(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

The Metro discount is only applicable to Metro card holders only? Or all shoppers? Hmm... Cos if that is the case, I would like to go and buy my bb stuff (especially the low ticket items) first.

A/C to mag advert, Pigeon will hv a special booth at the Taka Baby Fair.

Paper states storewide 20% and UOB-Metro cardmember will have additional 5% rebate.

U think the Pigeon steriliser will be cheaper @ Robinsons, Metro or Baby Kingdom??

What brand of milk bottles should I get leh?? Headache..

I need to get bra alr.. the prev one I bought 80C cannot finish wrapping my asset liao..really growing very big leh.. hahah

For Robinsons, not every brand will participate in the storewide discount (e.g. I went recently - wacoal bras not included in the 20% storewide disc).

emeraldbride,
Me getting NUK glass bottles (4 oz with teat n cap). So far the price I saw is $13.80... Was kind of "sold" to the concept of the NUK teats (prevent colic n nipple confusion for those who bf n bottlefeed) n kinda like the penguin prints! :p

I just got 2 new bras ($59) fr mothercare, Marina Sq. Expectedly, staff not v experienced w selling bras. Citibank cards got promo (15%?) w them for lingerie, Safra (20% for lingerie), FBI cards also got discount.

Since I am pretty well-endowed, not used to wearing bra without underwire! Paranoid behavoir tells me tat they are going south! *Haiz*

snowger, me too!! i think my breast also.. i think coz its a little too heavy.. so gravity lorz..

ladies, one question, is there anything i can do to make my placenta go up?

Jus came back fr Metro Sale. 20% storewide. The Pigeon liquid detergent for washing bottles are cheap. 2 at $18.90 only.

Met ikeike at paragon. Din have a chance to catch up w u tho.

piGgiCia, according to the book "What To Expect When You're Expecting", placentas usually migrate upwards as the lower segment of the uterus stretches and grow. A vast majority of low placentas eventually move into the upper segment nearer to delivery. So now is still early to start worrying.

Hi 2nd baby!! I met up with Loveangel and ran into Ade in Marche!!! Hehe... all mommies out enjoying themselves? Well I certainly did!! Hey is the Pigeon detergent cheaper than NTUC?

YEp baby taka fair is here soon.Time to start shopping spree.Not sure who are the participanting merchants?I might be gg on 1st day of sales.. maybe less crowd since its thur mah.

Have a gd weekend ahead
cheers,summer

Juzyounme,

Yah lor, seems like alot of sales, but dunno wat can I buy, clothing like too early, hmm....feel like buying things 4 bb...

So tired...saturday still got to work.

My mum is asking me not to buy too much baby clothes...but really cant resist...but am also afraid tat bb wont be able to fit in..

Hi! Just to let you all know, Maternity Exchange at Marina Square is having a special promo for its nursing bras - 15% off when you buy two or more. (1-24 August). There's is a good range so it's worth it to check it out! All for World Breastfeeding Month
The bras can also be worn while you are pregnant as they are really comfy and supportive.

There's also 15-20% off designer beansprout pillows and baby carriers. You can visit www.maternityexchange.sg for more
details.

ikeike, its bottle liquid cleanser. Yes, cheaper than NTUC. Wow, so coincidence u met Ade also. Btw, U are still super slim. Hw much wt have u gained?

Ivy, for bb clothes, its reali difficult to resist buying! U can buy for different age ranges like 0-3m, 6-9m.. then will not go to waste.

juzyounme: my gynae recommend dat mummies try not to tok too much before detailed scan, cos BB will be roused awake, making scanning diff. mebbe u can try dat too? ;)

Phyl and Ivy87: congrats on yr BB boys!

Shopping: i went on a shopping spree last evening oreadi! United Square Guess and Fox BB having very good sales, if free can go there to take a look. I bought 14pcs BB clothes (tops, skirts, rompers) for abt only $200 only. Juz cannot resist the temptation to spree.

Ikeike: u still as slim ya? envy envy... me put on another 2kg this mth leh! haha... yup, me enjoying every min of being a mum too =)

Reddates - hmm, how abt pacifier, teats, bibs, handkies, diapers, milk powder, baby detergent, breast pads...

Carmen - huh? cannot talk too much eh? i think i will be rather sian at the time... coz the scan is scheduled at 8.30am, half asleep.

Juzyounme: haha... not say cannot tok all the way, but mebbe 15mins before yr ppt time, try not to tok too much. According to my gynae, BB can hear mummy tok and tend to be awake then, and once BB start moving ard, it will be hard to scan properly mah =)

Juzyounme,

I just need to buy teats, diapers , milk powder, breast pads and some new clothings,tat's abt it. All these dun have to buy so early.

I put on abt 2kg so far, hope will not balloon during the 3rd tri.

Carmen - ooo, i try lor. sometimes don't even know my baby can hear or move or not, coz until today no movement felt at all.

Reddates - ya... how abt baby shampoo, soap, powder, cotton buds?

Hi Juzyoume
I posted an excel sheet abt wat to buy. Perhaps u can scroll up to see if its useful

I also blur abt wat to buy

mum2ndxzz n Mrs ho
Wanna tell u something abt the amnio test. i just Went thru on thu. given mc and rest at home. i had a detailed scan on Wed. it shoWs that my bb intestine contain fluid too. very upsetting. All the blood test shoW i am loW risk of doWn sydrome, but detailed scan shoW the fluid in the bb intestine. therefore, gynae advice me me to take the amnio test. the fluid in the bb intestine could be due to down sydrome, or something is Wrong With the bb bowel, or it could be as false alarm and the fluid Will disappear after Wk 28 detailed scan. i pray n hope for miracle that i dont need to asbort this bb. this is my no.2, mickey due 14/12/08.
Mrs ho, did your gynae request u for the amnio test. stay +ve.

hi ladies, i have been missing on this thread, but i do read sometimes.

We had our routine check up with our Gynae today and mine oh mine, baby Bryan has grown twice the size since we last saw him on 07July!

Currently, the measurement for his leg is 11cm and he weighs in at 559gm. Gynae is very happy at his development as he is still under the ideal growth range. For me, i've put on 2 kg since 07Jul so for now, i'm going to watch what i put into my mouth :p hehehe, dun wanna end up with extra kilos.

Ikeike
So nice to see you and your lovely friends at Marche! I'm sure they'll start to feed you more after looking at the size of my tummy against yours even though I'm almost 4 wks ahead of you! hhahahaaha

went to metro just now but only bought 3 pairs of disney baby socks (3 for $5) and 1 pair of baby pooh mittens & booties. will go to taka baby fair on friday afternoon... to see if the deals there are better, anyway i think there will be more 20% storewide at metro.

getting nearer and nearer to my detail scan. really excited.

btw, i will getting some stuffs from Baby Mall Online http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/index.php. anyone else interested? the things here are quite cheap!

Had my detailed scan yesterday!!! Baby is very very cooperative.. both myself and HB kept talking to baby days before Saturday abt the detailed scan, and what will the sonagrapher be measuring. The whole scan took abt 20minutes!! Baby is very cooperative.. we're so happy, that decided to reward baby with gifts!! Hehehe...

Went to Metro Paragon - 20% disc but din get anything for baby but bought panties and bra for myself instead!!
Aussino having 40% disc for members, bought face towel for baby..worth it!!
Then head to marina square and hb bought baby bibs and a hot/cold compressor for my back ache!!

Oh yes, I was at TMC and their pharmacy having sale as well.. Pigeon steriliser going for $94 (cheapest so far), metro going at $129 which even after 20% disc, still cant beat the price!!

Jowinbb,
can help update table for me please..
Gender: Boy (AGAIN! yippee!! can tell all those aunties that they were WRONG. keke..)
Gynae: Dr. Marianne Hendricks

Scan was ok..not too long. Baby was generally co-operative but kept covering his face with his hands..
Decided to stick with this gynae cos part-way during consultation, she was called away for delivery and boy was she cool and fast!..very athletic, plus eventhough baby seems big (for me cos me small frame), she said that she's gonna see to it that i "self-service" during delivery. i.e., no c-sect, no epi if poss
fingers crossed that all will be smooth.

Went for metro sale and bought swaddle blankie for baby but didn't realise that they have sizes! Picked up the preemie size..haiz..got to go exchange tomorrow.

Okie la..time to sleep. Nite all! Happy weekend!

emeraldbride, giant is also selling the pigeon steriliser at $94. saw the advertisement in Today papers last week.

lligs, congrats for gaving a boy! i am also thinking to get the swaddle blankie but dun know if it is necessary.

morning ladies

been craving for mac. now waiting for my delivery to come. hehe. sharing my hotcakes wif my lil noti one who is throwing his toys all over d room now. lolx.

does ur dr actually tell u ladies to stop gaining so much wt n control wat u eat? my dr don do tt one. when i was gaining rapidly when i had baby jayzon, my dr did not say a ting. end up, end of preg, i gainned a total of 19kg. =( so now i limiting my intake wif baby kayson. not having much of a appetite as well. smtimes juz forcing myself to eat so i wun be hungry.

taka baby fair:
will be taking half dae leave on fri to go to fair wif my sis. hehe. so she can help mi carry my shopping bags. =p

Mimi,
my 1st boy was sooo impossible to swaddle in the normal blankies..somehow, always manage to squirm his way out of it that we quit bothering to swaddle him when he was 2wk plus. So, with this swaddle blankie, we're hoping that the next baby will be properly restrained
not sure how well it works though

Morning everyone. Seems like many are waiting eagerly for the Taka Fair.

From the previous Taka Fair, there are brands like Avent, Pigeon, Medela, Ameda, strollers and prams, bb bath tubs, potty, cots, detergents, toys, rompers, disney, carters clothes....

For pigeon, there is a 50% price purchase if trade in old milk bottles.

Hi mimi
i also spree some clothings with my friends at gymboree.com .. now looking a few pieces at baby mall.

Hi iemik0
yeah. i applied for half day leave on 07 aug to shop at taka fair and have high tea with my friends... hee hee.. need some retail theraphy..

Gals
is it advisable to buy the steriliser so fast? Does they have warranty? I wonder which steriliser to buy to fit my Dr Brown bottles... hmmm.... Anyone using Dr Brown bottles n which steriliser are u using???

Swaddle blanket... i did purchase one from gymboree.. i think most get 1-2 will do.. if baby willing to wrap , will get more. Infact after 1st month, dun need to wrap already rite???

Hihi good sunday afternoon mommies!

2nd baby & Carmen, I've already gained 6kg leh!!! AND nobody cud tell hahahaha.....think it all went to my ger...oops! hope she doesnt become a pangniu manz!!! hahahaha......

Ade, I'm the biggest appetite among my buddies!!

Taka baby fair, I will need to buy a babysafe latex mattress. Shd I wait till then?

jo, u can actually buy pigeon steam steriliser. Pigeon is the only brand that can fit all brands of bottles. I saw a few malls that actually sell Dr. Brown's microwave steriliser. u can check them out..

I dont think i will wait for Dr Brown's BPA-free bottles to be launched. I am considering either NUK or Avent bottles - will wait for Taka fair, then will go see the price..

As hv not bought our cot, i will be missing out on the Aussino bedsheet set but hopefully they will have another such sale soon..

llig: congrats on having a Mickey!

ikeike: well, dats becos ur very very slim by nature, so 6kg gain to u is not visible. if i gain 6kg, which I believe is in very near future, it will be darmed obvious on me lor! hahaha...

Retail therepy:
i wish i cud take some time off too, really tired recently. Was supposed to werk ytd afternoon (from home), but somehow i was so tired dat i fell asleep. So juz slogged for the whole afternoon today to clear the backlog. Ah! now im wishing to get a less stressful job again but afraid my HB will not be able to shoulder the financial burden. Ah... juz need to keep telling myself to strike a balance liao.

hi everyone...i haven't logged in a few days.

Ikeike: Thanks for shopping together on Fri. Heh my hubby was very amused with the Carter's romper.

Taka fair
I'll be going to Taka fair on Thur afternoon. It's just nice that i end work early that day & i can meet up with another friend to go together. If i see Pampers, i'm going to buy a carton! :p

Phylicia & Llig: Congrats on your boys!!!

Llig: I want to buy the Swaddle too but too bad when i went to Metro on fri, only pink ones (in size S) were left.

Cot bedding
For those who ordered the cot from Palmax, what size bedding sets will fit??

Tonics
I have been taking tonic soups with tang sheng & pao sheng (alternate weeks) since week 13. I have also been taking 2 bottles of bird's nest weekly. So far, that's all the tonics in additional to the supplements given by gynae.

Me went to Paragon then Centrepoint Robinson yest... Finally got down to visiting Metro, Aussino and of cos First Few Years.

The pumps at First Few Years are indeed cheaper. Thinking of buying Baby Bjorn there too (the normal one is $139-$149 - depending on colour). They also sell the Medela pumps at quite a steal. There is local warranty through e shop & adapter. Will go Taka fair to find out the warranty if they sell Medela.

Emeraldbride, u wan to go see the pump with me? If yes, can i drop u an email? or u drop me one at [email protected] on when u free? Other gals who interested pls feel free to drop me mail too.

At Aussino, being a sucker for Mickey/Minnie (I gave angpows w tis design tis yr) - we bought e Disney Mickey design instead of e Aussino (though I really luv e blue col w elephant, duck & sheep). The 6 pcs set cost $63.90 ($79.90 with 20% discount). Would hv loved it even more if it is blue instead of green. :p

At Robinson, got the first NUK glass bottle with 20% disc + 5% rebate. Avent/Medela no discount. So might check out e TMC pharmacy - last time i wen for detail scan, got 20% disc for Avent products. Wonder if FBI got xtra discount. *Haha*

I posted my buys on www.xanga.com/civuam :p

Maureen & those wanting to buy stuff from First Few Years, i have the VIP card...can get discounts for you ladies.

Just lemme know...i can go down with you gals.

hello ladies
Went for my 2nd antenatal class today and wow, really informative. We have deep breathing exercises and Mrs. Wong even taught us the different types of breathing for different situation etc. Best part is the massage techniques that she taught the HBs to relieve our backache during labour/transition. :p

Oh, she does have notes for all her antenatal classes but somehow, we did not get it last week so I got a copy from her this week. It also has a list of receipes.

Ikeike
I wish I can be like you lor, so slim and no tummy
But as Mrs Wong said, it is ok not to have tummy as long as your baby is growing well and healthy
For me, my boy is growing well within his range & I am growing too in my belly *sigh*

We can see our baby's face!
During my scan yesterday, my gynae managed to capture my boy's face in the utlrascan and now his eyes are open! You can have a look at our scan on our blog http://theevolvingbean.blogspot.com/

Jowin,
I think I’ve been too liberal on eating junk food & ice cream.. hee. I find that the more stressful I’m, the more I tend to indulge in junk food. So now I’ve to remind myself to stick to yong tau foo & soupy noodles for lunch.

Jappooh,
Wow, you manage to shed all weight after giving birth for 1st pregnancy. How did you do it huh?

Adel,
Me still amazed at how slim your tummy is at 22 wks! *admire*

ScarletGal
Aiyo, that picture is on the side views lah. Now at 23wks5days, my side view is very big! Not slim anymore. *sigh* hope my tummy won't go outwards any further :S hahaha

snowger, i tink we both got a common fren?? i saw in facebook u knew one of my colleague leh..hehe

I wanna go see breastpump!! I was at paragon yesterday too, even went to First Few Years to see baby cot..hehe

Gynae ask me to start thinking of my birth plan liao..

snowger, the mickey stuff u bought is very cute!! Hahaha..

My gynae advised me not to invest in those higher end pump wor..cos she said all pumps is the same.. hmm... *thinking*

As for my birth plan, she said definitely need to hv episiotomy since my baby's head is big!

Read all abt it at : http://ourlovecreation.blogspot.com/

Emeraldbride,
You were at Paragon? I was there about 4plus I think.

Your gynae very cute! I wonder what my gynae will say if I ask him abt breast pumps. But a lot of pple did say Ameda n Medela are good. Anyway I will email them n shortlist a few dates for us. Then we can decide when to go down together!

Btw, who is our common friend?

2nd baby: First Few Years has 2 outlets in SG -- Paragon & KKH.

Emeraldbride: Your gynae told you that an episiotomy is definitely necessary??

Snowger: I didn't ask my gynae at all about breastpumps. :p Heh...if you go to Mums N Babes, they usually have Medela pumps on display for you to look.