(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

kath,
really?? but i fed him FM b4 when he was abt a mth old but dun seem to hav allergy ler... must bring him for the allergy test fast... i hate to guess!

jes,

try fruits puree .. All babies have sweet tooth ..so generally they love sweet stuff.. U can add into cereal .. Try with apple, pear, banana puree .. Its a good start .. Errm .. pumpkin is nice too .. Give it a shoot .. but dont force them if ur bb really dont like it .. Try with 1 tablespoon and slowly increase to 2 tablespoon .. U may just feed him with 1-2 tablespoon of fruits to begin with .. Don stress out ..

jowin,
yes BF will still have mense..mine came back the moment i went back to work (tt's was in apr).
super sian to hv AV again mthly rite..

Kath,
I think u really had it enuff fm ur IFC rite? poor Zach..as long as u can work out ur new arrangment (nanny) with the new caregiver well then i think shd be good for Zach..ur hb okie with it too?

I stop bb kayson on solids for this whole wk..haiz..he's been sick for 1 whole wk..started with cough n flu but worsen to serious diaper rash..I have already took 1 wk of urgent leave to look after him.. he crys n sceams everytime he poos n pee cause it's hurts! been to 2 docs already but still dont see improvement...his diaper rash is so bad that the skin is practically peeling... now i'm using nappy cloth instead of diapers ..need his butt to really air dry n recover..really pains me to see him in such pain..
what else can i do to help him recover fm his serious diaper rash????

Jes,

I was talking to my PD just this wk about food allergic .. According to them, they might be ok when u try out first time but doesnt mean they wont develop allergic reaction after a few try .I wanted to do a comprehensive allergy test for Evan since he has bad ezcema and I dont want to subject him to uneccessary food allergy .. The cost is SGD390 and it test a whole list of foods ( from nuts, milk, ,meat, vege, fruits, dairy pdt and etc). U can choose btwn Asian or Western. Asian covers more ecxotic food..

But, my doc didnt recommend me doing it cos she said bb are building up their immunity and it might be a waste of $$. Their body changes and adapt quickly .. Usually it will be more accurate when they turn 2 yrs old.

evanmummy,
this is my 2nd time intro semi solid to my boy liao, 1st time was 3wks then i stpped for 2 wks n juz resumed yesterday... and watever u named here i almost tried already... the very last time was fuji apple, it was so sweet but he still not interested, most of the time i was either throw away all e food or let my elder boy finish it.... frankly speaking i'm kind of frustrated lor...

Kath ah.. i asks my mum earlier but she say she wants to retire liao..Age is catching up with her also,though she loves baby but she afraid she might not have the energy anymore. Sorry ah.. cannot help. Where you work? Is CCK ok? My boss nanny wanna quit her job lei..

Hello Zachmommy, just checking if ur Zach has done a prick test? How was it?

Jes, sorry to interrupt u. My boy also is allergic to rice cereal. Was told to drop it and start with normal homecooked porridge. sometimes, the process of making rice cereal might change the antigen of rice or there might be cross contamination.

EvanMummy, can i checked with u where's ur PD? For $390, how many antigens are tested? If it is more than 10, it is def worth it cos usually one antigen testing (i.e. one prick test) is $40.

pastillies,
Daniell had quite bad nappy rash b4 & i used Daktarin powder & it's really good, but not cheap, a small bottle cost me $17 from my PD & if buy at pharmacy then even more ex...

evanmummy,
i'm going to bring both my boys for the test coz both them also hav allergy condition, but where ur PD? very ex ler ur one... if i do 2 then it's going to burn our pocket really big hole..

Bear,

Its more than 10 antigens.. Its like a whole list of fruits, vegetables, meat, nuts, dairy ( even cheese), even seafood and etc ..

But you got to wait for 4-6 weeks bcos they send it to Australia.. And will give you a comprehensive report ( Indicating whether ur bb is no reaction, low reaction or HIGH).. and even can advise u if has low reaction.. U can feed your bb but not more than how many ML in order to avoid allergy ... Cool right .. really comprehensive ..

Its at Olive Tree Baby & Kids at Forum
Tel: 67386488

I must say my PD Dr Tan Siew Pin is really great.. She allows mummy to call and check with her if ur bb is unwell .. So to decide whether u shld rush down to see her.. She takes call after clinic hour as well.. There is once i called her just to ask how come my boy didnt pooh pooh for a day .. She patiently explained .. She's amazing ..

xiaohwa,
u knw wat the best is i work in stat board. I told my boss if i plant o give birth again then i should give birth in Aug so by Dec i am back so wont affect my apprasial since they only take 1st half yr into consideration cos ranking done in end July. Then my boss nothing to say..

i find that baby Ervin dun like rice cereal also. But he love the homecook porridge. When is porridge his mouth will auto open when see the spoon coming towards him. Then he eat hor very good no porridge will be out of his mouth. When he full liao he will turn away then we stop feeding.

i used to give him rice cereal that time is like fighting with him lei. And he will try to split it out and get get really messy.

Now i am glad he like the homecook porridge..

wow.. so many post today and i m real busy till now only eating lunch..

Have not express milk yet.. The thought of menses coming and pumping milk together.. sound yucky.. LOL.. Like bottom flowing.. on top also flowing.. =P

talking abt weight.. me lost alot instead..
Abit too much already.. gain about 9-10kg for pregnancy.. now lost about 5 kg from pre-pregnancy weight.. total lost about 15kg

Snowger.. i almost reach 45kg now... remember we chatted on msn.. that i m 48kg? Now 45kg. drop almost 3kg again

ok la.. back to work.. very sianz...

EvanMummy, this is taking ur baby's blood then? if it is, then i have to say it might not be accurate.
I myself did it and I m allergic to 78 different things. Becos i m so hyper allergenic, my body reacts to everything, even though i m not allergic to them. my immune system is in overdrive.

Anyway I went to see an allergist and she said usually a prick test is more accurate (cos it measures the strength of the actual reaction of ur body). Although a prick test is not all encompassing cos there are simply too many antigens around!

All the same i think $390 is very cheap.

Re: milk allergy
If u suspect ur bb is allergic to milk, i would recommend u to go get ur bb tested. Allergist said if allergic to milk/ egg, most likely will be allergic to other things.

Snowger/Stella,

Tues is good, will PM you both my HP. My lunch is flexi too so can meet at 1pm.

Just now I went shopping at Fox Baby, having sale now and Citibank also having additional 20% discount.

Gonna try pumpkin puree for her again. She hated the potato puree even after mixing some milk in, guess it's too raw tasting. Seems to enjoy fruit puree like apple and pear better coz it tastes sweeter i guess. I think one mummy was asking where are the shops selling organice stuff around vivo area. One is on the 3rd floor at Harbourfront next to the food court. The other is at Cold Storage Vivo itself next to Guardians Pharmacy. I just bought some organice japanese pumpkin from there.

Bear, thanks for remembering me! Zach did his prick test last week and it is confirmed he is allergy to cow's milk and soy milk. Hence now i hv to continue breastfeeding till he outgrow the allergy, which PD say usually they will but under some circumstances they will not.

Chantalle, no prob! I understand.. worse come to worse i stay home n take care of him. Hoping that my savings can last till he is 1.5years old

Zachmommy,

My PD also recommend me to switch milk .. to Alimentum .. Think similac have this series ..

Zachmommy, where did u get the test done? How much u paid for it ?

stella, i took the test from Kinder Clinic done by Dr Dawn. Cost me less than $300.. i got a sample tin of Alfare from her..yet to let Zach try.

Bear,
My PD charge one prick test for $10. But there is a one-off fixed cost for the control test (which is $30).

Pastillies,
The last time I visited my GP cum dermatologist downstairs my place. Recover within 3 days aft using his cream. Cos the steroid cream PD gave only made her rash worse...

Jes,
Just to share lar...

There are a few things which may cause the baby not want to eat solids:
1. They are not ready (or maybe it's they just dun like the taste. Iemik0's bb boi oso dun like cereal but he likes apples... :p)
2. They are overly-tired (i.e. they rather take milk fr bottle. Easier to suck. cos eating got to learn mah)
3. They are overly-hungry (same as abv, drinking milk gives them "fast" and "confirmed" relieve to hunger).
4. They are not hungry!!!

If u really wanna feed solids, can try the following:
1. sweeter fruits (Low allergen ones like Royal Gala apples and pears. Make sure they are all ripe & sweet. Steam them + puree before giving) and Root vege which are low allergen (can try pumpkin cos it's sweet n taste is not as strong as carrots) - yr boi got allergy rite? Just check with PD first before giving...

2. If the baby does not seem to like the food, try again another time (e.g. 3 to 4days later). Move on to another food.

3. Choose a good relaxed timing when feeding (usually late morning is a good time. after they wake up from a nap).
4. If ur boi is already very hungry what u can do is, give half of full feed milk (e.g. full feed is 4oz, u give 2 oz). After finish, give the solids, let him take whatever he can. Then give him the remaining 2oz...

TIP: Usually babies who just start weaning will tend to push the food out using their tongue, so one method is: Dun pull out the spoon so quickly, leave it in their mouth n let them take in it... Aft a while, lift spoon upwards to help them empty the spoon.

Zachmommy,

I just help u to check with my office coffee auntie ..She has some good friend babysitting .. Are u keen ? According to her got one is pretty gd.. They stay at Bkt Purmei? If u r keen I'll get the contact from her and u can interview them..

Stella,

Go to the "Profiles" at the top of the SMH website. Go down the list to "Preference". U have to unclick this "Do not send me "Private Message" e-mails from other board users"

After u do that, other users just have to click on ur nick to send private message to u through ur email (given when u register).

Jappooh,

U r school teacher also?

kath,
is Dr Dawn ur regular PD? i called kinder clinic juz now & they told me tat actually best to let the baby does the test after 1YO unless both parents also hav food allergy condition, but if really wan to do then best to get her consultation 1st to view the case wor... aiyo dunno how much it's going to be like tat...

btw, can ask u.. since Zach is allergy to cow's milk & u r BF-ing him, does it mean tat other than cow's milk, u also cannot eat anything tat contain cow's milk like ice cream, cheese etc??

stella/Yogi,
So onz... Next Tues (14 Jul), 1pm. I see u guys where in Vivo???

yogi,
which fox outlet u go? Citibank got extra disc? Woohoo... I wan to go n see see oso... Maybe buy a few casual tops for myself... :p

For potato puree, I buy the white meat potato instead of the yellow one. The white meat potato are more widely used for puree (e.g. the mash potato at KFC). I feel the yellow one has an uncooked taste if not mixed with gravy(e.g. it taste better when cooked in curry).

Bubble,
SMS me ur bank a/c. I transfer money to u first. Then u pass to my mum can? Thanks!

jes,
I asked a PD abt how our diet as BFing mums will affect babies. She said usually will not unless u eat in super excessive amounts leh...

e.g. u have a fiesta eating nothing but crabs and other shell fish (e.g. oysters, la-la, etc)for dinner...

I asked her abt caffine too. She told me yes a very small amt will go into the BM. When I mentioned that the caffine in BM will affect the baby, a fellow mother told me that it actually got to do with the baby and not the caffine in BM... Haha...

jes / snowger
i seen GP twice & given me the 2 tubes of cream to apply..already the 2nd cream which was given suppose to contain a bit of steroid n antibiotic ..so can only apply twice a day...maybe i'm over anxious and want results fast, as poor bb kayson has already been suffering the last few days.

i already stop applying desitin as was told to "let the skin" breath n heal.but is it really enuff to just apply thin layer of cream 2X a day..??

havent seen his PD yet, but intend to do so as even the GP says if 1-2 days no improvment after applying the cream then to see PD is better..

Snowger
where's ur GP cum dermatologist at? u stil kept the cream? can let me know the name, in case i have already gotten the cream fm my GP..

snowger,
believe it or not, i've tried all the things that u mentioned above except not giving Gala apple to Daniell but fuji apple also very sweet mah... i've thot all the possible way when came to feeding time but still no improvement, the only thing tat i can do is keep on trying, if he still dun wan to eat then gotta stop again, walau dunno how long it's going to drag then...

as for BF-ing mum's diet, my PD also told me the same thing, anyway i already avoided cow's milk, some of the seafood & peanuts... but there was one time i discovered tat Daniell developed some rashes on his back after i had brownie tat contain nut, dunno if it is coinccident or not, never try for 2nd time since then...

pastillies,
for diaper rash i nv use steroid cream ler, only use the nappy rash powder, i dun like to use cream on his butt coz i find it very sticky ler so i already stopped using cream since very very long time ago...

bbpearl,
huh organic & the normal one of fuji apple different taste ar? if no diff then i dun think i will buy bah... i'm not so into organic stuff... hehe

jes, i dunno leh..but that organic one v sweet leh..cos dunno why sometimes the fuji apples i buy one like tasteless..same, Gerard also not into organic, gotten teether biscuit and cereal all organic, he dun like..except this apple..which i like it too! I puree it..my niece tasted and she like it too..

posting on zachmommy's behalf as she has problem on posting:

jess,
snowger is rite. Even allergy specialist will tell u that mommy must eat in moderation. only a very small % of the food we eat goes to our milk. havign said tat, i dun really eat dairy product.. i onie hv 1 tablespoon of Anmum everymorning wif milo and other than that i eat cheese once in a blue moon. Nuts oso not my favie..so far so good! Hope to keep it that way

Kath
How can the teacher say till like that! say oh zach did it by hmself! so f!@# up teacher lor. so Not responsible! which IFC? really must ban them! Kath anyway u got swim diaper? i go kiddy palae no sell leh.. where got sell?

bbpearl
thans for telling me babyfox sale. when down to JP just now. i was so so tired. didnt shop for anything but a last pc swim suit! haha but then when u buy fox clothes and u got a citibank credit card you got a ADDITIONAL Discount! quite shiok leh. i buy the suite like $23. and total amt is 11+. like 50% off liao lor. Hehehehee

fabbie
i bought a non-disposable swim diaper from bumwear (www.bumwear.com, or go to their shop in United square). but i think you can also buy disposable ones. i saw before, huggies brand, selling at united square cold storage.

wa u all make me feel like speeding down to United Square to the Fox Kids there ... dammit!! ..

I like their toddler dresses .. so affordable .. but when there's a sale, it's quite cheap ..

eh, fabbie ... put your dotter in her new swimsuit and take a pic leh .. put on your blog .. I want to see ..

fabbie, alr decided to pull zach out from IFC.

now searching for good babysitter.

todae no mood to work mabbe cos in my mind i kept tinking wehther shuld i resign or not

kath

if you can afford it and have your hb's support, you should quit and be a SAHM...of course downside is lesser household income...but you get to spend more time with zach..and you can tbf too...

it's always a give and take situation...

evanmommy, yeah my PD gv bb Fusicort too and yes we massage till all is absorbed and then we will apply physiogel AI over it. I hate to use the steriod cream so after 2days, I stopped since it was recovering and I just apply physiogel. However now my aunt claims that physiogel doesn't work since her eczema area is peeling/scaly and like threatening to turn into open wounds...

Not helping too is my aunt's place- a literal oven during the day. Btw, her affected area is chin, neck and upper chest. Now her arm joints are getting it too