(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Esther/Girl80/Carmen,
See u all tis saturday orh.

Carmen, u v cute. I forgot to share with u all i forced myself to sleep on one side until i kena whole hand cramp...

I checked with the AVA website, here is the FAQ which may interest us (http://www.ava.gov.sg/NR/rdonlyres/9253E7B2-E57D-4992-982C-1304E73748D6/22008/FAQsonmelamine_23Sep08_finalv1.pdf):

Q18. I may have consumed some of the contaminated milk products, am I at risk and what should I do now?
The risk of harmful effects depends on the amount of melamine consumed. The maximum level of melamine detected by AVA in contaminated products in Singapore is much lower than those reported from China. Your risk is minimal if the milk product is not a major part of your daily food intake. MOH advises that anyone who is worried should consult their family doctor first. The doctor can then refer you for further tests if it is necessary.

Q22. I am pregnant and may have ingested some of the milk products, am I at risk and what should I do now?
(see question 18) Melamine is not known to cause deformities in your child. However, you should inform your obstetrician of your exposure to such contaminated milk or milk products.

hi carmen
sorry to hear abt ur FIL.. u take care too .. dun overwork ... n relax more..

Asking u to relax, i shd do it myself too.. very busy at work n at times worked till breathless.. hard to breathe n need to take a rest

me most likely ok for 4 Oct afternoon gathering

Swensen also ok la
i go with the majority..

Hi phyl
oh.. $95 for 4D scan ah.. tats very good.. hope to see ur baby 4D pics/ video soon

Emeraldbride, urs too.. show us after the scan

Me not going for any 4D scan, though tempted.. though i shd save the $ for other things for bb

snowger , pris n gals
we always chat at nite on msn hor.. recently i m real tired.. going to sleep already.. very tired at work....

take care horr..

I have been eating the Dreyers Chocolate Cake Ice Cream wor (T_T) Just threw the other half away. So scary...first milk, now rice products also must be careful.

I very tempted by the 4D scan leh....plus, it's very near my workplace! heehee.. NUH business suddenly very good. Influx of mummies going for 4D scan.

Phyl, I think Swensons was picked because it's halal izzit? I'm ok with anything too.

circumcision
Yup did for my elder son at 3wks at Cresent Clinic at $80 but don't know if price increase or not. Can just call and book a slot for the procedure as long as baby is healthy.
My son didn't seem very bothered by it so we were thinking of just getting it done at KK for our 2nd son before we leave after delivery.. Like that, both umbilical cord and the ring around the penis will fall off at the same time so no need 'special care'. When my boy was born, i asked the PD at KK and he told me earliest that circumcision can be done is at 5yrs. That's why we ended up at a clinic instead of hospital.. My husband's was done at 6 or 8yr old (i dun quite remember) cos he had some kidney problem. Was solved thru circumcision but he remembers the pain. Thankfully my boy will be spared both urinary problems and memories of a painful/embarassing experience.
Oh by the way, after the procedure, my boy really didn't seem to be bothered by it at all.

ikeike,
Ya..its YOU i remember. Oops..sorry iemik0

juzyounme,
Polyclinic does have the vaccination listing but i don't have it. Well, i probably have it but no idea where.. My medical drawer is a mess..sorry. A good guide to follow would be baby's health booklet.

4d scan
Adel, it looks so good! But me definitely not going for it cos didn't have it for #1 so must be fair

jowinbaby,
Me also super-stressed at work. Came to breaking point lastnight and actually cried
Seems like i'm ending up with all the big ticket items but i don't have the stamina to follow through EVERYTHING. aaargh.. I think i need to voice out already. During my breakdown (thankfully colls don't know cos me having red itchy eyes), the right side of my tummy started to ache too. Dunno why..perhaps its all the stress...?

HL
Can we ask gynae to give HL towards end of 3rd tri? Is it ok cos i'm the paiseh to ask for MC type. My work is super-stressful and i'm not sure if i should be there. Consequences of screwing up are huge life & death type. But i don't wanna touch ML cos will need every day of it since i'll be managing 2 children at home.

morning ladies! so nice weather to zzz...

carmen, sorry to hear about ur FIL. on the other hand, congrats that your hubby got a job! actually there are a few days which i force myself to sleep on my left but end up my left arm is numb when i wake up. after that i sleep on both left and right side.

lling, i am also thinking to ask my gynae to give me HL maybe 1 or 2 weeks before my EDD. but dun know if he will give. i dun think i will have the strength and energy to work and squeeze in the train every morning and after work.

llig,

oh dear ... hope the stress at work eases off soon! So awful for you!!! Just hang on, we all have about 10 weeks to go then you can be home nursing your new little one!

You know u asked me sometime back about cutting your boy's curly hair ? .. well, as my girl was growing up, I cut it myself .. I find that cutting curly hair is much easier than cutting pin needle straight hair ... with curly hair, you can't really tell when it's a bad haircut .. with straight hair u can .. when I used to cut my eldest girl's straight hair .. her fringe when she was little, the min it's not cut straight, people will comment to me ... with Lauren, my 2nd girl .. her curly hair .. u can't tell. Only the most recent time, I brought her to a hair salon and the guy flat ironed her hair before cutting cos he said it would be easier for him to cut .. but he was the one who chose to do it ... he ended up spending so much time flat ironing her hair cos it's so thick .. lol.

So I suggest you just ask Daddy to give your boy a trim ... it should be ok .. just cut bit by bit when his hair is wet and try to cut as straight as u can ... once it dries and springs back into a mass of curls, you can't tell.

2nd Baby, me too! Tat's y doctor say best to stop and anyway, it is juz a precaution, no cause for alarm..

I hope i dun hv to take HL before giving birth considering the amount of workload that my boss is piling on me!! She's juz creating the dependency and then later when i go on maternity leave, surely alot of issues cropped up!! sian..

Carmen - I was wondering why u seem to MIA, now I know why. Sorry about ur FIL's passing & hope u feel better now.

anyway, i do flip myself from left to right when i zzz. If I sleep on my left side too long, it seems being pressed & ached.

good to hear that ur husband got a job and things will be better for u. But in the meantime, I think ur HB will need to wait for his 1st pay and also settle down with his income 1st. I already passed to lavendry the stuff to be shared from what Pig07. There's not really a lot for u eh. I wanted to ask if u r passing by woodlands, then i pass to u or else when will i next see u?

For Gathering on 1 Oct, I can meet at Somerset, where do u want to eat at? What's the time again, I forgot...

piGgiCia - where's shokudo?

emeraldbride - i still have a sample pack of ammum, don't know whether i throw, coz wanted to try to taste of chocolate milk. ;P

llig - i see.

Clarins having 20% sale at Robinson today and tmr!! Just received their SMS blast tis morning.. anyone going?? I m not heading that direction todae..sian! And i need to buy their stretch mark cream..calculated, cheaper than buying from airport by $4bucks after 20% disc and 5% robinson rebate..keke

Date: 4th Oct 08
Venue: Swensons
Timing: Lunch
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax) Lunch 2pm onwards / ok with all 3 venues =)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)/ Lunch 1pm onwards / Suntec
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. 2ndbb
16. Spaghetti (2pax)

Phyl, think shokudo is out..cos not halal..Marche dun think also halal..

How abt Junction 8, Toa Payoh or chinatown pt Swensen? think they have lesser crowd there?

u got robinson card??? R u Clarins member?? Hehehe...i m leh, if u r not, can I PM u my nric so that i can accumulate points? Sorry ah..i so mah fun
if it is not too inconvenient for u, can help me to buy the stretch mark cream? It's called Strech Mark Control.

i have swenson's 1 for 1 sundae coupons again.. pm me and i will forward to you if you gals want it.. its valid till 30 sept only..

ignore my suggestion.. kekeke..

emeraldbride..u pm me ur member no and mobile number..yup..got Robinson card, no problem lah..in tube form? how much is after discount?

Phyl, i am gog to eat swensen ice this weekend! hahaha

phyl: Swenson sundae promo again ah?? *drooling*
Can just go eat sundae or not, without the meal? :p

For the Clarins stretchmark oil and cream, its all retailed at $80 over at all counters.

morning all.. Ask you all ah. if really a old auntie or uncle standing infront of you would you offer sit to them? i feel so bad when today got one old uncle standing infront of me =(

I had once before that at my stage now. nobody offer seat to me also. but thank god got a pregnant woman with her husband alighting saw me from far then offer me sit. so peiseh. =S

maybe i dare not walk to the center of the cart. so peiseh leh. hehe

emeraldbride remember to share your 4D scan okai! heehe

Thanks phyl for the kang tao..

hehe..so cheap the NUH scan..I also book appointment liao since my biopolis shuttle bus goes to NUH everyday. Yeah...can't wait to see him nxt monday keke. Think I will check out the NUH pharmacy too..coz I remember my NUS medical staff pass entitles me to 10 or 20% off the products.

Juzyounme & Carmen: 1st oct meet at Somerset?
Eat at where, i got no preference as in eating at where. Any recommandation? Timing wise, hmm... 11am or 12pm?

Carmen: I have enough le. Juzyounme have passed me two big bags of stuffs from Pig07, its already enough for me. Your hubby just gotten his job and really need sometime to settledown financially. Every bit of handover things here and there are really useful

juzyounme
as long u dun eat so much is safe! hehehe this is what i felt. still can eat. but dun eat too much. anyway is cold. bad for tummy ya.

Hi llig
sigh.. me too.. so busy tat on verge of breaking down... n tummy felt so tight the whole day.. even last nite when i sleep.. i felt tight.. the stress is still there.. talked to bb n told her sorry.. mummy had to work.... bear for it awhile!!!

Today i dun feel much kick from bb already.. dun know wat happen.. sigh!!!

Everyone told me pregnant must be stress free.. sigh... how??? Sigh...

Hi bubblepearl
wah.. the swensen u mentioned all in neighbourhood area..Perhaps Plaza Sing?

fabbie,
the drip is to induce?

when are you all planning to start on the leave?
at 37/38/39 wks? or work all the way?
I am thinking of clearing my annual leave from wk 37..then take maternity leave from wk 39...

bubble, sent!!!

Jo, dun worry too much ya.. mabbe cos u r too busy at work, baby also very tired and needed the rest too? Once less busy, y not take a day or two off and stay home and do nothing but relax relax relax!! Will be good for baby. I read that stress can slow down baby's brain development and of course in work stress in inevitable but try to take it to ur stride. Most impt is still to stay happy and positive..

Fabbie: If old people, i will give up my seat too, unless i'm not feeling well either. Cos i believe they still need seat more than us, considering their legs are more weaker than us.

Meredith: I'm planning to start taking leaves on 22th Dec (Mon). My EDD is 26th Dec (Fri). I got no more annual leaves to clear, so trying to save as much maternity leaves as possible by taking it near my delivery date. Unless my gynae willing to give me Hospitalisation leaves instead, keke.

this morning called my MIL to complain abt my hb. he is not going to work again due to his foot. and the thing is that he doesn't have $20 to even go polyclinic to see Dr. he wants to borrow $20 fr me and i hack care him. so called his mum asked his mum to go tend to him.

really depressed nowadays, have asked my hb is he has saved nothing how to book the delivery suite & bed package? he said wait till Nov, then i reminded him Nov needs near weekly consultation which need to standby $400. even if he waits till Nov to book, he won't be able to come out the cash to book package.

my MIL still doesn't get it. told her i don't want the CL liao. she still suggested getting a day CL fr Batam to help. put this lamely - if her son just want to spend his entire pay within 10 days & save $0; and if she doesn't want to help with any confinement matters (note: she has not offered at all to help with confinement), she should just leave me alone to do own confinement. no pt burdening with more stuff to settle financially.

lavendery/ Carmen - i think time n venue, i leave to both of u. i don't really have a recommendation. of coz try to find somewhere which doesn't need to queue one.

Mimi - i don't want to rely on bonus. my bonus is usually distributed after CNY and my HR told me my bonus will be pro-rated coz i'm going on maternity leave.

whatever it is... even if my hb doesn't care abt baby coming, he should at least not spend his entire pay with 10 days & no savings until $20 to go polyclinic for his own foot also cannot come out. no longer small kids anymore.

Jowin..chinatown pt leh..not neighbourhood bah..keke..that time dunno who say dunno will get "chased" for those shopping belt areas mah..so i find those more to central and less crowded place lor..

Emeraldbride, gotten ur number liao..ok...once i gotten it, will sms u.

Fabbie, i will give up my seat..cos for me at my present stage..i am not too sick or feel bad to need a seat..well..it depends on individual..if ur tummy is big and dun really feel well, maybe u dun need to give up ur seat but can a favour by asking the person next to you? *thick-skinned* abit

Juzyounme,

We hear your frustration. Really don't know what to say though. You are absolutely right about hubby acting like a kid ... !! I know it's depressing .. just hang on. Which hospital will u be delivering in?

Good Morning all!

Hey Carmen, Sorry to hear about your FIL and hope you take good care. Glad to hear that you have been discharged!

Guess this sat will be our last lesson and I still have no clue how Carmen/Esthers/girl80/xuelyn look like? Will anyone's hubby be wearing a soccer jersey this week?

I would like to join in the gathering too. Although I have not been posting regularly cos am really swamped with work. Also, its my first time meeting you gals so hope its ok.

Date: 4th Oct 08
Venue: Swensons
Timing: Lunch
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax) Lunch 2pm onwards / ok with all 3 venues =)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)/ Lunch 1pm onwards / Suntec
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Merydith (2pax)
15. 2ndbb
16. Spaghetti (2pax)
17. Hippo

meredith
I duno leh. haiz. u mean if i didn't induce i no need to drip? damn scare of drip. sighz.

Juzyounme
a CL from Batam?! u mean confidment lady? Just tell your MIL that your son need money can u give your son money thanks. aand tell your MIL say SORRY i dun have the money to hire a CL. TELL HER THAT you dun have money to AFFORD. thats all you need to do. but talk to her nicely. Some times people dun understand must tell them de.

bubble pearl
i confirm dare not to be thick skin liao sia. and beside me is a quite old uncle too. lolx i even walk in also dare not stand at the center liao hehe. But i realise i go work. just to walk to work out of my house and to work. my below very pain liao. but on weekends hard walk not pain at all. haiz.

kristalangel - KKH lor... that's why i asked u qns when u said u booked ur package.

hippo - i think u can PM them individually with ur mobile... then tell them to meet at a certain location right after class.

juzyounme, is ur mil going to pay for the CL? maybe she thot u and ur hubby got enough savings for your hospital bills, CL and baby stuffs.

afternoon ladies
went for shopping ydae n lots of damage done. spent $165 at AMK baby shop. hehe. hb nearly faint when i sms him how much i spent. bought breast pads, airy singlets, nappy cloth n liners, pooh bear cushion n lots more.

went orchard n spent even more. hehe. got my flats to wear to fren's wedding, disposable panties, maternity pads, organizer for 2009, etc. =)

hapi hapi!!

phyl
mi booked wif NUH as well for 4D scan. hehe. 31st oct. =)

juzyounme,

book a package u can afford .. don't go for one bedder ... after all, if normal vaginal delivery, 2 nite stay only what. no point forking out so much when the money can be used elsewhere .. especially once baby is born.

Mimi - i don't think she is paying & i also don't want her to pay. she knows her son doesn't have savings one. and since she knows her son can't pay for $20 polyclinic bill, can't pay for gynae check-up, can't pay for hospital package, then she should know can't pay for CL as well. A $1800 CL is higher then whether his or my take home pay.

kristalangel - i don't think there's any possibility of getting 1 bedded. the most affordable package at the moment is B1 and i think the cash to be forked out will be $920 upon booking the package. and i don't think he can pay this amt.

juzyounme, do you know that you can opt to see under subsidized patient of KKH? and if i am not wrong, you pay only max $30/visit. If u wanna do a scan then thats an addition $28. Then you can opt for the 6 bedder one and your medisave should be able to cover it all.. the only disadvantage is you dunno who will be the gynae that will deliver your baby.

i guess all of us must do things within our means. if your CL thing, you better get it straight who is paying.. and besides the 1.8k.. you have to still give CL marketing money to buy food to cook for you. so its not only simply 1.8k.

iemiko, 31 oct?? so late ah.. how many weeks will you be by then? hehe.. so fun rite?

emeraldbride, did u give me ur mobile number correctly? how come i call ur number and someone tell me i got the wrong person..anyway i help u got the cream liao..after discount is $51.20..really v cheap..$80 (original) 20%+20%

phyl
coz my sis on leave on 31st den can go wif mi. hehe. will try c if she make it earlier anot. =) tink i will 34 wks by then. hehe. i did one for my eldest at 26wks previously.

carmen
ya from mrs wong class? if yes. no free gift on that day. only tell us how to push and recap the last 2 lessons exercise. she only say 4th lesson remember to bring more money got things to buy. =)

juzyounme
She say dun worry about money then U dun worry lor. But keep some money in ya pocket and not let ANYONE know can liao. =) JUST IN CASE. till last min very jialet liao then u take out. dun soft hearted so fast take out people will know you are rich. -___-

piGgiCia - i know abt the subsidised thing, but i opt to be a private pt, coz 1 of the reason is can choose gynae & 2nd reason is that i'm under private when i went for genetics appt.

i think i have make myself clear that i won't want any CL, since no matter who is paying the party won't be able to afford. if my MIL still doesn't realise that she can't afford and her son also cannot afford, then i have nothing to say.

fabbie - ya, will keep & i'm never rich in 1st place or give pple such impression. MIL said don't worry means she can borrow $$$ or sell her gold jewellery again. and that's what i don't like. her son should know better not to make her mum pay & pay. i also don't like the idea when the baby is born, it's surrounded by loans or debts.

Carmen/Fabbie - last lesson got no freebies. apart from the 1 cup of mamil milk & 1 cup of mineral water.

gals, i got a call from Shichida this morning saying my seats are confirmed although previously they told me i am out of the talk. She has emailed to me confirming my seats. their system really cock-up.

juzyounme, u can talk to the business centre and can change to subsidized patient if you are really facing difficulties.. Consultation fees for the last few wks of pregnancy is no joke.. if there is a will, there is a way ya! 2 cents!

i honestly dun think your husband care if his mum pays or borrows or sell.. erm.. your MIL's debts are not your baby's debts.. so dun take it too hard upon yourself. its their choice of living on credit and beyond their means.. as long u live within your means there should be nothing to be ashamed of ya!