(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

Gd morning mummies!

wah.. it's bn a few days since I came in here again.

merc: can go together to Ange's plc ah. But after tat I shld be going to my parents' plc and not coming hm straight

Anyone familiar with Taiwan?
what's gd and cheap to get from there, for mummy & baby?

cherryale....the attachment we have wif our kiddos is a tad too strong esp at this point of time...imagine ur case of ur 2 YOs still experiencing seperation anxiety...worst off for mi wif my 2 mths old....but i guess no point mulling over it...

mercs...dat wat I tell myself for the past few weeks...spend more time wif him and think abt others when time approach...so now im preparing myself for it...have thot that I have manage to control my emotion since the last round but apparently only improvement shown...nvm...take small baby steps once at a time....

ju...perhaps the only distraction I could think of will be more diligently pumping milk for him esp at night (as though to make up to him) and hopefully can produce more milk by doing so....

bb_march,bunny etc > sure,we can meet up at tiong bahru plaza 1st.So we confirm on 24th mar,timing 10-1pm can?
btw u all joinnn the mass gathering on 31st and 1st apr?

Date - 24 March (Tues)
Timing - 10am-1pm

1) Babystarlet & Crystal

Any1 else wanna join?

mercsboy: are you still using the medela mini electric pump? Or you bought something better already? What you buy, dual pump? Can carry to work easily? Am using the mini now, thinking don't know whether to get something better.

Mummies - using Ameda Lactaline, how is it? good? is it handsfree? or any other good recommendations?

EMQ: I remember you brought your medela pump to somewhere to check if working properly. Can I have the address and telephone?

jade: ya...me still using the medela mini...going to buy my SIL's PIS lor...she will pass to me in april (hopefully), then i will leave the mini at work then use the PIS at home ba...
if she decided last minute not to sell, then i will get the ameda...since its affordable...

fluffy: ok...if i need more i contact u...or when u going to order from her, can check with me whether i want? thanks a million ya!

miaiko: not going to ange place...wednesday very hard to arrange my hubby to pick me after that...dont wanna waste too much money taking cab ya...i sit cab always headache one, dunno why...

merc: oic.. oike.

anyone knows what is good and popular to buy from Taiwan? and where?
I want to get something for my baby.

Miaiko:

Go "WU FEN PU" its a wholesale(pi fa) ppl go there to buy in bulk n sell in nite market n spore.. But hor got one day of the week is sell in bulk dun sell to ppl like us.. Check wif hotel
Can be messy but the place is open air n massive.. if u r into japanese/taiwan fashion u will like the place...but then all of taipei fashion is like that one

Ya like blim says facial masks, fake lashes

Taiwan food champion one so enjoy eating; the yakult there is in big bottle one very nice

Oh got time must go karakoke hehe machiam like hotel..keke

flo: thanks thanks! any specific brand for facial masks thats good? I nv buy before so my mind went blank when u both told me abt facial masks.

how abt baby products like clothes, socks etc?

sorry. gotta ask coz I hv nt been there before. No idea what's there at all. haha

Miaiko: U going Taiwan with baby? Sounds fun! Will u be going back to work soon?

Flo: Ur blog is cute

Jade: Im using Ameda Lactaline, so far so good. For handsfree I bought the pumpin pal from mumsfairy.

pumping while catching up on the posts..

Flo
your latest posting in your blog is super funny! speaks for all of us =p

Jade
same as sus, am using Ameda Lactaline too and pumping pal for the handsfree. could get a few letdowns during a pumping session.

Jade: i am also using Ameda Lactaline. B4 that i was using mini electric plus too. switched to Ameda one month back, increased my supply by 40ml each pump.. so i find it a good investment...

mercs- i just realise the bag can only store about 180ml. Thanks 4the encouragement, else i think i'll start panicking. Must constantly tell myself not 2b stressed else nothing can b done.

Piyo- at least there is a distraction, auseful one too. Think of it as something u can do for love of him.

ju: ya, the blue egg milk measurement is buay zun one.. must minus 50ml off whatever is shown there de.... i realise i nv store alot too. that day i did a stock check, only 20 packs nia.. not even enuff for one week feed ah~

ladies, my baby recently dun like to drink milk ah!!! he fusses around when drinking milk, must coax and walk around, such a torture ah! last time he can guai guai drink de... and he can stretch to 4 hours no drink milk (in the day leh!), used to drink per 2 hours... is it norm ah???

tek_koh,

actually all types of classes r ok. if u dunno what to do with bb cos at home everyday, such trial class give u some ideas..

gymB iz good for <1 yr old.. and BJG, i heard iz not bad too.. i personally like julia gabriel.. shichida &amp; little neurotree.. hmm.. if u wish to up ur kids memory learning..

the key to all such classes, u must have time to spend with ur kids! and beneath all these.. love and attention for our kids, cos they dun know anything about $$!!

Piyo: I understand how u feel cos I’m also in a similar situation. In fact, my 2 elder kids were weekend kids and we bring them back only on weekends. I will stay at my mum’s place on weekdays and go home to my own home on fri evenings. Then on Sunday even, its back to my mum’s place again. This went on till they were about a year. I guess its gonna be the same for this 3rd baby. We’ve always wanted to bring the kids home so we can see them everyday, and the only option we had was (1) put them in infant care then gradually to child care or (2) get a maid. My parents objected to point 1. And cant get a maid cos my MIL doesn’t want any stranger in the hse. So no choice, we had to let my mum take care. Is there a possibility that u can stay with your mum on weekdays?

ni: i think its ok lah cos think sometimes babies will also have mood swings leh. zachary these few days dunno why keep screaming for milk. give 120mls, then havent 3 hours become hungry... then give again 120mls like not enuff like that. so we up to 140mls for his last feed before he goes to slunberland. somemore i giving fm leh... dunno why hungry so fast. for kyan, i think just let him drink how much he wants lor. he will overcome it and be back to his normal routine soon. maybe if dont wanna waste bm, give 60mls at a time.

ju: i usually will pour into bottles get the exact amount then i pour into the bags leh...like tat confirm zun zun...but i never store full as in 180ml or wat...coz if defroze, have to defroze whole packet ma...

ni: there were a few days kyler also majiam no appetite...can only finish 70ml milk...i dont force him la..i think its normal ba...as long as he got drink its ok..he hungry sure will cry one ma..
starting i also store one packet per day only...only later part start to have more...anyway maybe coz he dont wake up in the middle of the nite and also at nite i feed FM ba...

ni: ameda seems good leh...erm...wonder PIS is as good or not...hope i didnt make the wrong choice...

wonder why PIS so ex...2nd hand one also more ex than new ameda leh

need your advice on diaper bags. can i know if you bring your babies out, do u bring a diaper bag or carry those normal bags like haversack? i'm thinking of getting a diaper bag, and may i know it should consist of what? also, if later when baby is bigger , i can still use the bag like normal bag to put my things also rite?

<font color="ff0000">Samval</font>,

me used to siaoz diaper bags.. then later, realise most have compartments and a matching changing mat. not many come with insulated bottle holder, some have matching coin purse for loose change and keys..

nowadays, as long as u have a changing mat, wipes.. um... most other bags also can use lah.. i mostly ziploc my bb stuff like diapers, milk powder, cream etc. so it will not stain my bags.. this way, u can convert ur gucci/ fendi/ LV/ Coach / kate spade etc. those expensive bags even to a bb bag..

what u usually bring out? for whole day outing, my diaper bag consist of following:

1) 500ml thermos flask filled with hot boiling water ( refillable @ most cafes in Singapore)
2) wipes &amp; diaper cream &amp; shower stuff( travel size) so in case i need bathe the kids @ other people's place no prob.
3) diapers
4) change of clothes
5) wallet, mobile housekeys
6) camera
7) swimming diaper x 2 (sometimes, the kids cannot resist throwing themselves into water!)
8) diaper cloth (can be towel to wipe them down, a blanket to cover them when cold in shopping centre)
9) milk bottle x 3 and milk powder x 3 feeds of 180ml.. (this last me for whole day outing from 10am to 8pm..)

in fact, most sports bags seemed better suited especially if hubby carries the bags! especially addidas, nike, filas etc..

Rachel/sus/ni: So if don't buy handsfree, I have to use 2 hands to hold the Ameda dual pumps everytime is it? Is robinson selling the Ameda pump? got 20% disc when sale? Easy to bring to work and pump?

mercsboy/ni:my boy today also never finish his milk,think i am going to waste 100ml of it.is it normal for them not to finish?mine seems to sleep more these days and dun really want to drink.and ya,he start fussing too,tired and hungry at the same time.

Hi Pinkie

There's a group for SMH Jan09.. tried inviting u but cannot leh.. dunno why.. it's states i can only invite friends.. ??!!

Samval: I just bought a sling type bag to use as a diaper bag. What I look for in a bag;
- how it will hang on the stroller
- Lots of compartments is great so easier to access specific items.
- Water proof.

Things I bring;
- A spare romper
- A long sleeve shirt (for cold aircon places)
- Changing mat
- 4 diapers (cream, powder baby wipes n all)
- Sling
- Pacifier
- Santizer
Lucky for me I latch on so can skip the flask n bottles etc =)

Ashley
so frustrating right?! we support AVENT &amp; in the end get this type of treatment. dunoe whether is it i m unlucky or wat!

now i cant use the VIA cups &amp; i just find that AVENT/ Philip take the customers kindness for granted.

Samval: another point i forget to add in choosing a bag:
- if you sling baby alot when out, then haversack may be difficult, thus another reason I choose sling type bag...

samval...not quite possible due to space constraint at mum's place and of cos cant b leaving poor hb at home alone...

was rather surprised that hb is oso feeling upset abt leaving bb wif mum during weekdays...he just realised that im returning back to work 1 week lata which he commented so fast ar....mi rebuke and said isn't it ur wish that i return to work soon...he luff it off and said will be missing bb la...

ni....the same goes for Zethan these days...initial drinking oso tougher, gota put up wif abit of struggle b4 he settle down then 1/2 way thru will push teats out so proceed to burp...gota coax and sing to him to continue drinking and depends on his mood to finish or not....

piyo: very tiring to feed nowadays hor... like fighting with him de... last feed kyan only drank 60ml. waste my precious EBM! gave to mario! haha

samval: i never buy diaper bag leh, some v exp, some design nt v nice. just use a big bag to dump everything inside

I am from June thread. Just to ask those who have first month celebration. Anyone did in restaurant or hotel, lunch or hi-tea style? Where and how much you paid? Pls share with me! Thank you so much!

samval: i also didnt buy a diaper bag...i using a bag which can sling 2 styles...one style for me one style for hubby...then i bought pouch to put the diapers lor..

daymoon: i think its normal leh...my boy also got a few days cannot finish his milk...gave him 120ml he only finish like 60-80ml...but i still prepare the usual amount la...cannot finish, i never force him and leftover milk gave my dogs lor...but nowadays he always finish la...

jia luck, i having pain and redness on my left breast, the good one... its breast infection right?? not running fever but very restless and weak.

rachel,

u can feel a lump? me having a sore and those bruised feeling on it.. and like got a lump right at the base of my breast.. feels like blocked duct..

did ur milk supply dip from that breast? mine still can get same amount of milk leh.. 120ml in morning after latching AShton..

autumn: ya u have a point there. i also think its hard to use haversack if i'm slinging baby most of the time.

mercs/ni: hmm.. ya i'm also thinking shld i get diaper bag or not lor. i also dont wanna waste money when normal bag also can bring out. maybe i'll get a normal bag, and do like what u all do, put the diapers in another smaller pouch.

ni: that day at bawbaw's place i saw u having a pouch where u keep diapers and wipes. where did u get that from?

piyo: initially it will be very hard. but you'll get used to it. for me, i also feel that staying with my mum got space constraint, but i heck care lah, cos its for bb's sake. u know, my colleagues ever commented how come i can leave my kids there without feeling anything. sometimes ppl can be insensitive and make u feel that u are a mean mother like that. but dont bother what they say. i'm also hoping for the day that all my kids can be back together with me. now only my #1 is with me cos we enrolled her in a primary school near our place, cos i'm not in favour of those primary schools near my mums place, and furthermore my mum also can't coach her in the homework if my gal studies near there.

i'm giving up bf soon.. my ss is dropping by the day, and now i only get abt 40mls if i pump. but i still let bb latch on. just feeling down and demoralized cos see u all talk here abt storing, pumping, etc and stll have good ss. wonder what am i doing wrong, cos my #2 i was able to bf till 6 months and maintain a reasonable amt of bm. sigh! anyone like me, giving baby 80% fm?? feeling lousy and down.. i know i shouldn't but...

samval: i am using the diaper organizer by munchkins. was given as gift by my coll =) but i think during baby fair hor, some of the mummies here bought at $10 from first few years. same thing, different brand only...

samval: dun give up, 20% BM also BM mah, better than nothing... jia you. maybe ur diet when u having #2, and now is different, thats why ss drop??? I was also on total FM when i was a baby, still grow up so big, so its the same de, dun feel down