(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

fabbie, nowadays i either bring lunch (home-cooked) to work or packet back to office and eat. cos after eating can still rest a bit. if eat outside no time for me to take a short nap.

aiya gals... is pregnant woman easily emotional? My GM scolded me abit, i can stand there n cry..Wat happened to me manz..?? So throw face...Explained to him tat its not my fault!! Yet my GM scolded me back " Why are you so emotional?"

1st time working can cry ... sigh sigh sigh SIGH!!! Very stress up these few days over work..

Wat happen to me? usually he scolded i can act nothing n cool... now tears just roll down automatically... piangz

hello ladies
I've been really busy with work lately.

Carmen
Yes, can't wait to see my little Bryan. His kicks, flips & hiccups have gotten stronger so now I can only imagine how he will looks like from the last scan. Seeing my gynae this Sat

2ndBaby
Hahaha, i think Dr. Chan likes to say the same thing. She loves to take pictures of my boys legs...hehe, maybe she has a thing for long legs!

yup..i think we are more emotional and tends to think a lot...paranoid...i also cried if just a small quarrel with hubby...like worry so much that he will look for someone else...

i also nearly cried when i nearly fell in the bus this morning..but was holding back.

jo, i guess we are more emotional now. that day my PM only talk a bit louder than normal to me and i cant stand it liao... but managed to hold back my tears.

i collected the 'born to read to bond' package from Sun Plaza library a few months back. now the booklet is lying on my dinning table collecting dust. haha...

Hi Ivy
take care girl..

Hi Lilee
Thanks. I got the book quite early pregnancy. has been filling it up as n when.. not bad.. but too much advertisements inside.. hee hee

Ivy - i heard u can take from library before u give birth. just show ur tummy & I think need NRIC or library card? I haven't collected mine, but read from a poster before. U nearly fell in bus? nobody give u seats? I have problem balancing too, 50% won't get seat on bus.

jowinbaby - yes, pregnant women cry easily. same for me.

jo, think we collected the free package from NLB around the same time rite? u got fill up har? i never leh... took the book, flip thru and leave it there liao... me terrible.

Hello!!

Finally got time to use the computer...

Carmen, I work near NUS too.. and my company doesn't have a breast feeding room... Sigh... Last time one of my colleague had to pump her milk in the toilet!!!

Am planning to go down to HR and enquire about it cos I think it is really disgusting... =)

I dun really expect people to give up seats on the bus... The more you expect it the more upset you get... If they give up seat, good for me.. But yeah you must be more careful since the growing bum can really alter your centre of gravity!!

Pregnant women are EMOTIONAL!! My hubby always remind me!! =)

jo, me and hubby both super lazy. haha.. i bought an album wanted to put all the scan pics inside, until now all the scan pics still lying in my box file.

Thanks everyone for your concern...but not going to any library...no one give up seats...they will only look at you..i take train also..then they squeeze in the train..they should fine those people that don give up seats to those that need it more...haha...i going to isetan scotts baby fair later..

winnie - sorry, missed out ur post. for the 16 weeks maternity leave, first 8 weeks paid by company, last 8 weeks paid by govt. that means my last 4 weeks, on top of what govt pays, my company is paying as well. and yes, it means double pay.

I do agree with all that we pregnant women tend to get work-up /upset & emotional very easily nowsdays ya..I juz cried at work on tuesday, over some work disppointment I had in myself..thinking back, its so not worth it..Should not get upset so easily as it affects me & my bb..Told myself I need to be stronger, but sometimes easier said than done lah..haiz..

Talking abt graciousness in Sporean I want to faint.. I also takes train to work every morning..usually will board train @ Serangoon MRT Stn, but its always so crowded & got problem squeezing in..so scared ppl will pump onto my tummy..So now I got to wake up early & takes train from Sengkang Stn instead,and need to go opposite direction up to Punggol 1st before heading down to Outram Stn..haiz..only way to get a seat..bo pian lah..

I oso wana go to Isetan BB Fair, but my hubby stopped me & ask me to wait after the 7th mth finsh then buy..My MIL said better not to buy anything during 7th mth..u all believe? Can share if its true??

jowin is like that de wor.. abit thing also cry.. why your GM so bad ah. scold u. he dun understand pregnant woman very sensitive de meh?!

LuthAdel how u know he hiccups ah? did u hear it?

ivy ya tummy very big ma? wear obvious clothes so that people will let u sit. sometimes i wear obvious. sometime i dun. but recently i go bus or mrt. got people offer me liao. i feel so peiseh, at times..

xiao_pooh, i bought my baby stuffs during taka baby fair last few weeks.... never heard that cannot buy baby stuffs during lunar 7th mth.

as for mrt seats, every morning i got to wait for empty train at yishun, if not sure no one give up seat to me. when go home, these few days still ok cos got ppl give up seat to me. but hor yesterday got 2 guys (abt 30+ yrs) are chatting, one of them seating at the priority seat and i stand right infront of him and he simply ignore me. then an indian lady who is seating at the other end, walked to me and offer me her seat. so nice of her.

Ivy - erm, don't quite understand ur post. what i was trying to say, my maternity leave will be 12 weeks. the last 4 weeks, if i'm ok, i will be back at work. company willing to pay me, on top of what govt will pay. if i'm not ok, the temp will have to work another month.

Seems that a lot of small companies in SG is doing that even with the old 3mths maternity leave. I know of one company only have 2 employees, both ladies got pregnant almost same time. they are allowed to take 1 mth of maternity leave and they will receive double pay for rest of the mths.

Mimi - depends on how u see it. some pple will want 4mths of maternity leave, can take care of baby & breastfeed. it's like sacrificing 1 mth of time with baby & i always wish i'm a stay-at-home mum. but my husband will make sure i work, so as to meet ends.

juzyounme what i meant was..on top of your company claiming from government to pay you they will pay you also..so for the 4th month you actually got double paid..that means for 4 mths leave you get 5 mths pay but you will need to work on the 4th mth...

xiao pooh i also bought lots of things this month...clothes and also ordered the baby cot...
who is ordering the cot on the other thread?quite a good deal..$299 and comes with free stroller...too bad i already bought mine!!

Ivy - I don't have 4mths leave, i'm taking 3mths leave. But yes, it will be a total of 5mths pay. Are we talking the same thing? *confused* ;P

Juzyounme,
then u have a choice to choose.

For me i am another way lei, i am still thinking wan to take 2 more mths unpay leave anot.. Cos i wan to bf till 6mths dunno after 4mth back to work how to pump milk loh..

My hubby let me make the decision. So i still considering..

Today I woke up to go toilet and my whole right hand was all cramped and stiff!!! Think I really sleep on my right for too long n circulation is confirm BAD!

jowin & all the rest of the gals who hv tendency to *Boo Hoo*:
It's normal... part of the hormonal thingy I guess.
My colleague who was pregnant last yr cried in my boss room aft sm talk. He was so embarrased (like bully pregnant woman), so now he dare not reprimand or anyhow talk in front of me, least I give him e same reaction! :p

4th mth maternity leave:
U wished u get double pay right! No way lah. Anyway the company will continue to pay us our salary regardless of whether we taking it one shot or in flexi. Aft we claimed e 3rd and 4th mth maternity, the company can claim our pay fr the govt lor. Similar to the reservist thingy scheme?

As to the part about the company paying u 2 mths of pay (if u dun take the maternity leave) - never heard of leh...

Juzyounme,
by the way is it legal for the company to do that? I am not sure abt that. My company sure cant cos is stat board. Maybe u find out more than decide.

jappooh,
I am oso thinking of taking another 2 mths of no-pay leave to take care of bb. i.e. take 4mths straight + 2 mths no pay leave. (my boss will most probably kill me. The co can choose to reject my no pay leave application thou...)

Reason is more than breast feed cos I intend to do so for a year or > if possible (can save a lot of milk powder money eh! n make most of the breast pump i intend to get).

Anway I heard bb freaks out by strangers (i.e. they cry in unfamilar surroundings or if hugged by pple they not familar with) during mth 5 or so. I wan to be ard least bb sees my MIL too much and thinks I am e stranger (not the mother). *haha*

Hi Snowger,
for my 1st boy i didnt take the extra leave. My boy is taken care by my MIL during weekdays and o take care during weekend. My boy sleep with my MIL since he is 2 mths old. He wont take it as i am stranger lar. But if haev a choice my MIL is No 1 in his heart one. Even till now cos my MIL stay with us. But once my MIL not ard i am No 1.

So now at the age of 2.5ys old he like everyone have diff duties. For me is more on sing song, read, learning things. My MIL is basic need like eat, sleep bath. My SIL, FIL and hubby is play..haha

Snowger,
but ofcos at first i feel sad cos my boy will choose my MIL than me. But i tell myself at least he is close to grandma and not maid. can see my MIL love him so much but she is also the one who discipline him lor. Will can him one hor when he gets too naughty..

Jappooh - i was wondering if there's no room, can trying pumping milk while wearing the nursing shawl? i don't know can or not, but i was thinking of trying that, since my desk is quite away from others. i think legal or not, I leave it for the HR to figure out. anyway, my HR manager did tell me last time when she was having maternity leave in previous company, she also went back early coz she can get paid, on top of what is already due to her.

Snowger - won't explain myself for that.

Jappooh,
Paiseh I a bit "kua-zhang" but seriously I am a possessive person so naturally I wan my kid to be MINE n my hb's ONLY! *haha* But u r rite, btr be close to someone related...

I know what u mean (cos i think i was e same when younger)... Grew up w ah ma n aunty (i oni go home to my parents on weekends). Jus feel tat I not as close to my parents (i.e. a bit diff to tell them things sometimes) as compared to my ah ma/aunty.

If arrangement can be done, I wld like to bring my kid home everyday including weekdays, then stay with me on weekends.

So good... Ur MIL will cane him if he naughti. I hope my MIL does the same to my ger if she gets out of hand. *Evil mum* :p

Juzyounme,
actually hor i also dunno how to pump if in office. Cos at hm hor i take off my clothes and bra then pump cos i am more confortable. cos when i pump one side the other side will start to drip so i just pump with 1 hand another hand get a empty bottle to collect the drip bm. I can get 30ml from the drip loh. If not i find it very wasteful.. Hee..

Hi snowger
wah so good.. mean 6 month no need to work.. If for me, i might as well resign.. haha.. my company can dun need me at all..=P

Hi Juz
Did i offend u? Sorry if i did.
paiseh///

From wat i know.. we get 1 month pay as usual.. just tat the 3rd n 4th month, company claim from govt..govt is paying company... not double pay It is not tat company give u $$ and govt give u $$ too... Companies cannot be so good la.. especially SME tat hard to survive too.

I think its illegal for a mother to work for the 4th month, yet the company still go n claim the maternity and pay to staff?? Should not be la..

Snowger,
we still get to see my boy everyday cos my MIL come to my hse instead of i send my boy to her hse.. Now my hubby whole family stay with me liao. So we haev many ppl at hm..

I used to be a possessive person as well. That why i cry alot when my baby choose my MIL over me. After awhile i have to tell myself unless i wan to quit my job and take care by myself if not i cant complaint loh. My MIL very good lar she knw i am upset so everytime once i reach hm she will let me bond with my boy loh.. And everytime ask my boy to look for mummy. And she will do msot of teh hsework so i can spend more time with my boy. I am glad my MIL is a very understanding woman loh.

juzyounme,
sorry confuse... did i ask u to explain something earlier?

I think can pump milk in the open with the shawl as long u dun expose accidentally lah.
But i think quite embarrassing cos the pump will make "sucking" noises... Ur office dun hv store room tat u can use?

I will oso b finding prob to pump milk cos office will be renovated n the rm which my colleague used may be gone... *Haiz*

Juzyounme,
dun get too stress over bf cos the more stress the less milk. So be a happy mum. Another trick is if u pump during your ML try to look at your baby. I find that when i look at my baby and pump the milk i have more supply lei.. Very funny.. but that is true for me loh. So maybe u can try that.

Snowger,
yes i am also the one who be she du to cane my boy. So my MIL did the job..My boy will "complaint" to me say "mummy see, pain pain" i ask "what happen" he reply "chen chen naughty boy ah ma beat beat"

jowinbb - same lor. My boss will ask me to quit! Then they can employ someone to do my work since we so shorthanded. And best part is my work, temp can't do one!

Jappooh,
u mean pump oneside, the other side will leak? really v wasted, esp it is nutrients taken from us!

Agree yr MIL is good! My MIL won't be staying with us so my hb bringing bb over in the morning then go to work. I am hoping tat he can pick up bb aft work. Intend to send my bb to full day childcare when reach 18mths.

Juzyounme,
since your desk is quite away from others maybe u can try to use the shawl and pump during lunch time so your office there is no one in? Then if the pump make some noise you wont feel paisei also. That means u always need to lunch in as well.