(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

littlebluey have already contacted the reporters...backing out now the reporter might think we are not serious...can we provide the letter and not the names and IC..but indicating the numbers of people in the petition already...

When will the letter be sent to PMO?the mails will be filtered out...

can we post the letter in xin.sg cos this morning the news is also asking for comments on the new package

Phyl
I think you have the right notion. Names & NRIC should not be floating around or to be published as it would be derimental if some crooks got hold of it! For all you know we will kanna loan shark chasing for no reason!

Phyl, if you have littlebluey's contact, call her and asked her to be responsible with the names & NRIC entrusted in her hands and she has no right to reveal it unless those names in her list gives her their permission to do so.

I'm still searching for my MP's name and MTP session. I really cannot take it.

I do agreed that it's not safe to circulate out NRIC around. It may be good to get the media attention so that our voices can be heard. But I don;t think they need our NRIC.

I feel really 'cheated'. What do they mean when they said that they need time to implement? If they can do it 4 years ago, why not now? Have Singapore 'fallen behind'?

she has asked for names from mummies and i read that many have PMed her too.. i've got an email from the press- lian he zao bao.. well.. i do not want to go to the press just yet and rest assure.. i will not give our IC numbers out.. Adel, not loan sharks i'm afraid off.. i'm more worried for legal actions against us or wateva..

pls ladies, help me reiterate to all mummies not to float our IC to the PRESS..

adelchia, i have the soft of the letter. i can send it to you later. i pm to later k.

For those who wanted to find out where & when is your 'Meet the people' session. You can go to http://www.cdc.org.sg. Enter your postal code to find your CDC & ditrict details. You can call either CDC or your RC for the MPS timing.

ya, man! what need more time??!??!??!
my foot-lah!

CAN'T THEY BACK-DATE???!!!!
Like what they did in 2004??!??!?!?!?

Phyl

I've email u my name/ic/edd le....but i dun think its necessary for the Press to know our names & ic lei. Can't we just let them hv the letter n tell them tt the name list we will only release to the PM/Minister?

Thanks for the cosolidation.

My "Meet people session" is on every Tue. what should i do or bring, of coz apart from my NRIC, to the session? they said not necessary the MP will see u, sometimes are the volunteers. haiz, how to make sure I see the MP? i'm not assertive enough.

Hi phyl,

i have just PM littlebluey my details. She mentioned on the thread she will pass the list to you, so i reckon giving it to u or her is the same.

Please clarify. Thanks.

oh no phyl..i actually PM-ed littlebluey my NRIC and name liao..

I thot both of u gals are synching up with each other.. ai seh man..so confusing now.. I shall only listen to Phyl fr now onwards..

<font color="0000ff">I think most of you are misunderstood, I did not go around collecting names/NRIC, the reporter merely asked me how many mummies are signing the petition!

I dun even have any list with me how to circulate? I'm not that "STUPID" to go the press with the names/nric, u think I dun know what the SG G is good for??

So mummies,

Dun worry unduly!

Did you read today's Straits Times? Reason for not giving out paternity leave is because not many daddy will take it up.. according to their study at scandinavian country.. WT*%^$!!! Men over there did not take paternity leave does not mean Asian men don't... he must realise, raising kids in the 20th century is diff from raising kids during our times or during his time..

<font color="0000ff">Appreciate if you all could fwd the list to Phyl, neverthless for those who have fwd the names to me I will send it to her.

littlebluey, no angry wor.. no misunderstanding too.. just wanna protect all the dear mummies here.. okok.. hehe..

littlebluey we work together ok? lets not float the list out.. kk?

littlebluey, relax.. i'm doing this to help all the mummies.. theres no need to be angry k.. i do have better things to do but i wanna just do my part to help the mummies here.. i know u wanna help too..

can say i selfish la.. i want more money, more time with my baby and the CDA as well.. and wouldnt it be a great story to tell our babies that we signed a petition so for him/her?

<font color="0000ff">Phyl,

I juz dun want to be misunderstood!!! hahahaha...it seems that some mummies here have the misconception I'm going round circulating everyone names/nric hmmmm....

I'm not someone who will do that!!!!! I definitely will want to protect the interest of all mummies to be

I dun want to lose w/o a "fight" knowing that at least we did something for ourselves and our unborn child! ^_^

Dear ladies,

since many have concerns about the security of our identities, we trust that phyl and littlebluey will not reveal our IC numbers. I believe that names will be sufficient, even for reporters.

We appreciate all the work that phyl and littlebluey have done for us, and let's all work together for our common goal!!

LET OUR VOICES BE HEARD!!!!

Hi Phy and other gals,

So what should ther rest of us do? Should we gather together in person and meet so that things will be clearer? Today is already Thurs and jowinbaby says monday the MPs will meet.

What is the next step? I am staying at Toa Payoh

littlebluey..don't worry! When i posted my comments, it is truly out of concern. Since u hv given the assurance, of course then I will trust u lar..since u r also a mummy and are fighting together with phyl for our good cause..;)

Sorry ah..

morning all.. haiz. so sianz.. tummy damn hurt once i see the news sia.. sighz.. littleblue, phyl, tara and the others that i miss out. thanks for so much doing and writing the letter.. =) we trust you.. no worries. if not we wont give u our information at the first place. hehe

Haiz.. damn low moral liao.. cant even sleep.. thinking about 6k 6k 6k 6k faints. we mummies must win this! is so unfair to our little ones inside. hope our little ones inside will bring us LUCK! =)

Hey ladies
just read from http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/FCD/Templates/FCD-GenericContentTemplate.aspx?NRMODE=Published&amp;NRORIGINALURL=%2fMarriageNParenthoodPackage%2fFAQs%2fFAQs%2bon%2bBaby%2bBonus%2ehtm&amp;NRNODEGUID=%7bBD96B7A5-AB9C-4745-AF66-3DC082DB0E5E%7d&amp;NRCACHEHINT=Guest#If%20a%20child%20was%20not%20a%20Singaporean%20at%20birth%20but%20obtained%20citizenship%20subsequently

It seems that those adopted foregin babies will get pro-rated baby bonus when they get their citizenship. How fair is that to us?!!!

Why they are able to get pro-rated and we don't get anything? This is really unfair and i feel like a damn 2nd class citizen.

If they can pro-rate for those adopted, why can't they pro-rate for us as well if they really "need time to implement"?

Still Fuming !

Its obvious that they trying to get adopted + foreign babies to convert to Singaporean to boost up our population rate.

Whereas us, our babies confirm will be Singaporean when born out.

phyl

why don we give the letter only to the press...so our voices are heard...we are all just voicing out, the PM might not get to read the letter...it might be filtered out..

You sending the letter and the list today?

I just called CDC...my Toa Payoh meet the ppl session is over..its on tuesday.
I heard from my colleague in TODAY's paper there is a reply about this 01 Jan 09 issue.
Seems like govt will not change to an earlier date.

Adel, REACH forum did have alot of ppl's disgruntled comments on the foreign baby converted to Singaporean..and it is up to 24mths of the child's age.. How fair is that?? And I remember clearly PM Lee's speech.. foreigner is not to vie for our rice bowl.. what is that statement for when the action taken speaks differently??

Mabbe we should all assemble in front of the Parliament on Monday..hahaha, or even better, go to Speaker's Corner..and since we dun need to apply permit (which I believe should be of immediate effect)..

Hi gals, I can't help but keep thinking about it. And each time I do my stomach hurts (my gynae say because I ate too much "bean" pdts so got air in stomach).

I just heard that in 2004, they had initially annouced the implementation date to be Oct 2004 but in the end it was revised to Aug 2004. While I agree there will be people who will not benefit and govt can't please everyone, I feel tat Aug 08- Dec 08 mothers (ESP first time MTBs) stand to lose out the most ($7k!). And not to say why make us so happy only to make us all so upset now?

should we take emerald advice? we go to speaker's corner...but we might not be heard there right..

Dear mommies...while voicing our unhappiness we must take care of ourselves...

<font color="0000ff">Emeraldbride,

It's ok, can understand the anxiety that all the mummies are facing...we are juz all very hot now! hahahaha but still we muz be sane enuf

Dear mums,

I am due in Dec 08 and I can fully understand how we all feel. I couldn't sleep last night, kept thinking how shortchanged we were. Why should we suffer in silence?

Phyl has put in a lot of efforts compiling names and writing letters. Perhaps it's time for us to move this to a higher level. We should get the media's attention. Anyone knows any contact from TCS?

Ivy - "The Speakers' corner is opened from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm to all Singapore citizens. Any subjects can be raised so long as they do not touch any racial or religious sensitivities. No licence to speak is required - speakers only need to register their intention to speak at the Kreta Ayer Neighbourhood Police Post and bring along their passports or identity cards as proof of their citizenship."

So mommies what is our next step??speakers corner??are we going to get the attention we need...or only those passer-bys....

we need the media!!

I think we need all round of actions, including sending the letter to PM ( can send in first as by the time we wait for 500 names will be too late). We will send to all newspaper the letter too and even TCS and MPS.

Dear mums,

I just called MediaCorp News hotline and they said if we want to make a statement, we need to go to MCYS first. They will not do news coverage unless MCYS approves first.

So how? I feel that posting our comments at xin or at other websites may be futile because only people who are affected (like us) would bother to read. If we want the authorities to notice, we need public awareness and intervention.

Dear mums,

I was advised by my friend to approach Melvin Yong from Channelnewsasia. His email should be [email protected]

Perhaps we can email him the petition list without the IC Nos. and see if he will meet us. What do you think?

Mummies..actually we will miss out more than $7K of the baby bonus. How it works is:
Cash Gift: $4K
CDA: up to matching contribution of $6K

What it means? U will get $4K immediately, however, if you open a CDA accoutn with either Stand Chart or OCBC with $6K, MCYS will top up the equivalent amt, which is also $6K.. so all in all we will lose out $16K!!! is alot leh...

emeraldbride,
we still have the Cash gift of 3k instead of 4k and another 6k is your own $$ so end up lugi 7k loh. get it?