(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

As for maids, I've tried Filo & Indo... some basic diff... but at the end of the day, it's more a matter of who suits you better. Pay wise, not much diff these days. Myammar maids, I understand have poorer English standard... so communication can be bad at first... I know a little Malay & it helped that my last maid who is Indo worked in M'sia for 3 yrs... so she understands my Malay & her Eng ok... she's with my sis now & so far sis is ok with her....

Personally, I prefer Filo... maybe the Filo maids I've had were better ones... my immediate neighbour's is Myammer. The girl is quite sweet... but hor, also got bf lor.. when employer went to India for holiday, I heard from my maid & MIL that the guy went to the house a few times... hmmm... I din witness la...

I think any nationality also the same after awhile... more important is their character & attitude & how well they fit in your family.

1st time employers... do note that searching for a good maid may take months... depending on luck. I waited a month for my very 1st one... then in between maids, I've found replacements between a week & 2 mths lor... then factoring the training & them settling in... takes some time too... from experience, a fresh Filo takes about 3 mths to be totally comfortable and confident... a fresh Indo takes 6mths... of course for experienced ones, some of them get the hang of things within a week...

But we also need experience to handle an experienced maid... if not,they climb over our head... maid management comes with experience... be it fresh maids or experienced ones... comes with some trial & errors... but have fun...

wishing all potential new maid employers a smooth sailing experience... =D

talking abt maids... Im thinking of employing a maid at home too. But hubby against it. Worry of leaving the maid alone with bb. I understand his worry coz I was bitten by one of my maids before when I was little.

But if no maid.. then Im thinking hw to settle bb when Im back to work..

Wat do you ladies plan to do?

EmQ, I agree tat fresh Indo maid need abt 6mths to be comfy and confident.

Giggler: oh..tats good. My ideal plan will be my own parents with maid and kids lor. But my parents are not staying wif me and they are very busy ppl. Not home kind. so cant.

Storing BM.. hmmm.. I got the Pigeon bags to store. lighter to bring ard (if need to pump at office, then bring home) and can dispose off after use, dun need to wash. hee.. but glass bttles sounds good. I like.

miaiko: i intend to be a SAHM for 6 months, employ a maid, and hoppes to train her within 6 mths. den leave the bb with the maid, hopefully by then will be trustworthy enuff. got no better choices. MIL and Mum dun wanna help out!

Miaiko: From experience, it's still better to leave baby with maid if there's someone to watch over... that is the safest but I won't say 100% safe even... cos I had maid who stole & used home phone without permission while MIL was home! If maids have bad intention, nothing will stop them...

Then for safety sake, as long as kids are still young & unable to stand up for themselves, I dun trust maids with them... even the trustiest maids are not the parents/ grandparents... if anything goes wrong, would they be responsible? Even the Jurong West nanny shirked from her responsibilities when baby suffered brain damage... so... ???

Also, let's face it, even as parents, there are days when we feel really off... & bark at our kids... of course no one will 'charge' us for that... maybe our kids will complain when they grow up la... hahaha...

The scary thing is that some of the maids who abuse the kids were loving to the kids in front of the parents lor... so always safe to have an extra pair of eyes or someone at home... at least, it's a deterent if maid is thinking of doing something she should not... also, having extra help at home can alley fresh maids' fear of new environement & handling new baby, etc...

Things will be better when kids are older & can report matters, etc... or can argue with maid...

ok, me going to read to #1 now... come back later... seems like #2 also want a piece of me... MIL just carried her away...

BBL..

ni: me too planning to stay at home for 6mths to take care of bb..also has plan like u.. get a maid and train her during this 6mths. But hubby dun like the idea..
U got a maid already?
My parents too busy to commit. and I will nv want my MIL to look after, even with maid. I had too many complaints abt her.

EmQ: yup.. understand wat u r saying and totally agree. Had experienced a few maids before while Im not married yet. tat's why i understand my hubby's worry.

ladies.. u all dun go for lunch ah? I just have my Macdon..hehehcos raining so lazy to walk..so order mcdon..anyway I feel that I m a bad mummy....alway eat food that's not healthy..

miaiko: i dun like the idea of mil taking care of my bb. the #1 top reason will be, if mil do things not u do not agree with, u cannot scold her or correct her. She will say, "aiya, your husband also brought up this way what!" hate this sentence! but if u using a maid, u can get the maid to do things in ur preferred way.

anyway, miaiko, me have found a maid yet. still actively sourcing. how abt u? my hubby also disagreed to the idea of getting a maid but in the end i won the battle. haha. need to reason out the pros and cons with ur hubby

ni: I'm also against my MIL taking care of my son for that reason. I would like to minimise conflicts where possible. Hence I've decided to continue to stay at home to look after my child myself. Did contemplate going back out to work.

Just like yesterday, I wanted to take home the handmedowns she got from her neighbour. She insisted I sort them out at their place. Those I say don't want, cos there were stains, she'd say: "It's still quite new". Told her I could give the pink ones away, she said: "You can save them for your next child." When I said that my mum had already bought alot of nappies, she said: "But these are very high quality ones". Sigh. I give up. Since you have your own opinion of things and refuse to accept mine, do what you want. Whether or not I will let my son use those is my choice too.

cjteng: oh. sorri. I read wrongly. I tot u wrote "i juz got my MC done". haha.. silly of me. so it's McDonald. yummy!!!!!

ni: yah! Agree. precisely I cant stand the way my mil behaves an do things. Not to my standard. and yes, she loves to say tat sentence too! and always last time this last time tat, why now muz this or tat. haiyo..

Me not sourcing yet. coz hubby not agree. So.. will wait and see how lor. coz I may stop working (resign).. then me got no more pay. Everything on hubby also a burden. now economy bad.. so gotta think further..

ya man. MIL are headaches. hope i will be a nice MIL many yrs later. hahaa. for me, i am a "uh, ah, orh" DIL.. hahhaa. whatever she say i say shrug it off with a uhhh, ahhh, orhhh... hahaha.. Then do another different style when i am back home..

miaiko:haha dun say that la..maybe is I wrote not in a gd way to read..cos My eng not that gd..so simetime hard to expresss my feeling in a gd way for u all to understand.:p

ange: ya, can understand your feeling..since u know your mil..next time try not to do those thing in front of her to aviod those misunderstanding..and cum also will not spoil our day..
cheer up...old folk s like that..

ni:yaya, me also..hehe..anyway answer them and let them happy lor..but on handle of thing..we have our thinking ma..if all follow them..then thing will work difficult for us leh..:p

haha... ni, sama sama... me also like that... sometimes, i will voice out lah... but most times me just shut up keep quiet lor...

old folks are like that lah, try and save lor...

sperzz, you tum tum quite big! hehe and nice shape... mine like more longish then round...

think mine still look small..now at my 28wks..time fly fast..hehe but I wan it more faster..so I can see my lit Jovan..hahahaha

miaiko: i also have to employ a maid, my mum works at 4pm, so the maid will have to be alone with the baby for 2hrs+ before i reach home. but initial period will be tough coz my hubby have class every mon/wed/fri so i have to juggle around myself + i got part time work...so its double tough for me...but no choice lor.

sperzz: my tummy also about your size leh...mine also round round one...supposingly ppl said boy should be pointed.

i noticed that u are very good at finding links leh...i trying to find clothes book...u think can help me find the link??? i cant find leh

cjteng: I wanted to bring home everything to sort out one and wash them myself. My MIL insisted I sort them out in front of her and she'll help me wash. She's the one who say if there's anything I don't want, just dont take. But everything I don't want she also want to keep. So why bother asking me to sort? She say one thing do one thing one la.

Ni: I've become that kind of daughter in law also. Whatever she says: I just ORH. Now that I've learnt to filter and ignore, hubby and I have less squabbles over her.

sperzz: ur boy quite gd looking leh. ur tummy so nice and round! my gal too but my tum tum looks more pointy leh. Feel like touching ur round tummy! hehe..

cjteng: no.. sometimes I tend to read very fast. just glimpse kind. even my hubby can catch up. so I think i read wrongly lor. hehe.

ni:I took it at nite and at 28 weeks. Usually very bloated at nite. My boi very cheeky, got alot of pattern.

cjteng: my boi now 41/2yrs old. He already said he will take care meimei n sometime ask mi to buy toys for her. Yest he saw some Hello kitty bibs, he wanted me to buy for meimei

sperzz: woah! ur tummy really BIG... mine still quite small, i still look like i'm fat leh. ur son looks happy to hv a mei mei, tat's gd.

u all talking abt maid employmt... i'm also considering but like miaiko, hb dun like the idea of another person in the house leh... both mom n mil r wking, so sooner or later, must think of some way or else can't go back to wk liao.

hmm.. talking abt being a DIL. at first Im also the kind who is ok, ok, sure.. Orh.. Yah.. but as time goes by, my MIL getting more and more rude and demanding and loud towards me. When she pushes my tolerance level further than I can hold, I will not respond and just keep quiet. Push me even further, unhappiness will be written on my face liao.

ju: yah lor.. seems like u and me same. Gotta think how coz I wanna go back to work. Dun wanna put bb to infant care centre coz way too expensive as compared to employing a maid.

miaiko: yah lor, nanny is also very expensive. some more a maid at home can help do hsewk. but hb very concerned tat maid will abuse the freedom when we r not ard.

MIL issues must handle one... jus act blur and nod head all the way... aviod conflict... but sometimes they can b quite aggressive one... my case, is my mom not my mil that is the aggressive one... sigh..

sperzz: really envious of u... son so guai1... hope ur gal will grow up happy n understanding towards her bro.

sprezz: so cute of your boy..next time I want to train my Jovan to be good if I have another one.hope I can tan han and have the 2nd want fast..so to closed factory..cos preg..s not an easy process..so xin ku lor..haiz..

sperrz: think as long as no one neglects him then shd b ok. of cos that is easier said than done.. i wonder whether i 'll hv the energy to take care of both when i got 2. u'll know wat to do when u r there.

ju: Your mum is the aggressive one? My mum is the one that keeps me sane. Listening to my whinings when the MIL makes me puke blood. Hahaha

ladies.. I feel a bit pain pain on the below tummy.. the pain is like kana blueblack tyoe of pain..anyone also like that?