at tmc noe tat no photography/videography is allowed in e delivery room? so surprised when i heard tat during e hospital tour... well, i dun get to see my own birthing process then...

Hiyee

anyone going or went for diabetes test? Hmmm, my parents do not have diabetes only grandparent. But grandparent being old usually have diabetes. Do you know how much it cost? I feel that it is kinda of unnecessary.

Today my girl kicked very merrily the entire day and my tummy kept bouncing up and down continuously. In the aftn, her mummy was in a very impt meeting and as a result, she cannot concentrate on her work. Fustrated, her mummy scolded bb to pls stop kicking. Immediately bb stopped kicking from then onwards. Finding no reaction from her, her mummy felt very guilty the entire afternoon. At abt dinner time, mummy told bb that mummy was sorry for raising her temper, but mummy needed to concentrate on work earlier. Now mummy is free and bb can kick if she wants to. After awhile, bb resumed her kickings again. *faint* This bb really got a temper man!

PeachMoMo:
Standard email reply ah? Oh isit? Oh ya, could be hor. My husband also commented on the possibility. Dun have leh. They din offer to do anything or give any voucher. Actually I was thinking abt testing if the reply is a genuine or standard reply. But hasnt got any good idea what to ask to test it out .... hehehe ... ei u in Customer Service line? Btw ur bb really cute leh!!

sheepish:
wah! envy ur bb weight leh! My gyane said my bb abit small. sob sob ... Nvm ... eating more nutrious food now to make it up to her :p No more junk food for me :p hehehe ... :p

kkf:
Sorrie lah, do ignore the comments on the weight part :p hehehe .... :p And jiayou!! 24th week coming and you're already in the 6th mth! 16 weeks to go!! This will be a smoother pregnancy than the previous ones!

sheepish
i didnt know about that. Is it new regulation? previously i was allowed camera in delivery ward. My gynae was the one who asked me if i brought my camera along. Not sure if they have changed the rules.
Videography and photography during birth are normally not allowed i think. But after birth, still in delivery room should be fine.

SY: I did the diabetes test. Its called OGTT or OGGT at my doc's clinic. I cant remember the cost but i know its not too expensive. I had to rent the test kit to bring home for a 6-point test to ensure that my sugar level is ok throughout the day. My mom, MIL and my maternal grandma have diabetes. Did your doc suggest that you go for it? I think its compulsory at a certain point of the pregnancy.

lonerunner: Thanks.. i think can tell he looks like his papa. Also this means ah.. our babies REALLY can hear us. Ha ha! You see, I commented on his round nose and immediately he hide behind his hands. Its quite funny yet scary huh?
I'm in sales and used to be in hospitality line. So its an everyday affair that I need to help ppl to draft or correct their emails/letters. So ha.. you will need a standard format to amend from.

sheepish: I went for the tour too and was advised that no cameras and videography allowed in the delivery room. Anyway my hubby says dont think he wants to film the bb coming out from THERE. Ha ha!

lonerunner:
u so "fierce" =p But ur BB gal's reaction very cute leh.. hahaha..
My boy some days also kick very hard and when I try to look at my tummy to see the bouncing part.. he stop. When i look away, he starts kicking again...
They seem to know how to be cheeky already! LOL

Hi fatjo,

Pls help mi to update, baby at 26week weight abount 900g.Thanks

Yesterday went to gynp, she did comment tat my baby head is normal but more to the big side. Ani one of u have tis comment? worry....

lonerunner:
haha, my husband actually said it's cos of all e junk food i eat tat she becomes "pui pui"! think our babies not only can hear us, but oso can feel our emotions... so when we upset or angry, they may react differently to sayang us...

joannelim &amp; peachmomo:
cos my fren gave birth at raffles and she got e whole process captured on videocam mah, tot everywhere oso e same... think my husband very happy to hear tat... in tat case, he juz needs to hold my hand and dun need to see e birthing process too! haha, he always says he may faint... oso tot i wanna watch myself giving birth... but guess it can really be gross? i dunno...

haha i think i will feel more grossed out than anything. You know some doctors show women the birthing videos and I think my ante-natal class will show us those videos too. I will definitely skip it and tell my husband to watch instead. I remember during my sec school days in Home Econs class, we had to watch a child birth. Wa lao.. I got traumatised by that la!

peachmomo:
haha, think i have a vague impression of tat! but urself giving birth is different mah... tot ppl always say it's a beautiful thing? esp when e baby crowns...

dunno why, starting to get a bit fearful. Into week 23 now. I am eagerly waiting for week 24 to cross the benchmark...sigh, but that will be next friday.

Had my first labor at 23 weeks plus...so a bit fearful now.

Seeing those in week 24 and above, sort of envy.

Regarding filming of giving birth process, think by the time u go into the labor room, you will be overwhelm by the pains to think of anything else....haha.

Hi sheepish, is the hospital tour for everyone? Or for those who sign up for prenatal classes? I would like to tour the hospital too.

Anyone going to give birth at NUH?
my fren was there recently.. with 10 people in her delivery suite including gynae, nurses, and medical students officers. 1 grab left leg, 1 on the right leg, 1 with videocam, 1 with camera and 1 calling 'PUSH'... LOL..
i told her she should have collected monies from them!

kkf
dont fear. Keep being positive. Your child will feel your fear or faith one. So keep telling him wait for mummy to celebrate valentine day with daddy already then come out okay? Look forward, dont look backward. *hug kkf* hope u feel better.

sheepish
i dont think i dare to watch if whole process captured hehe. kinda bloody. i only remember the scene when gynae hold baby out and pass to nurse. Then gynae asked hubby go take picture while he sew up the cut. Then next moment they wrap up baby and show me. Still quite cover with blood loh..

yo gals!

moi back from my trip! keke.......
i fell sick during the trip - bad sore throat and bad cold.

luckily i brought along antibiotics and cold medicine.

did i miss anything?
talker.gif

peachmomo, the test(OGGT or wat) is not included in the packagE? im supposed to tak the test on my visit next mth end too, cos during my detailed checkup last mth, my blood sugar was abit high.. nurse nvr tel me nd to pay for the test

Gee ... I dun think I dare to watch my own birthing process. I'm scared of sight of needle! And I think it is ok to do without the bit of "RA" filming of myself lah. :p hehehee ... :p

Sheepish/CatMomo/PeachMomo:
Yeah, I think our bb really can understand us! So small and already knows how to react and read mummy's mood! And they can be so cheeky sometimes! Oh dear! I better be more gentle from now. Else ah, next time bb also as cho-lor as me then die lor! Especially now can tell that she really inherit my temper! Goodness!

PeachMomo:
Heard that 1st born tends to inherit their dad's look. Not sure what is the rational behind this. hee .. Ur bb really cute leh! Imagine he can react to what precisely you are saying! So "Shen qi" hor? Oh, no wonder you are so familiar with how email reponses go lah! I'd tot of what to reply to Robinson to test their response already and to check if that is a genuine email or a standard reply. let me try and see their response :p

kkf:
Keep your spirits up! Dun think negatively. You'll pass 24th week this time and go to full term.

jas:
yo! Take care man! Did you manage to enjoy a little despite the sore throat and cold? How's the trip?

ashleigh:
I'm going NUH to deliver. Let me check with my neighbour does that happened to her or not, since we both shared the same gynae. She just delivered on Wed midnite after a 1hr labour! So lucky!!!

wow i see night owl popping up. I thought i am the only one online now.

hi jas
take care. I heard flu will affect baby one.. so get well soon.

me still alert after a big cup of ice milk tea, goodness the caffeine is working. mmmm wat to do ? i love this mos burger ice milk tea too much. Every friday i sure drink.

joannelim:
There will always be kkf around at the wee hours of the nite :p nvm, today is sat so u can sleep the caffeine off :p heheheh ...

ashleigh:
everyone can sign up for e tmc hospital tour! went for e 1 at 2pm, think got another 1 in e morn... not too sure wat time exactly though and if it's available on weekends...

joannelim:
i oso luv iced milk tea! drank it on mon evening at hk st cafe and din sleep till 3am... then my husband banned me liao! but i still like tea in general, so will drink teh-o sometimes still...

anyone here works in the banking or financial sector? Haiz.. times r bad..
i was wondering, if there is retrenchment in a company, the pregnant one cannot be retrenched right? Can anyone confirm this? Could not find this info in the MOM website.

good day everybody! feeling Great today cos I've got a super long week ahead - on leave! was counting down everyday to this! hahahaha

Joannelim: so what time did you finally doze off last nite? its great to give in occasionally to the caffeine dose! I do that sometimes too... to have my kopi-xiu-dai and toast! so yummy! miss that lots!

from the sound of it, it seems most of you are going for natural birth eh?!

i'm terribly scared of pain, and have low tolerance what-so-ever. So am really tinking hard. So i think, watching the whole birth process will freak me out - completely. hahahha...

but am really contemplating to just experience this child-birth process cos everyone's telling me that once you are in labour, everything becomes insignificant. and epidural is god-sent to help us all survive this!

any comments?

ashleigh - i am.. and indeed it is all so unpredictable now.

times are really bad and I think there is slim chance of even taking any bonus / pay incre this year. Bonus would be keeping our jobs!

heard/read somewhere that companies cannot lay-off staff who are pregnant passed a certain stage...

hello, haha, joannelim, you not the only night owl. i was up at 2am, just never post.

lonerunner, yah, you are right! if any of you can't sleep at night, must think of kkf. I will be up.

DK, i am scare of pain too, think all of us are. But tell u when you go into labor room...well..automatically, you will have to endure the pain and pull thru it. I still remembered when i gave birth at kkh, the nurses scolded me cause i kept screaming in pains. The nurses told me "save your breath to push!" so when i gave birth 2nd time, didn't even bother to groan even though it was more painful!!! I just held my hands on both sides of the bed railing tightly when painful! else scolded by nurses again! haha. I can tell u no matter how many times you went thru labor, you will still fear the pains. I do. I dread thinking about contraction pains...as for to use epidural...well if you go thru long hours of labor, then bor bian, got to use i think...else will faint. But honestly, if can tarhan, just tarhan, dun use, although twice I had wanted to use very much (but gynaes didn't allow cause i was in premature labor).

Yeah, am trying to be more positive.

Today my opposite door neighbour doing full month for their 2nd child. me kinda envy. Their daughter ard same age as my son...now they have another. I hope next year, I will be able to do the same.

lonerunner/joannelim
thanks. yah still enjoy the nice cold weather though the food sucks.
hehe.... everyday kimchi and steamboat, driving me nuts man! i survived on starbucks and coffee bean muffin and cakes on the last few days of my trip.
hah!

kkf,
dun worry.. i'm sure ur baby can feel and stay till full term..

joannelim,
i also love ice milk tea.. but hb doesn't allow me to drink much cos gt caffeine..
though i will always drink behind his back..

DK,
i agree that once in labour, everything else is insignificant..
i have natural delivery for epidural for my 1st pregnancy and this time round i'll like to try to do without epidural..
hopefully this time round my labour time will shorter.. my 1st one last abt 15 hrs..

lonerunner
yes our bb r sure tis new century sensitive. mine after saying her stop her kicking action scaring me n i quickly say sorry n next day OMG she kind of show me her action packs inside. i now just tell her be more gentle to mummy n nite time to sleep or when she born we parents will hv a hard time

jia you to kkf n bb!

oh i wk in a financial section n with all these lehmanbros compensation there goes our hope of variable bonus.

u mean if give birth at NUH there will be med students there seeing our labor pain action? hey is it allowed or common?

oh every morn n afternoon at wk i must hv 2 drink 1/3 coffee to keep me awake at wk. stress at wk

do u mummies feel happi c yr stomach growing slower. i m. think i m 24 wks now. oh i told hubby n bb next yr we will be happier strolling w bb in orchard for christmas next yr. it warmed my heart.

bb awake now n starting her movements inside...

wedtobe sure is very heartwarming to have our littles ones with us next year, be it at home, playground, orchard road or anywhere!!

May all of us have smooth pregnancies and labor, and next year, we shall have a feb babies gathering! yeah!

kkf
very agreeable. whether a gal or boy not impt. at long bb n mummy safe n healthy its a blessing fr god
yes gathering for all feb mummies!!

Missing out tons on the thread, been busy... Only have a few min now before heading out for dinner... Hmmm... having steamboat, can't wait.

I think all Mummies should try to have a natural drug-free birth once in their life. The experience is truly uplifting and spiritual. Also, you'll heal much faster than if you were on epidural or stuff. I was up barely 2 hours after birthing my #2 and taking a shower by myself with no problems at all and back to normal only after a few days after giving birth. Seeing the mummies who had C-sections in my ward who couldn't even get out of bed, my heart really went out to them. But sometimes really no choice, gotta have a C-section so I hope we all don't have to go through that.

Good luck to all for a smooth pregnancy.

DK/wedtobe.. yes the bonus is keeping our jobs now. My company is sort of telling all of us we r surviving well.. but they have stopped a couple of businesses. They told us we have to do biz slowly now as cost of funds are currently too high. So if talking abt passing a certain stage, i believe going to 6th mth very soon, we probably wont be on the list right?
My ops dept have so many preggies, 1 went in july, 1 in oct, 1 gg in dec, me in feb and 2 more after me! Maybe next year i will be taking care of my child full time instead.. tats a little consolation as taking care ownself is non comparable!

mmm
finally knock out at 6am i think . hahah and i think today will be worse. Cos i slept at 6am woke up at 9am. Then afternoon i nap from 3 pm to 9pm leh... vvery very worried now. Tonight, kkf, i will surely think of u haha.

recalling my first pregnancy.. i was moaning alot. Kept telling hubby i was very pain. Then he was like trying to be the actor on the show, asked me to hold his hand. Kinda funny, cos after holding his hand, i say your hand cant withstand my grip, so i move on to continue to hold on the bars beside the bed. Then lastly no choice we went for epidural.

my friend went for epidural even before the pain started. I think hor, we all should at least try to experience the pain lah. More shiok. hahaha
Then when cannot take it then go for epidural. Like that then u can claim u really gone through delivery.

Hello joannelim u still awake?

wonder when can I ever get a good sleep. Think if i am not preggy, i will go seek medical help from sinseh or doctors...sigh.

but wow, u powerful, you mean you never sleep till 6am? then all the while wat u did? sometimes i really dunno wat to do at night when i can't sleep....

ya yet to sleep hahha

i have been doing some crochet necklaces and a crochet neck binder to give away for christmas. right now still on my first necklace... so difficult to do . I wonder if i ever want to sell it, how much shld i charge. So much time invested in just one necklace.

me before pregnant already like tat hahaha but ok la, always manage to adjust back.

any one experienced Braxton Hicks contractions (false labour) yet ? I felt tightening of tummy last night when sleeping and feels very uncomfortable... even now day time also on and off.. im worried.... im 25 weeks now

kkf, can u share a bit on ur early labour last time, im just worried for myself...

anything i shd look out for ? Pls advise