(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Mrs Ho,
Dun worry, All the best to you!!! Mine cleared, yours will too.

BTW, what is thalesemia?

mrs ho,
I guess so as mine was only approx 45mins. Also got the CD. The detailed scan was fine right? So dun worry

For me, the report states something like "....left aberrent papillary muscle but not a chromosome marker itself. Thus prognosis is excellent. " I dunno what it means but Dr Ananda say all normal.. tmr I gg to give the report to the gynae to ask.

mum2ndx...
thalesemia = 地中海平血证 if not wrong...

Meredith...from last scan, bb fluid in tummy gone...so hopefully everything went fine...

anyone of u mummies know if Pigeon baby bottles helps prevent colic?

I bought the steriliser package during Taka Fair and in it comes 5 baby bottles. Not sure if they do help in preventin colic and if they are not, then I have to go buy baby bottles liao...

emeraldbride,
Sometimes u can just buy teats that can prevent colic instead of buying bottles again.

Any of you feel pain near the naval area? Early last week, I had very bad cramps or pain that seem to travel all over my abdomen area. Then now it's pain. Wonder if it's normal...

thanks snowger!! Do you know any brand of teats that can fit into the pigeon bottle?

I am worried cos my fren's baby has very bad colic despite using NUK bottles.. till she switch to Dr. Brown..

mum2ndx, congrats ohh !! Hehe, feel so happy for u

Ohh so we will know when is the actual implement by tonight huh?

I also bought Pigeon PPSU milk bottles at the Taka Fair, they seemed just normal milk bottles only, doesn't prevent Colic.

I read that NUK, Prince (from Kiddy Palace) are the milk bottles which will prevent colic. Aiya, i bought the milk bottles already.

Now i wonder if Pigeon milk bottles can be replaced by NUK teats. Cos its seems like the NUK teats are the ones that are specially designed with a hole to prevent colic. But NUK teats are latex, not silicon. So got to change approx once a mth.

hi ladies...

Here's news from SG Gov Website -- (http://fcd.ecitizen.gov.sg/ChildrenNParenthood/MarriageNParenthoodSchemes/) --

"More details will be available from Wednesday, 1.00 pm."

Anyway, I heard from my friend who works as a social worker. In the 2004 ND Rally speech, when they extended the maternity leave to 12 weeks, it was implemented wef 1 Oct 2004.

So my friend reckons it'll probably be the same this time round too?

Let's all pray & hope...if they implement wef 1 Jan 2009, it'll be REALLY unfair, not just to us...but those who're expecting their babies between now till 31 Dec 2008.

emeraldbride,
Not sure which brand fits. Sales person always reluctant to commit which other brand can fit. If I am not wrong, Pigeon do hv teats tat can prevent colic.

Re colic, I am still doubtful how teats/bottles can help. My granny who is prof nanny took care of so many bb using the usual round teats n none got colic leh. But holding the bottle properly can prevent bb fr gulping air while drinking fr bottle.

See the following link on why bb get colic.
http://www.babycenter.com/0_colic-the-basics_77.bc?articleId=77&page=2

For me I am choosing NUK teats as bb will be breast fed n bottle fed. NUK teats are similar to nipples.

For MTBs here who are still Smoking:
"By the way, if you smoked during pregnancy or smoke now, your baby is twice as likely to have colic (though this risk is reduced if your baby is breastfed)." - quote fr link above

Snowger: I'm also doubtful that's why i just buy Avent bottles.

My mommy friends told me babies WILL DEFINITELY get colic. It's just a question of HOW severe and HOW quickly they get over it.

It's part & parcel of motherhood & babies.

Loveangel,
High 5 lah! I buy NUK bottles cos I like the designs on them. *haha* My sis's friend told me avent plastic bottles do last longer than pigeon plastic bottles.

My neighbour told me her son oso got colic. So she tried things like burping bb midway into a feed, shifting positions, gripe water, etc (me n my sis fave)! And it seem to work for her! :p

Emeraldbride,
The link has a "21 strategies for soothing a colicky baby" - some of which my neighbour used...

Phyl, Asian context ones I also cannot find leh. Bought "The New Contented Little Baby Book" by Gina Ford. It's quite practical, can take a look. Can also try "Complete Baby and Childcare" by Dr Miriam Stoppard, or the "Practical Parenting" series. I bought the breastfeeding book in the series; it's quite good with lots of illustrative photos. Borders has a good selection of childcare books. ^_^

The new baby policies... sad

LOveangel, no la .. my first daughter was totally on bottle .. never had colic la .. it's not a matter of "all babies get" ... that's not true.

I think at the end of the day, the bottles and teats with their claim of preventing colic .. somtimes, it won't help if the baby has a tendency to be colicky .. After all, long time ago, where got such bottles ... ? YOu can't say for cerain that all babies had colic in the past too wat.

Snowger, I like the design of NUK bottles too. But too bad, my gal oni wana suck on a Avent bottle. wonder y?? Hope my second one will not be so fussy.

Recently juz bought 3 Avent bottles from the baby fair, replaced her bottles after using them for arn 1 1/2 year.. my friend told me that is good to change their feeding bottle every half a year or so.. Is it true?..

Ivy - expo sale eh? then i don't think have that cheap in store.

Sam - nowadays i try to retrict to 3 main meals. even hungry also just bear with it. do u usually eat so much during pregnancy? i think i won't buy from either mothercare or marks & spencer. both too x... i hope to spend the most $20+. don't have such nursing bras or not.

YUP. your friend is right, lilee .. I always change my bottles every 6 months .. the teat about every 3 months ... not good to keep using the bottles too long cos everytime you use the bottle brush to clean, it makes tiny little scratches that can harbour germs ..

Same here .. I love NUK bottle designs but so far I can't get any of my 3 girls to like the teats ... too bad for me .. SIGH

lilee,

Reali ah, so far I haven't change my boy Avent btls leh, have been using it for 2yrs+ liao. Only change the teats tat's all.

Congratz Mum2dnx

no actuallym Juzyouandme .. my appetite and weight doesn't go up by much all through my pregnancies .. I gain a max of 8 kg for each of my 3 pregnancies ... thank goodness. Just feel hungry .. so eat a bit ... I try to eat fruirs, drink yoghurt ... bread, plain crackers ... I don't have a craving for anything unhealthy so far .. heng ah ...

Juzyouandme, I dunno whether got $20 plus nursing bras ... the last time I was pregnant, my friend was in the States visiting her hubby for a month ... and she bought for me at Wal-mart .. eh, it's damn cheap there ... about US$7.99 per piece ... plain cotton drop cup nursing bras ... thing is, they don't have it on their Wal-Mart website so can't buy online ..

mum2dnx - congrats!

snowger - I also got pain ard navel area these few days. Some mummies here said it's coz belly button popping out so shouldn't be any problem...

a colleague was making a lot of noise in the office today complaining tt the 4 mth maternity very unfair to the singles coz they got to cover duties... sigh... i wonder if she was directing the comments at me...

Sam, reddates.. i feel so guilty now... should have changed her bottles earlier. luckily i changed the teats few months earlier.

As for my pregnancy weight, i put on total of 16kg on my 1st pregnancy. I think is the result of having too much supper lah.. this time round, i try to control and restrict myself to 3 meals per day.. Supper oni once in awhile. hehehe.. Ya.. i think drinking those powdered milk oso contribute to my weight gain. i used to drink everyday.. but this time alternate day liao.

hey lilee ..

it's ok la .. that's how we all learn .. I also didn't know long ago when I had my 1st kid ... you learn these things as you go along ...

Now that you know, you'll definitely be more vigilant about changing bottles more regularly ...

yes, supper is a killer ... lol

Meredith/Mrs Ho

I paid $380 for my scan, which i thought was really expensive! I spent 1.5hrs with him. Got the CD too. Meredith, enjoy your trip! have lotsa fun!

Dr A was really annoying... I went back and complained to my gynae, he told me maybe Dr A is bored... haha

snowger
it could due to belly button popping out or ligaments stretching. both cases happened to mi. for ligaments stretching, dr gave mi a jab of hydroxyprogesterone. felt alot beta afta d jab. no more pain. =)

mrs ho
if u n hubby not carrier of thalessmia, den don hav to wori. baby wun hav it. mi minor carrier so chances of my baby being a minor is high. as long as not major can le. lucky hubby don hav. hehe.

morning gals... read from oct 08 & jan 09 mtb thread.... a few of them say Today papers got state that 4 mths ML starts next year.....

good morning ladies..

lavendery, read the blog, very sad way to start the morning.. well, hope that they can be strong!

spaghetti, thanks for the recommendations. i've see the contented baby book b4. hmm.. will go shopping at borders soon.

i have a belly ring and i took it out last weekend. the skin ard it is hurting, and OMG, the hole is getting bigger.. my belly button pain is self inflicted.. hehe

Hi lavendry
Yes, i see this blog b4. and very very sad.. The music in the blog worsen the sadness...decide not to read on... sorry.. it makes me feel scare when i think of my bao bei inside me....
touchwood

1.Govt Feedback webbie
http://app.reach.gov.sg/reach/Home/tabid/36/Default.aspx

can voice out here.. Dr Amy Khor is in this panel.

2. Straits Times Forum
Please include your full name (as in IC), your address and a telephone contact number. For women, please indicate Miss, Mrs or Ms. Send your letters via e-mail: [email protected] or Fax (65) 6319-8289

When you write to The Straits Times Forum page, we take it that you agree to allow us to archive, resell or reproduce the letter in any way and in any medium.

If you wish to contact the editor of a particular section, a comprehensive list of our key editors is here.

Thank you for writing to us

actually if the package start next yr we should go and voice out hor see whether they will backdate anot. Cos i find it really unfair to those aug to dec mummies. Unless they say package start in May 09 which baby now is in progress.

lavendery,
ya last yr i was reading the blog already on how the mummy trying to keep the baby. So sad that the baby till pass on.

So gals. Lets cheer up. Be it we get the package anot cos have a healthy baby is a blessing already.

Agree with jappooh that we shall not think so much abt the NDR alr.. if it is given to us, we shall be merry abt it, but if it is not given, it's okay as well cos what we have is even more precious.. but i guess we will also still benefit fr other stuff (other than the 4 weeks additional maternity leave)..

Are we going to voice out??wait for afternoon?but also wont be able to know the outcome...

Who is at home to see the news update?

Hey Juzyouandme, I bought my nursing bras recently from Spring maternity, less than $30 each. Maybe with credit card can get further discount? Quite comfy and the cups are thicker than Mothercare's. Mothercare's nursing bras are quite thin so the bra pad shape always show up, especially if you r using the washable type.

i wanto voice out leh.. but not sure where exactly in the forum of Govt Feedback webbie to go.. don't wanna end up in the wrong forum..

Pigicia,
you know exactly where to go?

<u>Bottles</u>
I do change them. As Taka BB fair is held a few times a yr, I will trade in the old Pigeon bottles for new ones at 50% price.

These nites, I find my tummy tighten and feel quite uncomfy at times.

fastest way to voice out will be [email protected]

haha.. we write a petition letter if the results at 1pm not satisfactory lor.. hahahahahaha...

the reach one is not too bad i heard.. i've nv tried it.. go explore a bit at that webbie lor..

Our IT installed "Altiris Agent", heard that software is to monitor our activity in office. will try to log in lesser else kena "pok". now got 4 month maternity, incase they find excuse to "axe" ppl, better dun play play. hahaha

so anyone typing out the letter?

yah. i think its quite abit unfair to us. cus jan 09 onwards baby also gonna give birth. is like us. so i think they should extend and count at least from 1st aug or 1st sept start. that will benefits all the latest mummy. haiz.

Oh gosh...i was reading that blog and well it really freak me out...cos my bb did not move a lot since ytd and till now..i am starting to worried..worse..my doc is not open today.

fabbie.. i think the jan mummies should be more worried then us.. haha.. imagine they give birth b4 their EDD.. wahaha..

lets see how the 1pm thing goes abt lor.. wonder can find the updates on channelnewsasia.com or not..

mum2ndx.. haha.. your IT very SIAO ON.. haha..