(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

eh emeraldbride .. nice shot of your tummy ... i also don't have any stretch marks .. but mine don't look as nice as yours i feel. wait tonite must ask my hubby to take a pic.

gawd, i'm so hungry

Ivy,

not waxing .. too shy .. but probably shaving to trim it la .. so it's not like the Amazon rainforest when baby makes her appearance .. hahahahahah ...

am going to do eyebrow threading today .. i dyed my hair already few days back ... as emeraldbride says ... must look nice for photos leh .. and ppl visiting .. cannot look like hell when ppl come and for photos .. lol

iemik0 - well, i always have heartburn, day or night. yest about 4am, vomitted coz heartburn until too acidic. good thing that i have learnt my lesson to always have a small pail beside bed, coz quite occasionally i will wake up in middle of night, cough (coz choked by acid up the throat) n throw up coz too acidic. haven't tried to sit up and zzz.

echo/Gerry - u both got read Jappooh's post abt contraction? Seems so individual. One of my colleagues who gave birth to 2 kids said it's just a more painful version of menses cramps n increase in tensity & she still managed to walk ard and do her stuff before finally willing to go hospital. -_-" by then her cervix was half opened. Another of my fren got pain will just go hospital and each time is false alarm. But one thing i'm sure, real contraction doesn't seem to go away & more regular, cramps & BH will stop. i think i will take that as a gauge. coz my cramps can be persistent & painful, but they r not contractions as determined by ctg.

Jappooh - thanks for sharing abt contractions. honestly i scared i ended up like that too.

emeraldbride - i got a 25% discount card for brazilian waxing at Strip, but to be used end of Nov. Feel tempted to go for it. But my EDD is 23 dec, by then the hair should all grow back liao? Is Strip good? Which branch and therapist u usually go to? Way some time ago I went to Pink Parlour, they use hot pink wax (is it the same used at Strip?). nearly dying of the "hotness" of wax and painfulness when wax removed. Even that they claim "Pink Parlour's Brazilian's are known for minimal pain and exceptionally high standards of hygiene. Rated 4 stars by Her World, 8.5 points by Simply Her, named best for "1st Timers", and "Painless Brazilian" by Urban Wire, you are assured of one of the best Brazilians the industry has to offer." But I still find it painful.

Sam, u dye hair ah. Me dun dare to dye hair during pregnacy leh. Then will breastfeed for long, also duno when I can dye my hair.

Contractions.. me duno hw it feels too.

eh Sam can dye hair now?? i've been dying to dye my hair..& rebond it as well...but tot cant do both now?
i definately must get a trim however before delivery...

ya i tot waxing might trigger pain & contractions? i've been getting the slight crampy feeling ..which i think & hope its just BH contractions not the real contractions...cant go into labour now..too early & baby's weight also nt enuff... it comes n go...a bit painful leh..who says BH contractions not painful..

anyway think i'll just use hair removal cream?? scare wax pain..thou cleaner..

Fabbie,
You see, I pay for it myself, so if I like it, I‘ll buy.. hehe
Btw I also have slight brownish discharge, but only on 2 days & it has not recurred, so no worry for us.

Emeraldbride,
Wah, you tummy looks smooth & nice.. me envious.. hee.. I think my tummy @32wks is slightly bigger & more pointy. Today I forgot to bring the USB cable to connect to computer, so can’t download my tummy pic.

Sam: You really dyed your hair? My hairstylist told me to go get my hair coloured after my confinement. I can't wait!

Emeraldbride: I don't dare to do Brazilian wax! I'll prob just trim & shave a little. As long as don't look like forest. Haha...

I'm not bringing my original marriage cert to the hosp too. My ILs want to calculate the Chinese name so no point in bringing.

Jo: Hw come the BK patty was not cooked well!? Should complain to them! You feeling ok?

Girl80: Don't worry about your 2 angels...they'll be home with you soon! Be strong & keep pumping your milk for them.

Phy: Sure...i'll be home. Just call/sms me lah...

Eh...not compulsory to shave clean one meh? Because I thought the gynae needs to do stitching. If don't wax...wait shave already, the stubble willbe very uncomfy wor.

Really ah? Hot wax better? I shall go try after getting my gynae's ok. Wax should be able to last 2, 3 weeks bah? :D

Juz..

Yeah u just got to take note of the pain.. But if they say slightly more painful than menses cramp.. then I think I cannot tahan.. Cos everytime I have it, I will take super strong painkillers if not I'll be lying on the floor rolling around and breaking out in cold sweat.. I really have a low threshold for pain!! Scared!!

Waxing..
Not all doc require u to shave down there rite?? I dunno..I haven't gone for waxing throughout my pregnancy.. will surely be very painful if I go now.. Will check with my doc when I see her next monday...

Spaghetti..
I think the therapist will recommend hard wax to all pregnant women cos less painful..
I know when they are waxing the labia area, they would use hard wax.. Normal hot wax for the pubic bone area.. At least in Strip they do that.. Yeah waxing should last between 2-4 weeks.. =)

WoOoh.. *Salivates @ emeraldbride tummy* Nice, SMOOTH big and round! Mine one lump sia..like nuah nuah like that. Anyone tummy like mine? Dun dare to show pic, coz maciam look like those beauty salon before going for treatment pic. Haiz..

Ivy, pm me ur mailing address, I can mail it to u. Nowadays rarely got energy to go out. After work cannot wait to rush home to my bed to lie down.

One great tip i got from my Ah Mak last night regarding confinement.

Me to Ah Mak: Wah, Ah mak, ur skin ver smooth and nice hor? U really know how to take care lei.

Ah Mak: Ya, of course. Ladies must take care of themselves esp during confinement. No cold drinks, must eat tonics, rest well...

B4 ah mak can finish.. i interuppted

Me: Ah Mak, can shower right? I know can shower one, dun bluff me. But not everyday and water must be boiled with herbs right? See Ah Mak, all these i know lah. My computer friends got say! - Sorry ah, Ah Mak refer all of u here as computer friends.

Ah Mak: Ya, but all our pores are "open" up after birth so if you shower with herbs, very likely that the colourings from the herbs after boiling with water will seep into your skin and settle as pigmentations and your skin will have patches of dark spots.

Me: Eyes big big..Fwah! Then how???

Ah Mak: If die die want to shower, can lah, but try not to use herbs. Use peeled ginger skin boiled with water is better. Collect the freshly peeled ginger skin and put them in a cloth bag(maciam tea bag - bigger version) and boil together with water for shower. It works better than most herbs and doesn't result in dark pigmentation on the skin like herbs does!

Not sure if it really apply but i will try and Hope my Ah Mak Tips help!

Hi Pris
Thanks. I m fine after puking out the burger. Just wrote a complain email to BK...

Sigh. i m real stress today when my GM threw me a spanner today.. sigh!!

Hi pastillies
U wanna consider abt the wax cream again? Dun know it will cause allergy anot.. especially chemical at tat area....n during pregnancy....
I use to wax my legs, after tat will have small red dots rashes which disappear after a few hours..

chantalle,

i think what Ah Mak said about bathing with ginger could be quite true..
i know for Body Wellness, they will use ginger to get rid of wind when massaging you.. this is their specialty for post-natal massage..

gals, dun comment on my tummy liao!! Make me pai seh..photo look like tis cos of lighting and cos i juz finish taking shower and slap on alot of Clarins Oil and Body Shop Cocoa Butter Body Cream - both super oily!!

I tink waxing should be alright few weeks before EDD and will not trigger contractions lar..unless the therapist super 'chor lor' and pull out the dry wax very hard, then mabbe lar..but usually they will use up to 5x to clear the bushes and then use tweezer to take away fine hairs..they will also clean our butt as well!! Juz, I don't have a dedicated therapist cos dun need lar.. juz 10 - 15minutes job, anyone can do it.

I can't do rebonding now - my hair is short and so messy. Really look like mushroom head or coconut head..super sian! I must remember to bring make up to hospital..hahaha. To me, hair really maketh a person. No matter how nice ur make up is, if the hair is super ugly...u will still turn out to be ugly!! *sad!*

Chantalle, Ah Mak is who? Ur fren or...? Very scary leh she depicts the herbs. My mom alr bought those herbs for me to shower liao leh..now shuld i tink twice?

Dee, really ah! But do note that it is ginger skin that Ah Mak advised. Not ginger. I just called Ah Mak, she said if use ginger directly, it will sting our skin too much. Too harsh. Ginger skin is good enuf.

errr..emeraldbride, ah mak is a great friend of mine! She is also the wife of my ah gong lor.. U duno who meh?? hahah Err.. that makes her my mum's mother??? Lolz.. My grandmother lah! In hokkien we call Grannies as Ah MaK.

Chantalle,
My mom & me have been collecting Pomelo skin since mooncake festival. My mom say its for me to bath during confinement, but i nvr ask if it's to be boiled with other herbs...
Anyone has any idea?

Sam,
I also thot can't dye/colour hair now, so I'm waiting til confinement is over, or maybe even after CNY, as the salons tend to charge higher just before CNY.

Chantalle,

ya, that's what they're promoting to me and explained to me how they were doing it.. well, i didn't sign up lah.. don't wanna spend more $$$.. enough liao.. they did mentioned crushed ginger.. and also to use it to wrap around tummy..

ginger skin ah? Ok ok.. now must start "collecting" ginger skin.. hahaha..
ya, during confinement also gotta eat lots a ginger..

wah, head-to-toe ALL ginger! :p

anyone of you gonna use the powder shampoo? i used it in my 1st preg but it didn't seem to work for me.. i still found my hair OILY! so, in the end, i just washed my hair - boay tahan liao!

i think this time also am gonna do the same.. :p
come to think of it, i'm gonna break more confinement rules more than i did in my 1st preg.. hee..

Errr.. Ah bur, My ah mak dunno about the use of pomelo skin. Maybe can ask ur mum what it help us in and we all can give it a try? To me I would love to try maybe because of the great citrus scent and also pomelo leaves get rid of bad luck?? Hehe

Chantalle & Shariana,
Will ask my mom later today... she went JB shopping now...it's pomelo skin leh, not leaves lah... hahaha, the pomela we bought got no leaves leh...

Chantalle: Serious ah? Your Ah Mak said use the herbs is no good? Will seriously stain skin & cause pigmentation ah? I scared cos i'm fair!!!

Ah Bur: Go ask your mom again about the pomelo pls? But now still got pomelo to collect & dry? Aiyo!!!

Dee: I bought the Klorane oat spray shampoo to standby. I intend to wash my hair every 3 days during confinement. So in between, when my hair gets greasy/smelly, i'll spray. I should be able to tahan 3 days cos currently, i only wash my hair every alternate day.

Jo: Good! Shoot BK complaint letter! They deserve it...serve this kinda of under-cooked meat. Aiyo!

This thread ah, sumthing wrong, each time i type and try to submit, they give me page expire and i hv to retype everything all over again!

Chantalle, sorry ah, i tot Ah Mak is one of ur fren..hehehe cos i call my grandma Ah Ma though i also hokkien lang.

Gerry - ah, i think ur menses cramps sound v intense. my worst case of menses cramps is can't get off bed, faintish n vomit.

emeraldbride - ok, thanks.

just came back from lunchie!! had BK Double Stacker.. my friends had the Quad Stacker.. kekeke.. yum yum.. i finished it with a Chocolate Pie!! OoooOoo..

Chantalle, your ah ma very cute hor.. now a days ppl keep "advising" me how to do confinemnet... then i will roll my eyes la.. but i will "politely" tell them i will only do things with scientific prove n also it must not sound toopid to attempt..

the toopidest i've heard so far is... Cannot Stand while drinking water.. must sit down.. LOGIC behind is something like weight of the water will cause uterus, bladder.. god knows wat else to sag!! erm.. i told that auntie.. ORH~~~

Silly lah emeraldbride. No apologies needed!

Loveangel, thats what my granny says. But i think probably true since herbs will somehow have some colourings when difused with the hot boiling water. Just like when we use teabags with hot water. Some more our pores are all open up, so likely the case. Not proven yet, dun quote me lei! Just sharing what my mak says.

Here can type chinese bo? Let me try: the herbs use for showering is call: 大风莫if i am not wrong?

loveangel,
i also used Klorane oat and still have excess bottle.. i wash my hair daily.. cannot tahan oily scalp.. it gets itchy also..

phyl! phyl!
i also heard that leh!!!! cannot stand while drinking water!! faint!

Juzyounme,
BTW forget to mention. When i have contraction can see that the stomach harden and feel the pain. When it goes off the stomach become soft again. And contraction comes in interval and dun goes away. It will be closer interval when after sometime. U only need to go hosp when the interval getting close lar.. For 2 days b4 i give birth i already have contraction but the interval is like 1hr to 2 hr once. That why i dunno is contraction lar..

Chantalle,
i use the herb to bath during my 1st confinement. So far didnt see much changes to my skin. it just look like pre-preg. i think it depends on individual ba.

Phy,
my granny also say drink water must sit down. And i should lie down on bed all the time unless i have feeding my boy or taking my meals. Cant even sit down and watch tv hor...

I didnt listen lar so i sit most of the time.

This time i think i will lie down most of the time to see wat the diff. Cos i dun feel very strong after give birth to my No 1. Hope this time can Pu back loh.

Chantalle,
U sure uh? I did "bathe" in herb water before when I had chickenpox when I was young. The liquid was reddish in colour - suppose to kill germs n reduce itching leh...

Jo,
I get small red dots when I put on moisturisers (like crabtree or bodyshop). Think it's because skin is sensitive!

Loveangel,
That time u tried pre-natal massage right? Need to ask u hor, she help me massage where? Like shoulders? Back? Thighs? Got touch ur tummy?

Me going to hv a session tis sunday - dun wan to massage places that can't massage one... I only know can't massage e tummy and ankles...:p

Pamelo should be able to get. Jus tat it's expensive now. Malaysia pamelo (IPOH ones) are not in season until near CNY. May hv to buy those smaller Thai ones with red flesh...

Emeraldbride,
I call my grandmother "AH MAH!". I think cantonese will call them "AH MAR".

Japooh,
Wont that make u gain weight during the confinement? My colleague shared with me that she lose about 7-8kg aft birth but gained back about 4kg from eating n lying on bed during confinement... So she told me if possible try to move around else...

Hi Snowger,
i lose weight during my confinement cos i dun take much rice. Plus i breastfeed and pump milk also. That make me slim down quite a bit. I only put on weight after i am back to work and stop breastfeeding..

Spag / iemik0,
I'm definitely going for brazilian before i pop. But haven't booked yet cos still wondering when would be the best time..

my mom say cannot drink too much water during confinement..which i tink i will then be so dehydrated since i m so used to drinking at least 2litre of water daily..she say wanna drink, drink red dates + tang shen water..sigh!

She also say cannot read or watch tv too much, not good for the eyes.. like tat worse than being in jail leh..hahaha, summore i bought so many books to read during my 3 mths ML leh..sian!

Jappooh, is it true tat after giving birth, can see the weight difference immediately? Breastfeeding really will make one slim down?? Provided we dun eat alot hor?

Not only for us who cannot drink water. I heard that new born actually do not need to drink water as well esp when they are drinking breast milk! Can someone verify?

Chantalle..

A lot of baby books says if u are breastfeeding, there's no need to give water.. but I scared SG very hot and humid.. So will probably give water..

Jappooh
If you didn't have a good confinement with your first one, you should do a proper one this time, so that you can bu3 hui2.

My mum also wants me to lie down most of the time during my confinement. She says that I should do as little as possible. Even watching tv or reading is considered doing things, because I'll be using my eyes. She said I will already spend a lot of time bfeeding, so shouldn't be so bored.

emeraldbride
I learnt from Mrs Wong's class that bfeeding can burn up to 500 calories a day. That's like running a marathon!

Chantelle/Gerry
We should only give babies water after 3 months. Before that, they will get all their water from breast milk. If they drink too much water, they will get full easily and won't drink enough milk during feeds.

Oh Gerry - I call Ah Mak again just now and ask. Hehe, my ah mak is like my Google nowadays. She says if Bb drinking formula milk must drink water coz "heaty". Regarding Breast milk, ah Mak says Up to u lor.. u study more than me.. i DUHZZ HER..

eh eh eh..Gals wat do u all think?? I am going to name my gal, Pamelyn - somehow with all the pomelo talk going on - I think the name sounds abit like the female version of POMELO hor?? Aaargh.. cham liao.

Great advise Echo! Thanks! *Call ah mak again and tell her* Hahahaha...

Ikeike - Is there a reason why u do not want to slim down? Afraid ur neh neh will shrink?? OoOps.. No offence, but really curious!

Phyl,

My mum oso told me so, when eating and drinking have to sit down, coz our down there gone through trauma after child birth, still loose, so if u eat/drink when standing up, u will have urine incontingence(dunno how to spell) tat's means will leak or cannot control ur urine next time. Anyway, for 1 mth nia lah, during confinement dun have to do any housewk, can just sit there and be serve. But sign..u not engaging any CL rite?

Herbal bath,
Me ok leh, after using, my skin not darken(mayb I'm dark skinned lah. But did c after a few days my face pores black black lor, have to squeeze out the "black herbal blackhead"

During confinement, it's the best time to "bu" back our body, whether u will be strong or not depends on tat, even my chinese physician said tat as well.

NB drinking water: I read that coz NB kidney not fully develop yet, thus if too much water will harm their kidneys, thus cannot drink too much water.

hehe... Chantelle, I think I like better with a rounder face lah! Neh neh ah, mine small to begin with hehehe so if it gets smaller I think not much diff oso wahahahaha.....