(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Jowin, don't worry too much abt baby not turning k. There's still some time so let's see baby's progress ya. About rice, I've switched to unpolished brown rice instead of white rice.

Ilig, I'm interested on the yard but once kiddo gets bigger, will they be able to push the structure to reach their destination?

Bubblepearl, my hb goes to his "chill out" sessions occassionally on Fridays till late.... Me too pose him the same question on wat if baby decides to pop. No replies. So I told baby that Fridays are NO NO for her to pop, pre-empt her first.

Snowger,
I dun think i harvesting bb's cordblood lei. Or maybe will donate, havent really tot about this yet =) finally getting to see doc this sat... it's been such a long wait! Excited to find out how bb is doing...

Jowin,
Dun worry about the glucose test, you'll be fine =)

Sam/Bubblepearl,
What's the advantage of keeping the placenta? My HB was quite grossed out when i told him about it. Last time my mummy also threw away lei... seriously the tot of eating a part of your body sounds qte intimidating lei... Are there any medical benefits or anything?

ikeike..actually my hb dun go out late at nite..especially mj session at our place..keke..just that ytd i was throwing some temper ard nia..

AdelChia,

I dunno man. I've never thought of eating the placenta until I read about it here .. I still will never eat the placenta .. I'm too grossed out to even google it and find out more .. that's why phyl and I DARE not click on the link posted above for the recipe mah ...

*shudder*

Winnie, I am a loyal Mamy Poko diaper buyer .. BUT I thought just try this G.oon diaper .. the sample looks good but I will not know whether it causes any rashes on baby's skin until I try it out mah. If it's good, yay can save money .. I am buying Mamy Poko for my 24 month old and my 4 year old (pulls up at nite) .. so plus this newborn .. I'll be spending loads on diapers .. lol. If can switch to G.oon, then good also.

Jappooh,
go to diapers.com.sg to check out the prices.

i think every1 sian to read my post liao. i also feel sick of myself. guess what, my hb told me yest night that HE LOST HIS JOB n yest was his last day working. the company gave him reasons of his legs and his performance not good. don't u think a bit untimely? less than 9 weeks to baby's EDD, he got no savings, haven't get delivery suite n ward package, consultations getting more frequent means pay more, he got no bonus for this yr, he needs to depend on my pay (including seeing specialist for his foot) and every other things.

anyway, so now good liao lor. he stay at home n i was telling him he better get renovations of house done up. my speed is too slow to get things done. with all the shifting of my stuff and baby stuff already took me weeks. yest i stay up until 1+am to get baby clothes wash and hang-up. have told him to bring them down, classify them and pack them into zip-lock bags. i have a feeling he will spend his days rotting, instead of completing his tasks.

my hb left the babycot in (now) previous office for the last 1 mth (give lots of reasons of not bringing back) as it's his colleague's hand-me-over. now also don't know whether baby will have a cot or not.

just feel sad for the baby lor, like when he is going to be born, got a lot of crisis, unsecurity and uncertainty. anyway, i'm so sian, don't feel like talking to any1.

llig - i c.

jowinbaby - i also v disheartened. but be of good courage, who knows things will turn out ok?

iemik0 - why that spree link no picture 1?

Saw this post at the Woodlands Mums' thread on the abused case and it's LV again. other threads also reporting on this...

-------------------------------------------------
quote:

since many of you wanted to know more, i think its just the right of
mothers to know the truth in this case so hopefully less kids will be
abused by irresponsible teachers and child care.

my friend told me that the child care involved was Learning Vision.

my friend also told me that the cc was supposed to inform the parents
when it happened, they didnt. The other teachers fled the cc when the
parents arrived at 7pm to pick up the kid.

my friend also told me that when the parents called up the cc after
realising what happened, the cc tried to persuade them not to sack the
teacher that abused the kid because there was shortage of cc teachers
so should give her another chance and merely asked her to apologise.
This was when the parents decided to report to police as it would be
endangering other kids if the teacher stayed on.

When the cc knew about the police report, only at that time they
sacked the teacher abuser. But they saw nothing wrong with other
teachers that failed to inform the parents, saying that it was normal
for other teachers to forget to inform the parents and fled the scene
as its normal for people to feel panic in situation as such. These
teachers are still teaching as we speak.

The cc also did not seek medical treatment for the child after they
discovered the abuse and before the parents came to collect the child,
approx more than 1 hour, the child was left crying his eyes out. When
the parents picked up the child at 7pm, they could even see chili
seeds on his face!!! This really trouble me the most, the cc did not
even bother to attend to reduce the suffering of the child in
additional of not informing the parents !

My friend told me that the cc is Learning Vision.

so sorry to hear that, juzyounme. The news comes at such a bad time ! You really don't need this type of stress !

Since you haven't booked any hospital package, maybe you can consider switching to cheaper hospital to conserve your resources?

bubble pearl: Thanks, i'll go in and read

Juzyounme: Sorry to hear yr plight. Don't worry, not one here will find bore to read your posting. Agreed that yr hubby lost his job at the wrong time. However no use faulting him cos i believe he also didn't want things to turn up in this way. Meantime hope that while he is recuperating his leg at home, he will also diligently search for jobs too.

If possible, book for Class C. I have the intention to book for Class C too instead of Class B1, which means i have to forgo my gynae (KT Tan) delivering for me. I'm just want to play safe, in case anything *touchwood* happens, baby medical fee will follow whatever warding class which we choose.

Base on my friend's recent bill on July, she chose Class C, she had C-sect etc. However she was upgraded to Class B (foc) as Class C was fully occupied that time. Everything all claimed from medisave. She did not need to fock up a single cent. Its worth considering since yr hubby has lost his source of income now.

lavendery...ur hospi is kk?

i am also thinking of dropping to c ward but must forgo the gynae and cant see at tps already...

lavendery - anyway, i called KKH. they suggest that either i get a polyclinic referral letter or speak to my gynae to get downgrade and have to go through a means test. sounds easier to get a polyclinic referral letter -_- haiz.

ivy - yes, lavendery also KKH.

winnie - my hb is always full of excuses.

I am expecting my first child at the end of December and just found out that my gynae will be away on holiday that period! So I'm stressing out now trying to find a new gynae who is pro-natural birth and does not try to intervene unncessarily. Moreover, my husband is a foreigner, so I want to find a doctor who has dealt with expats and whom my hubby will feel comfortable with.
Any recommendations? Please email me at [email protected] if you know anyone...
Michelle

Juzyounme,
I read this news few days ago too!! she was just nothing but a monster!!! even me as an adult, i cant stand even a slice of chillie padi, how can a 3 yr old child eat a full packet of it!!!! i really cant imagine how the poor lil kid suffer???? MONSTER!!!! If that was my boy, i will kill the teacher!!!!

lavendery,

If you are seeing your doctor at KKH TPS, I dun think you can downgrade to C class. In fact, cant even downgrade to B2. Unless if you deliver earlier and they think your child will stay at NICU for quite a while (touchwood) then they will allow you to downgrade (I nearly got pre-term delivery at week 32). I stay at class C then.

If you want to downgrade, think you got to ask your doctor to close your file. Then you got to go polyclinic to ask them to refer you back. But by then, you will be going to KKH Clinic C and see doctors on duty rather than your chosen gynae.

Juzyounme,

I can understand ur frustration. For my entire pregnancy, my HB also never pay a cent. He got to put the $ into his newly set up business. At times, I got to "invest" in his business too. Now although business is better, he still had cash flow problem so I am still the one paying everything for baby. Dun worry. Things may not be better if you r optimistic about things. But things certainly be worse if you are pessimistic about it. So stay cheers. Wat din kill us will certainly make us stronger.

Also, you may wish to consider lavendery suggestion since I think if you choose 4 bedded n above, for all hospitals, there is need to pay deposit as Medisave can only deduce $450 per day. For B2 or C class, no need to pay deposit. Besides u dunno how is your delivery like. For me, I go through induction, use epidural and deliver my BB through vacuum so I supposed my bill will be higher than normal delivery.

Hope that helps. Feel free to talk to us about your problem.

Hi Ivy: Hehe, Juz helped me to ans liao :p

All along, we have decided on B1 ward, infact i even eyeing on A1 ward leh, Haha. But its just that i was too turned off by the warding and baby ICU pricing when my friend showed me the billing forms. Esp the thought of Baby will follow whatever warding classes we choose. And if chose Class C, baby ICU is $70 per day. If choose Class B1, baby ICU is three digit figure. U can only claim medisave for max 3 days for baby stay in ICU (capped at max $450 per day), the subsequent days all have to be fully pay by cash. So i intend to go for C class just in case..... *touchwood*

Juz: U no need to speak to yr gynae to get a downgrade to the hospital ward. Cos i believe u still want to stick to her for your subsequent checkup right? Its just that when comes to warding, u just make sure u choose a C class and just let your gynae know that u have choose a C class ward, instead of a B1. If your gynae is good, she will still come to yr bed and pay u visit after u have deliver.

Actually Class C ward will still have a certified gynea to conduct eveything inside the Delivery room one, not all the nurses and midwives inside the Delivery rom are practioners. Its just that perhaps u may see a few practioners docs crowding around u to learn how to deliver stuff like that... But when u're in pain during delivering, u will not care about all these....

Hi ypg: My friend was a patient at KKH TPS (she was seeing her gynae, Irene Chua, at AMK branch). She was the one who advised me to strongly go for C class, instead of B class. She opt for C class ward and she showed me all the medical bills incurred.

For me, i'm not a TPS patient. I'm only a private patient from Clinic B. Hence i'm still entited to Classic Hospitalisation Pkg instead of Premium Pkg.

mum2ndx - i think hor, don't mind me saying that, u damn fierce ooo...

ypg - i don't know when i can get leave to get a polyclinic letter. my boss is out of town. i tried to call KKH admission to find out the admission rates, nobody picks up. :-(

lavendery - well, my gynae already told me, i can only choose A1 or B1 since i'm a private patient. no matter u see gynae at TPS, AMK clinic or clinic B, as long as u r a private pt and unless something else cope up, u r eligible for A1 or B1. so anyway, i may see my gynae on 13 Nov and ask him. if need be, i will go to polyclinic on that day also to get a referral letter. i think u should speak to ur gynae on the ward class.

Juz: Oh my god, thanks for informing me. My next appontment with her is on 3rd Nov. Will ask her on that, if there's a must, i'll go to Polyclinic to get referral letter. I'm more or less firm on sticking with C class, cos now economy no good, retrenchment everywhere. Both my hubby and my ricebowls are also shakey. In fact, i forsee i might break my ricebowl first..

juzyounme, if u dun believe the girls and still wanna go and waste your time going to polyclinic, by all means la..

trust them.. they did their homework for this liao!

eligible doesnt mean u die die must take A1 or B1.. its still a personal choice.

Juzyounme,
hahaha....ya ma... how can a teacher use this kind of method to treat a armless child?? she herself is a mother too...he's just 3 yr old... one kick from her the child can fly leh... and what's her reason for doing this? she say she thought the boy was going to hit her child!!! goodness...

Hi Juz..

Sorry to hear about ur plight... Feel free to let it out... Better than bottling up ur feelings..

If I'm not mistaken... When u are in class C and u deliver in the middle of the nite... If there is no complications, sometimes midwives or young doctors (they are not registrars and above)will deliver... They will only call in the specialist on night duty when there is an emergency that they may not be able to handle... *touchwood*

Actually, even medical students on night duty might deliver for you and perform episiotomy.. of course under supervision... My hubby actually did an episiotomy when he was a student while his classmate deliver the child... But I must emphasize that they were supervised...

thanks for all the concern.. Back from the test and apparently, i FAIL...glucose test fail.. n very sad.. no family background with diabete on maternal side.. unless my hb side also counted..

body is unable to dispell the sugar level so quickly. Gynae need to keep me monitor and diet.. i need to go Mt E for referral to a diabetic doc at 4pm later..SIGH... n also need to do self test check at home ( A one time 7 step test)...

double check with dr.. why such high level when my weight is not showing too.. i gained 8kg.. weight maintained and no gain from last month... baby is 2kg.. meaning, i myself only gain 6kg.. SIGH!!! BTW, i already cut down on alot of sugar n carbo...

Hi gerry
yes.. the excercise is wat doc said can try.. facing down with butt up.. hoping to bring the baby to right position...

Hi Sam
i see. i share with my friend for the diapers.. so i only got 1 pack of NB n 1 pack of S size to try out.. therefore no need to commit $60 alone

jowin...i also fail my glucose test...then i have to do the self test and monitor my glucose level. currently i dont need to inject insulin only have to follow the diet...everything will go well as long as you follow what the doc says. take care...dont worry so much...

Hi sam..
gynae din say induce yet... bb is still fine.. not too big.. average

Hi Ivy
I see.. ya.. doing a self test this sat cos no need to work.. no insulin too...

Juzyounme,

You seeing Dr Tham on 13 Nov? Me too also, at 11.25 for my post delivery checkup.

I called KKH for you. Din get to speak to the Admissions side but I talk to the Finance side. They say u can only take Premier package if you still seeing Dr Tham at TPS. For lavendery, she seeing her gynae at Clinic B, she can take Classic package.

As for downgrading, you dun have to see Dr Tham to tell him you are downgrading. You just have to cancel your next appointment with TPS, go to polyclinic and get a referral letter. They will book a new appointment for you at KKH Clinic C. For class B2 and C patients, no need to pay deposit. For class B1 & A1 patients, if you dun pay deposit, they wun admit you. Quite harsh but that is the procedure.

Hope this helps. Sorry, due to KKH error, I have not yet received my delivery bill yet so cant tell you how much I have to pay besides the deposit. I let you know when I received it.

Dun feel disheartening by all these difficulties that you face now. Once you see your BB, you will feel that all hardships that you endure during pregnancy are worthwhile. I know your hubby stress you out but I am sure there is good points of him, that is why you married him. Think more of his good point. Perhaps you will feel much better.

I have a big row with my HB last weekend. But we manage to sort out our differences. I am glad that we quarrel after my BB is borned. I dun want to hurt my BB with such quarrel. BB will be affected by their mother's moods. So please stay cheerful for your BB sake.

Let me know if there is any area that I can help you out.

lavendery,

Same thing. Dun feel stressed out by work. I am sure you are a worker that is valued by your employer. I know economy is no good so the most we must try harder. Jiayou!!! Dun worry about your ricebowl. Heard that by law & regulation, pregnant woman will not lose their ricebowls. Even if you really lost it, your company still have to pay you during your maternity leave.

Jowin: Don't feel so down. When you go to Mt E, ask them for possible reasons why you failed the glucose test. You have not been officially diagnosed with gestational diabetes right? Be positive & follow what your doc said. If necessary, cut out all sugars from your diet.

Sam: I also ordered with my friend. Her boy (4 months ago) wears Goo.n diapers & since she was ordering, i ordered a NB & S size pack each. My diapers still at her house!! Haha...

Juz: I seriously think you have a choice. No one can force you to stay in a A1 or B1 ward.

ikeike,
If you link it such that it forms a proper yard, kiddo must be quite strong/naughty to be able to push. For us, we didn't link it..we 'inserted' the ends in between furniture so that the entire carpet area became his play area. (Will try and look up a pic and upload for you when i get home.)
My boy used it till he learnt to go around the yard..He would climb on to the sofa (one of the furniture we use to hold the yard together) and come out on the other side.

Sam,
i found someone to bring across the phil&ted from rockhampton!!!! only thing now is that the dash is OOS till Dec and the guys will be back end-Nov. Haiz.. I guess i'll just have to get from Mothercare. Ooh, Australia doesn't carry their booster seats either

Jowin,
Good luck!! Baby is doing ok so that's very good news
Don't stress k.

Juz,
It does seem like the best option would be to cut back on costs and downgrade to C ward. Don't worry about delivery.. unless your gynae is in hospital when you're in delivery suite, the midwife might end up delivering the baby for you regardless of which ward you choose. And they are trained and (generally) very motherly and nice to speak to. Hope things turn around for you soon.
PS: Its good to rant here..better than keeping it all bottled up. And go grab that cot!

wah.. my frd just sms me, saying her baby will be out today or tomorrow. i saw it. i nearly cry sia.. feel so touch. I cant wait when is my turn coming!!

iemik0,

yeah.. U cannot massge the tummy... U must let professionals do it.. Cos I think some doctors actually will look at the ultrasound while trying to change fetal position... They scared that the umbilical cord will be wrapped around the bb's neck...

Hi jowin, Ivy
for your urine test..did it come out positive? I am also worried coz my maternal grandma has diabetes but the doc told me I am fine as my urine test is normal .....Also I took alot of sweet stuff

eh iemik0
cannot massage ourselves to turn bb.. my gynae said will do if professionally for me, he try his best..So dun hor!! The exercise he taught me, just for luck tat bb will shift herself only..

Hi Jowinbaby & Ivy,
taht means we wont get to knw it from the normal urine test? cos i didnt do other test one lei and was nto ask to do any glucose test as well so i wont knw if i have anot rite?

yesterday i have a fall. Btu luckily i landed on my butt. Yesterday was raining heavily while going hm and there are 2 kid (should be ard 15 yrs old) are playing and catching on the road and one of them knock onto me.

Now my butt pain pain.

jappooh..must be careful. doc ask me to go for the glucose test because i have a sudden weight increase...of 4kg...and the growth of my bb is fast..and big.

ladies...hair models needed for a hair cut...please help to find. thanks!

Fabbie,
I'm also thinking of takin maternity pics w my "not-so-big" tummy & hubby. wanna keep some beautiful memories of the pregnancy but haven found out abt the rates yet. u haf any gd recommendations? I rem the photographer told me shld take ard 36wks preggy.

Jusyounme:
Stay strong! The baby will need u even more now tat ur hubby is out of job. things will work out. dun stress urself out.

Peg Perego car seat / Stroller:
Jus wanna share tat my hubby got my bb a new car seat from baby hyperstore ytd. Its the peg perego one with base n can be fitted in the same model stroller (which is a hand-me-down fr SIL). They are havin a clearance sale on this older model. original price $399, now selling at $299. the peg perego stroller p3(not the latest piko p3)is oso on sale, from original price of $698 to now $458 (if i dun rem wrgly)So those of u interested may wanna drop by.
When my hubby ask me whether we shld buy, I jus ask him to decide since he's the one paying. but secretly hoping he would buy.. ha haa..! cos the hand-me-down car seat from SIL has been used by 5 kids (of both SIL)and is smelly n pretty worn out!!

hmm...when i went for me detailed scan the doc already says that my bb is growing big and faster than normal...then plus the sudden increase in weight...thats why my gynae ask me to test.

if your gynae didnt ask you to go for the glucose test then i think its ok. if you are still worried...maybe you can check with your doc again.