(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

suika: coo down. mil are like dat one. first thing they care is 4d numbers, den after dt say we starve bb, no bm.. but lucky thing is nt ur mil do c for u right? just treat when she visits u as air loh... when u discharging???

suika: poor thing.. old generation still has problems adjusting to how bf is like.. sayang u ok?? try to keep ur spirits up so u wont get the blues ok?

jasmommy: thanks for ur tips on bf in office.. its very useful and I copied down the whole chunk =) Ive got the pigeon wide neck teats that are rather hard to suck.. if I can latch on, will try to intro it after a few weeks. thanks!

piyo/gelato: yup will wait and see first b4 rushing to out buy other teats =) thanks for ur advice.

hi ni, thanks! My wife isn't very sure how to time the contractions but she mentioned there were abt 4 times since I left home at 6.45am. I think I will make my way home now.

ni, I was also put on urine catherer when I was in the hospital. Ya, inserting the tube is super painful lor. Gynae say to rest my bladder cus I may have pushed too hard during delivery. After 2 days, I was able to pee already, so not to worry ok? Are you able to poo? I'm also up early, pumping!! haha

Suika, yah, MIL always like that. Just one ear in, one ear out, don't let her affect your emotions k

suika, take a deep breath. your mil must have been too happy with the bb so sometimes the mouth just shoot off nonsensical stuffs

bawbaw: Congrats to the arrival of your new born! sorry only managed to post in the morning as my office does not support forums, v strict. sob sob.. cant access at night cos hubby need to use comp for business. hows your delivery process? was it tough? cant imagine u actually went to labor so early! managed to celeb CNY with ur little one in time huh... : )

ni: ur daddy so nice to u.. try to walk less ok? must hurt to have something poking in. take care! mummy zhen wei da!

novakido: thanks.. is the baby binder warm/comfortable for the baby?

DaddytoBe: Seems like this may be it for ur wife.. help her to time, in between contractions if every 5-10 mins, time to go check in liao

wow so many post when i take bath... haha...

suika, me suspect my mil also will be like that... cos all her 6 kids all fm one... and of course mil will always bao bei their precious grandson...

ni, jia you... when can take out?

BP still on for http://www.babymallonline.com/
Please PM me for details..

Will close at 180usd, currently at 100usd already, any last orders?

Also, desitin creamy for diaper rash, california calendular cream and first teeth A Natural enzyme toothpaste ready stock just arrived from the states, PM me for info.

Have also the Classic Pooh Anti Dust Mite 7 in 1 Bedding Set With Bag for baby cot if interested.

dazed: going to take the pee thing out on sat morning. den after take out, must go pee and show to the gynae. he want to make sure i can function properly. but i seem to be bleeding more, and in clots, so i gng to call him up and ask if its normal...

daddytobe: i also dunno what contraction feels like until it was my turn. tell u ah, very bad feeling. its 1000 or 1 million times more killing den menstrual cramps. can cramp from the lower tumm all the way to ur back.

sus: i agree that mummies are weida.. but i feel bad tat i can take care of my baby last nite.. this morning when i carry him, he seems to miss me! haha.. wishful thinking

deluxe: as for extra charges for the delivery ward, from what i know, MT A dun practice that. cos for me, my entire delivery was 16 hours, another hour or so, for resting after delivery, so it makes a total of 17 hours inside the delivery ward. i wasnt charged anything extra. but yet again, i have reced my detailed billing from the hosp yet...

suika: cool down! dont bother abt her ok? old ppl are like that. they just talk talk nag nag.. take a breather and go walk around the hosp will feel better.

PAT: can u share how much is your hosp bill? yours is single bedder, normal with epi rite? thanks.

what an eventful morning for me. burn my fingers this morning while boiling water and getting my gal her breakfast. then my shoe gave way, end up use slipper to office! now my fingers soooo painful..

suika: during our mum time, they dont encourage bf one...and dont have pump one....i ever asked my mil, then if engorged how, she said endure the pain until it go away lo...so she told me not to be angry with my own mum when she has stupid comments abt bf....

Sus, how long would 1 contraction usually last? i just begun timing her last contraction. It was about 1 minute then no more liao.

jus to check, i've read that some pple could actually do some stuffs like bath after waterbag burst. usually how long after bag burst should labour start?

add: 8mins after the last contraction, we have the next one that lasted 1min plus.

kancheong time

daddytobe: contractions around 30 s - 1+ mins. When interval bet contractions 5-10 mins can go hospital liao. Water bag burst if no colour, go in within 24 hrs. Exciting time for u siah! All the best to ur wife!

mornn ladies > me having MAc's $2 breakfast,so shiok,hee.

btw any of u wan to buy new moon abalone,chicken essence,bird nest or smiling orchid cookies,kueh lapis for the CNY,i have some special rates.can pm me for the price list ,but i can only send tonight.

mercs,ni + those who pop > u all got eat those pig kidneys?with mee sua? is the pig kidney expensive? i heard from my mum says 1 pair abt $20+

babystarlet: wau, u temp me with mac food!!!! i no eat kidney leh. dun like internal organs. i am getting sick of my cf food, though its only for 6 days???

sperzz: shiok to slp thru'out ah? my hb take care oe nite only buay tahan liao. till now still slping, he say it worst den night duty! haha...

daddytobe: for mine contractions, it came in intervals of 3 mins. den will last 30 seconds or so. if u not sure, why dun u call your gynae???

<font color="ff0000">suika</font>,

Mothers &amp; MIL r like that.. cos they guo lai ren and think their methods works since they brought up hubby/ us so big and still going strong..

just stick to your belief.. if u have energy, educate them that bb stomach only size of walnut in 1st week, drink so much FM, cannot digest sure bloated &amp; colicky and will cry alot..

tell them now u producing POWER milk.. full of antibodies.. will help bb to keep away from visiting doc &amp; fall sick easily from viruses..

When they go on n on.. ah.. my suggestion is to lock urself inside room with bb..

Also, note that old folks will insist u ly on bed and dun keep getting out.. which is hard when u wanna BF bb..so sure will nag u on this..

turn a deaf ear, come in &amp; vent ok? will help u cope better..

<font color="ff0000">Samval</font>,

sounds like a bad start to the day for you.. maybe u wanna cook up excuse take day off? after bb come, and somemore iz no. 3 +ur MIL.. i guess u won't have much time to yourself..

maybe good idea to take a breather for yourself and relax juz for a day..

<font color="ff0000">pat</font>,

am also interested in ur bill... cos me also likely to be single bed, normal + epi + vacuum assisted..

but considering whether to downgrade to 2 bedder..

Hi sus, ni,

thanks. think it matches what you've described. asking wife to call gynae now.

contractions are about 1-2mins and in intervals of about 3 mins.

jasmommy: how do you "sterilise" the milk pump when you are outside in between the different pumps? After the first pump, the pump will be left with residual milk.

ok we're preparing ourselves now. nice timing, traffic to hospital not so heavy. thanks for the information ladies. will post when i have the time!

sus: I do use the binder for my gal till the cord dropped. Quite useful, when u change the diapers u wont afriad will injuried the bellybutton. I dun think is uncomfortable bec it juz like a extra pc of clothe arnd the stomach onli. 1pc is arnd $2-3+ if I am not wrong. Mayb u get 3pcs.

ni > dun tink so much,last time i got water in my lungs,i also carry a bag everywhere i go.quite jialat.

i haben eat CF food leh,but seeing u all already makes me sian

Hi Precious_bb,
You can buy the baby belly binder anywhere that sells baby items e.g kiddy palace, IMM Giant, Taka etc. Think it's $1+ or $2+ each.

My MIL said it can help protect newborn baby's umbilical cord before it dries up.

<font color="ff0000">Hi jade</font>,

<font color="0000ff">hand expressing</font>
if i hand express, i express direct into milk bags.. so no need to clean the bottle as i put milk bag inside the bottle, and use the bottle neck to support the milk bag by looping the plastic over the edge.. when i hand express, my other hand will hold bottle and the milk bag top edge.. (my hand muz be clean lah).

<font color="0000ff"> if use avent pump (isis/ uno)</font>,
After i wash milk bottles and pump parts after expressing, i wipe it with the medela quick clean wipes.. iz sterilising wipes for pump and pump parts, i only do this juz before my next pump.

<font color="0000ff">if in office</font>, i juz wash and put the pump parts into a tupperware.. add boiling water before use to sterilise it.. drain away water.. so i juz assemble it after sterilise..

i find medela tubing abit harder to clean,normally that one, not suppose to clean after every use.. but to wash and leave to air dry when necessary..

avent no tubing to grapple with.. and easier to wipe clean with the quick clean wipes..

<font color="0000ff">
when travelling and in hotel room at night</font>.. i use the medela sterilising bags.. which can use like 20x per bag.. juz add water, pop into microwave and pour away the hot water..

but not all rooms got microwave, so i juz boil hot water, put pump parts inside the medela sterilising bag, pour the boiling over over it.. and leave it to stand for a few minutes before pouring away..

hope above helps to give a clearer idea..

i thought and experimented ALOT..

<font color="ff0000">preciousbb</font>,

i bought mine from pigeon (2.70sgd before discount per pc).. some come with velco &amp; some with strings..

<font color="ff0000">DTB</font>,

3 minutes interval? uh oh.. u better hurry.. normally gynae say 10 min REGULA interval to get ready liaoz..

earlness/sus: I thought there will be a cord stump that's protruding? will the belly binder kind of get in the way since it's protruding? and it's supposed to be kept dry so that it will fall off by itself. If we use the binder, will it be moist moist...? sorry lot of qns. I have the hand-me-down binder, but I thought only use after the stump drop off...

kamy: the binder is to protect the cord from rubbing of the diapers when the is still intact. It wont b mosit when u use it.

hi all, been qte some time since last logged in..

was trying to rest asap cos wound still hurt..

was discharged yseterday and came back home with cayden liao.. he looked different each day..

had a horrible night last night tho... think he slept too much during the day, and refused to sleep at night !!!! and think im not producing enuff bf for him
in the end gotta fed him FM during night time..

going to try alternate feeding for him for now, and to feed him more often so that he can stay more awake during day and sleep more during night..

anyone facing same problem?

suika: COnGRATS TO U!!! never got msg from u woh!!

to the other mums: welcome to mum clubs hehe!

sperzz,
Friday can, or Saturday morning - early afternoon is OK too. I'll be out from about 4 pm on Saturday til late at night.

dazed,
Yes. I live in Punggol.
You stay in JW? I'm in church at Queenstown on Sunday mornings til around lunch time. Would you be anywhere near there?
How about working? Or perhaps I can pass to someone around here who can meet you at work or something? Or Dr appts? Whereabouts would you be?
Otherwise I can try to post it to you, but 200g is quite a lot. The postage and packaging will probably cost more than the stuff.

Precious bb,
I've seen binders at the KKH pharmacy. Hospital pharmacy should carry the stuff, I think.

ni,
Are you at home? You have a catheter that you wore home? I'm confused. What happened with your bladder? I thought usually the catheter is taken out soon after the delivery?

Samval,
Poor you. Not your day huh? I slipped coming out of the bathroom after showering my girl this morning. Didn't fall, but steadied myself against the wall. But now walking causes pain in my groin. Sian.

DTB,
If the contractions are about 5 minutes apart, lasting about 1 minute each, it's time to go to the hospital already. Every body is different. After water bag bursts, USUALLY, the baby will not arrive so quickly lah. Not like on TV - bag burst, bb comes like in 15 minutes. In reality, maybe at least 4 hours to 24 hours later then bb will arrive, unless your wife has a precipitous labour. Then.... well.... hmmmm

ALL THE BEST!!! Give your wife lots of support, and massage as she labours

sperzz,
I'll probably order our cakes from Savoury Fare in Katong. LOOOOVE their walnut cake.

yes, blessedmum! i got the same problem. my bb slp alot in the day! and dun wanna slp at nite!!!! i am turning to zombie!!! dun worry i cant produce enuff too. i give FM to supplement. and even PD says, can give FM at nite, so can last him longer. PD ask me to give 70-80ml.

sperzz,

i only gave vouchers woh.. for full month to colleagues.. and juz cater for relatives during full month and my MIL prepare red eggs..

heard chocz not bad.. but i think easier give vouchers for us.. save u trouble to deliver it, and save the relatives trouble to force them consume cake within X days.. and also during CNY.. some people quite pantang leh.. to receive red eggs n cake..

pvl. ya i am at hme. i was inserted the pee catherer at the gynae clinic yday, cos i was found to seem to damage my bladder during birth, that it is not functioning properly. so now i have to walk ard in a pee bag at home loh....

ni: my mum telling me to give FM too, cos she last night tong almost the whole night...! i felt so sad for her and cayden...

think need to try wake him up every 2 hr to prevent him from zz too much.. and latch him on more..

anyone using avent pump? i tot its ok, but i tink still prefer to latch him on leh.. only used manual pump.. ha.. dun dare to use electric pump yet scared too painful...

ni &amp; blessedmum,

heard 1st week bb will be sleepy, 2nd week onwards, more alert and more used to day light and night time..

i ever read, can stimulate them to be more awake by massaging them in daytime.. back and feet and hands and legs... and talk to them.. also make a diff between night time &amp; day time.. day time, be more noisy, and bright, night time keep lights dim and quieter..

blessedmum, u r not the onli 1. I think all BB still cannot diff nite n day. I occasionally also supplement my gal with FM. Slowly let ur boi latch on then ur milk will come. I know easier to say than done bec I also very stress on feeding BM. I tried to latch her on whenever I can if she continue crying than I will give her EBM or FM.

Had my gynae checkup this morning. All is well. Bb is 2.8 kg at 37 weeks, head still down but not engaged.

Weight gain from last appointment all went to bb. About 300g.