(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

jappooh, my first childcare job i was paid $950.. then my second sch i went to private one its $1200 then the third was $1380... after cut my CPF.. no money to eat liao.. haha.. then i taught saturday speech and drama.. 1hr $35 so i teach 8hrs on sat.. then at least got money.. hehe.. that time dunno how to save so end up every month go Tioman diving.. haha.. i miss teaching.. happiest there but not sustainable lor!

my belly is oso considered small. My fren named my baby Tiny and we sort of stuck to calling it Tiny hehehe... though in terms of weight, I'm one of the heavier weight around hehehe - 393gm @ 20weeks... so whatever ppl want to say lah.

Well, I can conceal my belly no more. Had words of comfort from my 2nd boss telling me not to lift heavy things and my colleagues hv bn extending their helping hands too. Unlike my big boss, only say mindless words to hurt me and won't lift a finger to help. Well luckily he is not the majority.

I pray we can have 4mths and the earlier the implementation the better for us all *fingers crossed!!!*

my belly is oso considered small. My fren named my baby Tiny and we sort of stuck to calling it Tiny hehehe... though in terms of weight, I'm one of the heavier weight around hehehe - 393gm @ 20weeks... so whatever ppl want to say lah.

Well, I can conceal my belly no more. Had words of comfort from my 2nd boss telling me not to lift heavy things and my colleagues hv bn extending their helping hands too. Unlike my big boss, only say mindless words to hurt me and won't lift a finger to help. Well luckily he is not the majority.

Hmm, if the tip off is true, I shall pray we can have 4mths and the earlier the implementation the better for us all *fingers crossed!!!*

woh, really hope that the maternity package & paternity leave come true. must go home & listern to the rally liao.

Adel
I have playpen for my no 1 & have keep it for mine no 2. Still ok. think as long as it doesn't break now, should be ok.

piGgiCia,
ya loh with that pay my kid dun need to eat liao. Cos is till have my FIL staying with me lei. And stay in a EA expense high loh. So cant go into this line lar..

Phy

the minister got say anything about the baby bonus or not? are they going to increase the 3k that we currently get?

if the maternity leave increase to 4 months quite shiok, i plan to work half-day starting 3rd month, then i can work 4 months of half-days.....must talk to my boss about this....

hello...just went to the shop at Bugis..real cheap..can find good deals there..bought tops/pants and booties and mittens, towels and washcloth total $66, quite good deal...Mummies can go there to buy for baby stay home clothes!!

I also bought seamless wireless bra..quite comfortable, $22.90 each Sorella brand...buy 2 get 1 free at OG in bugis..very comfortable..advisable to buy.

Hey, please update me anything about the baby bonus things...hope it will be good...and available for us all!

I got near half a tin of Similac mum to giveaway, cant really take the vanilla taste, am drinking EnfaMama Chocolate milk..anybody wants??PM me ok?

hippo ya lor im trying to ignore them ahhh =( but 1 sept i will be going to ask dr why my tummy so small! but i heard 2nd one is always big. btw ya wearing a materiny dress? i cannot stand wearing it leh. normally i wear a dress or a pants or a XL shorts hehe and im surprise i can wear a XL shorts lolx

and YES i hope it will release asap!

Meilik but then gov will pay the 4th month mah. LOLX. your boss very cute de leh. lolx

Adelchia haahhaa. its always like that cus we are not following the proceeder.. I think so lar. i heard only HL not good. not sure is it true anot hehe. thats why i didnt drink HL le.

Jappooh damn naughty and cute your son is doing that lor. and OMG next time better be alert.. its dangerous wor.

phyl i dun understand your this sentence leh "the last thing they want or need is a forum letter from the public saying that then she "abort" the baby now to enjoy the future benefits.. " and baby bouns is not money meh? is leaves ah? lolx hope theres a really huge change. IF they say have to be fair to all preggie ladies? then beforee 1 aug de also unfair mah.

sam - lol. got padding de meh. fir tummy?! sam they say i dun look fat. still thin as usual. is just that my tummy looks bloated.

First time mummy,
Hi5! I’m having all the same symptoms as you & also a girl!

Juzyounme,
I worry if I gained too much, it’ll be tough to shed off after birth. Bb is normal weight, not too big is gd too.. so that not difficult to deliver naturally

Jappooh,
Ya, could be due to your MS. Gd that it stopped.

Hi fabbie n Phyl
Siao liao.. dun know shd i be happy or sad.. 4 months maternity leaves and 6 days of paternity leaves... meaning i die die cannot resign cos no one will hire women.. gonna see boss's face colour lor...

sigh ... if it's just maternity leave and paternity leave ... won't help a SAHM like me .. my hubby doesn't even have a chance to clear all his leave every year .. how to take paternity leave 6 days?

can't they give more money ?? lol. It would help a shopaholic, oops ..i mean, a SAHM like me a lot ... hahahaha ...

Jappooh,

Better be careful, so dangerous to let ur son to step on ur tummy.I always tell my son not to lie or elbow my tummy, says meimei will pain pain etc...scare him oso.

Wow, if really 4 mths maternity leave very good, 6 day paternity oso not bad, most important is still more subsidies for childcare and more bb bonus, more realistic. $ spend on childcare really quite alot every mth. Nowadays childcare have alot of extra activities that need to pay extra, so every mth comes up to be alot. If guys have more paternity leave good, so that employers will not be so biased rite. Anyway I'm going to close shop after this, hope to enjoy more ah gong benifits ,heehee....

Confirm 16 weeks maternity leaves and 6 days child care leaves... the rest no mentioned..

subsidise for childcare , yes..

End of the week, Wong Kan Sang will announce the NUMBERS!!!

Pray hard that it will benefit us, most likely will, if not alof of ppl will complain liao.

Yippee..more subsidies for childcare, have to wait till end of the week, hmmm...

6 days childcare for both parents? Or additional leave for more kids or wat? Paternity leave oso 6 days?

Only heard 6 days childcare leaves for individual or shared.. not sure la...

1 week unpaid or paid leaves shared between parents..

16 weeks maternity..

Increase baby bonus...Baby bonus for 4th, 5th n 6th child will be the same

Subsidise for childcare

NUMBERS dun know.. wait till end of the week lor...

Not sure if i hear correctly...

Text from the rally:

Either parent will be able to claim a week of unpaid infant care leave per year, until their child reaches the age of two, he said when announcing announcing a slew of new incentives to encourage couples to have children.

And childcare leave, which can be claimed by either parent, will increase from two to six days a year.

The Government will help to share some of this burden of the employers. For example, with maternity leave, which used to be eight weeks. We extended it by four weeks. Now it's 12. And the extra four weeks the government was paying. And I think it's been very much welcome by people. So now about three-quarters of women actually take 12 weeks maternity leave.

And we will enhance these schemes. I don't have the details tonight so you watch the next instalment but for the baby bonus, we will improve it for the first-time parents; for the tax incentives, we will do more in order to encourage mothers to work.

One, couples who have children but can't conceive. They go for IVF (in-vitro fertilisation) but it's expensive. So we will offer financial support to lower the costs of the IVF. Secondly, couples with many children. There was a letter in The Straits Times, I think there were five mothers, each of whom have five kids who said, remember us and we have five children, your incentives stop at four. So

So I think we should remember them and I think we should extend most of the incentives like tax reliefs, childcare subsidies and so on to the fifth and the subsequent child. There are not many of them but I hope the incentives will encourage those who can afford it to have more.

jowin i duno if i wana give birth more leh.. i so peiseh staying with my company. its good lar. 4 months. but then. i will feel peiseh sia. if im pregnant again lolx..

parent leave 6 days is very little for a guy wor. 1 week with wife. thats it. all the leave gone liao. lolx.

sam - baby bonus is not about money meh? i heard mr lee said that they will be improbe the 1st child baby bonus am i right? or am i hearing wrong things again? lolx.

YEs. end of the WEEK.. we will know when it starts!

Hi fabbie
i will work out a deal with my boss la.. go back earlier to work and yet entitled to my maternity leaves... now is 3months + 1 month flexi for a yr...See how my boss allocate the manpower , cos i m on one man show...

Dun feel paiseh.. cos its our entitlement.. whole life maybe twice of such entitlement only.. unless u wanna deliver more.

** dun think so much.. scarli we are not entitled.. who knows this scheme start at 2009.. haha.. faintz...

Baby BOnus = $$ lor...

Yes, no increase of paternity leaves.. sigh.. this is abit disappointing..recently alot of articles raving on fathers' role to help wife out.. but only 6 days... chamz... HB also sianz

But then, its understandable in certain way.. perhaps gahmen afraid the old traditional thinking fathers , instead of helping wife, abuse their long paternity leaves, stay at home shake legs or go outing.. =P ( afterall, its ALWAYS the mother who take care more of their baby.. although i agree that fathers did improve alot on their roles already...)

Sometimes see my HB helping me out, i appreciate his efforts & involvement..

What I meant is .. if they are increasing JUST the Baby Bonus amount for the 1st child then won't benefit me la ... I was hoping they would increase all across the board .. then it would benefit me having my 4th child ..

Having more leave for hubby won't be any good la .. what's SIX days?

For me, the way hubby helps out is by entertaining our other kids ... at least that's something ... but he's not the bathe them, clean up after them type ...

Like that, they might as well lower or scrap the maid levy then will be beneficial for us ... lol.

So the new incentive is 16 weeks maternity leave and 6 days paternity leave? but the date of implementation if not stated yet?

I am kinda blurr now...anyone can tell me exact benefits?

Details will be out only at the end of the week unfortunately... but think we should be eligible, after all, the last slew of incentives applied from Aug 1 2004?

Hey Meredith,

Guess you went to see Dr Anandan at Camden? I saw him 2+weeks ago for my detailed scan, the DAY before I was gonna fly! He really freaked me out, and this guy can really talk! for 1 1/2 hrs he was chatting non stop about everything, most of it unrelated to the scan!

I have flown on 2 trips already, the first was in April when I was about 5+weeks preg. At that time I had slight bleeding the 2 days before flying! So went and got Duphaston and took 1-2 everyday until the day after i got back. It was a 7hr flight, No prob.

2nd trip was just a few days ago,in fact I just got back from Europe on Saturday. Dr.A really freaked me out about the flying but still went ahead anyway. Flew at 22 weeks, flight was 13hrs, followed by 1.5hrs a week later, then another 1hr to my transit before another 12hrs back to SG. It was worth it, and bought lotsa bb clothes on summer sale!

If I took every precaution that he advised, I would be bed bound for the entire 9months! even driving he told me cannot. So please take his advice with a pinch of salt...

Wow! So much excitement here from the rally.. Some of the facts you ladies got kinda wrong la...

16wks maternity but never announce effective when so fingers crossed that its Aug.
- 8wks is period immediately after delivery.
- Next 4wks must be taken within 6mths of delivery (accdg to old scheme if they never change)
- Final 4wks must be taken within 12mths of delivery. i.e. by the time baby is 1yr old.

Sam, you'll also benefit cos 4th, 5th child also gets baby bonus now. But they never say how much.

The 6 day child care leave is <u>not</u> paternity leave.. (Seems to be no change to paternity leave: only 3 days for civil servant fathers)
Child care meaning either father or mother can take leave to look after child. This applies to kids fm 0 to 6yrs if i remember correctly.
This is in addition to the 2 days child sick leave (must produce MC). Child sick leave is for kids fm 0 to 12yrs (again, if i rem correctly)

Additional incentive for 1st time parents..so all of you 1st time MTB get something extra, but again, he never say what..

Got to wait for Wong Kan Seng's big announcement.

Hopefully we all benefit.. fingers crossed..

Good night!!

Morning everyone.

m a bit confused abt the 6 days child care leave. For civil servants, its 3 childcare with mc plus 2 w/o mc right? Then 6 means 6 childcare w/o mc plus 3 with mc rt?

morning everyone

hehe. excited abt d 4 mths of materity leave. hopefully we're included. *fingers crossed* =)

llig
din know tt d 'Next 4wks must be taken within 6mths of delivery'. my company practise taking all one shot. so when i had my boi laz yr, i took total of 84daes in a row. din know can split d laz 4 wk one. hehe.

morning ladies!

so many posts abt the incentives to increase birth rates... wondering when government is implementing all these... hope we will be entitled.

morning ladies,

read bout the incentives to raise birth rates in Sg. i think it will will not b applicable to me as m not a s'porean

anyway, wanna check with u ladies, anyone of u experience 'slowness' in the thinking speed n delivering work results? i m experiencing this... also find i m becoming more forgetful.

Hi mummies!!
sorry to interupt..
I have a Quinny Zapp for sale.Still under warranty from Robinsons My daughter refuse to sit in it, have to buy another stroller for her. it comes with matching infant seat as well.
(Bright Pink for both )
email me if u r keen.

2nd baby,
last time is 2 day childcare leave only so civil servants used to have 5 day childcare sick leave change to days childcare and 3 day childcare sick leave. Now dunno how they going to chnage. Have to wait for company announcement.

iemik0,
as for ML on the 3rd mth now u can either take all 3mths in a row or 2 mths and 3 mth is flexible. It all depends on your arrnagement with your company.

Sam,
i also hope that they increase in baby bonus in term of $$ will be up for all mummies but not only the 1st time mummy loh. Lets pray hard for it.

since by end this week we will knw the package. Mostly we will get it...I dun think they will take so long to implement hor.

fabbie, my meaning is, according to my other friend in another govt agency.. erm.. nearer to PM one la.. haha.. that if they say applicable from 1 dec.. then mummies that give birth from now till dec all will be upset ma.. so usually govt will start as at 1 aug.. they wont want mummies like us to stage a protest coz of 1 mth maternity leave ma..

There is an added 1wk of infantcare leave.. unpaid though.. but at least no need eat into our own leaves..

6days for each parent.. for the childcare leave..

i have 2days unconditional childcare leave and 5days that have to produce baby's MC.. so the dunno if the childcare leave will add onto what we have existingly already not..

Wong kan seng will be nice to us one la.. hehe.. he trying to win back singaporean's trust and heart ma..

iemiko, every company have different HR practices.. but things like maternity leave is stipulated by govt.. go read your HR guide lor..

jaz, my HR guide only says the child has to be Singaporean at time of birth. maybe u check with your HR. Then like that u must give birth in SG to enjoy the ML.

Hi Llig
I think old scheme n new scheme apply together. As what was mentioned.. The 4th month allow for flexiblility up to ONE year after delivery. N alot also depend on how the company wanna negotiate with you too. They might ask you to come back earlier etc.. Of course civil employees have to follow the rules strictly...Private companies can negotiate..

Yup.. No paternity leaves increase, only 6 days child care leaves.. so sianz... !!!

Most impt, hope the new scheme dun start at 2009 lor....

Waiting to see my GM 's black face soon.. haha!! Perhaps he will "interview" me again.. when i want my 2nd child =P

Today straits times has it listed out on the main page liao..

So lets wait for Mr Wong to announce ASAP.. hee hee

wun start 2009 one la. Previous time (2004) they announced Aug, started Oct. This time skali they backdate?!?! then happy liao.

so dun worri Dec MTB, by the time your turn comes, u will all stand to benefit

Phyl,
1 week unpaid leave although will not eat into our own leaves.. but will affect our bonus to become pro-rated.. I know my company do tat.. so bonus more impt or unpaid leaves more impt =P

Jowin, true it will be more difficult to find jobs after this 4mth ML. but if any company is to not hire or sack a staff coz of this, MOM is just ard the corner.. hehe..

my intention all along was to kill abit of time in public service.. so even my HR know i come this place to settle down after getting married and also to make babies.. haha. My bosses encourage us to make babies.. maybe thats the diff between public and private..

my baby hayden keep kicking my lower abdomen today.. haha.. its so distracting..

jowin ah.. wah.. your company smelly leh.. haha.. how can pro-rate bonus one.. u should write an email up to MOM and ask if this behaviour from your HR is acceptable or not!! haha..

aiya... come to public service la.. hehe.. lots of bonus, lots of work life harmony.. erm.. only terrible thing is that decisions are made so slowly coz need 10,000 ppl to approve first.. haha.. everything also got protocol, SOP.. haha.. but very pro family one!

jo, my coy same as urs. bonus will sure be affected if unpaid leave is taken. i am quite worried that taking too many mcs will affect my bonus too. my manager is not so happy that i took mc during my 1st trimester, can't imagine my appraisal end of the year.

actually that 1 week infant care unpaid leave is not an incentive. even if the government dun implement these and we have used up our annual leave, we will still take unpaid leave if we need to take care of our babies at home due to some reasons.

with this 4mths of maternity leave, i wonder if i can get a new job after popping no. 1. think employers will stay away from married women.

wah.. mimi.. your company also smelly la.. where got such things one.. not as though you wanna take MC also!!!

ur manager is robot meh.. nv take MC b4 ah? zzzzz.. aiyo.. cannot like that la.. no good!

Phyl
wat can MOM do? how many cases can they handle.. haha!! Unless get into the gahmen sector, if not, majority of the private companies, SME will shun married women away..Seldom have companies like HP or Siemens..

Interview 1st question,when u gonna start family planning? Any plan for 2nd child if you already have 1st child..

But even gahmen sector, alot of my friends told me, they receive the same treatment too... perhaps different ministry have different treatment. MCYS shd have the best treatment i think
haha...

phyl, no choice.... private companies are like that.

jo, u are right. when i went for interview in feb this yr, the interviewers dun bother to ask abt my work experience. they are only interested if i am planning to start a family soon. so sad... in the end i got a job offer from a korean coy but i did not join them cos i tested +ve in march.