(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

piGgiCia,

i am in public service as well but not worl life harmony lei..have alot fo things to do and need to do a lot fo OT. Not pro family hor.. maybe not whole compnay but my section is like that.

So sad.. actually thinking of changing job cos i cant keep flying and leave my boy at hm. Now coming to have 2 i dun wan to fly loh.

Hi Phyl,
its like tat one lor... They give bonus already very good ah... not to say about 13th month la.. tat one is compulsary.. Bonus are spilt into different catergories such as individual performance and company performance bonus....

Hi mini
understandable.. cos alot of companies are like this... pro-rated these n tat

Mimi,
same here. when i go for interview the 1st question they ask me is when are u planning for your 2nd baby? So i stay on my company and try my No 2 1st loh.. After give birth then decide.

in gahmen service.. it depends mainly on their direct bosses.. but when in appraisal time and bonus time.. all gahmen also have same protocol.. there is this beautiful bell curve that they die die must follow one.. hehe.. well..

when i was in a private company previously, during the interview, they ask me if i'm thinking of having kids.. then i told them i wanted a piggy baby but i also told them i have difficulty in having kids.. haha..i was there for a yr + and no kids too.. they must be really happy wor!

Great! so excited about the new incentive..

Hopefully they will increase the subsidy for the childcare and bring back the more experience teachers..

So anxious to know the offical announcement!

Even within gahmen sector, it also depends on boss. Some bosses are not so family-oriented, esp those single or without children. So I like to work for bosses who are married with children, who can empathsize needs of married women. hee..

Today's TODAY front page article which starts with "Come next year,..." which suggests that these will only be effective from next year - Haiz!

...when will they announce??
better not start next year...should be effective as at 1 Aug 2008 ba...

Can take the 16 weeks maternity leave straight?

4 months to us is very good. BUT. i will feel very very peiseh if i would like to have more kids. Haiz..

Same here fabbie, after i come back from 4 months they will already be used to life without me. Dunno whether my position will still be here for me

hohoho..Deputy Prime Minister Wong Kan Seng - who is in charge of population issues - will provide more details on the bulk of these measures at a press conference today.

So let's keep our ears OPEN.

Yup, hope the new incentive we will all be entired to it. Looking forward to the official annoursment.

Hopefully they will give more BB bonus in cash for 1st BB la. Hee Hee

I think it'll start in 1 Aug 08.. just like in 2004, they announce in Aug, start in 1 Aug 04..
let's think positive & hope for best

meilik, the press conference is today? will it be telecast live in tv?

my hubby also say if i take 4 mths ML in a row, i might lose my job when back in office. i think it would be good to take 3 mths than spread out the remaining 1 mth cos we still need to bring bb for jabs.

xiaohwa,

actually i hoping there will be more cash for 2nd bb also. But look like dun have.

Hopefully they will increase much more on the subsidy for the childcare. Intend to send my boy to childcare soon. So to prepare for the arrival of 2nd kid.

Feel so sad to miss out the 4mth maternity esp i quit my job b4 i knew i was preggy. Thinking back, i shud not hv quit lor. Doesnt really help much for SAHM. Ayoi so worry, to get another new job after birth as they sure ask if u wanna hv kids de.

Guess the BB bonus for 1st time parent is a extra incentitive for us.

*sad sad*

Ya, lets hope that the Baby Bonus will be implemented in Aug08 so that all the current preggy mummies will benefit from it as well. Too bad they did not say anything about paternity leave as it would have been really helpful especially for those who are not going to engage a CL.

Hi Mimi
Yes, do not intend to take straight 4 months. Infact i m still thinking if i shd work out a package of resting 2.5months, come back n work n spread out the 1.5 months.. take as and when i need when i have no projects or events...

4months in a row.. meaning i can totally redundant in my office.. Having me or not having me is the same... NO value already..

It takes 1 month for a new comer to learn on a job but takes 4 months for one to lose a job easily...

SIGH.. dun know la..

I also felt 4months is abit too long for maternity leave!! I would have grown fungus by then..hahaha, but luckily can spread out - I will take the final 1mth to prepare for my customary next year!

According to all my colleagues, usually govt will back date it to 1st August - more fair for those that have given birth even before the rally.

With this news, I suppose everyone's annual leave will be carried forward till next year - will not even need to utilise it anymore!! Hehehee.. then i can plan for longer honeymoon as well.

I wonder how much Baby Bonus will they increase? Should be $5K?? Hahahaa..but i am quite happy with the 6 days childcare leave alr.. but hubby not very happy abt the paternity leave thingy..hahaha...

ask u gals something huh.. is there a "how to take care of your baby for dummies" kinda book in asian context? me trying to do homework but cant find a good book.. the book called "the first yr" is so so only leh.. focus too much on childhood illnesses.. i looking for a more practical type of book.. recommend oh..

Hi tamms,

Same here! I saw him also about 2 wks ago for the detailed scan...and his advice not to travel makes me freak out. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Yah he talks alot..some of the things he say makes me feel irritated. Like he say a Chinese shouldn't be a Christian and should be a buddhist and that nowadays kids hate their mother because the mother goes to work.

You make me feel more relieved now and my flight is this Thurs hee..thanks!

I hope the incentives will start 1 Aug just like the other time. I think although the Today newspaper states "Come next year", don't worry..think it is not very accurate one coz it is not mentioned in Channelnewsasia about this being only implemented next year.

hey gals - have heard that the start date for the longer maternity leave is actually 1 jan 09 - sorry!
guess they have to cut off somewhere.

Yolk lolx.. can i wait for 1 month to due? hehee Anyway did anyone written a letter saying why is not 1st aug and is at next year? would it be fair?

I think we have need more pregnant woman and know how to talk to LEE. which is under consideration. Should ask him to check out our forum lol. rather than hearing 1 woman talk? aiya but anyway this benifits he give us im anything to it. Just hope more money thats all =)

so the 6 days leave also start from next year too?!

eh.. since the TODAY already say come next year. so its confirm it wont beneifits us le lor?! isnt it?

if really didnt get the benfits nvm lor. anyway gov said already they target is those people who is not pregnant yet. ours is die die must give birth le. so no choice =/ and like the TODAY paper said. "Come next year" then we "Try Next year" lolx haha

Ya law...if start next yr, then dun tell us now ma.

Will be so sad to know we r not entired to it lei. sob sob

Worse still, even not entired to the increase in BB bonus hor....faint

fabbie, u are referring to "Come next year"? haha... i also dun know. no pt guessing now, we got to wait for the details to confirm.

mimi hannor.. even i ask my copy writer to tell me whats the article mean? he also say. meaning everything will be start next year lor.

if not why TODAY newspaper put "come next year?" anyway i just treat it as no. dun pin so much hope ba.. if not u will be more angry! =X

Uhh, think no point thinking so much lah, though i know its not easy. Try to console ourselves lor, the greatest gift to ourselves is to have a healthy and normal baby ..

I am new in the forum, just joined.
Heard about the leave extended to 4 months, happy to hear that. But dont know when to implement.
My baby due early Dec'08.
Hope can enjoy the benefit.

lavendery, ya lor. but hor when is the press conference? today wat time? i tell myself not to pin too much hopes that 4mths ML will benefit us but but.... i still wan to know. haha