(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Phyl
The last time I used them, it was definitely recycled tupperware. I had to use a lot of detergent to wash the tupperware after the meal before I put them back in the box as it was super oily and rather smelly too. Even the tupperware they used to contain the Red Date tea had a left over smell. So overall, i was not very pleased. Actually, if they used tinkat, it would be better as metal will not retain the smell.

Thats why after 3rd day i cannot eat the food anymore. Firstly too oily, secondly i kept thinking if the tupperware they used had been double wash/sterilised b4 the food are placed into it even though some users will wash them b4 returning.

I think..u all are mistaken..we are sorry that we knock onto the lady..but she say my dad touch her!!!! after we told her he is visually impaired....i am still feeling v sad....

Not that we nvr apologise...but infact we apologise we got scolded...@#$$%#!!#

Have been feeling tired like in Trimester 1. So not been online even in the evenings. Can't last beyond 11pm...

Esther/Xuelyn/Hippo/Carmen/Girl80 (anyone i missed?),
So happy to see u all on Saturday! Now my hb can't help practising "swaddles" n "diaper wraps" using tissue paper! *faintz*

AdelChia,
Thanks for the update.
Btw, how's ur bb? Did you do an ultrasound scan during your visit? My next visit to him is on a Saturday... Still wondering if I should do 4D scan at NUH. Will u be doing?

Emeraldbride,
I can meet u on 1st Oct to pass u the stuff n we can hv a meal or something... Me may go AMK hub again on Wed with hb. Phyl will be meeting Carmen, Lavendry n Juzyounme.

Phyl,
Where u meeting? I can pass the loot to u...

Luthadel and Jowin,
When you all free? Wan to "clear" stock. Trying to keep the house neat lah... :p

Anyone interested in personalized CDs ? It's CD of songs whereby they will read/sing out your bb's name in it. They have nursery rhymes, bible stories/songs, etc. It is currently retailing at $25. I've spoken to the supplier and they are willing to give us a disc of 20% if we hit a MOQ of 30pcs. Currently I'm consolidating from the Aug thread.

How it works is that, you first check for the name of your bb from the website to see if they have the name you want. Then you choose what CD you want. They will give us a promo code to enter so you can order from website directly for them to mail it out to you. But you need to order min 2 CDs per location. If you only want to order 1 CD then you can PM me to tag onto my order and then I will mail it out to you or you can collect from my place. I think postage should be $1-2 (I'm not sure).

http://www.75volts.com/C/Personalized%20Music%20CD

PM me if you are interested

Phyl,
me n hb plan to go there. But dunno wat time we will reach or wat time we will leave leh. U all meeting there is it?

eh.. no.. i think we going town.. but that day my hubby i think finish work at 5.. so i can meet him at AMK ma.. then we can go home together

Snowger and Phyl:
me picking Phyl from her hse at 11.30am on 1 Oct, then we will proceed to Somerset to meet Juzyounme and Lavendery for lunchy and some BB shopping. So we may go off ard 4pm. My HB may join me at Somerset ard 3-4pm, not confirmed yet.

Me oso tired easily recently, cannot last past 11pm for most days.

Snowger:
yr HB super leh, still draw diagrams (step by step) on how to fold dispers and swaddling BB. How i wish my HB is as hardworking as yrs! My HB belongs to the "spontaneous" type, who always think "chuan dao qiao tou, ji ran zhi". Ah...

Juzyounme:
alamak! yr HB is really immature leh. no money still sleep late, if im u, i will not lend him lor. let this be a lesson to him man. somemore, yr money is for YRSELF and BB, not for him to take cab or watsoever!!! dun be upset for long gal, u need to take care of yrself and BB, ok?

Snowger,
I din do ultrasound on sat. Only used the doppler to hear bb heartbeat. Save money lor since Dr Tseng say not compulsory. In fact i dun intend to do ultrasound liao until maybe 36wks to make sure tt bb position is ok.
I also not doing the 4D scan... same logic, save $$. Coz last few weeks every wk see doc, better start saving up.

Btw, the nurses say tt the $450 antenatal claim can use photocopied receipts which are certified true copies - You photocopy liao then get the nurses at TLC to certify. So if your company also let u claim medical, u can claim both sides. Tts what i'm gonna do. At first i din know, tot must submit originals so can only claim one side.....

Brink,
Here's my answers..

1)What brand of detergent do you use to wash baby clothes?power or liquid form? - Pigeon liquid detergent

2)What brand of shampoo do you use to wash their hair/body? - Have bought Tollyjoy and Kodomo (see which one my boy likes first =))

3)Any baby fair in the months to come? - Dunno

4)What brand of sterilizer do you choose? Avent or Pigeon? - Pigeon

5)What brand of baby wipes do you use? - Whatever is on offer. Bought Pigeon, Tollyjoy, Johnsons

6)Which breast pump do you recommend and why? Ameda Lactaline, within budget for dual electric and intend to use long-term.

7)Which brand of strollers do you prefer, maclara or combi? Bought a capella 705

8)which brand of soap do you use to wash baby bottles etc? Pigeon

Happywifey, u can start with latex teats first for newborns and first few mths bbs. Silicone teats tend to be harder to suckle.

No prob, pris, iemik0.

Snowger,
Think bb is doing well. Dr Tseng din highlight anything after checking, but he said it feels like bb is head down position liao. But he said it's still too early and bb will continue to move ard.
I dunno what's the bb's weight lei since i din do ultrasound, but i put on about 2.3kg in 4 wks so i guess bb shd be growing well.

morning all.. wah. i realize my below is damn aching when i come to work and when im on weekends my below is okai not aching. i think i walk too much?! but then how? i need to walk to office from mrt to my office mah! duh~! .but i ask my doc. he say is i walk too much. haiz. like that how to solve. hope is okai to be aching lor. and wont be so serious ba? hmm

me on leave today.. need a rest n break ....

Hi snowger..
Ok.. i also dun know when to meet u.. need to pick up my bedding set from u too...

Juzyounme,

a bit hard to tell u not to get so upset - how to NOT get angry?? .. feel sad for u too that your hubby like that. How to depend on him when baby comes? It sounds like you'll be practically single-handedly supporting baby financially.

fabbie, maybe u try walking slower ... stroll along instead of speed walking .. I think it might be better .. won't strain u as much. And rest more on weekends.

Juzyounme,

Either u tell your mother-in-law about it or u just have to be extremely stern and serious when discussing with yr hubby on this issue again.

For me after making a big hooha infront of my hubby and show him my bankbook which has been deducing drastically due to in-out of KKHs and buying baby stuffs, he felt remorsed and agreed that its fair that both of us will allocate a certain amt each from our fixed salary to be put inside a joint account specially for baby expenses as this kid belongs to us.

So whatever expenses that concerning on baby will be deducted from this joint account. I'm very happy of cos, keke.

Give it a try, do an excel spreadsheet breakdown on both your hubby and you daily expenses (he has to be co-operative of cos) and work out with a comfortable percentage to be put inside this joint account specially for baby. Sometimes guys have to be coax, i'm sure he will listen to u

Juzyounme,
Y u gave the $$ to him?? no $$ still 1 2 take cab? isn't he ashame of himself??
He 1 2 use his $$ for his foot medical fees? Din't he has his part in making this baby?

Carmen,
Ur hb not bad lah - at least he very attentive!
My hb look hardworking niah cos his notes no use one. 1st lesson he took notes for exercises, then when we were reviewing - he can't even demo/rem wat he was writing! *Faintz*

Xuelyn's hb more supper lah... He oni see see Mrs Wong do, he can rem n do v nicely liao! Actually maybe wat Mrs Wong say is true: "Man learn faster".

Jowin,
Good u taking a rest! Me felt so tired tat I feel like taking half day but wan to save some leave to bring forward to next year... Still got ur bedding set leh, I asking hb if we go ikea Tampines then can pass to u. :p

Adelchia,
No news from gynae is usually good news lah!

Too late for me to claim medical! I oni got 1 mth from date of reciept to claim lor (so all expired liao). Maybe claim for the new reciepts.

Juzyounme,
Thanks for sharing abt the trial meal. Does the food from natal essentials taste gd? Do let me know after you’ve tried newbaby, okie? Me can’t decide between the 2 caterers.

AdelChia,
My tummy rashes are getting worse! Btw I tried Pinetarsol too. Visited a skin doctor & he gave steroid cream which after I applied, my tummy is even redder and has a slight scalded feeling. So I reduced the frequency to apply once a day, else the itch makes me crazy! Wonder if it’ll leave scars.. now my tummy looks really horrible. So sad…

Brink,
my answers are..

1)What brand of detergent do you use to wash baby clothes?power or liquid form?
Kodomo liquid detergent

2)What brand of shampoo do you use to wash their hair/body?
JJ top-to-toe

3)Any baby fair in the months to come?
Not sure.

4)What brand of sterilizer do you choose? Avent or Pigeon?
pigeon

5)What brand of baby wipes do you use?
pigeon

6)Which breast pump do you recommend and why?
I’m aiming for Ameda dual electric, I find it’s more silent than Medela. But haven’t buy yet.

7)Which brand of strollers do you prefer, maclara or combi?
Combi, light-weight & can use single-handedly when the other hand is carrying bb.

8)which brand of soap do you use to wash baby bottles etc?
pigeon

Juzyounme - think u hv to be firm with your husband. Maybe u try not to keep so much $ with u, say just $10 in ur wallet. Then if he ask again say u dun hv so much $. Or like wat lavendary suggest, make a big hooha out of it.

Scarletgal,
I went thru tt phase also. The rashes became redder and like slightly pop out and scaly - but i din use steroid cream to apply, only the Vit C cream from doc. After 1 week it got better.
Are your rashes spreading? Mine stopped spread after starting to put the cream and washing with the pinetarsol. Then the colour of the rash just became very red, almost like blueblack recovering colour. Den it faded to light brown which is now colour. It's slowly becoming lighter colour liao...

Snowger,
My receipts also expired la, but i went to ask my AP & HR whether can process late claims. Told them tt i lost my receipts and just found it during cleaning.. Haha! So they nag nag and then let me claim lor....

snowger, might as well we all meet at ikea on Wednesday? Near my house as well.. Hehehe

We can go thr for lunch then I can buy some stuff fr ikea and giant as well..lazy to go town.

AdelChia,
ya, the rashes has spread to my both sides of my tummy (area below armpit) & upper thighs. The skin doctor says it's not due to food allergy, and can't confirm if it's due to Palmers stretchmark cream, altho' he said the cream is well-known for causing skin irritation in many preggie women.

The Vit C cream you applied will stop the itching?

hihi!

Snowger, carmen, xuelyn, girl80 and esthers great to finally meet all of u! Look forward to seeing u all this sat again!

Any mummies have water retention issue? My feet and fingers starting to swell. My shoes are getting really tight and i cant wear my rings anymore.. Any idea how to reduce it?

Hippo:
me have! my feet kind of swell last mth but this mth seem to subside leh. anyway, my fingers have swelled too, dats y i cud no longer wear any rings =(

Scarletgal,
The Vit C cream will only relieve the itching for a while - main purpose is to moisturise the skin coz it will itch even more if it's dry. Why dun u call up the nurses at the gynae clinic to ask them if they sell? My gynae say no pt putting steroid creams coz it's not caused by external allergies, it's just one of the symptoms of pregnancy so the only way out is to moisturise skin and to find ways to stop the itching.

You wanna try putting ice cubes or cold towels on the rashes when they itch? It worked for me to stop the itching for a while, but it is super cold... can die also...

Jiayou! It will be over soon. Mine stopped itching after 3-4wks. My fren's one also lasted 1 mth then it just stopped by itself...

Hippo
I also started experiencing swelling quite suddenly a few days ago. It just happened that it was on the day that I was visiting my gynae, so I mentioned it to her. She was a bit concerned that it might be pre-eclampsia, because I'd put on 4kg in 4 weeks and I haven't really been eating much more than usual. Even though my blood pressure and urine test were normal (no protein present), she still ordered a blood test for me to be sure.

Anyway, this is just to share with you my experience. Hope this doesn't alarm you too much. But if you're interested, you can read more about pre-eclampsia here: http://www.preeclampsia.org/symptoms.asp

I haven't found anything to help with the swelling yet. I've been drinking more water and putting my feet up, but nothing seems to make a difference. My mum bought me a cream that is supposed to reduce water retention, but I haven't tried it yet. I'll let you know if it works.

Date: 4th Oct 08
Venue: Marche (vivocity)/ Shokudo (raffles city)
Timing: 1pm

1. LuthAdel(2 pax)
2. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax)
3. Meilik (2+1 pax)
4. Phyl
5. bubblepearl
6. Jowinbaby
7. Loveangel/Pris
8. Mimi
9. Ikeike/Christine
10. emeraldbride (2pax)
11. Ivy
12. Carmen (2pax)
13. Merydith (2pax)
14. Spaghetti (2pax)
15. Hippo

or u gals wanna go to the halal jap restaurant? swenson's doesnt take reservations.. i've checked with a few outlets..

Carmen: I don't think Marche is Halal-certified because they sell pork & alcohol. Perhaps we can try Swensens at Crown Hotel (beside Paragon)?

Juzyounme: I didn't really watch what i eat. I just ate as per normal but i kept away from oily food because they made me bloated & uncomfortable. I ate many fruits & maybe i didn't gain weight because i walk a lot.

I think your hubby needs to understand that if he missed his company bus, it's HIS problem & HIS responsibility that he wakes up or gets ready in time. Getting $30 from you for cab fare is just plain ridiculous. If i were you, i'll just ignore him & tell him to take the bus/MRT.

Don't be sad anymore ok?

Lavendery: I think i ought to show my hubby all the receipts I have accumulated for the bb stuff purchased. I still have to pay the CL! I know he pays for my checkups & my hosp delivery but sometimes i think men forget and can take us for granted.

hippo: Drink MORE water to combat water retention. That's what my gynae told me. Your body is retaining the water because you're not drinking enough so your body is storing up the water just in case. So by drinking more water, your body will not have to store the excess water.

Hippo,
I also have water retention at the feet. The ankle part so swollen until very diff to walk.... i just asked hubby to massage for me..

thanks all for your suggestions, will definately try to drink more water. Echo im starting to be a lil worried too, cos i just went for my gynae visit last week and i had tested positive for sugar in urine. Now, I have to go for glucose blood test to test for diabetes.
Hmmm... I'll go read up on the Pre-eclampsia link to see if it might be that.

If take too salty stuff will cause water retention. I drink more water oso, so will go toilet very often, so get rid of water oso. When weather too hot will caused water retention as well. If possible drink some winter melon soup, can reduce water retention. Hope it helps.

Itch on tummy: I have red welts on my first preg as well, very itchy coz I did not apply anything , it goes off after awhile. This time round I apply olive oil , quite effective, no itch and no new stretchmarks appears.

Juzyounme,

Your HB really too much, dare to ask $$$ from you when he din pay anything for BB and u. Have to teach this kind off ppl a lesson, just ignore says u dun have the $$ to lend or should I said give him.

AdelChia,
I called gynae’s clinic & was referred to the skin doctor. So what I do now is to apply J&J lotion frequently to moisture. Ya, I also put cold pack onto my tummy, it helps such that my tummy doesn't feel so heated. Will continue doing that. Hope the itch & redness will go away soon.. meanwhile have to endure & endure…

Hippo,
I had pre-eclampsia during my previous pregnancy. Besides swelling, the other more impt symptoms are high blood pressure & protein in urine. If only swelling, then it’s quite normal for preggies in last trimester, ie may not necessary lead to pre-eclampsia. Not to worry too much, unless you’ve other symptoms listed above. Just drink more water & reduce salt intake.

AdelChia: For my rashes, it lasted for like 2 weeks, now most of them have subsided. But now i have all the ugly brownish scars all over my hands and legs.

Loveangle: Haha, u should :p For me, i really type down everything inside the spreadsheet and show to him. How much i spent on baby VS how much he spend on baby, hehehe. If your hubby sees all your receipts, i'm sure he will feel very paisay one. U paying for the CL? Actually i'm no better. Cos i have been insisted my mum doing confinement for me, hubby said he will refuse to pay a single cent as i insisted staying at my mum's house for 1mth, he very unhappy. Hubby do not mind paying to engage a confinement lady for me but only at the condition that i must do my confinement at our own house. But i told him i feel more comfortable letting my own mum to do confinement for me. So i got to fock up from my own pocket money...

Gals

Went for my checkup yesterday & doctor told me he might want to deliver me at 34 weeks!!!!

Oh my god, i am so worried now

Nw at week 28, he say my smaller twin is still very small so i must pray hard that there is no more complications or any signs of pre term labour....really dun want them to come out so fast and suffer...

Doc already pur me on 2 wks hospt leave since last week till now, hoping that the smaller twin will catch up on weight and size with more rest... i really need to put my fingers cross now

Lavendery,
How long ago you kenna the rashes? The brown marks no go away? Oh no.... my marks are still there also... it's lighter than b4 but still haven't gone away totally. I had my rashes about 23-24wks, now already 28 wks liao.

AdelChia: Hmm, i kena on 9th Sept till around 19th Sept. That time i was scratching mad. Kept on putting calamol lotion (my gynae prescribe to me) to ease the itchiness. At first i tot of really going to National Skin Center cos its really very irritating and itchy, however luckily the rashes subsided.

The brown marks are still there, alot of them have faded off but of a lighter brown tone (which i believe also same as u). Currently i'm in my 27weeks+, reaching 28week very soon

Hi emeraldbride n llig
i send u both an email abt gymboree..
please check ur mail.

Hi girl80
i see.. pray hard for you

ur bb girl will get bigger.. cheers!!

Hi jowinbaby

i also hope so....keep talking to them everyday to grow more heavy and dun come out so fast to suffer....

Btw, anyone knows if the bugis wholesale shop opens on Public Holiday?

gals.. young parents mag got free diapers you can go get it. my company got 3 of the magazine. lolx and all give me the diapers ahha . so shiok!

girl80 eat more ya! must eat more and rest more! will pray for you. hope baby is healthy. is better to deliever early the better. so that the smaller twin wont get squeeze too much. btw you going for natual birth? or C-sect?

girl80, dun worry too much la.. take your HL and fully rest and "an tai" with your babies.. hehe.. talk to them, play music etc.. eat healthier foods and also think happy thoughts ya..