(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

suika : dunno leh, but i m small to start with lor, my frens used to tease me "triple A batteries"... hehe... (think : tripe A cup)

she got her own place with my FIL. if got conflicts and we are unhappy, then hubby will tell her to move back.
need to freed up the room to make way for maid if need to get.

mercs: I agree u very good wife.. working and still got time to cook for him? I stopped cooking somewhere during first trimester..

suika, I didnt take pills to stop milk flow, just let the flow reduce naturally, but cup size reduce from B- to A for 1st kid, then from A to A- for 2nd kid. Guess I'll become triple A like gelato after this 3rd one. Hahaha...

Pinkie, ya, I'll be gg to the bbq.

hahaha!! thanks for saying i am a good wife huh...actually i am a bad wife la, but i think what i do make up for my bad temper all that. thats why my hubby can tolerate me ma.
sometimes also dunno what to eat outside, so i cook lor, simple meals only, too chim one i dunno one leh.

cheekygal: no matter what happens, i believe own family members take care of the baby will be more fang xin and better lor. conflicts or not, guess when got kid, everything can be discuss ba...

sus: i only cook during weekends ma, like when he is mopping the floor, i will cook, and when he finished the work, got food to eat liao. guess that is better than i sit down and see him do housework ma, i feel so bad about it. so i try to do the rest lor. sometimes my mum if my hubby not around or what, she will come over and clean my house also...guess pregnancy really got benefits ba..hehe

Giggler : guess I'll become 'airport' liao, aft the 3rd 1... haha... but nvm lah, buy push up bras lor... hehe..

merscboy : that's y husband & wife must complement each other to make a good pair lor. =) if both of you are hot tempered, or both of u dun do housework, then jialat liao... for me & my hb, we went thru pre-marital counselling, so who do what already discussed & made known to ea other b4 we tied the knot. =)

ju : breasts become bigger when preggie, then become even bigger when bfg... but reduced to even smaller than pre-preg size aft done with bfg - that's my personal experience. =)

gelato: i was "airport" during teenagers time leh...then dunno why now become better lor...this pregnancy even more jialat...its not the cup that is growing, its the back part...

gelato: we didnt go for what pre marital counselling la. but at times i think me and hubby is "tian sheng yi dui long feng PUI" hehe...whenever he try to lie to me, i know it one lor...haha...think he must practice his acting more

merscboy : i almost blurted laughing when i see ur "PUI"... do u mean "Pei"? dun pui lah, both of u shld be very pei one. =)

suika : dun worry, maybe yours will become bigger ley?

must maintain... gdness i'm used to having large breasts leh, can't imagine if they suddenly dissappear... <shocked,>

mercs: think u got a gd hb, if communication btw the 2 of u is gd, then no need pre-m counseling wah, afterall they teach abt comm and what is to come in a marriage.... blah blah blah...

think i "anything" then got into a marriage, then now "anything" got preg wif ah gal, too late to talk abt trashing things out wif hb... Hahahahaha...

mercs: u seem to be very loving wif ur hubby =) indeed long feng pei hee

gelato/cheeky: I see the irobot got specialization one.. means u need one for vaccumming and one for washing floor?

gelato: will shrink to small than pre-pregnancy ah.. aiyoh so sad..

gelato: oh.. u spot her pui..hehe me also see liao.. blur blur until u correct it.haha

ya should maintain the loving style..even have bb.. hehe

cj: i thot loving is a pre-requisite b4 bb comes abt... therefore more loving will have more children... hahaha...
mercs, is really one lucky gal... my hb is loving but sometimes cannot tahan his tolerance for messiness.

ju:haha .. mercs should..cos she realyl a 24hrs wife...actually i also feel my hb gd and will pamper me..me too..sometime cant tan han my hb talk those funny funny thing to my bb &amp; me..he alway will come out with funny idea..but to romentic..he is not the type lor..

cjteng: i really meant PUI not PEI...hehe...we always say we "tian sheng yi dui long feng PUI. hahaha...

gelato: u got my joke man! hehe...

sus: thanks...hope i didnt married the wrong guy. sometimes when i see my ex (in office still, he is a contractor in our building)...i will say to myself, heng i not together with him. then i got chance to be with my hubby.

sorry to interupt. I have a brand new Medela BreastPump (Pump-In-Style Advanced 2008 - Shoulder Bag) to let go at s$420. Box is still unopened.

Interested parties, pls PM me or contact me at [email protected]. Thanks

me just got home aft visiting gynae. now having mixed feelings. happy cos get to see bb. upset cos gynae said bb on the big side. same case as Miaiko, she said bb stomach is big and now at 25weeks bb weighs 900gms. i volunteered to tell her abt my family history of diabetes, and she encouraged me to go for the test. so the test will be this coming sat. she said average bb's weight at 25weeks shld be 800grams.

after seeing some of the mummies post here abt their bb's weight at which is around my range now, what "big" bb is she talking abt? during the scan, she was telling me her boy was 3.2kg, then 2nd boy was 2.9kg then her girl was 2.8kg. all her kids were the "right" range/size during birth. felt like slapping her then! i think she prefers smaller babies lah, cos easier to deliver vaginally. but big doesnt mean cannot mah. my colleague had bb girl 3.8kg and another colleague bb boy 3.5kg can give birth naturally what. what she trying to do?

me already so upset. i can understand how the mummies here feel if have to go for the diabetes test lor. in fact this preg compared to my 1st 2, i din gain that much weight and managed to stick to 1.6-2kg per month guide. and in the first 3 months i actually lost weight. now i'm exactly 25 weeks today and i put on 6kg, which i think is average lor.

sigh. aft my check up i went to united square and walked around aimlessly... very sian now leh.

miaiko: your gynae is Eunice Chua at TMC? what time is your glucose test this Sat? mine is at 9am.. maybe we can see each other there since the clinics are next door only @ 3rd floor.

sus : i din really do research for the irobot, i suggested getting 1 &amp; my hb juz asked my BIL to help buy.... but we dun need 1 to do wet washing, cos' that time we hv PT maid coming in weekly to do mopping. Hence, the basic 1 is good enough for us. =)

Mine shrunk, but maybe not applicable to all mummies ba? i see my colleague still look ok leh... =)

cjteng : hehe... maybe she purposely type it that way, in blocks somemore. =)

sus : preference for breast pump can differs btw individuals. I m only comfortable with Avent manual, but I've frens who swear by Medela. I've tried Avent manual, then Medela double, then Ameda dual, then Medela Mini E, but i still sticked to Avent manual. =) So far, only Avent helps me to hv letdowns &amp; clear the breasts aft expressing.

samval: if i'm not wrong, the wt of the bb is determined by ultrasound, right?

if yes, then it's a very bad estimation, usually abt there will do. but to make u feel better, jus go for the glucose test lor. as to ur gynae's comments on big/small, diff pp got diff genes, which results in diff sizes wah, where got 1size fits all one.

So all in all, no worries till bb comes out, k.

hey samval.. dun be upset *hughug*.. as long as u know bb is growing well.. isnt that good? according to the standards here, ur bb is not really big.. Better than me, put on 6 kg also, but bb is on small side right? But its really good for you to take the test just to be on the safe side.. hugs

Hey Samval, I agree with u that ur weight gain is ok and ur bb weight also ok ma. 100 to 200g actually is not much diff, drink a glass of water also can put on 100g. Some more ultrasound scan weight is only an estimate.

I guess your gynae may be trying to be careful since u hv family history lor. Don't worry, everything will be fine!

Gelato: thanks for your advice =) maybe Ill go for Avent manual too.. its also safer to get something cheaper at the start in case I get problems with bf..

Samval : weight fm ultrasound not that accurate 1, doc's experience more accurate. My gynae ever told me he advised 1 patient to go for c-section, cos' the baby's very big - based on his estimation. He estimated ~4kg, but the patient insisted to do a more detailed scan by another gynae in the same clinic. So she pd $ to scan lor, &amp; the other gynae advised her ~3.6kg. She went ahead to try veginal birth, but had much difficulties, in the end hv to go for c-section, &amp; the baby's actual weight was 4.1kg! so, experience is more accurate than the machine!

but hor, i m NOT encouraging u to go for c-section lah, my fren delivered her 3.98kg vaginally, w/o epidural. So, it's not impossible afterall.

sus : no prob, juz my personal experience. =)

Samval: Avg wt at 25wks is 800g? Then I guess mine ok lor... at 26-27wks is 860g... I kept feeling it's small compared to many mummies here, but every time gynae says good size, no worries...

No worries la, just do the GTT for peace of mind lor... my gynae says ok la... dunno le, he insisted I did Amnio but GTT says no need despite my family history... maybe my wt gain acceptable &amp; result slightly off... I gain 1.3kg in 3 wks... he say very good control... but I never control... in fact was worried as last mth kept feeling hungry &amp; kept eating... then last wk not much appetite... so back to normal eating &amp; even had only 1 apple &amp; 1 slice of papaya for lunch on one day...

Baby size &amp; vaginal birth no big issue la... nature is just so wonderful... if you do not have major problems, any size also can one la... my colleague delivered 4kg baby no prob... best part, she was chubby before delivery but after 2nd baby, slim down a lot...

I look like got big backside (mum always tease me) but end up c-sect cos pelvic bone won't expand. My #1 was only 3.82kg... big but not humongeous what... then I ask gynae... why my bums so big still cannot expand... he says some pp's pelvic bone just do not expand lor, size is NOT an issue... and old folk tale of marrying a woman with big bums does not help... hahaha.. maybe it's God's work... my bum already big before delivery so won't go any bigger lor... if not become duck liao... hee hee...

S long as baby healthy, dun worry too much la... why stress yourself &amp; make yourself upset... cheer up!

my friend jus gave birth in May, hers was only 3.1kg. tried vaginal birth but din went thru. so size of bb is based on indv, really no worries.

as long as u n bb safe, is ok. dun feel so upset, b happy.

As for breast size... I think all depends on individual... I started out with a runway... put on some after #1... look like I have something... then with each pregnancy my breast gets bigger, then down size a little after everything... (this is my 5th)... from a non existance size, I'm now a comfortable B... happy liao la... can see something can liao... hee hee... dun need super big ones... so heavy. I hate it when breast grows big during preg... like run a little also wobble... the more they wobble, the more they will sag... then I like to go totally free at night... sometimes thru the day if I dun go out... s long s clothes not too obvious...

Yes, most impt is baby is healthy... I used to get so hung up by my c-sect... but on hindsight, with technology, how we deliver is insignificant... so long as baby is healthy &amp; we recover well after delivery...

Also, after losing 2 babies... cost is immaterial... so long as my babies are brought to term healthy... &amp; I recover well after delivery, nothing else matters...

My #2 was comparatively smaller at 2.75kg... also delivered via c-sect... but I recovered well &amp; she's a healthy little gal today... although more petite than her older sis... but HB say never mind one la... girl ma... then she's just like my elder sis lor, small size one... while I'm the tall kind... my elder sis only 37kg! &amp; that's even after 1 son... hee hee... so HB says nothing wrong what... my family got small size genes...

At the end of the day, s long s baby healthy, size does not matter that much la... dun fret la... my youngest sis kanna monitored by MOH till teenage years cos she short &amp; small... but my parents not tall ma... only me &amp; 4th sis on the taller side at 1.6+ all other sis below 1.6m. I'm like the giant at home lor...

Samval: ya my gynea is Eunice Chua. My appt for glucose test also this Sat but at 830am on 4th floor. yah. perhaps we can meet and chit chat since gotta wait long long

Was catching up no posts...

Piyo: Clementi satay nice... but City Satay tastier le.... we found out cos we had miscommunication once... my sis ended up buying from Clementi while I went to get from City Satay... we ended up with double amt of satay.. but satay being a natural favourite... all ended up eaten anyway... &amp; since we had them for comparison, we found the seasoning for City Satay better... so those were finished faster...

Then again, get whatever works for you la... dun put yourself through too much trouble... we are just going to have fun...

Sus: Whether you decide to be a SAHM or a WM, it's your choice... go with what you feel is best for you and what you &amp; HB are comfortable with... dun bother abt old folks... Generally, mums &amp; aunts who went through 'hard times' will insist we continue working... cos they felt their working counterparts had a better deal (financial independence, etc)... &amp; those who had a 'comfortable' life (HB bring home more than enough, etc), advocate SAHM...

My mum was 'upset' when my elder sis decided to quit her job after her ML... &amp; when I toy with the idea after #2 (cos had cc problems... maid gave problem, etc)... she was even more admant that I continue to work... say very sayang since I was doing very well, etc... better to be financially independent, got more say, etc... actually, in mum's case, she's already the CFO at home lor... but guess at times when dad's biz not doing well, mum wished she was in a better position to help out...

On the ohter hand, a few of my aunts who were SAHM &amp; whose HBs had stable income, they strongly encourage us to stay home to look after our kids...

I also believe in having a SAH parent... HB &amp; I had also talked about the possibility of me staying home for the kids if the need arise...

However, I value mental stimulation brought about by challenges at work... I enjoy working &amp; being away from my kids... cos I feel more refresh after coming back &amp; seeing them... I'm not the 24/7 kind of mum... I'm happy to tend to kids 24/7 but not 24/7/365... I'll die of boredom &amp; become lazy &amp; dull... hee hee...

so I enjoy working while I'm at work &amp; I enjoy being with my gals when I'm home... some years back I stepped down in position to apportion more time for family after I lost my 2nd &amp; 3rd preg... I've found life to be more fulfilling after that... =D In a way, we've found a better balance...

I also thank God that my PILs are staying with me now (never mind the brushes with MIL now &amp; then)... at least I get peace of mind while I'm at work... I can work whole heartedly when I'm there &amp; I get to enjoy my gals when I'm home... nity gritties are taken care of by MIL &amp; maid... in a way, I feel that I've the best of both worlds... =D

gelato: There are lots of ways we can bond with our kids... it's just a matter of what feels important to you... no right &amp; wrong la...

For me, if maid can do a good job bathing &amp; tying hair for gal, I dun mind... cos I bond with kids by doing things with them... like I take #1 out solo... we explore places, go on double-decker buses... cos she's one of those lucky kids who are deprived of public transport... &amp; she enjoys being on buses... sometimes it's as simple as having ice cream at Mac... the kids feel important this way...

I haven't had much chance to go solo with #2 cos she's super active &amp; I'm preg... can't really handle her on my own... but when #1 is at enrichment class, HB &amp; I spend time with #2... recently we also started going to Gymboree with #2 (finally)... just the 3 of us... HB does not believe in getting PILs to send #2 for Gymboree cos he thinks it's bonding time for us... in this sense, that's his priority &amp; choice... I support his idea... some parents may feel that more important for kids to interact &amp; go for enrichment, does not matter who is accompanying... cos we've seen grandparents &amp; even maids accompanying child for classes... but since HB feels strongly abt it, I just go with it lor...

It's all a matter of personal beliefs &amp; choice... to me, I want my kids to look clean, pretty &amp; neat when we go out... if maid or MIL can do a good job at that, I leave it to them... my focus is on the interaction bit... while some parents may prefer to show their love by doing things personally for their kids... including tying hair... =D

I love to cross stitch... &amp; I cross stitch stuffs for each of my gals whenever I'm free... recently, I bought a new handphone chain set to cross stitch for #3... cos both #1 &amp; #2 had one each with their names... I've also got 2 sets of jewellery boxes that I plan to cross stitch for them... have not started (no time)... but will go buy a 3rd set when I have the time... to prepare for #3 as well... =D

No right &amp; wrong... as long as you feel strongly about something, no one should make you feel you are 'making trouble'... just go with it lor... if you enjoy tying girl's hair... it's a personal thing what... just like gals get their hair groomed by their parents the night before their wedding... hee hee...

As for maids, after my Indo maid, I find that I do not interact as much with my maids... my 1st few more talkative... maybe I was also more free previously... so I did talk to them... but now, there's always plenty to do... with 2 gals who demand my attention (now that #2 is bigger and know how to demand my attention), with work, with being tired being preg with #3, with getting addicted to being on forums... hahaha... who has time to talk to maids? Hahaha... think my #1 talks to maid most... MIL gives instructions only... HB too (or reprimand when things are done wrongly) other than that, he does not talk to maid either... FIL even less...

I think sometimes if we talk too much to them, they think we are friend... then will start to request for this &amp; that... at the end of the day, just make sure we maintain certain kind of reasonable relationship will do... dun neglect them totally la, they also need social interaction... but dun need to chit chat one la... they are here to work, not make friends with us... hee hee..

Ok, looks like all have gone off... c u gals another day... think HB plan to take leave tomorrow to collect #2's passport &amp; bring #1 horse riding... will probably be out tomorrow... if not, maybe read another chapter of Sing to the Dawn with gal... but very tiring lor... silent reading is enjoyable... reading a whole chapter aloud &amp; doing simultaneous explanation to a young reader is quite taxing... wonder if my Lit teachers felt that way... having to read to us &amp; explaining the text... hahaha...

pinkie...so what is the final price you pay for your new Audi A4?

Today when for gynae checkup. Ask gynae what is the weight of my baby, he say cannot tell from scan and will not be accurate. So how your gynaes tell from your scans? Are your gynaes using some special type of scan?

My gynae told me I will be going for another "detailed" scan at week 36 where I will know the weight of my baby. He says my baby is growing well.

ladies...then likely I will buy the satays from clementi since it's along the way to west coast...

uncertain if i should visit my gynae earlier as I have had rather frequent strong tightening of the tummy coupled wif a little pain...accordingly to mrs wong it could be due to sensitive uterus in which medication might be necessary or possibly braxton hicks which could occur anytime during 2nd tri onwards although most commonly nearing 36 weeks. her advice was to keep a close monitoring and bring forward gynae visit for a check instead of waiting till early nov...

Jade: tot baby weight can tell from the scan machine. gynea will draw a circumference round bb's belly and the software will auto-calculate and estimated weight of the bb.

So nice to meet all of you ladies here. Finally someone that shares the same feelings that i have cos all gg thru the same phase with our edd so close.

Looks like really quite a number of us have doggies!

Mercsboy: Me too, will never give up my dogs one. They are like my kids. Hate it when my mil like to say they smelly, dirty, alot of fur etc! but i dun care lucky we stay on our own so no one can force us to abandon them just becos now got bb. we must stand firm ok! i have seen many dog lovers give up their dogs in the end

Suika: there was once i shaved my dog cos he was scratching so much skin all red. then after that he so cold even in the day he sit there and shiver leh! he looked so ke lian..at first i tot he very sad is it, then i realised he not used to be botak, or bald! haha so i let him wear singlet or t shirt at home for a few weeks lor. then he was happy.

Ni: u have alr shaved your dog so fast? but i guess since schnauzers the fur grow quite fast u are gg to shave one more time b4 pop?

Suika: i read some of the thread u said u got heartburn is it? i also leh, very bad. a lot of gas and i burp so many times a day. Each time the taste is so sour one and sometimes got like foam. it really sucks. Nw i am so dependent on gaviscon day in and out, once i feel a bit coming i have to down a spoonful. Last mth i naughty went to eat laksa and kana such terrible heart burn cannot sleep at night becos of this pain in the chest suffocating me. is due to all the acid and cried myself to sleep cos so uncomfortable the feeling. my gynae cld nt help me, just ask me to go see a gastro. but too bad no gastros cld give me an appointment until the following week, so imagine i was so desperate. nw i am very guai, only can eat boring and bland non oily food in small quantities. u must take care also, heartburn is no fun