(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

hi all...

Gathering
The gathering dates...i can make it for all except 30/08.
Btw...is the gathering for lunch or dinner?

Oh and i will come alone. My hubby won't feel comfortable in such social gatherings.

MRT Seats
So far, only 3 people have given me seats on the train...and that is despite my big belly! On Saturday, this young lady even SNATCHED the PRIORITY seat away from me. I took a step back to allow people to alight cos i was standing in front of the priority seat...and before i could turn to sit...she DASHED to the seat & sat. My hubby was soooo mad!!!

Later she was so embarrassed cos an auntie sitting 2 seats away from her offered me her seat. And the young lady exclaimed (in Chinese) to her friend, "Oh i didn't see!" BULLSHIT! The whole time her bf was pointing me out to her!!!

But sometimes i think i cannot blame people. From the back, it's impossible to tell i'm pregnant. I'm still quite slim except for ever-growing belly. I'll be taking the train tomorrow...will be able to update on whether anyone offered me seats. Haha...

Xiaohwa: A used breast pump is fine...as long as you don't mind. Just make sure you sterilize it properly before use.
It's very nice of your friend to pass it to you.

Taka Baby Fair
It starts tomorrow!!! I'll be heading down in the afternoon. What bout you ladies?

hippo & fabbie: Thanks for the tips! will try tonight to see if can sleep comfortably. I've resorted to drinking milk b4 slping these few days, or else keep waking up at nite then cannot go back to slp...

loveangel: I'll be going to the fair tml after detailed scan! Need to pick up stroller and steriliser plus any other good buys.....

I'm counting down to my detailed scan this fri, while the rest of the whole is counting down to Beijing Olympics.. hee.

As for the gathering, I shld be able to make it except 31 Aug and 20 Sep (which happens to b my bdae). My hubby wishes to join too but is afraid tat he might not fit in w so many mummies.

Jus to check.. how many of u r bringing hubbies?

Will update agn sn after my detail scan! so excited!!

Mei Lik (mei_lik), Snowger (snowymum)
Thanks for the welcome DRINK !!!

xiaohwa (xiaohwa)
I think its alrite to use an used set, just sterilize/change the parts will do...

Juzyounme (juzyounme)
Dat why I thought I'm the only daddy in this forum...so erryyyy... Not lah actually my wife too tired to surf the web after her work...
I surf on her behalf...

To all mommies, here some ideas for you all if you want to get a seat either in MRT/Bus...

I'm working as a patient service executive in one of hospital. Most of patients are amputees fitted with prosthesis. They always complained that they are never being offered seat from "PERFECTLY FINE / NORMAL" passengers. Inorder to get offering from passengers, they would wear shorts/bemudas to let others aware of it. Cos wearing long pants would "CAMOUFLAGE" the prosthesis.

So all mommies, maybe your "TUMMY" is not obvious. Please show your "TUMMY" infornt of the PRIORITY seat to the passenger. Even better can stancel "BABY INSIDE"...Hopefully then they can see it.

Cheers up all mommies !!! Hope you can meet a kind soul to offer you a seat. Then better buy 4D that day...

Loveangel (loveangel)

Can update us any super doper deal at taka baby fair ?

Planning to head down this coming sunday..

Me same case as sam.. weekends are precious as husband and i both work crazy hours. So once you ladies finalise a date, i'll see if we can make it.

Belinda Lim (ab_bur), Louisa (mrs_hamster)

What my wife did was, few nights before the detail scan, she told the BB to see what sex so can buy many many cloths n toys...

Guess what happen ? During the scan, BB two legs are wide open, with a little prick standing = a boy...

Try talking to the BB it might work...hee hee

lol
fabbie, it's not that la .. he'll just pull this face and I'll feel mean for leaving them behind while I go out and meet friends for lunch .. He's very busy and tired on weekdays to spend any real quality time with us so he wants the weekends to be just him and his girls .. (ie us) ... that's why I schedule all my lunches and teas with my gal pals on weekdays ... today I met up with my friend at Dempsey Road for Indian lunch at Samy's and then dessert and coffee at Dome there ... YUMS !!! -- sorry I stray off topic .. just thinking of today's lunch .. feel hungry now .. lol

haiyah, fabbie .. you haven't seen me yet, right? ... I'm like 1.73m and big sized .. NO ONE IN THEIR RIGHT MIND WILL DARE ATTACK ME .. mebbe if I'm teeny and petite then got cause for worry ...

LOL !!!

louisa, baby weighing 380g at 20w is overweight? my gynae never say anything leh... he only say normal. at this weight, estimated will be 3-3.1kg when i pop. and he say it's ok.

i also talk to baby few days before i went for my detail scan and the scan took for abt 15mins only. initally when gynae was scanning baby is sleeping so quite easy to scan but halfway through baby wakes up and starts scratching his head. so cute... then gynae say got to chase him around....

are u gals wearing maternity clothings already? my friend ask me to wear maternity clothings so ppl will give up seat to me. cos yst when she took mrt and saw 1 lady very slim but wi a bit of tummy, she is guessing is that lady is pregnant cos she is wearing normal top.

Hi Glenn & Belinda: I told bb the day before already.. maybe hubby ard, he shy to open.. haha.. coz at 16 weeks scan i talk to him and he opened his legs big big.. hubby not ard that time.. haha

Mimi, i dunno also leh.. he said 20 weeks shd be ard 350 grams max.. so i guess slightly overweight ba.. but for me it's definatly must control diet.. sianz.. so many things cannot eat..

Xiaohwa: my colleague also wanted to pass me hers.. she said change the "spare parts" can already.. hehe

lousia, why got to control diet. u only weigh 55kg leh.

those who are going to taka baby fair later, pls update us if there is any good deals ok?

Morning,

Xuelyn,
When's ur BD? Coz mine oso 31 Aug, heehee...

Juzyounme,
I'm using an old battery operated pump as well, my sil pass it to me 1, quite lasting u noe, coz her boys already in Pri 6 and Pri 4 and still can use. Just wash it clean and sterilise properly shouldn't b any problem.

Mimi,
I'm only wearing maternity skirts/pants,some says I'm growing fat with a big tummy. I dun like to wear those maternity dresses, mayb have to wear towards the end of preg.

Sam,
Me too, both hubby and I are working during weekdays and I have to work on Sat. So weekends we will spend together with my son and family. Got big family , normally we will go outing ,shopping, makan etc....on weekends, so weekends are very precious to us.

Morning .

Glenn - how nice of you to serve the forum for your wife. About priority seat, i showed my tummy many times, big and protruding, still got pple ignored me. Anyway, at times some kind soul will offer. Later today, if i am in the Prioriy train home, i will ask the person to give up the seat to me. Er, i think i am entitle to do that!

mum2ndx - How did your amnio went? All went well i guess?

luthadel - i think gluocose test will take about 2 hours. If you do it in the lab with TMC, they will let you drink a bottle of SWEET undiluted orange and u are not suppose to pee for 1 hour. Then they will test your blood and pee. Haiz, then repeat again! Haiz.

xuelyn - my hubby is going to the gathering also. Some mommies are bringing their hubbies too.

reddates, i think i 'look fat' instead of pregnant that's why ppl dun give up seat to me. think i need to go buy a few maternity tops liao. i am actually wearing maternity pants/skirts already, i prefer to wear 2 pcs instead of dresses.

jowin, gd morning! tmr is friday!

Morning Ladies,

Todays straits times got an advert on the free stroller that we got with the cot.. its original price is $139 and its selling for $59 at the Metro Expo..

Juzyounme, i go home check my bill liao let you know k. mine if i din forget my detailed scan at ADC was $89 incl GST but i went to see gynae at TPS and that was $69 more.

Loiusa, my gynae din say anything. just say low nia.. well, everyone says it will go up naturally, just tot got any way to assist nature so it will confirm move up..

me went TPY shopping. Bought plain cotton v neck cotton tops and pants @ 5 for $10.. they also selling lots of osh kosh jumpers.. hehe.. so cute.. but it was $17each..din buy that. Bought a dress for my godsis's wedding next sat from the carona shop and it cost $29.90 only. The dress is simple and nice.. good buys!!!

Mimi,

If I wear tight tops, tummy very visible. I prefer to wear 2 pc oso. Mayb ur can try talking to bb when ur on the train, heehee...says something like mummy so tired, nobody offer seat to mummy , haha...

Jowin,

Morning, how r u? Still feeling nauseous? I find that if I constipate, eat some cakes like cheese/cream wah really can help u noe. I eat alot of fruits everyday still can constipate

reddates, wait ppl thought i siao. haha... think i got to go buy some maternity tops liao...

piGgiCia, where is that toa payoh shop selling maternity clothings? the dress u bought is cheap leh. last time my sis placenta is also low but it moves higher when her tummy grows bigger. my sis ask me not to carry heavy things and walk too long

Mimi: i also dunno.. i think he mentioned max i can gain is 2 kg max per mth... i gained 3 kg from week 16 to week 20.. total weight gain from start till now already 8.5 kg le.. scary man..

Baby fair: Can help me to check out out if there are any pigeon sterlizers for sales/ promotion going on? Thanks!

Ya piGgiCia, where is the TPY shop selling Osh Gosh Jumpers? I wanna go see!

Reddates, did u try prune juice? I eat lots of fruits still constipate so I drink prune juice too. Then traffic all clear! No more jams.

Morning Ladies
I finally slept thru yesterday night after 3 nights of sleeeplessness.

Sam, your prayers works!

Mei Lik
So strange to be offered sweet orange juice for the glucose test! Wouldn't that increase or raise our sugar level? hmmmm Anyway, my gynae did warn me that the 1st test is at 8.30am and the 2nd test an hour later. Thereafter I'll have to go & see her in the clinic.

Glenn
Hey, nice to have daddy in the forum too. My HB was saying that there should be a forum for FTBs too

Gathering
If you see that the no. of attendee is more than 1 per name, that means their HB and/or kids are coming too. So, for those who are not sure if the HB will be taken care off, i think there are enought FTBs to entertain each other
Glenn, are you going to join us, do bring your wife

mimi: ok lar.. not very slim as in bone and skin.. still got some fats.. haha

another sleepless night yesterday.. dreamt that i was kicking someone yesterday.. and my right leg actually moved.. jump out of my dream and felt bb kicking also.. haha.. so funny..

morning all. yday read the article about having a good sleep in the night to avoid waking up in the middle of the night. i try to eat less and eat early for my dinner but about 11pm my hubbie brought crabs for me to eat -____- so bo bian eat lor. then 4am + wake up to pee. damn i must try again. and i try to sleep on my left side. i feel so uncomfortable wor.. cus i always sleep on my right... If i always sleep on my right will it affect my baby?

sam no leh.. havent see you yet. hehe

Glenn hahah i sometimes try to wear something obvious too. damn but today feel not that obvious. lolx

xuelyn i will be bringing if i can make to the date. =)

Mimi same here.. 380g for my baby too. the lady didn't say anything. hmm i havent wear maternity clothes yet. cus i felt its ugly =X

Louisa ya 55kg? same here! and baby is 380g hehe

Juzyounme, erm.. i begged my gynae not to give me any more pills so i din pay for the pills.

mimi, the shop is carona or something like that. its on the row where they sell fake flowers and plants.

hippo, the baby clothes is opp the bengawan solo. there is a few shops that sell baby clothes, there is song & song, not very nice then walk down a few shops there is a smaller shop that sells the jumpers.. must walk into the shop. outside the shop there are rompers.. 2 for $10. Rompers they have old navy, baby gap and some other brands.. most are 0-3mths so i din buy.

Amongst those shops there are the curtain shops that sell plain simple wear at home type of cotton tops.. some sell 3 for 10 or 4 for 10.. there are bedding sets and also pillows for babies too..

fabbie: yeah.. same leh.. u r how many weeks? me 20 weeks 0 days when i went yesterday.. i also never wear maternity clothes.. felt they r ugly also.. haha..

the nurse actually scolded me for wearing leggings.. she said too tight le.. until can see all the rubber marks.. but i can't feel anything leh.. so i never bother also.. hehe

Mimi,
Sometimes no need to buy special maternity tops (now places like This Fashion has quite a bit of clothes tt look like maternity wear). I rem more people offering me seats especially when I started my 2nd trimester and wearing my maternity dresses or tops. :p

My colleagues said that the normal tops which shows my tummy does not make me look preggy. Althou the bulging stomach is obvious but it just looks like an especially big pouch (the type ladies hv aft seating in office for long hrs aft lunch).

Phyl,
I was still wondering if the cot is the same one we getting free from the purchase of cot. I must we got quite a steal!

Luthadel,
U manage to zzz? I went to sleep at 10.30pm yest. Land up feeling even > lazy to wake up. But at least during work now, I feel more "clear-headed".

xuelyn,
The pax would usually determine if MTBs are bringing hubby (i.e. esp if Pax is 2 n abv).

any mummies here sign for stemcord or cordlife? Do you think it is necessary? I asked my gynae, he said is like buying insurance, possibility of usage may be 1% only. So I am confuse whether to sign or not!!
Can have mummies's opinion?

louisa now im 24 weeks 2Days but the detail scan i had was 20 weeks lor and baby weight is 380g. hehe for now i also duno haha

Usually i wear dress.. abit those flabby ones which is even pregnant woman is not wearing de. hehe Oh too tight will affect baby? then our panty how? too tight also will affect ah?

Gathering:
i wont be joining cos my hubby on shift work and it difficult for me to bring my boy alone now.

Seats:
So far most of the time i get a seat in MRT. Many my tummy obvious?

But on tue evening something strange happen. I board at outram park stn and this india lady who stand beside me keep looking at my tummy. (happen that no one offer seat to me on that day) And to my surprise a few times she use her bad to push against. So next stop after ppl alight i move nearer to the centre and this india lady actually swing her bag and hit my tummy then she follow me and stand beside me again. i feel so disturb and quicky alight the next stop and wait for another train. Dunno wat is that india lady trying to do.

jessie, it depends lor.. for me i'll be donating the cord.. coz not worth the money to keep the cord.. the cord can only be used for blood diseases at the moment. but if u buy a good insurance, it can cover all children illness as well as hospitalization. i think the chances of my baby have high fever or broken arm or dengue is higher than getting leukemia.. my 2cents wor!!

Maureen ah.. haha.. original price $139 sure mark up for show nia la.. randy say dun want the stroller then the cot minus $40 ma.. so the cost price of the stroller is very low also..

jappooh, some of the mummies are bringing their children also, so bring your son lor.. so many ppl can help u.. hehe..

maybe the indian lady jealous u preggie? but be careful of such figures la..

fabbie: i also wear dresses most of the time.. but seems that all my dresses become shorter as tummy gets bigger.. so alot of dress can't wear alone, must wear with leggings inside.. haha

i bought my panties one size bigger lor.. if not wear g-string.. can stretch until big big mah.. haha

morning ladies, heading down to taka fair later. Will update on the gd deals.

Louisa, my bb @ 22 wks weigh 402g, quite big also.

morning ladies,

m feeling under the weather today. running nose, aching muscles n dizzy head. thinking to go c doc tonight n get MC to sleep tomorrow. argh...

louis wear lose pants can liao.

sighz. I duno why i feel so werid today. so weird. that i felt something will happen today. duno why.. feel so weird and depress now.. duno whats happening man. do you all have this feeling before?

Louisa
Mrs Wong from the class dun recommend G-string. I dun know why... can't remember its during confinement or during pregnancy...

Hi Sam
Touchwood but seem ok

Hi Reddates
i totally forego obimin this week.. no constiptation. I trying out if my constiptation mainly cause by taking obimin daily.. if not i change to 2 -3 days once...

Eat fruits have to chew very thoroughly.. as the fibres are hard to breakdown for us now and will cause lagi constipation especially apples.. if i constipate now, i dun take apple juices or apple.. yes.. try prunes..

i also din sleep well.. worried abt the baby after my fall yesterday. Din really feel him moving, so both myself n hb got worried..then i hv such bad dream!! Dreamt that I start to bleed yet the nurse ask me to queue n i hv to beg her to let me see the doctor first.. got up n started screaming..

Hahah..then today me n hb's eyes both swollen.. not going to work late tonite alr.. i worked till 10plus every day for the past 2 weeks. Going to go home early today and rest rest rest..

Pris, u going to Taka baby fair today? Can check out if they are selling NUK bottles?

emerald aiyo you fall very jialet mah? must be careful wor..

I think im having a heart burn. feeling abit breathless de.

jowin, constipation cannot eat apples? i dun have constipation but have been eating apples everyday.

emeraldbride, dun worry and rest more ok? go see ur gynae if u dun 'fang xin'.

actually alot of ppl say 2nd trimester is honeymoon period but hor i am still tired... everyday still need to sleep as early as 10pm. dun know why. the only thing i dun know feel so sleepy during office hours.

Hi emeraldbride
u fall down ah.. aiyo.. take care...

I was telling luthadel, these few days i dun feel baby moving much leh
have la.. but not active...

Hi mimi
ya.. constipate dun eat apples or take apple juices...but dun have constipate, eat daily, its good

jaz, if not feeling well, must rest. I also on mc today cos of sore throat. Has been eating chili crabs on alternate days since last wed when hb came back to Sg. Realise I reali not disciplined in terms of food, perhaps cos its my 2nd bb already... poor bb in my tummy.

mimi, my 2nd tri also not honeymoon period. Get tired easily too. My sleeping hrs are actually more than my gal.

jowin, so i can continue to eat apples everyday. i have been eating guavas also... so far poo poo still quite smooth.

2ndbaby, talk abt crabs. i crave for chili crabs last nite leh and hubby is going to buy for me tonight. everyday when i reach hm after work i actually wanted to take a nap but never cos i scare i cannot get to slp in the night after taking nap.

Mei Lik,
The result will come out on 20th.. hai.. 2 weeks to go. Hope everything ok ba.. my detail scan is on 29th Aug.. so long.. Thank U bery much!!!
My gynae is really really very experience!!! Thanks to him, the whole process was smooth and painless!!! blood taking is more painful. hahah

jowinbaby: i think shd be confinement cannot wear ba.. coz cannot use tampon.. that's what my friend said.. not very sure also..

my baby more active at night b4 sleeptime and in the morning when i wake up.. after that not much movement also.. sometimes i wanna feel bb move i lie down and shake my tummy.. haha.. then will start to move le.. if not i drink cold milk, got effect also..

fabbie: loose pants? as in those rubber waistband ones ah? dun think too much.. sometimes i also like that.. esp when my eyelid twitch, i scared something bad will happen..

2nd baby: i hope my bb won't be too big, later my stomach become very heavy then jialat.. now i'm already starting to walk like old lady.. faster abit start to feel tired already.. esp after lunch super sleepy..not honeymoon period for me also..