(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

i will be using cloth diapers during day time since my mum will be ard...and nite use disposible diapers..want to give my bb a period of diapers free..keke

kristalangel,
lucky my those cloth diaper is pass to me by my sis. So i didnt buy at all. I just bought a box of diaper liner.

Ya i find the Desitin Creamy is good also.. So far all diaper work for my 1st boy. Hope the coming one is also very qin cai with diaper then can save $$.

I have fren baby can only use pampers. She comment her boy have ex butt.

bubble pearl,
my MIL is the one who taking care of my boy last time. At 1st she also say use cloth diaper. But when we notice my boy poo so many time. We think is not practical for us to use it liao. My MIL also didnt expect my baby to poo so many times.

U can just go ahead with your plan but dun buy too many 1st try out then buy more if needed. I do knw some baby is ok with cloth diaper one.

i also bought 1 packet of cloth nappy and 1 box of nappy liner (my sis actually passed me 1 doz of cloth nappy and 1 box of nappy liner). i intend to use cloth nappy in the daytime then diapers in the nightime. but my friend was telling me the rates for water and electricity are increasing now, maybe not so worth to wash the cloth nappies. see how la, anyway i bought the cloth nappy liao, my mum say will use cloth nappy in the daytime cos bb skin is very delicate as cloth nappy are softer.

saw this brand called BUMWEAR whereby they have cloth diaper.. different from the olden "napkins with safety pin" method.. anyone tried it?

emeraldbride,carmen,
I just call up my gynae, the nurse say if my family got no history then no need to do. Izit? But I told them my grandma got but they say if my parents don't haf then it is ok.. Then I ask if my weight gain too much, they say the doc will assess me again this wed..Oh no..I better empty all food in the toilet b4 I weigh myself this wed.

AdelChia,
The satin and the cotton one is the same price? Cotton more recommended? Coz dunno why my friend told me to get the satin one better.

fabbie,
When you suck in, then the backside muscle will contract, move abit. Me also feel like gg to take MC. Been coughing in office..dun want to spread to my pregnant colleague who is carrying twins...

Kristine,
I tot of buying some cloth diapers to act like a towel to dry him..

cloth diapers
I bought Bumwear diapers and hope to be using them for my bb. My MIL will be looking after my bb and she is also agreeable to using cloth diapers. I think cloth diapers are more environmentally friendly and can be cost-saving in the long run. There are some tips on the Bumwear website on how to easily wash and maintain your cloth diapers.

I will be using disposables for the first few days, because of the meconium, but plan to switch to cloth diapers full-time after that. If you are doubtful, you can just buy a few first to try. I bought the pre-fold diapers, which aren't that expensive. These can be used from NB-3 months. I also bought some one-size diapers, which can be used from 5kg till about 2+ years. I think this is quite a long time, so should make the investment quite worthwhile.

merydith, both me and carmen have the same gynae. guess our gynae is kiasu, he did the glucose test on all preggies during our 5th mth, even if our family members have diabetes history, think he wants to play safe.

baby sarong sling, my sis also advise me to get the satin one but i dun intend to get 1.

i went to KKH delivery suite this morning, i have constant pain at lower womb area for past few days, it got more constant. i didn't zzz well yest, coz 1 bout of pain at 1+am & another bout of pain at 5am. i don't understand why it's a MO attending, thot private patient means will get a registrar & above. the MO looked extremely sleepy probably due to overnite duty, anyway, 1st time experience to be strapped to a ctg machine. the MO ordered two urine tests for me. saying just to be sure no infection. and likely that i strained myself to get the pain. yes, still in pain, on-off sharp pain, on 1 day MC today.

recently there isn't a day when i didn't cry. some1 wrote to me that she knows of a fren who is looking for baby to adopted. i brought up the issue to my husband, he bo chap me. anyway, baby coming soon, won't be able to save in time for his arrival, even if we can combine to throw in 70% of our pay fr next pay onwards.

where's Baby Kingdom? sells stuff like kiddy palace & mothercare?

i think i will only start washing baby clothes in nov, coz haven't get any storage space for clothes. hardly have any space to put baby cot n baby stuff. no idea where to put, coz no nursery rm. also don't where to find so many hangers n pegs to hang dry the clothes if i were to just put full load to washing machine.

i have put on a total of 10kg, now at 26wks. want to cry liao. how to meet my target to put on only 12kg for the whole pregnancy?

Iketarochan/fabbie/Meredith - what time ur class finished yest? i reached there abt 3.15pm, see no previous class pple there. i was like "huh?" Christine, i brought along the top & i still don't have ur mobile no...

Pig07 - i think at every of our post, there's a small icon with a pencil at top right corner, u can click on it n edit the post to remove ur number.

Jappooh - ok, thanks for tips.

piGgiCia/lh_jyc - 2nd baby has recommended her massage lady recently. i haven't tried it out. think u can PM her for contact no & her experience with the massage lady. or else can PM me, i have the contact number.

bumwear is quite ex. bought 1 to try for training my no1 but give up. will try again for night training.

for cloth diapers, feel is more practice to use diapers - save on water & electricity. tried using the cloth diapers but give up cos bb unine every 30 min. also don't dare to carry him cos don't know when he will pee.

for newborn, think as long as bb ok, cheap one will do cos they always poo, so no need to use very good one

kristine
im using cloth diapers. cus my maid is washing the cloth =X shall see how is it. but i brought a few new born pampers in case. will be using both cloth and disposable diapers lor

Meredith
Wah you coll so nice having twins huh. she got double of pain than us is it? cus i heard having twins very xin ku de.. Im trying to suck in now. HHAHA i can suck my v.. but my butt and pee hole really duno how to suck in sia! lolx.

Mimi
what special clip? can take photo so i can buy the clip for the cloth diapers? cus i dun wana accidenly pin my baby! hehee

Juzyounme
Ike and meredith wait for you. i after class i ciao liao. cus got something on..

So how you feeling now? what did doc say wor? you must take good care okai! if not a high risk of pre mature baby is near. from what i know. must eat good and sleep good and rest good. =)

Slowly save ba. not in the hurry. i think ya hub bochup cus he cant be bother of we pregnant ladies rubbish. cus i think maybe his thinking is anything also can be solve and not adopted baby ba. or maybe he is those kind of person dun believe you will do it. so bochup. UNLESS you really do it. then he will realise it. or maybe he just keeping quiet and stresss with his stuffs too. u will never know. as theres alot of 10000x times of MAYB. just think and look at a brighter side will be better ba =)

MIMI
hao de mimi. xie xie

juzyounme,
U should not worry so much abt bringing up a child. Me n hb dun save up much, not to say for bb's future. We intend to scrimp along the way after bb is out and spend within means.

Regarding adoption, there are many procedures that your hubby and you have to go through w MCYS together. There will be sessions you n hb hv to sit through and be evaluated. It's not as easy as passing ur bb on to the other person. Even though it seems like a good option now, trust me it is going to be emotionally draining.

As pple say in Chinese "Chuan Tao Qiao Tou Zi Ren Zhi". Be a happy-go-lucky mummy ok? Take things as they come. Dun stress yourself cos u will end up feeling worse. Then keep going to see doc lagi worse for the wallet right? *Jia You!*

Mummy30:
we are doing good! juz some grumbling here and there... hee... how have you been??? so glad to see you back!

Juzyounme:
poor gal! hope ur feeling better now? dats the thing with govt hosp, they are so immuned dat most wont pay special attention to u lor (no offence to any1 who is working at govt hosp, but dats my impression since my mum's cancer days). u better take extra care yo, i think yr HB dun wan to give up BB dats y he bo chap u. remember dat u mention he is excited with the BB arrival thou he din save up. View on the bright side gal, at least we have the BB bonus to tide us over. Other BB stuff can squeeze out later one, ok? =)

Meredith:
if ur not feeling good in skipping the glucose test, then you may request for it. Its less than $50 (if rmbr correctly). haha... i have to agree with Mimi, our gynae kiasu type, but at least im ok with the few extra tests lar. it's better to be safe than sorry mah. moreover, i have a sweet tooth, downing desserts and sweet stuff recently, esp choc, so i dun mind another glucose test if my gynae asks me to ;p

fabbie - when i was there, i didn't see christine eh... ??? what time ur class ends, this sun i will be extra early.

Mimi - sorry, r u the one who mentioned u have an additional cot to give away? if yes, can the cot be fit into a taxi boot? haiz, i think my in-laws also bo chap. supposed to collect fr cousin-in-law, but they keep dragging.

Carmen - baby bonus doesn't come 1 shot $4K lor... so the period of dec-jan, when it's a huge expense, is one difficult stage to settle. still got pain. i get what u mean, don't go KKH if there's a next time.

Snowger,
U also under Dr Tseng? Heard he pro-natural, drugfree.. u trying for w/o epidural? He told me tt even if past edd, best not to induce...But he dun really talk much hor? Only when i ask him qn then he answer..

Meredith,
The cotton sling is cheaper than the satin one, but i'm not sure by how much. I'm not sure if cotton is better, but i bought it becoz robinsons din sell the satin ones lei. But of course in terms of appearance, the satin ones are more chio. Will look nicer on you also, the cotton quite crumpled...

Diapers - I'll be using disposable as well. Quite troublesome to separately wash the cloth diapers coz i intend to just throw all the clothes into the machine. Think i'll be too tired from bf to wanna slowly handwash...

fabbie,
At least you can control. For me when i suck in, seems like everything also suck in leh. Yah..seems to me like she very xinku..also she got no appetite and she just go on ramadan fasting last wk till her gynae stop her.

carmen,mimi,
Me also got sweet tooth. I ate alot of sweet stuff lately too. I think I also must be kiasu liao. Seems like my gynae very relax about it. Going to ask him to give me the test else I keep worrying. Btw what are the complications for GD mother?

Juzyounme,
Nevermind we get to meet again nxt lesson keke

Actually I think ike waited for you longer coz I went off first as my hubby wanted to eat the durian pancake at basement..

Jazlyn
You are the first person I know who bought BumWear! How many bumwear diapers did you buy? I bought 12 pre-folds in infant size. I also got one of their bundle packages - 2 petite size and 4 one-size (comes with 15 inserts).

oh just saw the cloth diaper..I tot is the same as napkin lol

I am looking for baby napkin so that I can use it as a towel. Anyone knows where to get?

echo,

v bought ours fm motherhood expo. bought package D. total 12 bumwears n 30 inserts. got free 4 inserts n nappyliners oso.

din get petite sizes as baby outgrow vy fast. unless baby is a preemie lah... so get the normal one will do liao.

Hi jazlyn,

M a silent reader of thread. also a Dec 08 MTB.

how much did u pay for your package D?

M assessing if its cheaper to get this.

thx

izu,

package D is $469. in the long run, it's indeed cheaper. coz babies definitely uses more than 15 packets of disposable diapers! each averaging 20 dollars, u will get ur ROI lor...

Juzyounme
Maybe they also something on then ciao liao ba. i forget what time i leave le. heehee. Okaiz. next sunday hope to see ya again if ya early hehe.

Meredith
for me. i everything suck ba. i think cus my pee hole i duno how to suck sia. so like you. everything suck together hahaha. Oh, your coll is a malay? and wah. malay fasting how ah? no eat or drink? can meh?!

Ya man.................. 1 more hr to go.. and i cant wait to get home.

Hi juzyounme,

i think that pencil editing thungy allows upto 10minutes within posting nia.

As for hanging of clothes hor.. i remembered lasy year i washed everything in bulk..i find those open up drying clothes dryer very useful. you will be surprised how many pieces of baby clothes you can dry there. i dont know if you know what i am referring to boh. the type x axis legs one boh. then both sides got flaps you can open and close. and if not using can just slot and keep away. wont take up space. dont hve to buy expensive one. buy the $20+ one can liao.

thx jaslyn. shall look out for it.

now considering which package to purchase. guess we change diapers every other hour so need at least 12 diaper pockets, right? Or we could change the diaper pockets after every 2-3 inserts changed?

still quite blur how it works.

izu
You can go to their website or visit their store at United Square for more information on how many to buy. Like Jazlyn, I also bought from the motherhood expo. The lady there explained to us how many we should buy and which types.

Jazlyn
If you bought all one-size diapers, what are you going to use for NB-3 months? The lady told me that one-size is too big for newborns to use, which is why I bought 2 petite size diapers. I later bought the prefolds, because I realised that 2 petite size diapers will not be enough. I plan to use the prefolds at home during the day and the petite size for night-time or for going out.

izu, you can visit their shop @ UE square to find out more and at the same time feel the material for yrself, that way you will get have a better idea. I guess the staff there will be able to advise you on the details.

echo,

the pocket diapers can b adjusted to its smallest size meant for newborn. the boutique owner teached us how to adjust the sizing during expo. plus i do not intend of using bumwear for the 1st mth as baby poo a lot, n the poo is vy sticky one. n i dun wan my mum to overwork herself with washing cloth diapers. so it will b fine.

jappooh, i dun need to buy cloth diapers as my bros passed me dunno how many cloth diapers..think eluff for 1 weeks supply..keke.
Anyway, i gotten 1 NB huggies during last sat cordlife talk..for gog out usage

Emeraldbride,
I wun be buying formula milk... going to bf.. scared if i standby formula, will become tempted to use it. So better not buy. Out of sight, out of mind. Haha...

Hi gals!!

my gynae didn't talk a lot about my diet and weight thru'out my pregnancy.. Only 1 time after my detailed scan whereshe thinks my bb is slightly bigger than average.. she told me to cut down on sugary drinks.. that's about it..

Never mention any glucose test... Guess can ask her this thurs when i see her for my 28th week check-up..

Meredith,
GD can result in bigger bb which can complicate the delivery.. If detected early, u can control the diabetes.. hence reduce any complications... GD mothers have a greater risk of developing diabtetes later in life... BB may also be at an increased risk of obesity and diabtetes...

But no point scaring ourselves with such info...
The best is to try to prevent it... have a proper diet... and exercise... if possible... =) although I feel soooo tired all the time... Haaha!!

But if have, at least the gynae will know about it earlier... and help us reduce the complications... =)

fabbie/Juzyounme/carmen
ya.. i m doing good, thats y can come in see how u all getting on.. if not, see wat u all post, i will cry again...

so u gers should be in ur third trimester oredi right.. so happy for u all..

Adelchia: I share that mentality too! I don't intend to standby any milk powder. :p

I also don't have any glucose test scheduled.

Diapers VS Nappies
I will be using ONLY disposable diapers. I find nappies too troublesome. There're quite a number of reasons -- no space for laundry, water & electricity bills, have to buy liners & constantly having to check on bb for wet/soiled nappy. At least with diapers, i know exactly how much i'm paying for each piece of diaper used.

pig07: I use this type of drying rack at home! I have 2! :p Bought from Ikea but i think those neighbourhood shops also sell them too. I dry all my clothes using such foldable drying racks and so far, my clothes take max 2 days to dry fully.

Adelchia/loveangel
I also agree with your viewpoint! I'm sure it will already be a challenge to keep up with breastfeeding. I wouldn't need to have such temptation around. I also don't intend to buy any pacifiers.

Glucose test
I went for my 3-hour glucose test a couple of weeks ago. My gynae scheduled me for it because there was a trace of sugar in my urine at my previous visit. Thankfully, though, I passed my test. But I do still want to watch my food intake. Have already put on 10kg since I got pregnant! Definitely won't be able to keep to the recommended 12-13 kg weight gain.

Fabbie,
preg muslim can still fast if able to (i.e. no ms, feel like gona faint etc).
My husband all along didn't want me to fast but mil said to try and see how and so far, i feel that fasting while preg has been the easiest for me. Dunno why though.. I thought i would get very hungry/thirsty but so far nothing of that sort. Only problem is the over-eating when break fast..tummy always feel like gonna explode!

Hi Angie.. hehe.. glad you dropped by.. how have you been?

Ivy, you got my number ma.. call me la.. i could have got it for you.. but i still quite satisfied with my tollyjoy quality.. hehe.. the one at that shop looks thinner.. i go recee more then invest..

i will try to persever with cloth diapers.. hehe..

i went to OG just now.. hehehehehehe... bought lots of things.. hehe.. can check out my loot at my blog.. hehe.. OG is having 20% so i grabbed some avent stuff.. and bought a nice diaper bag from lucky baby.. my hubby try and doesnt mind using the bag.. so thats good!!

my glucose test is on SAT... my last indulgence will be tonite.. hehe.. a nice yummy chocolate cake.. and i will abstain from sweet things liao!!!!!