(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

xuelyn, at least ur CL encourage u to latch bb more often. Even my hb alr ask me to give more bottle session to bb cos he see that he suck for more than an hour once a while and he is scared bb not drinking enuf.
and my CL oso same type, always ask me to give bottle..its 2 against 1 so i difficult to win one lor..

echo, i always pump after latching on, mabbe 10minutes after tat. If i pump 1 hr or 1.5hr later, i scared when he wakes up for feeding not enuf milk for him to suck. I can sense my boy is getting impatient in sucking liao. He only want those spray milk no longer dripping milk..hahaha

Today I finally bathed baby, its a success!! He din cry but he is nervous lar. Can see from his clenched fist.hahaha, mabbe he sense mummy is nervous too. Tmr will be better.

fabbie,

i fart a lot since the day i delivered, and until today still... so it's everyday w/o fail.. wahaha!!

anyone still got extra free baby swimming voucher??

My ger refused to sleep for the past 2 nites..she will stay wide awake frm 12midnite(after her milk-feed) to 4-5am in the morning..how? what can I do to make her sleep? she seem to want ppl to play with her? I oso not sure if she's scared of dark..we on the light, she slept awhile then wake up again..any advise??

my hb n i are so sleepy n frustrated..

my ger fart alot lately..is this normal too? is it becos she has alot of wind inside her? wonder is that the reason why she cant sleep well..

Hi AdelChia,
Guess we just have to keep getting bb to latch on and keep pumping. altho my didn't increase significantly...m glad to have at least 30ml each time i pump.

really must work hard.

izu,
how to know if we're not producing enough?
i've been doing total latch on.. sometimes worry that bb's not having enough..
PD said TBF bb should gain 200g/week..

iemik0,
still considering but HB said his sis will pass hers (medela swing) to me..
how is ameda compared to medela?

yesterday i backside itchy, went n buy a manual pump then tried.. suction so bad..less than 20ml after 10minutes of manual pumping..siao liao. Now the pump sitting in my kitchen, shuld be collecting dust liao. :p

Robinsons still having sale leh..incase anyone interested. Avent having 20%

dee
i find medela noiser dan ameda. hehe.

for cradle cap, can use bb oil n massage on scalp. leave it on for 15mins den use s soft brush to brush off d flakes. afta tt, rinse off wif water can le. =)

pharmacay got sell shampoo for cradle cap as well.

kath
robinsons sale until when? any idea? =p

jes, not sure abt babysafe mattress leh, but i saw alot of stocks available - i will tink it is on sale.
marilyn, not sure the sale is until when. Mabbe this weekend bah..is always like tat.

marilyn, do u bring kayson out for shopping? I still dont dare to bring zach out to shop but hb was saying wanna bring him to ikea next monday when he is on leave..ikea is at least a bb frenly place and monday shuld be less crowded.. i tink shuld exposed bb to at least 2 hrs of outdoor once a while else he will be scared if suddenly go out..

I juz submitted Zach's passport application online. it was so difficult taking his photo yesterday..haha

emeraldbride,

zach is a month old rite? it should be ok la .. I think quite a few mummies have already been bringing their babies out .. so have I. Just don't go to places which are too crowded .. Ikea on a Monday should be relatively empty.

Just be watchful and don't let strangers touch your baby .. especially on the face .. I hate that ... even when other kids come too close, I'll tell them to go to their mummy. hahaha

Hi kath
i already brought my baby out to grandma house, a few times of car ride and also a coffee shop for dinner where she slept in the stroller.. Shd be fine la...
I only scare of mosquito at the coffee shop. Need to get some mosquito patches to stick.

kath
I brought Emma to church when she was 3.5 weeks old and out to a restaurant for lunch when she was one month old. I think it's good to bring baby out once in a while. Get them stimulated with a different environment.

kath
i bring him out shopping even during confinement. hehe. mi not good mummy. usually bring him to less crowded area n short trips. tis fri is gonna b a long shopping trip n in town area. need to find gd bb changing area. hehe.

I oso wanna bring Zach out but i heard that not good to bring bb out after the sun sets.. I also feel that the 2 times i brought him out may hv scared him a little - once to his grandparents place which suddenly so many ppl crowd on him, pushing his stroller to n fro and talking so loudly. 2nd time for buffet, which is slightly better.

We shall start on Sunday - bring him to my fren's place and then on Monday to Ikea..hehe

Fabbie,
I've also been farting a lot since giving birth. Think it's got to do with the confinement food..

First month gifts,
Can i just ask which shops you all ordered the first mth gift packs from?

јës§, fabbie, 2nd Baby,
According to my fren, this is not available in SIN. The bottle warmer is a gift from her. She bought me this when she gone back to UK to visit her grandparents-in-law. It was a gift to her from one of her fren, she found it so useful as she's also TBF so she bought for me.
It's about 10pound if im not wrong..

dee,
bb shd have about 60-90 ml of bm at this time. some bb wake up every 1 hr and later 3-4 hrs. if on total latch on, shd monitor the no. of hrs bb wakes up for next feed...that will tell u whether bb have enough.

my cried most of the time after unlatching as i could offer max of 30ml only each time. therefore, supplement with fm.

Yao hor... why my yaolan so expensive! I bought from Kiddy palace. Super big frame!! Sigh... now it is a super big white elephant.

ypg, I'm using the nice, soft mattress cover from Aussino also. I suspect the spring mattress is too ... springy for him liao. The yaolan is also customised...those old-fashioned checkered cloth...

Today ventured out alone with baby to Compass Pt to shop. At least he is now ok with the sarong carrier.

Just want to share this: The other time, baby David was diagnosed with colic. Then later I stumbled across a blog and realised that it was actually caused by a severe foremilk/hindmilk imbalance. Symptoms for David:

- Lots of air in tummy
- Watery, 'explosive' stools with lots of gas (smells rancid, not the curdy one)
- Non-stop crying (cause tummyache from gas)
- Vomitting (cause tummy lots of gas)
- Worsening baby acne

Sure enough, later when I stopped pumping for a while, his stools became normal and his acne, colic, all became better liao.

Recently I itchy hand go pump again..and his diarrhea is now back, his acnes are back, his afternoon fussing also back. Sian. Like that how to build up supply for work?

Spaghetti
How does your pumping cause foremilk/hindmilk imbalance in David? I thought the imbalance is due to oversupply or forceful letdown?

I pumped and my supply went up loh. Cause dd=ss mah. Pumped until I started feeling engorged before each feed... before pumping, I dun feel engorged one...and David can still maintain abt 2 hours apart each feed...

[ETA] I was latching on exclusively and pumping in between feeds.

By pumping in between feeds, you're telling your body that the baby is drinking more. I'm latching on exclusively, so that means David doesn't drink the EBM, except absolutely necessary (like when I have to go out for a couple of hours). When I pump between feeds, I'm telling my body baby drinks more than the 8-12 feeds per day. So supply goes up, baby cannot drain the breast and instead, ends up drinking a lot of the foremilk but cannot get to the hindmilk. That's why the LCs will tell you not to pump between feeds unnecessarily..unless you are trying to increase supply for working mothers. It'll confuse your body and give you a supply issue, which leads to a foremilk/hindmilk problem.

Kath,
me also glad that CL is supportive of BF. My hubby same like urs lor. see me so xin ku let her latch until so pain, keep asking me to give her total FM instead and stop BF..but I insist on con't giving even if its not enuff. It really help to reduce the tummy lor. Will con't until too tired or going back to work.. see how lor.

yes xuelyn, breastfeeding (latch on) really helps to contract our womb..i was latching Zach and my tummy was flat on my 2nd week itself.. now onie got flabby skin which i need to do more sit ups

Re: free swimming or massage
Anyone wants the voucher? I’m giving it away.

Jappooh,
So envy of ur milk ss! I’m too embarrassed to mention mine.. I’m the milkless type, haiz..
U’re sahm now hor? Then can bf longer this time for #2

Izu,
Oh, I see.. your gal is named after Masako crown princess  Hee, so coincidental, my hb & me love Japan too, visited Tokyo in dec07 & hope to go again sometime this yr, maybe during autumn, thot it’ll be nice weather + scenery of red maple leaves. Wow, u used to visit at least once a yr ah.. that’s very frequent. Btw do u or ur hb speak Jap?
Upon me returning to work, the maid will take care of both my gals while my SIL jaga. What about u?

Jes,
Re: training bb to sleep thru’ the nite
I started training my #1 after 3+mths. At long as bb can sleep for abt 5 hrs straight thru’ the nite, I’m pretty hapi oredi
Re:hospital bill
Your hospital bill after medisave & excluding antenatal pkg is $3K+?

Dee,
I just bought a bottle of fenugreek fr gnc today, hoping it works on me. Think u can just buy w/o seeing gyae.
I also find Ameda more quiet than Medela pump.

Pastilles,
Maybe u can also bathe/change diapers/clean bb besides feeding, so that bb don’t associate u purely with bf.
I agree on the ‘milk smell’ part.. for me I noticed whenever I carry my bb, she’ll turn her head towards my chest & open her mouth wide to keep searching. I’m not even on tbf. Sometimes she even use my nipple as pacifier & falls asleep at my breast

Emeraldbride,,
Thanks for e recommendation.

Just wanna voice my frustrations. My cl leaving in a week so now we trying to take over taking care of bb like rocking him to slp. Coz dun want bb to be so used to only cl and cl way of rocking.

But what is so frustrating is when HB or me rocking my boy to slp, the CL will try to overpower our voice. And got once I want to carry to rock to slp, she din let me carry, until my HB sternly told her to let me carry.

So irritating...

Fabbie, I guess not bah. Cause the EBM is a mixture of your foremilk and hindmilk mah. But if baby drink from breast, will only get to hindmilk after foremilk.

emeraldbride, so gd... your tummy flat liao. I can't fit into my pre-preg trousers by a lot. think no hope liao. (T_T)

ypg, he sleeps in his $30 rocker loh. Sigh.