(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

echo
I m not sure I hv the patient to try the sleep solution leh. Now everyday already so tired..want to quickly lie down n sleep at nite cos will wake up early to work every morning.. do u think bb will self wean off b4 they reached 1 yr old?

Echo, when my bb cries n left unattended, she will scratched herself silly leaving behind a badly scratched face, back of ear n chest.... As such I dun think CIO method works for me

bulb
From what I've read, it's unlikely that baby will self wean by 1 year old. But it's true that nursing to sleep is the easiest way to get baby to sleep. For breastfed babies, that is. But sleep training definitely needs patience. I'm also not very good at it. Which is why my girl still suckles to sleep and still doesn't sleep through the night.

Ikeike
The no cry sleep solution is not CIO. I don't believe in CIO which is why this book is suitable for me. So it may be suitable for you too. Let me know if you want to borrow it.

Chantalle,
i have stop latching my baby after he turn 3mths. From 3rd mths till 6mths he is on EBM. And b4 that i only latch him during the nite morning he is on EBM using bottle. After 6mths he totally on FM liao. Now i already no more breast milk. Thats why wonder why he is so sticky now.

tamms...for the aquaduck trial...the mum will be swimming with the baby??there states no floatation will be use...so baby is only wearing swimsuit??i scared lei..cos i myself don noe how to swim lei...and also i no swimsuit..haha...still can join?

hey ivy
Don't worry, you will be standing in the pool holding baby, no swimming on your part! At this stage, baby will not really be swimming either, just swooshing around in the water and having fun. No swim suit should be ok lah

Aquaducks
So far I have 6 mommies interested, that's enough to form 1 class. If any other mommies wanna join, u can still send me your details, I will try to organise another trial session when I have another 6 names. Lets keep our fingers crossed and hope that the swim people will get back to me with a confirmed date asap

Any mummies started their bbs on Enfapro?

My gal is going to be 7mths old in 10 days time. I'm wondering if i shld just give my gal Enfapro the moment she turns 7 mths old or shld i slowly intro her fr Enfalac to Enfapro?

echo,

heh ... u r rite .. I've breastfed my babies #2 - #4 and all suckled to sleep .. but it's fine .. I don't think it breeds dependence either.

I've also never had the heart to do the CIO method ..

Jowin,

rac0422, can i confirm u would be taking the items from zachmummy, jowinbaby, jaclyn and little mini? So i will be collecting for u and ur 2 friends or maybe one of them can arrange with the seller for pickup?

zachmummy as rac has bought over ur food jar.. thanks to pm me ur account no i refund u the postage of 3 dollars which u have paid thanks:)

hi mommies, need to consult u all now.

although this is my 2nd baby, i've totally forgotten how to feed my baby solids! he has tried spoonfuls of cereal now. so how much should he be taking in a day? one meal? or two meals? each time half bowl??

many thanks!

ann01jan, regards clothings for 12july PS, think i will be bringing, LFC jesery for family pix taking and normal rompers lor..nvr get many clothings for Gerard..somemore..bois clothes not that cute compare to Gal!

talking abt solids.. i feel like a lousy mummy.
Cayenne will cry very pitifully whenever she take her rice cereal. I thot the last time i gave her nana with apple the taste too strong that's why she dun like, but it dun seems the case lei. She cried with plain rice cereal also. We are so afraid of feeding her now. My MIL dun evn dare to try because after one spoon, she will cry and behanve very cranky for the rest of the day.. Should I give her porridge and forget about rice cereal?

chantalle,
my boy also dun wan to eat & tat time i was thinking to cook porridge for him instead but my PD said dun coz they will not eat coz porridge's texture is more 'rough' than cereal so if they dun eat cereal at all dun think they will wan to eat porridge... for my case i already stopped giving food to my boy, let him 'rest' for 1 or 2 weeks then i'll retry again...

but i think different babies may bahave differently bah, if u wan then can try but make sure the porridge is cooked until very very fine...

chantalle,
take ur time to try diff food yea. my boy also hates cereal (u shd see his miserable face on my FB pixs!). then i try adding diff puree.. so far he luv pear & pumpkin best coz sweet. carrot, sweet potato also ok. for banana, buy those small ones coz sweeter. & when u add the fruit puree, can add in the juice also yea..

mummies, the 12 July photo session is for bb only or can take family photo?

30 minutes can take how many outfit for bb to change le?

dbaby
As an intro, you can start by giving your bb 1-2 tsps of rice cereal. The consistency should be close to milk (just slightly thicker). If baby eats well, you can then try to increase 1-2tsps every other day. If your baby enjoys his/her food, he/she should be able to eat at least 1-2 tbsps by the end of the month. Hope this helps.

bbpearl.. if sat go can only after 2 or maybe 3 or 4 then reach there. cus sat my hub working leh.. you intending to go what time?

Chantalle,

i give baby Ervin plain rice cereal. He dun like but he still manage to force him finish. after i finish 1 box i didnt buy again. Yesterday my MIL let him try porridge. He like it and start to cry when my MIL is too slow in feeding him. actually my MIL cook that porridge for my elder boy so let didi try some to see he like anot.

so far didnt try to add puree yet.

Hi rachel,

my mil use the slow cooker to cook the porridge, when the prorridge become cook and big she will scoop out the portion for my elder boy the continues to cook till is very fine.

She use ikan biils to boil the water then add meat and brocilli to cook. But the brocilli and meat is remove after my elder portion one is ready loh.

Thanks Jappooh..So does it mean that ur #2 only get to drink the plain porridge as the meat & broccoli are removed?

Jlow,

We can take together with our baby. They din charge extra for that. Grandparents of bb also free of charge. So u can choose whether u want to take together with ur bb or not.

Actually I am not going to change too many clothes cause my gal really hate to get changed. She will scream very loudly whenever we change her.

Perhaps I will have 1 change of clothes n strip her down to diaper onli & take another set. They will have several setting so it still look good to have same clothes for different setting. I dun want waste time on changing clothes.

Chantalle,
actually i also dunno ler but for me case my boy rejects everything... the very last time i made apple puree for him using Fuji apple which is very sweet but he also dun wan to eat!

rachel,

my mum cook the porridge with 1 meat n 1 vegetable, over the stove. after tat, she scoop the porridge into the strainer n strain it. so it is quite like puree form. she will feed my gal during lunch time, around 12noon (1st feed), afte that she place the remaining porridge inside the slow cooker n keep it warm throughout till 5 pm for the 2nd feed.

Meat tried so far: Japanese scallops, pork (yao1 rou4), fish (threadfin)
Vegetables tried so far: pumpkin, spinach, potato, sweet potato (NO GOOD), brocoli

rachel,
the porridge is fine and thick not very watery one. Ya didnt give him the meat and briccoli yet cos is in those big piece.

Will only give maybe next mth. Slowly introduce him loh. will have to give very fine one. can change some time like carrots, pumkim all those ba.

juz reached home!! Brought Zach to take the allergy test..cost me a bomb! $257 flew off my wallet juz like tat. But it is confirmed he is allergic to cow's milk and soy as well. PD dun recommend goat's milk because the protein is similar to cow's. When they drip the allergen on his back and prick, the result was almost immediate..red patches like mosquito bite formed ard it and slowly grew into bigger patch. For soy, the allergen din return any result. PD wanted to do a challenge test on him but he is running a fever (which is another issue), so they made some soy milk n drip on his back to do the prick test. Result was oso immediate. Apparently the protein inside the allergen is lesser than actual soy milk. Which left me no choice but to breastfeed. What PD said is that usually they will outgrow by 3 years old..gosh, imagine by 3 years old, my boobs can be flipped to the back liao. Muahahaha..alternative is to try hydrolised milk (not those HA milk) and it is sooo expensive! $77 for 400g..

Another issue is Zach's IFC, terrible!! Last nite i went n pick him up, they place him under the air cond direct wearing short sleeve without jacket. He got runny nose middle of the nite and developed fever.. n he juz recovered!! Angry. We decided that I will tell the teacher one last time tmr and if zach fall sick again i will resign n take care of him at home. We wanted to bring him swimming todae but if he is sick like every day, either cough, runny nose or fever, he can never enjoy all these.. super sian lor.

Sorry for the lengthy post.

zachmommy,
sorry to hear that. What make u thing that Zach have allergy and u go and take the test? SOrry if u post that b4. I didnt read all.

Kath, its well worth spending the money to find out the causes of allergy.

Hahaha.. when u say flip ur breasts to the back i almost laff till i fall off my chair! So did you buy the hydrolised milk?

Hmm maybe u canconsider a nanny rather than IFC.

Kath,

Oh dear, is Zach feeling better after seeing his PD? Why his IFC like that? This is not the 1st time already. Cant they be more considerate?

Actually after 1 yr old, most bb dun drink much milk liao. So u dun have to latch on so often. Perhaps it is not so tiring on u.

Do u or ur hubby had food allergy hence Zach got allergy or it is just a random case?

kath,
u did 2 test only which on cow & soy milk already cost so much??

aiyo, poor Zach falls sick again... how can ur IFC did this... place him under air con w/o putting more clothes for him... actually tat time i read ur blog i already wanna ask why other babies got wear sock but Zach never, won't he feel cold?

snowger,
forgot to ask u last time... where u brought ur gal gal for the allergy test ar?

kath.. aiyo.. so serious ah.. wah.. if u really have to BF him until 3 then i think u better stay home n care for him urself.. coz if u send to school or nanny they forget he allergic then later give him oh.. and stress from work might affect your SS too...

so did u manage to catch transformers?

kath

IFCs are like that...one alternative is to pull baby out of IFC...but if IFC is guilty of gross negligence, you can consider to report them to MOH/MCYS, and then for sure they will buck up...

did you question the teachers on the spot when you pick him up yesterday?

Kath,

Forgot ask u, if baby is allergic to cow milk, will he be allergic to all milk products, as in chocolate, ice cream etc?

If it is, then it must be very tough on u. Do take care of urself.

kath, aiyoh.... poor zach, at least now u know exactly what he's allergic to...u so funnie leh...about ur boobs... hahaha...nini IFC got one boi oso allergic to milk, so got to drink goat's milk, the teachers also ask him to finish, saying his milk very expensive...

Phyl, i finally watch transformer yesterdae, it's good!