(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

ni: ur BB underfeed? My gal now drink abt 70ml for EBM leh. I also winder is she underfeed.

gelato: if Bb latch on, I am so afraid she not enuff lei, she always cry abt 1.5hr after each feed. Is she underfeed. I tried to feed her on both breast but she will fall asleep after finishing the 1st breast lei.

cheekygal: if BB liver is fully develope, will have lower chances of jaundice. If possible, let the BB decide when to come out. Induce is more painful.

cheekygal : sounds like ur gynae is very professional, he cares very much for his patient & the well being of the bb. =)

My gynae oso mentioned that he doesn't mind wkg on CNY, he says once they enter this practice, they're already mentally prepared to make this kinda 'sacrifices'. =)

gelato: ya, i'm in accounting line too...after confinement have to go back office to settle the GST submission...one thing i quite unhappy is my company didn't employ any temp to help me...at first they wanted to employ which is one month before i due, got one but not suitable, asked her to leave, i suddenly due early, so now nobody doing my job....haiz... i afraid after confinement, when i go back to work, have to work all the way...how???

you mentioned you breastfeeding for a year for your two children, how you do in during working? pumped in the office???

sperzz : ya, there's a possibility of ur gal falling asleep w/o having her fill. Normally, i try to tickle their cheeks to wake them up to drink somemore.. if they really dun want, then i give up.

ni: i also wonder how much polyclinic charge for the jab...after my c-sect, when i pee, painful sensation, i asked gynac, he just give me pain killer which don work for me, after given birth for 2 weeks, now ok already, no more pain...is it painful when they insert the catherer for you, take care...

gelato: I tried to, but she juz continue sleeping. Worst is that I think she depend on my sucking my breast to fall asleep. These 2 days I tried to feed her on EBM in the afternoon, after finishing the milk she still cant slp n continue crying for my breast.

CONGRATS to suika! and few others who had delivered... gosh./..
the top list getting longer and longer...so excited.
gelato and samval...
we are the mother of 3, but how come we not delivering earlier hor...

willting : aiyo, acctg line no backup very jialat 1... if worse come to worse, can u work on alternate day? must clear ur ML oso leh...

Ya, i pumped in office. last time, we hv fully air-conditioned containers in office to store things, so i requested my colleague to fix a latch for me, so that pple cannot come in w/o me unlatching - even if they hv keys. But now, the containers hv been removed already... i m still thinking where shall i pump when i come back fm ML... dunno if i shld use the handicap toilet or not? sounds unhygienic to pump in toilet hor? =(

samval, ya i thought abt it and accepted it.
i decide to wait for real labour instead of induce out of my own convenience. (unless medical reasons).

gelato: nods, he is caring, asked me to prepare flash card with the hosp name "Mt Alvernia Hosp" in any case hubby is not with me when, i can flash it to taxi driver. Cut down on difficult communication. Told me if need to call for ambulance, call for the private one instead of public one coz' the public one will go to any nearest hosp instead of Mt A.

willting: this is the info I got from Dec MTB.

The HepB jab at polyclinic is $17.50 per jab, need to take 2 jabs. The 5-in-1 pkg is $240.40

So the total for the jab will b 275.40 exclude the consultation fee.

I will go to polyclinic for the injection, much cheaper compare to PD. MY son also go polyclinic so I dun see y need to go PD for the injection.

sperzz : guess this is what they called 'stickiness' - my gal was oso like that. =) If u dun mind, juz let her suck lor, to them, it's comfort suck. But if really cannot, like u going back to work & can't offer breasts to her all the time, then maybe u can try pacifier?

mo3 : i dun want to deliver early...i scared! hehe...

gelato (gelato), i am planning to pump in toilet.
my office is male dominated, no nursing room or any spare rooms.
i think it is ok, it is not unhygienic.
only concern is no power plug if using electric pump.

cheekygal : wow, i m impressed! he's really caring! even thot of such details like preparing flash card. =)

what pump will u be using? can it be battery operated?

If using manual, will be using Avent ISIS Manual, bought it 2nd hand for $20. Replaced the parts to new ones for $20 from Philips Showroom.

If electric, will be the PIS one. Haven't bought it yet, will get it if my milk supply is established and decent. I am very scared to get PIS now, it will be depressing to get so exp pump when there is no milk supply.

My fren lent me the Medela Mini Electric. i will use it as standby while waiting for PIS to come. i tried mini electric out, the suction very painful. :-S. Heard PIS one is not painful coz' can control the suction.

gelato: i will see wat my boss say, when i due, he said not to worry about work...somemore my accounting year end at 31 dec, need to send to auditing too...now i get one of my colleague to issue the cheques, she also crying for help now...

sperzz: thanks for the info...

sperzz, how many jabs will be required in total for 6-in-1 and 5-in-1?

not sure wat is difference between 2 of them.

will u be opting for rotavirus jab?

cheekygal : Avent ISIS is the most effective for me, tho i muz admit it's tiring to pump manually.

I was very very tempted to get PIS too, but i can't bear to part with the $ cos' it's very ex - & i m not sure if it'll be effective for me or not. cos' i tried Mini E & the Medela double (can't rem what's the name) - they dun work for me...

willting : u r 1 man show in ur dept? really siong, like that...

dunno where to pump liao lor... even got spare rms, oso not convenient - all come with a glass window... that's y i thot of handicap toilet lor - cos' there's no handicaps in the office - but i m sure pple will still use that toilet out of convenience lor... =(

gelato: i am not sure if Mt A has PIS, can try out PIS during our stay in Mt A.
I remem in mrs wong class, mrs wong said not advisable to buy pump now, try out different types of electric pump before buying one.
I know ParentCraft at TMC has facility to try out diff types of pumps but not sure if Mt A has it.

gelato: ya, i am the one man show in accounts dept...headache...i also wonder how i going to pump breastmilk when back to office...

gelato/cheekygal: I also have no nursing room at my work place, think also need to pump in handicap toilet.. no choice =( Most electric pumps can also be powered by AA batteries so no power source also ok.

wow....half a noon away and there's so many post to catch up on...

a quick update after gynae visit this morning...BB weighs abt 3kg @ 37 weeks which he said is a good weight...fluid level fine...bp normal and BB not yet enegaged.

he's so farnie...asking us - so edd on 26 jan...how? i was like huh wat do u mean how? so his qtn is actualli asking if we have any preferences for BB to be delivered b4 or after CNY which we are fine wif it so told him would prefer to be natural thus for BB to choose for himself. Anyhow if really past EDD then latest would have to induce on 28 Jan.

cheekygal : even if Mt A has the pump, it's quite difficult to gauge if it's effective, since we hv no milk in the 1st few days...

willting : share with us if you find a solution. =)

sus : can u cont'd to work fm hm after ur ML? then no need to worry abt where to pump?

piyobaby : wow, ur bb is of good weight le. think ur mum will be happy. =) so did u ask woody if u can take pineapple tarts? =P

gelato: think I wont be able to work from home, cos its like over-extending the 'ren qing'.. u know what I mean? will also feel bad or paiseh to ask him about it.

piyo: nice weight! =) did u ask him about pineapple tarts?

sus/jade...for the pigeon starter kit..the 2 small bottles comes wif S nipple and the taller one Y nipple...just brought it out to check yest...

ni...aiyo poor thing lor..pain or not har for insertion of pee catheter...neber mind la since stayed at home...nobody will notice...dun walk abt too much meanwhile ba...

gelato/sus...guess wat i totally forgotten abt it untill i was out of his clinic but din wan to trouble him cos he's quite busy....then saw him again near the carpark but too bad he's on the phone...=(

tell u ar...my mum wun be happy wif even a 3kg bb lor....she's like as though must be ard 4kg to be a good weight bb...can faint!

sus : ya, get what u mean. When my boss told me that he may need me to come back early fm my ML, i was still able to say ok, but i'll like to work fm hm on some days... If i've taken my full ML, then it's hard to open mouth to ask le... moreover, colleagues will definitely talk lor...

sus....do u know the retail price of dr brown's bottle cos sumtime places like metro & JL frequently have them at 20% off so if it's lower then will be worth buying...

however i recall mrs wong mentioning during her class that she dun encourage the use of such anti colic bottles as one might not be able to wash/clean the tubes properly which might encourage mircrorganism growth...just for ur ref!

piyo: Thanks for the info on the teats =) I can so understand how it feels wif ur mum! My mum also like big baby.. when I told her gynae predict 2.5 kg.. gosh! She was like so small?? My MIL still doesnt know the baby's weight.. else I will even more stress..

gelato: *nod nod* in fact sometimes Im already afraid colleagues will talk already.. but then will tell myself dun care what others say lar. But really will feel very bad to ask for even more of boss lor.. I also will sure agree one =p

sus: i bought the Dr Brown bottles already too from States. heard it is good for colic babies.
i have 2 Avent and Nuk bottles for bb to try out too. Will use Avent or Nuk if really need to assemble fast esp when bb is crying his lungs out for milk.
Dr Brown is harder to wash, more parts to wash and longer time to assemble.

piyo: yr bb is at ideal weight. :) easier to care and handle.

piyo: why ur mum insist bust be ard 4kg? aiyoh.. too big v hard to deliver leh. i now worry that if she too big gotta c-sec ah. and hor, i think my girl knows she abit overweight (3kg+at 36W) leh. she tdy until now never complain hungry. i haven't had my lunch!!!

piyo/cheekygal: wow thanks for the info! I din realize Dr Brown's bottles harder to wash and assemble till now. I only have the pigeon bottles/teats from Taka fair. Do I need to buy few more other brands to stand-by? I havent checked out the retail price actually. Cheekygal, do you know if the bp price is cheap?

Cheekygal: wats ur baby weight now?

janjan: not good to skip lunch woh? can cut down on carbs? I can't imagine not being hungry for lunch!

gelato: I see.. were u also the one who recommended putting ru yi oil on the tummy after bathing? Even if baby not colicky yet also put a not? Then first 10 days still got cord can put ru yi oil?

sus...im not gonna be stressed by her though...keep reminding her that 3kg bb is considered average and good weight...for u will be different cos u are much smaller build so makes no sense to have big build bb which will be torturing during labour...was just commenting to muzicgal on hw small build u are!

cheekygal..thanks...think his weight rather ideal at this point of time le but it's oso an estimate...at least healthy weight even if he arrive earlier...

sus : btw, i bought 2 Bfree bottles (similar to Dr Brown) fm Baby's hypermart @ $22.00... ea bottle comes with a tiny brush to clean the tube. I'll let bb try NUK 1st, if he has no prob, then i won't open the Bfree bottles for the time being...

Your pigeon bottles - are they those with small teats of wide neck ones? My colleague told me she let her son use the small pigeon teats, then after a while, he became lazy to open his mouth to latch on to the breasts.

sus: its v seldom i don't feel hungry lor. so just happily nap away my lunch time. in between i ate some rubbish like apple and persimmon and biscuits lor. now waiting for hb to come back with dinner

janjan...mum din insist must be 4kg la but she did compare wif my cousin's BB who is just abt 34 weeks and claimed to be around 3+kg le...i told her that BB ard 3+kg easier to deliver and have a smoother labour process which she did nod and keep quiet after that...hee aiyo why din take lunch lei...we are almost like taking dinner soon le lor..

sus....dats wat was shared during my lessons but rem there are many diff school of thoughts so largely depends on which u believe in...i have pigeon & avent bottles and bfree passed down by a fren...trying out pigeon 1st since it's in the starter kit...

sus : ya, the ru yi oil thingy - i learnt fm my MIL (she learnt fm her CL 30+ years ago...hehe). We rub at least twice a day - once after bath, & another time after wipe down in the evening. If we suspect bb has wind during the day, we apply oso lor... =)

pour some into our palms, rub it for a while b4 applying it on bb's stomach. B4 the cord falls off, gotta be careful & gentle - normally my MIL will handle.. i very KS 1... haha... rem when my son's cord dropped off, i screamed... then everyone ran into the rm... upon finding out the cord fell off, all of them say "chey! thot what happened... "...keke...

gelato...mi nearly bought the bfree bottles from hypermart too cos the price is cheap but stopped myself cos i have 2 pc at home passed now from a fren which is used just once....so thot will sterilize and try on bb when he's older...

sus/gelato...like the smell of ru yi oil on bb and suppose to help prevent wind in the tummy...technically speaking is to rub between our palms till warm then apply onto bb tummy...saw that some ppl rub down while some merely place their palms on bb tummy...

ruyi oil has always been my fav. love bb smell after applying the oil after bath and before sleep.

another thing good for colic bb is gripe water fei-zai-shui).

piyo: i see. hai.. mums are like that. they always like to compare with other pple bb de. 34w and 3kg+ is v heavy wor. how to deliver naturally by time baby ready to pop will be 4+ liao leh

janjan16 : ya, i oso let my kids take gripe water - but only aft full mth. =) Another alternative is "Rid Wind" - tis 1 i only use when necessary. =)

gelato/piyo: thanks for the tip! =) I can imagine I will be quite scared to disturb the cord too.. hehe.. get my hubby to do it =p

janjan...ya lor so sianz esp to have one bb close by for comparison, next time will continue on to compare growth like when they walk, turn on their tummy, speech, studies etc...i was telling her at the rate the other bb grown....will be 5kg when delivered le lor...but let her be la cos i noe bb healthy can le..