(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

Hi my dear friends, I havent had time to come in for few days and wow there are so many posts to catch up on. I just speed read through la.

I hurt my left wrist on Sat. I think I have been carrying too heavy things and its already weak. Then on Sat night I left my hand out when sleeping, my hubby after feeding Justin came to the bed groggy and didnt see my hand, he sat on it. So it got worse like i pulled a vein. So it starts to hurt. I cant bear with the pain so i went to do those chinese rubbing. Soooooo painful! Cant wrap it up and cant take any chinese medicine cos im breastfeeding. Now i cant even carry my son. So cham..
So last night, my hubby poor thing, he had to wake up several times to feed and change Justin. This morning he looked like zombie. I feel so guilty.

Express Breast Milk:
I'm doing that now.. expressing my milk and feed Justin with it. During the day, when i'm not so tired I will latch him on to drink. The only thing is.. i dont think he drinks enough when direct latch on. So in the end still gotta feed him extra.

Sleeping:
Justin loves it when we put him on our shoulder to sleep. He can sleep fast if we do that.

Pre-pregnant Clothes:
I can wear my jeans already! At least 1 pair only la. I went home during the weekend (cos im staying at my m om's place now) then i went to try on my jeans. Haha.. at least can fit into one pair.
last week i went to tangs sale and bot 2 tops from FCUK.. good thing i can still fit size 12. But sad to hear that they are not bringing in size 14 already. Wa lao.. I'm a 14 la!!!

KKF: I saw your pic of yr baby swimming with the float. Where did you get that? I intend to buy one n bring Justin swimming! But not at the babyspa at Plaza Sing/Harbourfront. Just go to normal pool. I know there's a shop at paragon that has it. So intend to buy there. Is it about less than $20?

I bot playmat for Justin too. but I cant let him play at my mom's house cos there's a dog running around and the floor aint exactly that clean lor.
So can only let him play during weekeends when we go home. Pity right??

wah my baby kp tu nai these 2 days.. aunty say she vry hard to burp.then pnce she angry struggle her milk wil cm out..hw to solve this prob?

Win
I only use the Yaolan when he expects to be carried all the time and nothing seems to soothe him and he's very cranky. Other times he can sleep on the bed.

I usually just wean cold turkey. When they are about 3 to 4 months old, their head is quite strong and prefer to sleep on the bed on their tummy and also at 4 months when you start introducing solids, they are more restful at night.

iceblue,
2 pax, dinner, no rice, metal tingkat (but in actual fact, they have run out of tingkats, and give me disposable anyway), $170 before GST. 4 dishes or 3 dishes 1 soup. I'm in PUnggol, they deliver aroudn 5.30 - 6 pm.

I apply Desitin as soon as the buttock looks redder than normal. It heals within the same day.

Yaer,
They don't do lunch I think. I'm cooking simple lunches for me and the kids.

PEachMoMo,
Oh no. Your hand sounds bad. Must rest. After delivery, our tendons and ligaments are still a little loose. Easily injured.

Wow you gals can get into your pre-preg clothes already! I think I'm permanently on maternity clothes liao. My tummy has never gone back flat, even since my #1 child. So sad! Now I still look llke 4 months preggy, though it's soft. Can't go back in leh. I bind it nearly every day with slimming oil. Dunno if it will have an effect or not. Have to get a new wardrobe. All the ah-soh type of clothes.

i see. i jus called them, haha but forgt ask the timing.so u stil nd to cook rice. i thinkg of reheat also mafan sia

is desitin ex? dun understand y arnd buttock area stil red..surrounding ok..

wen brg baby go jab t hospic, its done by PD rite? next wk bringin baby over. shall ask PD

Desitin creamy (blue packaging) is good. Its abit thick but I think its quite useful for red buttocks. Otherwise I used the california baby's aloe vera nappy cream. Expensive but its smooth.

Ya lor.. my hand hurts like mad. Sigh.. yday i went home to wash my hair cos i left my hair dryer at my own house. My mom house dont have la. So i tot my plan is fool proof.. go home wash hair then go for the rub. Basket... when i went to the shop, its closed for lunch. I was late by 2 mins! I stood there and just started crying. cos my hand was so painful and my plan didnt work. sigh.. called my husband and cry to him. He laugh at me and say I'm like Justin. KOwz.. im trying to rest my hand.. but really feel like carrying Justin. My poor hubby becos of this.. didnt sleep whole night. So ke lian.. today still gotta work.

iceblue: I dunno how much is desitin selling in Spore. My aunt bot it from US fir me. I must ask her to buy more. THe california calendula cream is really good. Justin has milk spots all over his face, so i faithfully apply it and it got better. We also put hazeline snow. haha his whole face turn white. hahahaa

mummyo, DK , lonerunner and other mommies

yesterday my bb was cluster feeding the whole day....my god ..night was ok but the day was sooooooooooooooooooo bad ....he was like crying whenever i put him down..carried him the whole day and fed him the whole day....i could not even get up ...or eat or drink..it was that bad...but somehow night he was ok..but woke up every hour for a feed ! ....my whole body is aching

sandy
am yet to read any postings....... how u doing

lonrunner
hows your stitches ???

DK
did ur baby sleep overnight ?

koli
do not worry. Managing two is tough.... Am sure u are doing a good job...my boy also like that yesterday...and am finding it tough with only one kid !

peachmomo
oh my ...u should take care of your hand la....my wrist is also paining due to the havoc he created yesterday by feeding the whole day..dod u show your hand to a doc?

someone asked about when expressing milk and getting sore nipples and sore aerola??
I did initially cos i was using the maximum speed and power to pump. Actually i notice dont have to do that. Just use mid strength can alreayd... in fact mid strength yeild more milk.
And i use the mustela nipple cream. I think Medela's purelan cream is not good. Too sticky!

Ramy,
Sounds like your baby is having a growth spurt. Persevere. May last a few days.

iceblue,
Yes, still need to cook rice. My rice cooker is on a timer
. So as long as I put in the rice to cook before the on time, I don't have to worry if I'm busy just at the time I must cook rice. Tingkat can go on the stove or in regular oven. Disposables go in the microwave. Not so difficult lah.

Privileged
I'm also like you. Increased one size with every baby and I wasn't small to start with! Then again, fitting into my pre-pregnancy clothes and shopping is the LAST thing on my mind now. Still trying to juggle with 3 and slowly trying to build a routine.

Ramy
My heart goes out to you. Hang in there. Probably he needs more milk but the latching and draining should tell your body to produce more

kkf

bring ur bb to a pd.. my boy 4 weeks old today... yesterday went to a pd... he got cough and flu... no idea where he got it from.. nobody is ill at home... the earlier the diagnosis the better it is for u and bb... though my boy can't take any cough mixture cos too young.. at least he got nose drops and colic drops..

yes peachmomo, me stil on confinemnet.11days to go!

btw privi, u mean i can jus put the tingkat on nomal stove to heat?sry hor ask stupid ques..cos i really dunno

LemonT,
me sign option mid jan, went for my first appt 3rd march, the allowing 30 days max for the seller to stay here after 2nd appt plus with reno time..i estimate also abt mid june..so 3 more months with inlaws..

spicegal,
cause i asked her how many boxes she need and she factor in her colleagues..i think me and hubby got the whole full month cakes thing mixed up..haha..cause we didnt order for our friends and colleagues..just order for parents' side..ahahha..like wedding cakes like that..sometimes feel like the full month celebration is for the grandparents to show off the grandkid instead of us parents celebrating her arrival..

BaBy Full Mth
--------------

My baby boy just celebrated his full mth last Saturday. Everything went smooth and the caterer i used for the first time turned out not bad
Thank goodness, service was good too

I catered Thai food from Orchid Thai Catering, ordered cupcakes and curry puffs, MIL cooked glutinous rice and pig trotters soup ...

I DIY-ed some goodie bags with red egg, ang ku kueh and added some sweets and chocolates and gave out to the guests, a little tiring but had fun doing it.

The celebration was joyous and fun !

Now back to looking after baby and going to let baby try swimming...

Any feedbacks from other mommies who brought bb swimming ?

grace and lemonT:

Haha I am still older than you 2! Today my boy is 4 weeks old. So we took him to my office on mrt to meet my colleagues. Can't believe 1 month already. Time flies but the nights are sure long when bb is fussy!

Yes, it'd be fun to get together and encourage each other.

When do you move to cck?

my baby is sleeping in the living room today. I put his playmat on the sofa and he sleeps on it.. i hope tonight he wont prefer to sleep in living room instead of his cot!

koli

BB on totally FM does nt make you a worst mummy.cheer up

LemonT

No prom. Me stay at Yew Tee, can meet up with you for baby fair in future.... Taka bb fair is coming 12 Mar to 29 Mar 09?

mummyo:
My girl was born on 24th Feb (Tue). The same day as your boy. I had a long labour that stretches to the next day, tats why my girl is born on 24th Feb

LiLi:
Got engage CL. She's my MIL's friend.

sartayeo:
no good leh. this morning at 5am I started leaking BM after feeling pain entire nite. Entire t-shirt wet. Think the pain is called engorgement. Now I know. Started expressing my milk out.
hahahaa ... I also abit paisei when my girl started latching on to whomever is holding her :p My SIL's shirt was totally wet last evening as a result :p

Yaer:
Welcome aboard!

spicegal:
Lucky u! Finally end of confinement!

Koli:
Agree with iChing. U shldnt feel that way too. Not all mums are able to BF their bb becos their body naturally cant produce BM. So dun feel guilty.

iChing:
I like that quote!
Me 1st time mum at age of 30. Okie lah. Age doesnt really matters. Got some mummies already in their late 30s.

princessdella:
Thanks for your advice. Nipples not too sore now. Think it is better to latch bb on when they are not too hungary. I also started using Avent btls since yesterday noon. Their teats are much smaller in size so my bb doesnt get much confusion. Going to buy NUK teats later.

kkf:
try burping bb. or apply Ru Yi Oil. my bb also behaved like tat last nite too from 1am to 3am. End up my CL din get much sleep. Lucky me. My CL "knocked" me out by making me drink DOM before I sleep. So I slept peacefully thruout the cries! HAAHAHAHAAA!

PeachMoMo:
oh dear! Hope tat u will start feeling better soon! That hurts!

iceblue:
U can try vasaline oil for rashes. Quite cheap at $2+ per small btl.

Ramy:
U poor thing. Hang on!
My stitches quite itchy today. Think it's healing?

qingsiew: So how much did you pay for it? Ya i think it will use a lot of water. Not sure if i wanna buy the tub. Thinking of getting the neck float then bring him to my grandma's condo to swim. THink buying the tub is abit wasted leh. COs he will grow out of it quite fast.

qingsiew: what size of the neck float did you buy for yr BB? I wanted to get the apple float but was advised by the lady that if younger baby should get bigger float. but also at hte same time she's afraid if my baby is not that chubby water will go into the mouth cos the float too big.

the tub is $95 , bb less than 6 mth dun bring them to swimming pool is nt gd for bb as water got chlorine

the neck float size is adjustable & there is place to put the chin to support it

thanks everyone for the advice

I will work out a way to put my baby to slp instead of rocking him. I try today to hug him to slp together with me and it seems to work. Maybe he is like his daddy need to smell his close one before able to slp. Hope this work if not I would have another slpless night rocking him.

Another thing are we allow to let our baby wear socks to slp? My in laws dont let me do that but my baby feet was so cold how??

QIngsiew: THanks! I'm getting the apple float. Hee.. quite excited about it. I read somewhere that the chlorine is ok leh.. and my friend also brought her son to the condo pool when he's 2 months old.

Amelia: You must let your bb wear socks to sleep. Actually even as adults we should wear socks to sleep cos our feet are the first place that cold air gets into our body. If you read those Traditional Chinese medicine books or even on tv, they say the smae thing too.
In fact, my mom also rubs some ru yi oil on Justin's feet before wearing his socks/booties. She says its good for his overall wellbeing.

Peachmomo, mummyo
ya as u say it may be a growth spurt...U know the best part is as long as he is with me he is doing like this ..if i give him to someone else ..he slowly falls asleep after 1 hr ..i think then i should have smoeone at my side ...to take him away from me ...but then its too tiring ..he did the same this morning ...now only has he fallen asleep...and am posting !

lonerunner
u know...that my stitches have not been removed at all..as yet..she has offered to remove it only on march 16th !....... yes the nurse at the hospital told me that if the area itches then its healing ..take care

just tell abit abt my birth story. me just give birth to a baby gal on 12 feb due to gastric pain.... mistaken it as contraction...

anyway the doctor said since already admitted so might as well giv birth thru c section...

so even though give birth oredi but still dun know how does contraction feel like... haiz...

lemonT

how do manage to have so much BM with just total expressing? me oso wish to just EBM cos i tink latch on is too tiring n painful for me..

I'm also another mother who's boy is on total FM... i'm way over the guilt that lots of pple try to make me feel... most impt my baby is healthy.

He's 6 weeks tdy, and feeds on 750ml for 24 hrs. Last weight check on Sat he's 3.7 kg, cos his birth weight was only 2.46kg.

my baby gal got very bad nappy rashes from last wed. her vaginal area skin all peel off, and she is so painful that she cries and scream out so loudly everytime she pee/poo. she also cant sleep well, as she need to pee every 15-20min. so she will wake up and scream. felt so heartpain to see her like that, i just cry with her when she cries out in pain.
i m using the desitin cream to apply on her, however not getting better, so bring her to see doc at children A&E in KKH. After applying the medicine, even worse. more rashes came out. so i switch back to desitin, and use cloth diaper, and let her air her lower area in the day. now she is slightly better, just left with the rashes, her peel off skin is recovering as well.

just to highlight the impt of baby car seat. yday, we bring her to see PD at bukit merah, then while i alight from the car, another car hit us. lucky baby is in baby car seat, if not, i m sure she will hit the car seat in front as my mum will be carrying her. this accident make us realise the importance of baby car seat. lucky no inury for us. just dent on the car boot. fed up with the lady auntie driver, she "kiss" our car back, and still not apologetic at all even knowing there is infant in the car. she still insists that the dent was not make by her car. there was a crack on her carplate, and we took the pic as proof, she still scold us for doing that, and sayher car plate crack long time ago. really fed up with this kind of irresponsible driver. terrible...

I'Ching,
i m staying at my mum's place in cck till end of my ML. can include me if u all want to meet at the area.

Hello mummies..

Feeling a bit down.. since after delivery.. everyone has moved on with life.. and I'm stuck at home with a crying bb.. how I wish I'm single....=(

Babyox,
Wow, so bad the rash? What happened? Don't let your bb sit in a dirty diaper, and don't use wipes to clean lah. Use cotton balls dipped in warm water.
Yes, a car seat is so impt. Thank God you were all OK. A lot of drivers are so irresponsible and inconsiderate. Don't let me start on that topic.

athlete,
Your bb was born in Jan? Congrats and welcome!

Yaer,
Why did your gynae want to do a C sect? Was the bb due already? Were you a scheduled C-sect anyway?

Oy, don't eat just instant noodles lah. There are lots of very simple balanced and nutritious meals you can prepare mah.

Sandwiches - egg, tuna etc etc , with a side of cucumbers or lettuce make very good lunches for a busy mum. Even hotdogs with some lettuce, onions and tomatoes will do. Buy the good sausages.

Porridge - throw everything in and cook.

Baked potatoes with sour cream, chives, butter topping. Yummy

Single dish meals - chicken stew with all the veges etc thrown in.

Macaroni soup. Baked chicken, steamed veges etc. you can buy the prepared chicken meat (frozen type) and throw into the oven to bake.

My kids love to eat prata (frozen one) with dahl-char. Very easy to make.

The Simz,
We're still here! Your baby will soon become really cute. By 12 months, you'll be wanting another one. Believe me!!! That's what happened to us. Heheheh
. We couldn't resist having #3. #2 so cute.

Still a long way to go...........

Priviledged
u cook all these simple meal + taking care of the kids? Was wondering if i can manage the bb alone after confinement..

Any mummies going to handle the bb alone? Or any other arrangement?

Hi Iceblue,

As sheepish say 10-11dollar is wat the online are selling,me gt at it at 11dollars fm my pd at TMC.

Hey Peachmomo,

If US cheap hor u can organise bulk purchase wor haha

finally confinement is over and togather with hubby we go shopping in JB... get lots of stuff \s for bb.. and its so much cheaper.. and the best thing i got is an automatic yaolan.. my bb alway wan to be carry.. almost like 24 hours.. so during confinement me, my maid and my mum take take carry him.. now with yaolan, he can peacefully sleep for hours.. and only wake up when hungry.. so i'm free.. and less stress..

car seat
i alway agrue with my hubby on buying a car seat.. but he dun think we need one.. ask our bb only wan to be carried.. and will sure cry if put in car seat.. just like our stroller he dun like at all.. how?

Hi Lonerunner,

Yes yes that feelin is definitely engorgement..suddenly u have two stone instead of two breast hahah..so now yr milk supply kicks in le u can express yr milk out every 2hrs le then can store hehe...

Hi Iceblue,
One more thing,guardian pharmacy also do sell Desitin however i have not gone to check it out on the price they are selling..