(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

lavendery...yaya...20%+20%..no wonder long Q lah at cashiers..too bad bb wipes dun have discount..think i am gog to get my tonic oil tml liao...

Hi Carmen,
Sry to hear abt ur FIL & ur hospitalisation. Hope everything is better for u now. No wonder i din see u last sat..

Hippo,
I was wearing bight pink top w black pants last sat, sitting at the centre of the class.

Me not feeling too good here either.. down w a bad flu & persistent cough.. have been coughing thru'out the nite.. din really sleep well at all. been feeling dizzy & restless.. So i decided to pack my bb room w bags and bags of bb stuff all over the flr. Jus managed to send some of the bb clothes & pillow cases etc to wash. i oso heck-care.. threw everything into the washing machine.. hahaa..

bubble pearl: Wow 20+20%? Very worth. That time i was searching high and low for it (Orchard, Chinatown etc), just to get a less than $60 Clarins stretchmark oil :p

Hmm, its 20+20% storewide huh? Not just Clarins?

piGgiCia - if i go subsidised, i can't opt to have consultation during evening times or sat afternoon at amk. if i have to take no pay leave just coz of the last few wks consultation, it's not worth it. if exclude supplements, my average consultation + urine stick + mini scan at amk clinic is about $80, which is like $30 difference from subsidised. i have taken most of my 11 days annual leave due to my exams & also not gd to take anymore leave (boss not happy), so have to go consultation during non-office hrs.

from what i understand is that if u need to convert from private to subsidized, they will access your household income & your expenses. by then back to same story, it's not that my household income is terribly low, and it's not within the range to apply for any financial assistance. it's just on how come no savings?

erm..storewide 20%.. but exclude bb items and some products..

I think Clarins have their own 20% discount and +20% discount from robinson..

ya..much much more cheaper than DFS!

juzyounme, kkh gynaes give MC if consultation is during the day leh.. well, its your choice la.. but just bear in mind its a very uphill journey from here..

we are here to listen to your problems and give you suggestions ya!! =)

bubblepearl, if they got 20% for avent must tell me oh.. i wanna get teats from Avent and also breastpads from pigeon..

Juzyounme: Understand your hardship that u're facing. Hopefully your hubby will change

Ladies:
thanks for your comforting words regarding my FIL. Just went to the prayin session for his "1s 7 day" memorial service this morning. I guess no mater wat rite or wrong things he had done, he is still our elderly, so dats the least dat we cud do for him... juz hope the "money" and house we burnt for him, he can really receive and use in the other world..

Juzyounme and Lavendery:
now dun push here and there, i think PIG07 meant well to pass the stuff to u, so u2 make full use of it ok? dun be mistaken, i knw both of u are kind ladies and wanna lighten my burden, but i have done my sum, even if my HB dun werk for another 4 mths, i sud still be able to tahan. so dun wori ok? in any case, if i really really need help, i will not keep to myself, dat i promise =)

Gathering on 1 Oct:
since all of us are on for Somerset, we meet at Centrepoint a 12pm? We can go for a simple lunch and perhaps grab some last min stuff for BB or ourselves? My frens gave me some Robinson voucher for my bdae this year, so we cud make use of it for our purchases.

Phyl:
if confirm ur free, i pick u ard 11.30am from yr hse?

Juzyounme:
yr HB is really a BIG kid! dat makes u hav to be even more independent lor. ya, i agree with Phyl, juz tell yr MIL straight dat since you cud not afford it and u d not wan to add on the financial burden, u wud rather not have the CL. but as i share with Phyl, it cud be quite tough for u hor, cos our BB is our 1s child, so we no experience. since both MIL are not helping, so we have to depend very much on ourselves. For me not so bad, as im determined to have a CL no matter wat... i knw myself, i dun think i can cope with the pain below and taking care of a new born. But if ur as strong as Phyl mentally, then i think not having a CL may be a better option for u. And yes, CL @ 1800 does not include the marketing money. Minimally, with the inflation of stuff, she may need 100-150 per week for marketing (depends on the type of food u wan too lar). So it can come up to nearly 2300-2500, excluding BB expenses. Im not trying to stress u but more for u to share the number with yr "no-money-sense" MIL and HB.

take the arrival of yr BB as a gift from God.. who knw, yr BB is here to educate your HB and MIL the importance of financial planning and saving! hehe... ;D

Carmen.. can ah.. u from khatib mrt opp the NTUC road there go all the way straight is my house liao.. no need turn one round by going pass northpoint first wor.. hehehe.. coz that day bu hao yi si you circle one round la.. keke...

me not so strong like what carmen say la.. its more the will power to be independent la.. i dun like ppl to look down on me.. i do feel down sometimes and incompetent also.. i get angry at my block of wood but i know he is also doing all he can for our little family of him, me, my dear bao bei cat and my 60 neon tetras.. now got baby liao.. he also will feel stress when i tell him i want this for hayden that for hayden.. but i dun want him to feel financially over strained too.. so all the nonsense things that i buy are from my own pocket.. which i wont ge gao with him.. coz i want it for my son.. ppl from mountain dun understand why my son needs a neck float.. haha.. i just think its damn cute to throw hayden into a pool with that! kekeke...

and i think to top it all off.. i'm damn auntie when it comes to buying things.. i must get it at the cheapest possible price.. hehe.. so avent no 20% is not worth buying.. and romper cannot be more than 8.. no matter how cute! i only buy prawns if its less than $8/kg also.. and wont buy apples that are more than 50cents each.. see.. i damn auntie one..

phyl:
wahahaha... from your description, u really are so AUNTIE lor!!! goodness me!!! kekeke... for me, im auntie in my own way too. thou i dun really comb for the lowest price (cos me too ;lazy to compare prices for more than 3 stores or brands), im excited at the mention of "discount" or "promotion" too! hahaha... recently when i buy fruits, i oso dig into the fruit piles to get the ones deep below... at first my HB stare (amazingly) at me, cos he finds it quite amusing for a preg woman to lean so forwrd into the heap of fruits, juz to get the "freshest" ones below! hahaha... think with the arrival of Kasia, i will be more aunite ;)

i carry calculator with me.. not small one.. its big big one lor when i go marketing.. my hubby will walk far far away.. keke..

phyl: Actually no need calculator mah. Just handphone will do, inside got the calculator function leh. U really sounded like aunty, keke!! Good, can manage household finance well :p

piGgiCia - i think i cannot afford to go on MC too... boss not exactly happy. i will be on leave 2.5 days this week & another 4 days in another 2 weeks' time. she got two presentations need me to settle liao.

i know it's uphill, that's why i was thinking of placing baby for adoption. suddenly just felt that my mum had a better life than me - she stopped working since she had me - my father earned like $1.7K gross per mth but he is willing to give $1.3K for the family - she has confinement lady - blah blah.

lavendery - i'm not optimistic.

Carmen - ok, will pass stuff to lavendery ya? meet at centrepoint at 12pm ok for me. if my CL makes noise about CL again, i will be snapping at her. haiz, i don't know about the BB. pple always say 1st BB has character of husband.

Juzyounme
Then what to do leh? who like to see their mother or MIL to pawn their jellwery? what can u do? You also got no choice mah. Haiz.. you cant help, then bo pian force also no money come out de. haiz..

phyl, u really sound like auntie leh. but good, being auntie can save $. hehe.... actually i also buy stuffs when on sale, with i see new arrivals on the rack i will not buy, will only buy when there is discounts which i think is worth. for baby's stuff i also make sure that is discounts before i buy. although i got some shopping vouchers, i will still wait for sale then buy so will be more worth.

some baby stuffs i also pay from my own pocket cos hubby at times will say dun need to buy this and that but i want it for my boy so i dun care and go ahead and buy. buy liao then tell hubby.

phyl, i have checked with Irene Chua, if wanna get hospitalisation leave must stay in ward for one day...i am going for the diabetes lesson next monday then she say i can request for extension of the hospitalisation leave. My medical leave used finish le...so must take HL...not sure if can be granted for my check ups every mth....

Phyl,have you called the clinic?

Our meet up is on the 4th or 1st...haven been reading the thread since yesterday....

ivy...our gathering is on the 4th.. some of the mummies are meeting up on the 1st as well!!

So 4th is next week leh.. hv we decided which swenson's to go? Frankly i was at orchard last Saturday noon time, swenson's is empty leh, so i suppose if we wanna go to the one at orchard still ok..

We can go to the swensons at the hotel...the one beside paragon...can we make reservation first?

Phyl...which doc you change to? i might have to deliver earlier due to GD...cos Irene said that she is afraid that the baby might be too big for normal delivery if wait.. bb now 1.2kg at 27 weeks...

Juzyounme, think government just gave the second instalment of the GST supplement payout. Both you and your hubby should get a few hundreds from there. As LAST resort, there's always the GE Money loan. Not the best solution, but at least you get to have some cash for your check-ups and booking of delivery suite? Your baby is your MIL's grandchild also. Letting her pawn her gold is still better than taking a loan and paying the interest. Don't be too hard on yourself...

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for expectant mothers. A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:
1) Preference: 24-30 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 25-26 Sept 08 (Thurs-Fri)
3) Time: 10am - 5pm
4) Duration: 30 min- 1hr
5) Venue: Siemens Center. 60 Macpherson Road, Singapore
6) Contact: Dr Liu Wei Gang, hp 9678 5889

Was on mc today. Saw a polyclinic doc for my red itchy eyes and mentioned that i've been having pain on the right side of my tummy and she suspects either appendicitis or prob with placenta! Shit! Gave me emergency referral to kk but i booked appt with my gynae for tomorrow instead. Am really afraid of going to the delivery suite. Wish me luck that she's wrong and its just abdomen extension pains..

sam,
Okie. Will attempt to cut his curly hair. The only thing that was holding us back was that my sis managed to screw up cutting her daughter's curly hair by giving her a ridiculous fringe..haha.. My boy's hair is growing way too long and he tugs at it in his sleep at times but were afraid if we mess it up, he'll look funny during hari raya. Will do, will get husband to snip. Hmm..if we jus focus on the front and above the ears..will the end result be clownish?

Hi Juzyounme,
Why not talk to your husband and have a common fund for baby expenses? That means automatically on your husband payday, POSB/DBS Bank will auto deduct $ and the put into a Joint Acct where only you hold the atm card. Then this card is to pay for baby related expenses..so it gets out of his bank before he spends it away.

llig,

no it won't .. try to snip a bit at a time ... you can actually snip all over to make it more even .. it'll look like a helmet when you're done so you'll know it's even ..

curly hair can't have fringe la .. it doesm't look nice ... my daughter's hair when it was short was like a helmet on her head .. cute leh!!

ohh free 3D scan.. too bad.. i can't go.. thanks chobeemama

sigh llig.. me almost tender today.. can imagine tat..?? almost quarell with boss.... sucks...but bear for that 4 months ML..

me ok with orchard swensen

Hi luthadel
received the loots already .. hee hee.. pass to u at gathering..

ooh..maybe i should put a huge bowl on his head when his hair is wet then snip snip snip.. hehe.. Btw, my husband just said no, he won't cut and he's not gonna allow anyone else to also. haiz.

jowin,
haiz. hang in there. me trying to too.

gathering
I will probably only be able to confirm on the friday prior. Its the 1st weekend after hari raya so might be out visiting.

Good Morning Ladies..

Thanks ade for sharing the details on 4D scan at TMC. Might be too late for me to book since I am already at 30 wks liao.

ivy, which clinic you taking abt? the circumcision one still no answer... i change to llig's gynae, Dr M Hendricks.

later i try to call up the swensons at crowne prince hotel ba..

llig, take care oh.. i think your job is also pretty demanding.. hope all goes well for you today.

jowin ah.. must ren k.. not worth it to let your emotions run wild and take over your actions.. remember we all fought for the ML.. so just jia you and ren k.. gambate!!

Date: 4th Oct 08
Venue: Swensons
Timing: 1pm
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. 2ndbb
16. Spaghetti (2pax)
17. Hippo

total: 25 Adults + 2 Children

i called the Orchard one.. they refuse to take our reservations.. saying they are damn busy.. so asked me to call suntec or funan.. those 2 outlets opening hours are from 10.30.. so i call later again ba..

Date: 4th Oct 08
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. 2ndbb
16. Spaghetti (2pax)
17. Hippo
18. Santorini

total: 26 adults + 2 children

Just realise that its Sat and I can't make it for the gathering as I need bring my gal for enrichment class at 2pm.

<font color="aa00aa">Date: 4th Oct 08
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. Spaghetti (2pax)
16. Hippo
17. Santorini

morning gals .. !!

I just contacted the doctor who's conducting the free 3D scans and booked myself a slot at 3.30pm today ... it's really free apparently - i asked him

Will update u gals on it later when I get back from the appt ... hubby is going with me.

hey 2nd Baby, I booked already. Going down at 3.30pm later.

I just want an excuse to see my baby again .. hahaha ... because my next gynae appt is so long away .. 3 weeks more. sigh.

I've gone for a 3D and 4D scan before when I had my 2nd girl ... that's why didn't pay to do it again this time around for Baby Number 4 ... but since free, can go lor.

In case those who are still drinking Annmum "freaks out"... (See link: http://www.fonterra.com/wps/wcm/connect/fonterracom/fonterra.com/our+business/news/media+releases/notice+of+voluntary+product+recall+-+anmum+materna)

Fonterra China today announced a voluntary recall of one batch of prenatal milk sold in China under the ANMUM Materna brand name.

This particular batch had been manufactured and distributed under licence by San Lu using what we believe to be contaminated local raw milk.

A company spokesman said this issue applies to the one batch of ANMUM Materna which was distributed in China (excluding Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan). None of the batch in question was exported out of China.

All other ANMUM and ANLENE products in the market have been produced using only 100% fully imported milk from New Zealand and are free from any possibility of contamination with melamine from locally sourced milk, and adhere to the strictest New Zealand and international standards.

Fonterra China said the stock was being recalled because consumer safety was the company’s utmost concern.

Similac person just called me and told me their milk products have not china sources and its from europe and new zealand only wor.. keke.. they called me regarding the baby shower gift (mimi posted the link last wk i think) and shun bian tell me their milk not poisonous.. and they are going to send me vouchers for their milk.. ~_*

i've booked a slot for the scan too.. my appt is at 10.30am.. Sam, the dr asked me if i know u.. so i said, ya.. kinda.. keke..

maureen, so how? u book liao ma?