(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

bb is super cranky n super sticky to me today. kept wanting me to carry her like koala bear. end up I cant get anything done cos even the moment I stepped into the washroom, she'll scream and cry on top of her lungs. duno why suddenly she becomes like that.

ginn:
hmmm ... I'm not too sure abt this aspect cos bb still on FM to date. Sandy, is nespray/fernleaf considered whole milk?

blueb:
How is Raph now? really poor thing ... the fever is really persistant! u take care too ...

SY:
hope tat sarah recovers soon! poor birthday girl ...

sandy:
oh u meant those fresh cow milk like marigold, Hi-Lo that we can buy in cartons/box? hmmm ....
btw wats the category for Nespray/ fernleaf brands of milk? still considered as FM?
I better check back the brand tat I saw in NTUC. maybe I misread it as whole milk. *kpo mode* :p

Hi Lonerunner,

at least you found yr ticket lol...but nvm better luck next time haha....

Erm on the fresh cow milk can give organic fresh milk also can... umm but then fresh milk is more ex in sg becos they are not available in big size oz so maybe next time i will continue toddler de haha...more worth it in money although fresh milk is supplement only la...

I have a fren whose son is abt 4yrs of age purely drink fresh milk only but i am nt sure if she did supplement with fm anot...

Blueb,

hope Raph get well soon..

Mibebe,

Must secretly vid haha....hubby must cooperate also haha...

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

恭禧發財 everyone!
Long time never catch up with you all. I have been so busy and finally settled down. Some updates on me. My new maid finally arrived before cny. I am so glad this time round, this one is good. finally one with common sense. I just have to tell her what to do and she does it for me...hope she remains to be good. My boy had high fever last Friday and mummy had sleepless nights as he woke up so many times at night and kept crying. Blueb, I gave 4ml of patacetamol lor, how come ur dosage so lor. My PD said patacetamol is only for fever below 38degree and below and he gave me another medicine (orange in colour, cant recall the name) for 38 degrees and above, with that his fever subside in 2 days time. But he still having running nose.

I read all your post about food. My boy still having porridge and cereal only. I gave him pasta and toasted wholemeal bread, he also don’t like it. Sandy, I also tried your steam egg but he doesn’t like it leh. He will spit out food that he don’t like. I bought the laughing cow cheese cubes but don’t know what food to add into. Never had a chance to add into the steam egg…any thoughts where else shall I add the cheese? But if we give him bits of our white bread, he will eat it. So what does that mean….he wants only our food?
Hey any mummies, any thoughts what beans or lentils we can feed our bb? I know its good for them but dunno what to buy and how to cook it.

hi AG gal,

its better if you try and see if he likes the cheese before adding to his food..sometimes to reward my girl, i give her the entire cube to eat by herself..if you are worried about choking, u can feed via spoon..since he likes bits of white bread, u can smear or spread the cheese on the bread..nowadays these tods are more keen in eating what we are having so i will give her some plain rice...she even tried bak ku teh soup and loved it keke..i think egg has the taste that the babies have to get used to..i think a few mommies tried and didnt have good response from the baby..maybe if he likes the cheese, u can add in..

Not sure if my son is teething he had 4 on top & 2 bottom, heard that first molar starting 12mth. Gosh past 2 nite he has been waking up crying.

This morning was bad from 2am to 6am he fussed, cried with eyes closed & want to be carried to sleep once u put him on bed he will cry. Then ard 7am he had fever sponge him and gave him medicine then he managed to sleep for 2hrs.

Haiz dont know wat will happen tonight.

Any babies already had Molar tooth?

hu bbyang,

molar tooth usually erupt when the baby is close to 2 yo. he has 4 on top and 2 bottom, the next should be the lower lateral incisors beside the lower front 2 that are already there..naomi has 4 on top and the 3 on the bottom, the latest addition was the 3rd lower lateral incisor..all the incisors and canines have to erupt before the pre molar and molar appear

thanks sandy. ask you, for the cheese cubes, how to melt it so as to spread on bread? or should I buy the kraft cheese slice? haha I know its a dumb qns.
my boy has 4 top and 4 bottom teeth now...can he chew on his own now if I give him the whole piece of bread? somehow I am scared that he will choke so I always feed him only a tiny bit. do you gals think wholemeal bread is more difficult to digest than white bread? cos one time I gave him wholemeal bread, he puked out after half an hour time.

hi sandy,

icic, i am supecting teething. First time he behaved this way.

Now IFC called say he got fever 37.5 I need to fetch him liao.

I am expecting more sleepless nite. Last wk he just had the viral fever also didnt cry as much.

bbyang,

his lower laterl incisors might be coming out..take care

AG gal, actually the cheese is soft enough to press and spread on the bread so no need to melt..i also give white bread because shes already taking veges and brown rice, worry i might be giving her too much fibre if i add wholemeal bread. i usually dont feed her bread but give her half a slice at a time and let her eat on her own..its good to let him eat on his own to encourage self feeding but watch him just in case he stuff everything in..can be messy with cheese though

haha thanks sandy...me so suah ku, I bought already but haven't even take it out to see. I thought the cubes are hard must melt. thanks thanks, will try over the weekend.

hello mummies happy prosperous new year n happy birthday to all babies..

wondering if any mummies check out preschool for their bbs alredi?? guess wat i have been several schools n im on long waiting list alreadi... some principals told me tat parents start as early as 1-2yrs.. my goodness i am nw so sad tat my gal cant go better school any mummies facing same prob as me..;(

juz home from PD. bb weighted 7.7kg and 71cm tall and head circumference at 47cm. small built.
Got jab for MMR n Prevenar. 1st jab on arm bb is still ok, but the moment bb was given 2nd jab on tight, she screamed so loudly until I tot the entire room nearly collapsed. Luckily she got her biscult in her hands to distract her. got a slight fever now but I think she's going to be fine cos she is now happily playing and 'singing' with her granddad.

tooth:
wow ... my bb dun have that many teeth yet. she only has both central incisor teeth at the bottom n both lateral incisor teeth at the top. looks like her central incisors at the top forget to erupt. hahaha!

bbyang:
ya, the next shld be lower lateral incisors. molar tooth not so soon.

gerly:
wow .. tats fast! u on the search already! u opt for the popular ones ah? I still researching into this area. dun think my bb will be ready at 18mths to attend preschool, but if I'm going to send her, it shld be to Artz kids at tiong bahru cc (if I can afford it cos I like their programme). I'll wait until she can sit down and listen to instructions first before I send her.

lonerunner, guess my gal's teeth development is the same as yours.. her top lateral incisor teeth pop out but the central one didnt.. is it okie?

DJ Mama is still nursing a blasted fever and stuffed nose and horrendous throat at home. Sigh. What a way to spend the holidays. Thank goodness its Friday tomorrow and I can bring Mer home for another nice weekend at home. Hopefully I am no longer like a sick bird by tomorrow.

Mibebe, you can get it at Guardian. Just check with the pharmacist if you are unsure. I bought a tube previously when Mer had diarrhea.

Lonerunne and Gerly, I enrolled Mer in her preschool when she was abt 9 months old. LOL. I bought a parenting magazine that had a feature on preschools so I called the one I had in mind to check if I was too early to register. Guess what, I was just in time for the afternoon session slot. The morning session was already waitlisted. So now would be a good time to get places for our bbs if you have not already done so. Mer wun be starting preschool until she is 3 yrs old... so you can imagine how far ahead we hv to enrol them if we want them to go to the school of our choice.

ag_gal:
my gal oso dislikes egg! i tried feeding her 3 times liao, still unsuccessful... she juz learned how to spit out food, so been doing tat... i din even manage to get her to eat at 5 spoonfuls then she started spitting liao... pek chek... esp now teething, she is spitting out a lot of food... haiz...

Thanks to all mummies for ur concern! Raph is better aldy. This morn got abit fever, now ok. But still got block nose... Last nite he woke up many times groaning... V poor thing. Gv him nasal spray but didn't hlp alot. Hope tonite better. Now, I m the one who is sick! He passed the virus to me... Somehow it was my fault cos it was me who passed the running nose to him in the first place... Anyway, jus hope he gets well soon.

AG gal/ SY.... How r ur 2 darlings? Better?

BByang. . How is ur boy? He ok aldy?

Guess the hot weather is makg many bb sick!

Re: cheese
AGgal... Ya, I also spread the cheese on either white or wholemeal bread n gv as snack or breakfast. Raph loves it. Sometimes will gv the cube alone but I feel the taste abit too strong.

DJmama... Hope u get well soon!

Re: preschool
wow, need to register so early ah! I also intendg to start raph on half day pgm when he is 3yr old. But got no idea where to send him to yet!

Re: multivitamins
Any mummies giving multivit to bb yet? Mus or not? Raph on breastmilk n solids only, no formula so dun hv all the added dha n stuff... Do I need to supplement with multivit?

teething
so does any bb here get fever when teething? cos my gal having fever now, am thinking it's teething... cos like bbyang's boy, she is waking up at nite crying wif eyes closed, fussier, stickier to me and rejecting solids...

whitegalz:
my pd isnt worried abt the sequence of tooth eruption. he still told me "is okie!"

djmama:
hey u take care. if still unwell, better leave mer and get some rest.
wow ... now u got me worried. even preschool also need to register so early in advance!!?? I was still thinking that maybe when chi mun is abt 3yrs old then I start looking around seriously at a preschool to enrol her!
btw what are the things to look out for when selecting a preschool? do you tour the school as well? where did you enrol mer in?

blueb:
maybe u wan see if u can 'quarantine' yourself and baby to separate rooms or something? otherwise the virus will be passed from u to Raph and back again like presents leh. very xin ku one ...
if u have essential oil burner, try burn a drop of eucalyptus oil. aid to clear block nose. helps to keep mosquitoes away too. hahaa!
my bb not on any multivit etc. even milk intake wise, he also said any amt of milk(BM/FM) intake is ok, no need added DHA etc. his theory is that bb will drink/eat wat they need. I tik I got a super laid back n relax PD so ok lor. I'll juz follow accordingly :p

sheepish:
my bb same reactions as ur girl when teething. I gave her gripewater. somehow this works for her.

hello mummies..fyi i also thought hmn maybe 6moths before gal turns 18 still early till i started checkout some gd schools then realised wait list damn long im in in the 100+ que number... so sad..even went to not so popular n non aircon also wait list.. thought i was kiasu but im late been sad two days coz think no chance to get into the school we wanted for her ...mummies can checkout kiasu parents.com under listing for kindere/childcare got plenty to choose then call or visit school..btw working mom got subsidy so fees cheaper..
intend to send bb w she turn 18mths..principals advice pick few schools n waitlist ...was told some waited as long as 2yrs..damn i not even pregnant!!!

gerly:
haahaa ... u also saw kiasuparents.com ah? fees cheaper by abt $200 only for working parents rite? just put down name first lor. there sure be dropouts one
btw which area of preschools r u looking at? how come so hot?

sheepish, naomi's appetite also dropped when she was teething 2 weeks back but she doesnt have other signs like fussing or waking up or fever..only drop in appetite and drooling alot

blueb,

im giving multivites since birth...its the SOP for the PDs here..as for DHA and other nutrients, you dont have to worry leh because our breastmilk have it all...our breastmilk contains DHA by nature and all other nutrients that FM has so no worries (remember FM is fortified to match BM's nutrients..the only thing that BM doesnt have that FM has is iron..so as long as Raph is eating meat, green vegs, cheese, egg yolk, he has enough iron. if he is still eating cereal, thats even better since it is fortified with iron...in fact i just read an article few days ago that we should continue to let them eat cereal until 18 mths of age...im so glad that naomi is eating her cereal again...heh heh...cos i added warm fresh milk to it haha..and another thing that you dont have to worry about milk is that now their main nutrients should come from solid food and not milk (cos milk is no longer able to sustain the amount of nutrients their fast growing body needs)..they should only take in 500 to max 700ml of milk a day and if the milk intake is interfering with their appetite for solids, we should reduce milk intake but give calcium rich food..so no worries ba..

haiyoh, so fast must enrol pre-school?? i am still enjoying toddling around with naomi and giving her a nice childhood keke..i guess its really competitive in sg

Hi Sandy,
i saw u all discussing abt introducing fresh milk after 12mths. Saw that u are already giving Naomi warm fresh milk? How to introduce? UHT full cream or fresh one? Did Naomi reject BM or FM after u introduced fresh milk?

Teething:
haiz, Caleb's waterfall has been non-stop since 1-2wks ago. Then just now realised he LS, the grouse thing is, he didnt fuss even though the poo-ed stuck on his butt... Until we sponge him to get him ready for bed, then we realisd he pooed. Dirty fellow. I saw his LS poo contained little sesame like bits.. The last wave of teething, i also saw similar thing. my fren told him tat's a sign of teething. isit true?

catmomo,

im giving Naomi UHT full cream and she didnt reject BM after that so shes taking BM with cow's milk on the side. i started giving her by sips to make sure she tolerates cow's milk since this is her first experience with cow's ..after 1 week of sips no problem so i proceeded with half a doidy cup and now 1 doidy cup (around 120ml).

i dont know much about teething and LS cos naomi doesnt have that when shes teething

Blueb, thanks for your concerns! I hope Raph gets well soon too!

Lonerunner, I didn't have much pre-requisites when I delved into this pre-school thingie. It just struck me when I read the article, so I thought I would call to check. Who knows the first session was already waitlisted. Then I kanjiongz lor. HAHAHAHA... But then, what I really liked abt the preschool is its environment. It's close to nature, so they will b exposed more to the outdoors which indirectly means lesser chances of sharing germs in air-con schools...and I have heard pretty good comments about the school as well. I have an ex-coll whose girl is enrolled in the school and her youngest girl, abt 1 months older than Mer is also enrolled liao... she is also very happy with its curriculum and style...I go by feeling la... when I saw it, I loved it, so I got to have it. LOL.

But I think for most mummies, important thing is the hygiene, the curriculum and location. Not forgetting the fees la. Sadly the preschool I enrolled Mer in does not have subsidy, cuz they r considered a kindergarten, not a childcare. So mummies, do take note of that hor!

Re: Eggs - I let Mer try eggs a couple of times so far. She doesn't love it, but she didn't reject it. She just didn't finish it. My theory is its probably too "gerlat" for her liaoz... she did finish more when I added cheese tho... so i hv been thinking of doing a mega omelette for her ... maybe this weekend, add cheese, mushroom bits, carrots bits maybe... see where my mood takes me bah....wahahaha...then I come and update you girls ok.

As i am typing this, HB says Mer never rejects any food...but she did, she rejected cilantro. LOL. Like mummy like daughter can...hahahaha...

Ok, after sweating my fever out... I actually sweat so much I wet my pillow, bolster, comforter and bed protector... and had to change my clothes three times over.... I threw my lunch up this afternoon, and started hvg the runs by evening... so, for all this suffering, I do hope I drop at least 3kg or it is so damn not worth it! Otherwise, I think I am fit enuff to go bk to work and try v hard not to infect anyone tml.

Have a blessed weekend mummies!

Sheepish, Mer also spit her food out leh. When she is bored with the food, or too much in her mouth or for whatever strange reason, she will spit out. Nowadays feeding her is no longer easy. I hv not managed to feed her 2 deep feeding bowls of porridge for a long time liao. Ever since she learnt hw to spit her food out, I only managed at best 1 and a hlaf bowl and that seriously does not happen much.

So I end up giving her alot of snacks in the day, which I personally think is a bad habit, but I always let my fear of her going hungry get the better of me. Dunno how am I going to feed her properly and with a balanced diet if this carries on man. Sigh.

DJ:
yah, i heard alot abt our tods will start to be picky and fussy abt food after 12mths... so far, thank God, Caleb is fairly good eater. He finish his porridge everytime, even though he takes the same thing 2x a day, 7 days a week. Hahhhaaa... He loves bread. And he snatches our food too. He LOVES yogurt and biting apple/ pear.

dj...actually its a vicious cycle...eating less leads to more snacks then the snacks will in turn decrease her appetite..maybe you give her healthy snacks like fruits, bread, yogurt rather than biscuits??

catmomo, if u are refrigerating the milk then better to warm it up before serving cause cold milk is harder to digest and absorb

djmama:
hahaha .. I simply loved the way u put it "when I saw it, I loved it, so I got to have it" :p
agree with sandy, better give fruits etc instead of snacks. healthier too leh ...

juz now while browing thru kiasuparents.com, hb suddenly popped over and reminded me that bb is JUST turning 1YEAR OLD, not 5YEARS OLD. No need to look for preschool or kindergarden now, especially one that costs $800+ per mth. (I just realised that the school that my neighbours are sending their kids to cost $1.4k per mth. wow! how come so ex?? )

Oh well, no harm starting to read up early mah :p Its easy reading material while expressing milk wat! :p no harm kpo a little :p kekekeke ...!

Sandy, Lone, yup, I end up gvg Mer bread most of the time. bread with cheese, next to apples, this is her fav liao... even the biscuits are fast losing novelty. All those Wakado biscuits hor... she has lost interest in them. Then she lost interest in the latest Heinz biscotti abt halfway thru the pack. The Heinz Cheese Sticks... those din make it past the 3rd stick before she gives them the evil eye. Sigh.

Lone, I am paying $900 for a term lor... whahaha.... depends on individual la... I believe it will be good to give them a firm foundation, so I dun mind paying thru my nose for it. As long as I dun over do it. But Mer also wun start until 3 yrs old, cuz I also believe they have to play when they have to play, so when it comes to learning, they will give their best too.

djmama:
wow ... $900 a term! *start pressing on calculator to do the sums*

nvm ... I hope I can strike 4D or Toto ... then my CFO will sure give me the approval to enrol in my choice of school for bb! Otherwise I just have to home school bb lor. wahahahahaa!

*sings hokkien song* 'If I have 1 million ....!'

wah i finally can log in agn!was alone with baby nearly the full 2 days..

nw my gal's sleep reduce liao, nap frm 4hrs drop to 3.5hrs... n worst is at nite she take long to sleep she can nearly ko liao, but wil try get up frm arms or flip on bedaft put her dwn .. usual slep time 10.30, nw she flip here, get up dwn..end up alwys 11-11.15 pm then sleep!n get up same time evryday lik last time

any baby here also sleep time shorten?

just finished my resume n sent out. my turn to KO already. so tired! sm more still gotta check on bb tonite. tmw panda for sure!

iceblue:
Happy birthday to nicole!!

*high 5* dun worry, bb's sleep cycle will go haywire but will tune back after this phase is over. just have to hang on a little longer!

hee me haven sleep too..abt to..otherwise tmr shiong.unless baby sudly decide to wake up late..which is impossible keke

thks lonerunner

sheephish, your gal can still take 5 spoonfuls. My boy just try 1 spoonful and if he dont like it, he will spit out. Sometimes I am so lazy to waste time preparing for him. his fave is avocado with banana and milk. I give him this for breakfast every weekend and he will guai guai finish it without a fuss.
my boy still having running nose after finishing his medicine. got to go buy another bottle for him today.

I also asked my pd if he has any vitamins to recommend for my boy and he said he dont encourage vits and he dont carry any. but I wanna give him some leh, then got to go another pd.

talking about school, are you gals going to send your bb to school every morning and pick them up after work? I am worried about the transportation for him. I briefly check around my area cos I thought it will be easier and there will be someone to pick him up.

morning mummies! bb's ok this morning after her jab. fever gone off too. heng ah! I'm so happy!

school:
if the school hours dun allow me or anyone to pick her up or drop her off, I'll have to opt for transportation if there is any. this way it will be easier for mil too. But if I enroll bb at the PCF centre which is just a block away from mil's hse, am thinking that maybe bb can walk home herself. not too sure on this yet. have to see our availability and bb's independance status when the time comes. school bus quite ex these days leh. my eldest sil spent like $300+ on school bus fees alone for my niece's transport after her K1 class.

wow lonerunner you super..you dare to let your gal walk back home on her own? It never came across my mind at all and I personally think better dont risk it. even if they are 3 yrold, I dont think they know how to walk back home. I know for neighbourhood area, the sch bus cost about $100 already.

AG:
oh cannot ah? Orr .. cos last time my parents did that so I tot I can too. hmmm ... tik u got a point leh. wait she gets kidnapped then jialak already. hahahaa! maybe when she's older like K2 then I'll let bb walk home if she's ready :p kekekee!
tik all our expenses will start accumulating once our bb reach school going age. haiz ...

My gal also dont really like egg but i'll hard boil egg and then add a little in the spoonful of porridge and feed her, it hides the tastes a little. Think eggs good for them so i'll try to give.

wah didnt know so fast must register pre school.. Actually pre school is 3yo and then nursery is 4yo is it ah?
I'll also prefer walking distance to school, more convenient.

teething
thanks to all mummies who responded! do u noe how long e symptoms will take to clear?

school
wah, think i better go check it out soon! i'm not even thinking abt if e school is gd or not, more concerned abt convenience... but if e school is popular, then it means i'll be inconvenienced if she can't get in!