(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

Does Triump sells nursing bras? Cant find any at Robinson leh.

oppsgal:
Hadnt pack yet. Tot of waiting until Jan then pack :p hehehehe :p

wedtobe06:
Oh, ur gynae's Dr Su? Yeah, my regular gynae's Dr Biswas. You'll loved him! He is really a nice gentleman. No leh. I dun have facebook. No time to maintain leh but do let me know yours! We should keep in touch! Maybe we'll really bump into each other during delivery!
Btw do you know what are the items NUH provides? e.g. Hospital gowns, bb clothes for hospital wear, toiletries, disposable underwear etc? Seemed like TMC got lots of things thrown in FOC leh. If NUH got provide some items, then no need to prepare these items in the hospital bag.
Hmmm .... think this friday during Gowth Scan appt will be a busy day since hospital will do financial conselling too. Moreover the lady from Public Cord Bank will be coming to talk to us as well. I just realised that I'd re-qualified to be a donator as the archipunture needles used in my chinese med treatment is disposable. So will be donating my bb's cord blood to public bank during delivery.

PeachMoMo:
hey, how u guess that ah? hahahaha ... yeah, it has been a wonderful weekend for me now that hubby's home. Really missed him!! Hope that he wont go for his next trip anytime soon!
Think you'd got a point abt it is better earning our own keeps. At least we are not financially dependent on our husbands. If we want to spend, hubby cannot question too much. hehehe ... :p

kkf:
WELCOME HOME!!! Good brave little kkf! Stay in there for mummy's sake!! Dun make mummy worried! kkf, do give bb a "well done!" tummy rub from all of us!!
Glad to hear that you have a better experience at kkh now. Hope that it will erase some of the bad memeories that have associated previously with the hospital.

sheepish:
As what Gamze said, Obimin is a multiVitamin supplement. My gyane prescribed this supplement to me since 2nd trim. To take 1 tablet in the morning. I used to take this together with additional Folic acid supplement, but has since stopped once I'd reached 3rd trim.

Gamze:
oh dear, luckily you were ok when you fell! The ppl present there were too unsympathtic! Hope that one day they'll learn to be more compassionate for their own sake.

LeMonT:
young coconut only from 34th week and onwards? Okie thanks!!

Gamze K
sorry for e misleading... those w/ *, r things tat we need to pack in our bags while on e way to delivery :p

PeachMoMo
i only get to shop or do things on my own when my hubby is out of town cos tat's when i get to drive ard
. anyway, i m only able to do serious shopping recently due to tight work schedule.

yes, i bought e blankets, 1 blue & 1 pink. my cuz is a robinson member. she received e mailers couple of days ago & told me abt e Ameda dual electric pump @ $350 which i intend to get. but i might get my sister-in-law to get for me cos shes w robinson group. "Shen Shen Shen" very impt!

yup BF = Breast Feeding FM = Formula Milk

M&S's maternity & nursing bra r out of stock aldy. I got it 2months bk. e 1st 4pcs, i bought @ $35, UP $59. e following wk, i went bk & saw a 20% on top of $35 = $28. so i grabbed another bal. 3pcs of my sizes. it was very comfy so i intended to go bk for more.. but too bad.. no more thru out all M&S. e $99 for 2.. at e look of e price, i got turn off liaoz .. hehe.. however, on sat, i bought some from Triumph Mamabel @ OG albert. its either 20% rebate or 3 free 1. so i got 2 pcs of mAMABEL 203-425 N 0003 $39.90ea @ 20% (last 2pcs), avg $31.90ea & 3 free 1 MAMABEL 018 N 00CS of $32.90ea, avg 24.70ea. valued for money & its very comfy too. heard from e sales personnel tat the sales might extend till 25 or 1 jan

hehe.. i work.. my money is for myself only & i spend my hubby's money.. but wisely

KUDOS kkf!!!!!!! GOD BLESS U!!!

blueb/ lonerunner
Triumph MAMABEL nursing bra w/ clips where u can lift down for BF.

yes, young coconut @ 34th wks onwards
& I m starting next wk
... also if u hv been taking e double-boiled black chicken essence, pls stop when u gonna take e young coconut.. cos 1 is heaty & another is cooling..

My hubby's just back from Penang too after being away for a week. he is on bed, sulking & looking at me so bz w/ my laptop.. haha.. take care gals!!! Cya!

lonerunner
head straight to OG for e Truimph MAMABEL nursing bra...

Robinson 15% sales for public, 20% sales for OCBC CC members & not all brands. but OG.. all brands, every1 gets 20%!

Hi thanks!!

Just to let you all know, after staying 7 days in KKH, seeing patients who delivered in and out, I can tell you all honestly, if given a choice, pls choose to give birth naturally best, without anything.

I saw patients who did c-section, wow, they had to put on drip, and was like very uncomfortable, and vomitted after giving birth.The nurses are very concern with C-section patients, checking for blood cots, blood pressure very frequently.

For those who take epidural, also, they will see if you feel giddy, got vomit etc.

For those natural birth without anything, well, they recover fastest, and of course, they seem to have no problem getting off the bed after birth.

kkf: welcome back! I'm happy to hear you and your bb are ok! Continue to take good care of yourself ok?
As for giving birth naturally without anything, I cannot do that la. I see needles, I already start to cry. And when the needle poke me, I yell. So natural without epidural will be hell for me. I already told Dr Chang, epidural please. Actually I even considered Csection but my hubby was strict NO on that. So forget it.
I think i mentioned before that becos of my old scar from removing fibroid, doc says I must experience contractions myself. so its either i wait until damn pain and BB wanna come out himself, or i go for c-section. I cannot be induced or use the forceps or vacumm.

I took a botak coconut during dinner outstide yesterday. Hee.. my MIL ah still ask me to eat the flesh. I was like, hello? My mom and grandma both said no cos its heaty and makes no sense since we want the cooling effect. She still can say, well your sister in law took flesh and juice for all 3 kids also no problem. Wa lao.. i dont want lor. Our body different too what. RIGHT?

Yday my Fil came to set up the baby cot for us. This is a used one passed down from another aunty side. Its so nice! Huge, not like the usual cot. Bad thing is, its only one height and its very low. So we need to improvise on it.

When he came to fix, I had to stay in the PC room the whole time as he doesnt want me to see the "fixing and moving". He and I both closed our room doors. But my MIL was bored in the living room outside, so she kept coming to my PC room and kept going to the other room. Door open and close. Wa lao.. what difference does it make?
Then I was excited to show her all the clothes that I bot for BB. But her reaction was "Why you buy so many the same type? Romper wont last one. They wont wear when bigger" What a wet blanket. When i complain to my hubby, he said he will tell her off. But guess what she said when he asked if she saw the clothes? "Oh yes, i saw them! They are so cute! She knows how to choose." WHAT THE H?????
kao_angry.gif

talking about induced, wow saw some mummies waited for a long time before cervix fully open and baby out (induced birth), so induced also very jialat.

I also cannot endure pain, I am very fearful thinking about the pain peachmomo. It is really very very painful!!!

But if can tarhan, really try to tarhan.

But of course if cannot epidural is a good choice.
I think I may take epidural too cause I had experienced the pains in my previous two labors without epidural, and now very very frightened.

haha i really dont think I can tahan the pain at all lor. really scared and its the mental part. I keep nagging to my hubby that I'm scared of pain.

Whitegalz,
Yup, becoz of jaundice..

According to the chinese doc, she ask me to eat coconut when during 8th month once a week. Drink coconut juice & eat the flesh(if the flesh is soft). Don't eat if the flesh is hard. At 1st i thought drink juice only.

kkf,
Glad that you back home.. =p Take good care ya!

gamze & lonerunner:
thanks for sharing! so it can be eaten on its own, no need for other supplements oreidi?

blueb:
maybe peachmomo is plannning for no. 2 oreidi in 2 yrs time? then timing juz rite... hand down to little sis / bro, then get new car seat and everything else loh! haha...

lemont:
so e mamabel nursing bras are comparable to e 1s from m&s? cos e price was really too exorbitant!

peachmomo:
it's okay lah, mils will never allow themselves to look bad in front of their sons... anyway for now, u are e queen!

Sandy: thanks for sharing on the 3D growth scan. At every visit, my gynae usually takes the measurement for baby and check the organs too. But not so detailed like urs where she chks on palate,lips..size of eye socket and orbit...count number of artery and veins in the umbilical cord...will check with gynae again at next visit. But these checks will also depend on position of baby right?

kkf..

my friends who delivered naturally with epidural was so glad and happy as it makes their delivery a comfy and wonderful experience..since its your last bb and last delivery, why not try epidural so you will have a wonderful experience and be able to enjoy it...and the fact that you have strive so hard to keep your girl in your tummy, you should be nice to yourself on D day

DK,

when my gynae was doing the scan, she did not mention anything about position of the baby up until when she was trying to look at the genitals and take a photo of the bb's face, she says she was not in a nice position and could only take the side view of her face..she was kneeling down with her face sticking into my pelvic bone..keke..so i assume for the rest of the scan, position might not matter a lot since its 3D??? not too sure

reading thru today's posts gives me huge relief!!! i am now sure that i am not the only one who is afraid of the labour pain!!

Argghh! juz the thot of it scares me... and i always ask my hubz - how to deliver baby huh? i am "trapped" and its so scary! My mum keeps telling me to go ALL natural, and my reaction is "No Way!!!" ...

How huh?

Like what KKF says: i guess its best to go natural with epi if need be. since recovery is fastest, and i guess less complicated too... but what if cervix takes a long while to dilate? then it could be a 12-hour affair right?

yah, think better not to induce... baby will come out when ready... heard 2 cases liao when doc induced, but baby not ready so not engaged... no choice, then gotta emergency c-section...

happy to report that my cough seems to be finally getting better... phew.

LABOUR PAINS
Everybody has to go through it. It's your baby preparing to come out and that's a good thing. I can't tell you how great the feeling is when you go through all that and then after that you're holding the baby in your arms! Like kkf said, if you can do natural without drugs, you will recover the fastest. I was up on my feet after my #2 and peeing and showering by myself just 2 hours after delivery. My #1 had epidural, I had convulsions and couldn't move for the rest of the first day. The C-section mummies have it the worst. They can't even get out of bed by themselves after like 2-3 days! My heart went out to them cos I was so bored in bed I kept walking around the hospital grounds and kept asking the nurses for my baby and they were quite irritated. I was so irritated with the nurses treating me like I'm disabled that I don't intend to stay more than 1 night this time round.

I strongly suggest reading up or taking classes on Hypnobirthing. If you are so afraid and keep fearing the pain then you will definitely not have an easy birth. I myself had to rewire my brain to NOT be scared of labouring after my #1 and am very glad now that I had an all natural labour with #2. If not, I won't be sitting here with #3.

For me I can't wait to pop cos I miss my champagne and wine and my clubbing, drinking lifestyle. I'm just counting the days now. So near yet so far!

PeachMomo,
I think JPB package quite ok lah.. price also reasonable.. i think i not so hardcore till go let fengshui master see the biodata.. haha.. but the next time i might choose a virgo cos perfectionist and likes clean..And ya, i'm a working mum..

LeMonT,
your fren's bb case of lung collasped might not be due to the coconut that she drink lah.. I think all these depends on individual body.. my mum say when she was pregnant with my younger sis, she drank coconut juice from her 5th month and my sis got really good complexion..
By the way the truimph nursing bras really quite comfy right and i think the support quite gd also, despite without the padding and wire..

Blueb,
Tot Robinsons already having sales now? 20% for OCBC card members and 15% for all shoppers.. but normally Ameda hardly will have discount de.. JL also have 20% now.. but dun think AMeda gt discount.. The cheapest i saw is at Isetan at $380.. $8 difference oni..

The Isetan private sale will have more discount than the one open to public..
Those who are interested i think can go apply for their priviledge member now.. cos they give you the card instantly.. If get their credit card more worth it, cos any other time u make purchase will have 3 to 5% discount.. Priviledge card only got rebates for vouchers..

The Triumph nursing bras are those normal type.. not sure is they have sports or tube type..

lonerunner,
I think all Triumph counters should have their nursing bras.. try asking the sales person there cos normally they place it at not very visible places..

kkf,
Good to hear from you again.. I can sense that your bb is very strong..
i didn't know c-sec patients have to put drip leh.. but anyway i'm going for naturally and hopefully no complications..

DK,
i think the labour also depends on individual body.. For me, i was in labour for 15 hrs b4 my boy pops out...

princessdella
sounds good too.
i suggested lunch cos i thought it'd be more convenient and "time-saving". ;P
anyone keen in meeting up for dinner?

hi ashleigh,

i've been taking pineapple regularly too .. after my first trimester.. so far so good

pineapple high in vit C leh.
dint eat papaya cos the chinese sinseh ever advised that papaya + papaya seeds may cause miscarriage. but i think this should only apply during the first trim la..

I have been taking papaya everyday since I got pregnant.. When I first trimester no appetite for food, i will take fruits.. my husband just bot 1 big one from ntuc yesterday.. hehe, i think i will continue eating bah..

Joanne, I have been eating pineapple too! Just recently, I bot 1 pineapple from ntuc and ate the whole thing.. so shiok.. Malays eat alot of pineapples during pregnancy cos it is supposed to be packed with vitamins..

Can we not wear nursing bras? I am thinking of just wearing a spaghetti top inside pyjamas in the hospital.. Effect also same as wearing nursing bra right? The pyjamas must buy dress not trousers right?

You gals ever thought of gg for brazilian wax before birth?

whitegalz
i dun own a single nursing bra when i had my #1, and now i didn't buy either.
at the hosp, my boobs were too sore and engorged, can't wear bra.

my gynae asked me to go for BW as she said it'll be less irritating when the hair grows out on the wound (i had c-sec), as compared to having to shave.
this time round i'll be going for it again.

i am one of those who might consider to go for one. when i was in turkey i used to go once every month to the same place with the same waxer. she was very professional, quick and the pain was bearable. but since i came here i did not try one as i dont know which place to trust. if any one of you already tried it here in singapore, maybe u can suggest me a few places. and what u mean by BW is a full waxing, rite? :)

lonerunner
i switch 2 her as she bother to listen my concern of my irritating cough at my 1st trimster. ya she is just a consultant but her listening ears make me feel assured. i no dr biswah is gd but i heard he is bz n i decide to stick to dr su n not to switch again.
we must bring cardigan, personal toiletries & pajamas (up 2 u), set of clothing 2 wear upon discharge for mummy n bb. bb-mittens & booties, towel/bb blanket for bb to go hm. slippers & toiletries provided 4 a1 patient. i got some drypers wee wee samples, magz @ fin consuelling.
will go robinson n take a look if bb safe mattress got disc as i heard much cooling n comfort 4 bb.
bravo for kkf bb! rem to praise bb ok
me wking in raffles plc, if got gathering will join if timing is rgt. cheers to christ holiday this thurs

I'm on for the gathering if schedule is ok. My office's a few stops away from Raffles place, so dinner will be more convenient for me.

Think BW is out for me. Very shy lah, bare myself to strangers :p

LeMonT/ princessdella:
Thanks! Will start keeping a lookout! Blur me, went Robinson bra section twice but never find it. Shld have asked!

webtobe06:
Hey, Dr Su is really a nice doc! Very impt to find a gynae we feel they listened to us, no matter what position they are holding! Thanks for the list! At least I know wat they have there now!

mummyo:
heeehehehe ... you are all ready to re-start partying again!

whitegalz:
Good suggestion. I was thinking of spaghetti top too. Dun wear bra at all will be the most comfy! hehehe ... :p

sheepish:
Any extra supplement for items already provided by Obimin are additional. Currently gynae prescribed Obimin and calcium tablets only. My gynae said these are sufficient. But recently I go and buy DHA tablets to eat becos I seldom eat fish so I'm afraid that bb wont have enough nutrients. heheheee ...:p

sandy:
Aiyo, GBS is so scary! Better to get a check before labour!

kkf:
How're you feeling today? Good to be home rite?

cool.. i shall not avoid papayas and pineapples.. i love to eat fruits.. but has been avoiding since a lot of myths goes round.. I guess the thing is.. don eat too much right.
Now taking prune juice and it cures my constipation! Very very HAPPY!! More space for my bb to move ard in my stomach!

RickoVeron
Yes, robinson is having 15/20% for BB pdts but not Pigeon. OG is having 20% till 21st but might extend to 25th dec or Jan. I've bought quite a few items from both Robinson & OG, depending where is cheaper. Eg. Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterilizer @ Robinson is selling at $95 & OG Albert $99. Pigeon Multi-Function Sterilizer @ Robinson $169.50 nett, no 15/20% but OG $169.50-20% = $135.60

certin items r cheaper at either place.

PeachMoMo
Well.. all MIL r e same... haha.. just ear in, ear out... 1 day we'll be MIL too, just dun b like them... lol

kkf
my SIL had to be induced cos gynae going on leave. poor girl underwent, both natural w/ epi & c-sec pain. my bro spent $8k but lucky all r well. Mummies undergoing inducement normally result in 80% c-sec...

sheepish
M&S nursing bra, $99/ 2pcs is stretchable. Triumph MAMABEL's have cotton & stretchable materials. Having tried all, i feel its comparable & as good. for me, i go for the cheaper ones.

princessdella
yes, thikq for the Triumph bra recommendation. anyway, we need to use breast pads so its ok w/o padding

Ameda is selling $388 nett @ Robinson now but for Robinson cardmember, they can purchase it @ $350 during e member sales on e 24-25 dec & it comes w freebies too. My cousin offered to get a set a for me during the sales.

Went Isetan b4 but nothing much on BB stuffs & necessities.

Sandy
thkq for ur info on e Vagina Swab Screening for GBS

ashleigh
hehe.. i just had 4 slices of papaya w. a sprinkle of lemon on it.. *slurps*

Hi Blueb & DK, thank u for sharing regarding the cot. Hope to get it settled soonest possible.

Hi Lonerunner,thank u for the welcome.

Gamze, finally I found someone with the same dr as me for Dr KT Tan..

Dear all, which brand of breastpump is more recommended? Any recommendation?

Oh, btw, any of u need help to get an ear thermometer, Braun? I may be able to help get it at $100.

morning to all... yest was my routine chk up.. week 33+.. bb weight at 2.047 kg.. gynae done with the test for GBS.. one week later only will know the result.. hope everything's OK..

jas, where did you go for BW? Can recommend? I am thinking to go for it (anyway if hospital help us shave, they will still charge us), the regrowth will be slower and will feel cleaner..

There are many kinds of BW right? some will wax all, some will wax and duno leave some "patterns" there.. when will you be going? perhaps I can join you?

My EDD is 4 Feb, when you think is a good time to go for it?

Yeah, my sister also says she dont wear nursing bra, so she got no bra to pass down to me.. I also dont like to wear bra one, plus nursing bra no wire? I hate no wire bra leh, cos no support.. I think I will just wear a sphagetti in my pyjamas and at my MIL hse when I do confinement..

Lonerunner, my house got this sphagetti top right, with 2 layers at the boobs area.. It is esprit brand, but I think now not in market.. think u can look for those.. can cover nipples better.. :p

Sandy, this sounds serious.. But for those who are going for c-section, no nid to take GBS right?

Next week I shall ask my gynae abt it

Whitegalz

If you haven't done a Brazilian Wax before, it can be really painful the first time round and more so since you are pregnant and the Waxer can't really push down and stretch your skin when peeling off the wax.

For pregnant mummies who want to do a BW, I suggest going for everything off as even if you leave a strip of hair, the hospital will have to shave this bit of hair so you might as well not go for the wax in the first place.

If all is fine with baby then 2 weeks before due date should be the ideal time.

However, for my previous 2 deliveries, I wasn't shaved at all. I think it depends on your gynae, it is no longer a requirement to get shaved prior to delivery. You can also request not to be shaved in your Birth Plan.

Hi lynne, About the Braun ear thermometer, if you check those bulk purchase threads, it can go as cheap as $80 each. So you might want to join those BP.

LemonT: I also treat it as one ear in and the other out. BUt must complain to my hubby so he knows. ha ha! He also asked me, hey my mom said its nice what. So i explained to him, then he realised ooh his mom scared he'll scold her! haha!

Erm.. I will think of 2nd one only if this birth is bearable. Ha ha! Right now, I'm trying to convince myself that the birthing is just ONE TIME PAIN. Ouch...

About Brazilian wax, i dont think i can handle the pain. did the normal bikini wax once, like 7yrs old? Scream like mad. Sigh, i think just shave it on my own la. Do hospital charge for shaving? I dont think so right? I dont remember being charged for that when I went to do the fibroid surgery.

For gathering, is weekday better for u all? i think weekend normally is family day right?

LeMonT,
seems that u did a lot of comparison leh.. anyway the Ameda pump offer for members seems quite a good deal.. what freebies does it come with?

Sorry to interrupt. I'm letting go of my Ameda dual pump at $330 purchased on 19 Dec 2008 as I have decided to go on total latching.
I have only used the motor twice and not the bottles. The bottles are packed in zip lock bag. There is 1 yr warranty from date of purchase.

Ps PM me if interested.

2008483.jpg
2008484.jpg

been sick the whole week, today just got the report i got vaginal infection, need to go to gynae's clinic to collect the medicine. I hope its not serious type of infection like the GBS.

whole week cant do much things... not done with my christmas preparation, hubby is sick too, so cant really paint the house until today.
mummy asked me not to paint cos of the myth.. but hubby insists leh cos we dont really believe in myths. i think too much, then kept thinking baby got birthmark =.=

oh shucks.. I mean did the bikini wax 7 year AGO. hahaha those who reading it must be thinking.. wa.. 7 yrs old got hair liao. hahahahahaha

lonerunner, u bet, staying at home is def much better than hospital!

But I am actually living with in laws now...not going back my own home, cause now, less walking, and needs more assistance.

Anyway, I have been drinking lots of papaya juice leh, cause i also has a bit of constipation, cannot eat papaya meh?

Today went gynae, baby is now 1.9kg at 30 weeks plus 4 days! yippee! going to reach 2kg soon!

for those who dunno why I am so happy, its because those premature babies if staying in NICU, will need to reach 2kg before they can be discharge. So now if baby already 2kg, the only thing is just to wait for him/her lungs to mature, able to feed etc, and will be able to go home.

whitegalz
i went to "Strip".
that was the 1st time i did BW, one week before my scheduled c-sec.
surprisingly it wasn't as painful as i'd expected.
this time round, i'd probably do it 3-4days before my c-sec.
BW is to take all off, for patterns i think it has other names.

i dun mind going together, but my scheduled c-sec is 18 feb leh.... so going 14/15 feb.
your EDD is 4 Feb, think our timing abit off. ;P

my gynae didn't do GBS for me for my #1, cos she said i'm going for c-sec, no need.
but i insisted to do it, so she did it for me lor.

Hi kkf,
congrats , ur BB has got very good weight! Happy for you, a few more weeks to D-day woo hoo.. Lets all Jia you together

sheepish: nearly missed your posting, yeah tanah merah is very near my place