(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

hi sus & novakido, and all..
tx for the input..

tried those methods.. ending up sucking air i guess. coz he gets colic thereafter afew hours

tink i got a difficult to handle bb :S

novakido: ya lor. though dun own it but simply love its lightweight n sophisticated look.

sus: bee is bugaboo bee n theres another more ex called chameleon but with bigger wheels. both r v light. shld suit ur small frame. : )

Gwen....have not taken a fancy to cameleon....bee is always on my mind..im oso still using infant car seat...see when BB Z will outgrown it...

ophe...thanks for ur offer and yes im pretty certain dat I will not be able to resist the temptation as well...haha noe abt orbit...avail in mothercare and cost a whopping $1,600 if i recall well....nearly faint at the price tag but realli look so chic stylish...=P

bbstarlet...who is the main caregiver now? im oso very concerned abt bb Z's poo schedule as he's on FM thus shd poo not longer than 3 days...if ur bb is on TBF, then not pooping for even 2 weeks or beyond is rather usual....

bb Z is 'dieting'...trying hard to build up his milk intake again which dipped badly due to probable teething....hope teething is d cause which od suspect and not any other....worried sick for the past few weeks le...

shann...u need to be a member for 1 year b4 allowing to post in WTS & overseas spree....watch out for posting items for sales in WTB folder as ur acct might get suspended...

sus: i think u are a great mummy...despite so much problems on bf, u are still hanging on...admire u lo!

wa...those strollers u all mentioned so ex! cant afford!

sus: their are some UA planes that dun have bassinets... some do have, the ones that i took do not have... and no leh they dun provide food for babies and their service ok ok only... sia so much better... bee= bugaboo bee the stroller

thanks miyuki for the link! going to check it out!!!

Posted on Friday, May 29, 2009 - 7:32 pm:

junemom....ur pd seem to be charging sky high for the 6in1.....i went to a GP clinic who charged $285 for 3 doses of 6in1...my pd actualli charge abt $150 per jab...

mayb can clarify on the charges? worst case scenario bite bullet and end wif the last dose...
prevenar 1 vial $170
infanrix/HIB/PIV $100
total $454.75 incl. GST

any clue?

pluf (My baby can read series)
I got mine quite long ago in one of those baby stores in Bishan junction 8. Used them for my 2 elder girls, maybe starting it for my 4mth old soon, if i can find them.

It is quite good, it does a jump start for the babies to read.. but, of course you don't see the results immediately.

piyo: ya.. mi too.. using infant car seat. think bb can sit till 6 mth before changing into normal stroller. but i bought mine in a set so dun need get another stroller, just change the seat.

mercsboy: ya lor cant afford those high end stroller, can only see when entering bb stores. sigh..

Babystarlet: no worries, my bb record is 8 days nvr poo though hes 90% on BM. haha..

junemom...u mention previously dat ur 5in1 cost more than $400 but appear dat u have got d cost wrong...if im not wrong, 5in1 only cost $100 (infanrix)...rotarix is almost same cost everywhere while prevenar could be pnuemcoccal....given the breakdown shd be alrite...

gwen...same here...mine oso have the normal seat in replacement of infant seat, in actual fact shd b the other way round, infant seat is additional...but just wondering hw long can the normal seat last him...anyhow im just finding excuse to get another stroller which perhaps can last him longer....hee

oh.. my 2nd visit is also charged $454.. so far already spend $900++
i tot it supposed to be 1 shot.. how many more visits /booster to go?

Hi hi long time no 'talk'...

NI, I also intend to bf for 1yr if poss cos I managed to do that for my prev 2 kids. But trying very hard cos my milk ss not as gd this time round.

Here's a pic of my boy, Stephen.

2512971.jpg

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $130

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)huggies ultra super jumbo pack M size (have 2 packs) selling at $17each , or exchange with its L size.

4) Avent pacifier 3-6mths, pink & yellow, with teddy bear design selling at $8

pls pm if interested-
self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands, sengkang(to arrange))

Hi junemom, like what piyo said 5in1 is infanrix cost $100...rotarix is for rotavirus, the pricing is about $90 to $100... prevenar is for pneumococcal, pricing is about $150 to $180...is quite reasonable for the charges...

Can you give the breakdown for 2nd visited?

For 2nd visited is not the booster of 5in1, booster will be in 18 mths...

from what my PD/GP told me, rotarix have 2 doses which is during 3 mth and 5 mth...prevenar have 4 doses which is 1.5 mth, 6 mth, 1 yr and > or = 2 yr...you are taking 5in1 which is 3 mth, 4 mth and 5 mth...

How many mths is your bb? When have you went for the 1st and 2nd visited?

ni/giggler: just asking, coz i dunno should stop at 6 mths or not...maybe i should continue longer...
i am just wondering if feed BM for a year, after 1 yr want to switch to FM, will they reject?

anybody heard that feed certain kind of medicine (some medicine with probiotics), have to feed with yogurt/apple sauce/ice cream? coz my SIL PD gave her a medicine which must go with yogurt/apple sauce/ice cream...
funny hor...her son not even 4 mths old leh

mercsboy i thk by 1yr they dun really need to drink formular milk ya? my fren's baby can drink fresh milk le wor... someone correct me if i m wrong? i'm also finding out, going to feed my boy till at least 1 year old as well!

pinkpiggy, have sent you an email! Hope it helps!

Hi Willting,
my bb is 4.5mths old
Both visit to doctor costs the same each visit.

consultation - $60
rotarix 1 vial $95
prevenar 1 vial $170
infanrix/HIB/PIV $100
total $454.75 incl. GST

1st visit was april 12, then may 14a nd the next he told me in july when bb is 6months old.

he didn;t explain to me thoroughly except less jabs, and less visits & ask if i want the newer medicine. Sounds good to me, coz less stressful for baby?? what's the norm?

hi mummies, i am selling off some item

WTS:the first years by learning curve storage milk bags(25pcs)-retail selling at $19.90 letting go at $15.

WTS:capella pram PINKcushion-still in very gd condition(used few times)-retail selling at $350 letting go at $290.

WTG:nipple shield/nipple puller

location pasir ris dr10/cck [email protected]

mercs Both are not from Gleneagles… Dr paul tseng is from TMC, http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=36738&post=1851065

Dr Lai (http://www.acompanyforwomen.com.sg/lai.htm) has his own private practice and is not attached to any hospital. He delivers at almost all hospitals: TMC, Mt A, Mt E, Gleneagles and KK.

My mom’s ex gyne, Dr Tanny Chan, is from Gleneagles, formerly from KKH many many yrs ago before going private, but she’s very ex, I remembered calling and was told she doesn’t have package so didn’t pursue further... why are you looking specifically for drs from Gleneagles? I heard Gleneagles has a notoriously high rate of c-secs…

What’s the issue w your fren’s pregnancy?

If no issues w bfg, then just continue lor… it’s recommended to continue till 2yo actually. For the 1st yr, it’s actually milk that is still the main food and complement by semi-solids… not the other way round that most pple think..

flo ur PD sounds v gd and detailed… but too far from my place else I’ll def go try…

I’m generally quite ok w my current PD, cuz near to my home and not v crowded. Was impressed by his service when Johann was sick when he was 8 days old, PD called me nearly every evening for 1 wk to ensure that J doesn’t have fever. But something I find strange is that he seems to attribute all the problems that I’ve seen him for as sensitivity: stuffy nose = nose allergy to all the pollutants in the air (compared to sterile womb environment), skin redness = fungal infection (groin area and behind left ear), sensitive skin…. Dunno if I’m being overly worried.

My boy has a cyst – but in his right armpit! PD just monitoring it to ensure no signs of inflammation / infection but can’t give a reason why he has a cyst… my mom thinks it’s cuz I eat too much chilli during pregnancy and now still eating too much chilli for her liking!! Did ur PD give any insights?? How does a cyst on the gums look like?

Samantha I’m on tbf but my common sense tells me that it would be better to intro cereal with Stage 1 FM first. Wait 4 – 7 days if no allergy reaction then u can proceed to intro Stage 2 FM. It wouldn’t hurt bb to wait a couple of days before moving onto stage 2. The 4 – 7 day wait rule applies for any new food that you will be introducing to bb.

pinkpiggy check out this webby for travelling w kids www.jetwithkids.com – I’ve not fully explored it yet tho. M also travelling in June, keeping fingers crossed that all will be fine… a bit nervous

piyo I tot buzz can use till 5yo with the XL seat included?? Tho I doubt a 5yo will still want to sit in it and I dun think I’ll be willing to push!!

gwen wah u still can go do sports ah… I dun have time / energy leh..

sus u can try doing breast compression during pumping. U must have strong hands!! I hand express 50ml very tired liao!

We’ll be renting a car seat tog w our car rental in germany – can’t be bothered to bring car seat along, at airport and on the way will have him in the carrier so he can still sleep… most airlines have bassinets but u must make advance request when booking. I was told that the youngest babies get priority. Baby food might be provided but supply is limited, better to bring ur own to standby and u also won’t be restricted to whatever brand that they carry and which you may not like.

mercs have not heard of any bb rejecting FM or cow's milk after 1 yr old... by then they can drink direct from sippy cup, someone i know bf her son till 6.5yrs old... according to her son who's now 8yo:
- mommy's milk is best (1st choice)
- 2nd choice: cow's milk i.e. fresh milk
- Really bo pian then drink subsitute milk like rice milk, oat milk...

I'm from Oct 08 thread and some of us are organising a group sign up with Sean Lau Photography. Please PM me asap if u are keen to join in our group sign up. 6 mummies to go to enjoy discounted rate of $188 for Classic package. To see his work, www.seanlau.com

Baby woke up early today so we all got out of bed and went for dim sum breakfast at Red Star - yums!

Hope everyone has a great Sunday!

Pinkie Pirate: I have not ben to red star for so long... hahha.. the dim sum there is superb! but how u eat dim sum with bb ard?

Shann: You've got mail!

Pinkie: Nice way to start a sunday! We like eating out with Jon too... provided he doesn't scream his head off in public. He can be really loud sometimes. :p

Mercsboy: Or can try my gynae also from gleneagles - Prof Christopher Chen. Fees are average but because his approach is close monitoring when the need arises, the cost can go up.

Pinkie: red star? been a long time since i went there. food used to be quiet good but gradually standard went down. last time they dun accept reservation and gotta queue quite long for seats. now i normally go "yan ge" at china town, east ocean at lido or recently just went "ah yi bao yu" where din sum got 40% disc on sun and sat is 50%. worth trying though but dunno when the promotion ends.

Pinkie, yup, nice way to start a sunday morning
I remembered craving for dim sum during my 38th week of pregnancy. Went red star and Queued for a super long time! haha..time flies

gwen:thanx.think now i really not mood to go and hire part time maid anymore.

EMQ:thanx for the info.I realy hope thing work to me..

deluxe: thanks for the info...no la, coz i remember gen e got a gynae which is good with complicated case? i hv a friend's wife who has etopic pregnancy, and gynae ask her to dnc and remove one of her fallopian tube...she is only 25 yrs old man. poor thing..
already pass her the few gynae contacts hope can help

i dont find red star food nice leh...i prefer crystal jade food. i have a friend who distribute seafood to crystal jade, he mentioned that the group always take good & fresh seafood...not like ho kee bao, take those remaining, ppl dont want ones

deluxe: u mean after bb is one yr old, they can drink those fresh milk like meiji kind?
btw, did u heard of feed certain kind of medicine (some medicine with probiotics), have to feed with yogurt/apple sauce/ice cream? coz my SIL PD gave her a medicine which must go with yogurt/apple sauce/ice cream...
funny hor...her son not even 4 mths old leh

pinkie: i like red star tooo. red star dim sum brings back memories for me.... haha. i had red star dim sum for brunch, and that very evening, my water bag broke, and kyan is out.. hahaha

deluxe...im totally clueless on which version of buzz is mine...the seat dun look comfy for bbs more than 1+ YO....certainly cant be used till 5YO...

mercs....i noe probiotics given at this age could be ruetefene (hope i get the spelling rite) but they are supposed to be dripped into bb's mouth (5 drops)...taste it b4...not much taste except oiliness taste...