(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

ni, sus
It's true, from about Wk 38, gynae will do a cervix check by sticking his/her fingers in to measure and feel the cervix. They use their fingers to measure the dilation or lack of . During labour the midwife and/or gynae will periodically do the same. That's worse. So agonising when you're in the middle of painful uncomfy contractions.

suika,
Natural delivery can get up and walk as soon as you feel up to it. Within a couple of hours or so. C sect, they will insist you walk the next day whether you like it or not.

linah,
Welcome to the thread. I've gained 7 kg within 24 weeks
. Gynae said OK.

sus, our apt will be biweekly after 28weeks, then weekly after 36 week.

actually i enjoy my 2nd trimester, enjoy the baby swimming inside me, kicking me.

not looking forward to give birth coz' scared of postpartum depression, not sure if i can handle crying baby, have difficulty breastfeeding, MIL issues..etc

cjteng: always busy everyday here. my official knocking off time is 6.30pm, but pple here don leave on the dot, so I also pai seh to leave early. so will stay till 7pm. very late right.

sus: I got a shock when they told me just nw too, but slowly get accustomed to the idea that some man going to stick his finger up into my V, whether I like it or not. but like the other mummies say, it's going to be quick. so hopefully it's not as terrible as we imagine.

for mums going off, bye!!!

kamy: But I think its gonna be embarrasing wif ur hubby around too rite? Guess bo pian..

cheekygal: true I also have these concerns.. try to have more pple around you to support I hear very impt to prevent PP depression. I also like the feeling of bb kicking.. recently bb has been kicking quite hard =)

was wondering if any mummies not getting CL?

its just my mother cooking but not staying over... m breasfeeding n its my first time too..

any advice?

Hi flo,
Im a first-time mum and not getting a CL as well.. my MIL will stay over and hubby may help out..
I think some others in the forum are also getting catered confinement food with maids to help out.
If you mum can help with cooking and taking care of bb, should be ok? But night times might be tiring for you if she doesnt stay over? some of the experienced mums here have shared their experiences.. maybe they can advice u better =)

this thread move so fast.. by time i want to continue with charlotte's web story, i don't where all your topics have drifted to liao. anyway, back track a little...

i was also toying with the idea of calling my son Wilbur.. but then.. associating by son with a pig.. er.... haha.... so i'm glad i'm having a girl.

really jinx wor. i also remember when i first got preg, i was good and fine. then pple keep asking if i got ms or what, and i happily say no. then soon after, ms came and i also kenna flu and cold. it was a terrible 1st tri.

i can't stop buying stuff for my girl. gosh... how ah?

btw, i won't be attending the BBQ. cos really got many birthday parties gg on in Oct. sorry gals. next time ba...

did i see the word shaving correctly? u mean natural birth also need to shave our down-there? aiyoh.. can't see how to shave? can we go to a pro to wax instead? *ouch*

hi flo,
Sorry, can't help as I'm engaging CL. Very expensive but my mum convinced me to get it. she just wants me to have a good rest.
I heard many pple just have day-time help like yours, and they breastfeed at night, and rest in the day. should be no problem. I have a fren who was a first time mum and did it with no problem. In fact, she said she enjoyed her confinement, surfing net and playing with baby.
Maybe other mums can advise you their own experience?

Ello ladies...

I cleared my glucose test. No gestational diabetes. *phew* Managed to control my weight gain too. At week 24+ I gained 11.5kg in total. Now @ week 28, I gained 12kg in total. Up by 0.5kg. Baby grew from 780g to 1.1+kg. He even opened his eyes for abit and moved his lips today.

Told my gynae I got a feeling that baby might come earlier, some time end dec. She told me end dec's still ok. Cos she'll be on holiday for one week in mid dec. Hahaha

flo,
I'm not having a CL either. Did not have one for my boy in 07 either. Catered confinement food. Hb took 2 weeks off to help babysit and with chores around the house. I have a PT lady who does the major cleaning once a week. Might ask her to come in extra to do the floor another day during the week for a while. Fully breastfed both my kids til 18 months
. Personally, I find that if I want to fully breastfeed, I don't entertain much hope of getting much rest whether day or night. I try to sleep when the bb sleeps (which in the beginning may be very very little). 24 hour TV helps with the breastfeeding. Heh heh. Last time I discovered nostalgic reruns at 3 am in the morning - Remington Steele!
My girl was born in the States, didn't have confinement lady then either but my aunty came over to help cook for me.

janjan,
My gyne did not require me to shave down there for natural birth.

Wow A-n-g-e, you gained 11.5kg? Great that you cleared the glucose test. I think my gynae would flip if I gained that much weight. I was so heavy to begin with.

Priviledged: Yeah, weight shot up alot every month in the 2nd trimester. That's why my doc ordered the glucose test. But glad I cleared it and that my weight's stabalising.

mi oso no CL but mum will be helping out...as it will be CNY period thus hubby will nt be working for a good 2 weeks at least too...

ange...dats coolz...for the past 4 weeks onli 0.5kg and ur boy is of a good weight too....

ange...getting on fine in work...shacked out everyday which is good...wun sleep too late le..hee

dazed...the bb show is on NOW....9.30pm at channel U...repeat telecast at 11.30pm

thanks gals for the replys..

our plan was to get a tsf maid from my sis, but as of 2 mths ago my sis got some marital problems so the maid will stay put...

then decided to get help from my mil's maid, but she got admitted to hospital yday for chronic bone infection... so she's out for at least 3 mths

so xian...

any recommendations for part time maid in punggol area?

found an interesting link... its got alot of informative listings (under quick links in home page)

http://sg.******************/home.php

ladies, I juz went to 1 of the seller hse to get my BP items, when up to her hse to take a look at the new stocks. Really regretted going up, spend $$ again. She got so many nice n cheap clothes there, spend some $$ n got some clothes for my gal again. Heng I manage to stop seeing if not I will go broke. If u ladies interested, can go her hse n take a look. I can PM u her HP no. She stay in Woodlands.

MTBs,
just came back frm TTSH, my sis undergoing the surgery to remove her appendix later tonight.. poor little girl cried when the doc/nurse told her gotta do surgery.. hehe...

thanks for those who answered my qn on the pulling pain.. glad there are ppl who also experiece it.. was abit scared when i feel the pain lo.. dunno wat happened inside the tummy.. sometimes can also feel that something is pulling at the belly-button..

shall rest le.. talk to you all again tml... nitex..

Sus:

Thanks for the info on the CCK BBQ restaurant =)
Actually I have passed it many times when I go walking with my son....just never crossed the road to go check out what they had! Great! At least i dont have to travel so far to get my share of satays!

Wah really so many more boys than gals for Jan 09!

Last time when I had my boy...was also a 'boy season'.....now having a gal....its not a 'gal season' ! hahaha!

ange...

wow...your bb already 1.1+kg...!! u in 29th week already?? tat's the estimated wt for 29th week bb... ohhh...*envy*

dazed: bb kick again, cant sleep ah?

I was up early cos so hungry!

piyo: my counter says 100 days! our EDD must be v near =)

sel: hope your sis is ok. dont worry, i've been thru that before, but it was not removed. turned out to be some kind of infection instead.

samval: maybe its just mood swings? have something nice to eat like ice cream to cheer up? its fri.. can go home early? huga

Gd Morning!

Yesterday i went to charles & Keith and buy a bag.. I find that I buy it for free leh..cos when I saw my recp it show *.** in the total cost.. I ask the ladies.. have the payment pass thru..she say yes..But when hb reach home..hb see the recp say that.. the payment is not approval....should i return the $ to the shop??

TGIF! It's the weekend. And my craving for waffles with ice cream is back! Been having waffles with ice cream for the past 2 saturdays. Hehe

Morning people!! Great! It's Friday, can leave early! Must pia finish all the stuff then go home and play. Yesterday, know that can eat raw salmon, I went on a sashimi kill... so blessed...

jan/sperzz - to stop buying stuff, very easy, follow wat the 3 monkeys do, see no sales, hear no sales, say no sales lor. ahahaha..

ange - congrats on clearing the glucose test. whao, 11.5kg in 29wks, think i'm closing on the gap too and i've not been eating sweet stuff leh...

dazed - poor thing, can't sleep, hope u dun feel too "dazed" 2day.

samval - today is Friday!.. dunno whether it means that u'll b free aft 2day's wk.

sperzz - i chk my bk, the "engagement" is 36wks. give me some time, i type out the full extract fr the bk... wait huh.

cjteng: depends on u lor.. for me i will go back to the shop and own up and say the payment never go thru and pay for it lor. up to individual i guess.

3rd trimester highlight: Engagement process

At some point in the last few weeks of your pregnancy, your baby will begin his descent into the pelvis - the start of his journey down the birth canal. THis process is known as "engagement" or sometimes as "lightening". First babies are more prone to engage earlier, possibly at around 36wks, but it doesn't mean the birth is imminient. It is still likely to be several weeks b4 ur bb is born. 2nd or subsequent babies oft dun engage until the final week of preganancy - and in some instances, not until labour begins.

Extracted from "Pregnancy questions & answers - everything you need to know trimester by trimester" by the experts at BabyCentre.co.uk

Hope this is useful.