(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

reddates n phylicia,

lately oni i experience this. i used to b able to sleep back coz i m real tired. but dunno y these few days i can't do so..... wanna cry liao. feel vy zombie now....

Hi Jaz
slept at 10.30pm ..woke up 3 times to pee.. n now still very tired...
Keep dozing off in MRT.. very ugly..=P
Dun cry.. crying not good for baby

Try to sleep on ur left, u feel better... Dun know why but i can sleep on my left, yet on my right, i feel heavy on my chest n could not sleep....

Oh ladies.. Metro on 20% sales? I am also confuse on the electric breasts pump n do not know which to get.... all seem expensive to me.. But decided not to get the manual one as i think i dun have the strength to pump it...

Hi Pris
congrats on the great news.. Baby is good

I m going to NT scan on week 13... hmmm.. abit worry already abt the result though have not gone thru it at all...

jaz, i agree with Jowin that sleeping on left is more comfortable.. i've been naughty, i sleep on my tummy still.. haha.. my friend mom of 3 says not good for baby.. well.. its auto flip to tummy one.. hehe..

jowin, i think u must think whether u really want to BF ur baby for long.. even aft going back to work. its quite a good investment i find but it is costly. read in other threads that the mini versions can be quite noisy.. so i think shouldnt compromise.. Breast fed babies are smarter! imagine the milk powder cost and future tuition class etc.. hehe.. worth it la.. when got 20% discount. hehe..

morning all.
TGIF.
Today morning woke up, shower and puke.
Puke until blood also out. so much blood.
Puke out all my gut also. dammn sad.

When my bb is out..first thing i will do is spank bb backside. LOL

Meilik
oh... u okay anot? still puke blood ah.. I think u must have hurt ur throat....Feeling sore throat??

Hi Phylicia
i thought i wanna BF baby for a year ( provided i have enough milk and can TAHAN for so long la) working mother seem tough to BF baby for a long time.. especially need to pump milk in office...but i try my best to prolong as much as possible... Save $ and good for baby ma ;)

jowinbb,

i will try to change my sleep position so i can sleep better. will not cry... but can't help feeling like a zombie...

pris,

dat's great news! do take k.... i will b doing blood test on week 13 too... if ok, no need to do scan.

siong man..i got internal bleeding...machiam olden days cheena kung fu era. LOL.

actually everyday, when i brush my teeth, i will gag, the smell of the toothpaste, shampoo, conditional, all contributes to the puking. Even perfume

Morning ladies, was on 2 days mc ytd and today cos i was bleeding ytd morning.. rushed to TMC immediately and the gynae said tat the baby is okay.. but she can't be sure wat causes the bleeding and so hormones injection and pills was given to me to stabilise the baby.. so scary, i really cried when i saw the blood.. hopefully everything will be okay..

funshine, bra size doesnt mean low supply for milk. Demand = Supply for breastfeeding. The more bb latch on or u pump, the more milk ss.

meilik, thats serious leh. Got blood when u puke.

hi jowin,
just happen to pop in here today coz no mood to work as its TGIF and saw u all are discussing abt breastpump...

my personal opinion is that medela pumps r very gd and if u do intend to bf for a long time, its gd to invest in the medela PIS though its very expensive...i swore by medela and it only takes me a mere 15mins to pump each session and bec its dual side pumping, u will have let down both breasts tog and its so much faster...i tried the medela single electric and as mentioned by 1 of the mummy here, its v noisy and each breast take abt 15mins or more and i ended up spending 30mins or more to pump when i go bk to work....for the PIS its halve the time and so much better i feel....

i bf my son till he is 7mths and for my girl who is coming to 8mths now i am still bfing her and intend to do so till she is 1years old...BTW if any of u intend to bf, based on WHO guide, its good to bf yr bb at least min for 6mths to be beneificial to yr baby...

main thing abt bfing is not that as what pp say no milk, its all abt latching as much as possible and i do take supplements at the start when my milk ss is not established yet. also if its possible now, stop wearing undewire bras already coz it will hinder yr bm ss and makes it harder when BM is coming in...start wearing non underwire bras alr if u can...the 1st 3mths, do latch yr bb whenever she/he want to feed and after bb latch on, pump to express out all the excess milk. Initial u might not get any milk after latching bb or get v little, but dun worry, u r actually "informing" or bluffing yr breasts to produce more milk to feed yr bb...best to pump every 3hrs interval...yr breasts work in the way such that it will increase the ss of bm when there is a dd for it and if u say express yr milk after yr bb latch, yr breasts will think that the current ss is not sufficient and will end up producing more which in time to come, u do not hav to worry that u wont have ss for yr bb...good supplement for me is fenugreek from GNC and goat rue which can be found thru BP in the forum...also take alot of papaya soup boil with fish bones...its is suppose to help increase BM ss as well...well i hope these info helps all MTBs...its reali v rewarding to be able to bf yr bb...so must jiayou...u all can do it...
if anyone else need any other info, juz PM me...
mummies must always help each other along the way ya coz its a tough but rewarding journey...

funshine, dun worry abt the size of ur breast, i suppose before pregnancy u r on the smaller side. Like wat firstbaby said, size does not determine the amt of milk u produce..gosh, we sound like cow mama

Shirley, please rest more ya..Dun carry heavy stuff, u better rest in bed! Put a bottle of warm water by ur bedside so u dun hv to walk too much..Mabbe u been walking alot hence the bleeding?

During shower this morning, nearly fainted..the moment i got up after squatting, my face turn pale n cannot breath.. quickly rub myself dry n lie on the bed..only leave the house at 8.30am n arrive office late.. :p

I intend to breastfeed till the baby is 1 years old or until he got his first tooth..once got teeth, dun wanna breastfeed, scared he bite..hahahah

hi emeraldbride,
haha...sorry....SS stands for Supply. BM stand for Breastmilk. DD stands for demand. bf stand for breastfeed

Pris..i saw in sengkang metro...as for medela, they have 15% off...kiddy place also have 15% for non-member and 20% for member...keke..

I also v confused with electric and manual...

emeraldbride,
haha dun need to wait till yr bb has teeth n then can bite...now can bite already...haha...n its damn painful...so when my girl bite me either bec my bm hav not come in yet and she is impatient or when she had enough and is playing, i will stare at her and tell her firmly and scold her telling her she bite, mummy pain pain and next time no more for her to drink, and then she will be good and dun bite anymore...:p

hi augbaby, thanks for your great post about bfing. You are definitely right to say that mummies must always help each other along the way. That's exactly what I like about the forum here

Hi shirley,
do take care. i also have fresh spotting 1 month back and was given injection & duphaston. Luckily the spotting stopped. Rest well!

echo,
u r most welcome...last time when i first started my bfing journey, i also ask alot of questions in the forum from 2nd time mummies and they reali help me a lot and i wish to also return this valuable help to those new MTBs who need it...juz its reali something new and so much to learn..
have a good day ahead ya all you mummies and hang in there those who had bad MS, b4 u know it, u be in the 2nd n then 3rd tri and then u can hold your babies in your arms and when you look at them, all these u hav gone it is all worth it!!!

Hi augbaby
thanks for the post. Its very informative.

Medela PIS stands for??? I am actually looking for pump which i can use at home and also which i can use in office example preferably battery operated to be used in office n yet another set to use at home. So far have not research on which to buy. I wonder if there are such pump in a set which contain the battery operated pump and electric pump..Me blur blur over these.. Or do i have to buy 2 pumps because i wanna pump in office?

ya.. gotten some bra with no underwired already..

THanks

Hi Shirely
Rest more. Dun worry abt it. I experienced the same thing when just conceived. Doc also gave me a hormone jab, hormone pills , duphaston n 2 weeks bed rest... He said baby is okay... he just suspect the bleeding is from the womb neck lining which maybe soft n thin now and also due to too much movements from the mother...

So just rest more n dun around too much

Cheers!!

Jowin,
Medela PIS stands for Pump in Style...coz its more meant for working mothers coz the motor is attached in either a haversack or a slingbag. and the tubings and electrical point can be put into the various pockets of the bag and all you have to do is to bring the haversack with you to work everyday. It also comes with a cooler bag and icepack for you to store your BM on your way home and there is a specific slot for you to put yr cooler bag into the haversack. So all you have to do is grab the haversack and go. The PIS comes with a battery pack and a electrical plug which you can plug into a electric point to pump. The battery pack i think is mainly main for when you are travelling overseas and need to pump on the plane. I never had to use the battery pack b4 till i travel overseas and hav to pump in the airplane toilet recently. Mainly i dun use the battery pack bec it need i think 12 batteries and it can last for 4hrs of pumping i think...For me i do not buy 2 pumps coz i dun think its needed. Its more tiring for me coz i bring my pump to work and back home after work so i can only the PIS to pump as it works for me. I do however know of some friends who do buy 2 pumps, 1 put in the office and another use at home...for me at home, i usually latch my girl and only pump after that...so i feel i do need a gd pump at work bec most of my milk expressed out at work is for her next day ss etc...hope i am not being too confusing...

meilik,

go n c doc. vomitting with blood is not a small matter lor... do take k

shirley,

rest more n dun worry so much. u n bb will b fine

augbb,

thank u so much for the info on brest pump!!

some brands and things that i hav tried and swear by it...

Milk bottles: Dr Brown bottles...(this is the originial and BeFree bottles are actually an imitation of this) Both my babies use ONLY these brand of bottles and when they are younger, they never had colic..it is specially said to help reduce colic bec of the valve they have in the centre of the bottles..
http://www.handi-craft.com/bottles/index.shtm

Sterilizer: I personally like the pigeon sterilizer coz its can fit all bottles sizes and height and time to sterilize is rather short. This is as compared to avent sterilizer.

Warmer: to warm up BM...i use Avent warmer..

Baby Wipes: I use Johnson and Johnson..tried other brands like pigeon and other brands but they are either too dry or too wet...

Oh ya another impt thing, but i dunno if its true or not...my in laws tell me to take pearl powder for both my kids when i am preggy as they say can prevent jaundice and i did take for both of them, n yes both bb dun not have jaundice...coz as u all, jaundice in newborn babies r v common...if bb is boy then take lesser but if bb is girl can take more...

Jazlyn,
yes yes esp for girl..
but in laws say it can also prevent jaundice so i juz take lor...go chinese medical hall to buy and ask them to grind into powder and then juz add a little into hot water n stir n juz drink..no taste one...they say if bb is boy can take but dun take too much lor...for girl can take more...

augbaby,
pearl powder... good... my 1st boy was warded for jaundice 1 week after he was born. will try out. must i tell e ppl that im taking for bb inside tummy?

mum2ndx,
ya juz tell the medical hall pp that u wan to buy powder powder to take for yr bb and think there is different price range for different quality of it so u choose accordingly lor...take only after yr 1st trim hor...abt 5mths..u can for a start maybe 1x a wk and when u know bb gender already and if its girl, u can take like 2x a wk. if boy then take once a wk or so ba...But hor i dun reali know if its confirm pearl powder can prevent jaundice hor...
but then during both my pregnancy, that is the only "special" thing i took lor..rest is normal so dunno if there is reali a link...But no harm trying since its gd for bb...

hmm.. bra without underwire will not cause our breast to sag? Hahaha...I notice these type of bra usually very UGLY one lor..hahaha

Tonite going shopping again.. this week alr spend alot of maternity clothes..i got 1 week supply of bottoms (pants + skirt) but no top..need to go find some shorts for weekend n casual wear

Hi augbaby
Thanks.. its not confusing. I guess this is wat i need medela PIS.. at least they are all in one n can grab n go.. not so troublesome..
Saw robinson is selling at $428. Not sure if this is the one i saw and its the last bag in the promotion tray...

Yes, Dr Brown bottles, i m looking at them too.. Prevent colic. I like the air filter system. Especially waiting for them to launch the BPA Free bottles if they have...

emeraldbride,
well its only for the time being while u bf yr bb n b4 u deliver...Moms in mind have v nice and gd nursing bras...go check them out...they have a website...those nursing bras from trumipt etc is v v ugly n no padding so nipple will show...Moms in mind ones wont...alternatively for me, i also wear tube bras when bfing...

Jowin,
as long as the model is Medela PIS then yes it shld be the one...coz there is only 1 PIS model but hav 2 different designs which is either slingbag or haversack. i feel haversack better coz slingbag carry on 1 side tend to be rather ache coz esp if take mrt hm n v crowded n need to carry the bag..if not i usually put it on the floor..coz when put the cooler bag, ice block n milk bottles alr then its rather heavy...Dr Brown bottles r reali gd...gd investment thou a little more pricey than normal pigeon/avent bottles etc..n reali can prevent colic i feel coz both my babies no colic...thanks god!!
TMC the maternity shop there sell gd tube bras too at $10 per piece...its gd...also can check out this local website for their nursing wear..price reasonable but most impt design is nice and gd...her home is located in tamp and can pop by to try the clothes when need too...hee hee...juz giving u info all one shot thou nursing clothes be later stage...

http://www.maternalove.com/

hmm for me, i feel that the medela PIS noise level is still ok..but the single electric yes its v noisy i feel..i pump at 12+am using my PIS when my hubby, my 22 mths old son n my 7mths+ girl are all sleeping in the same room and they dun wake up...haha so i guess its ok ba...

in fact parentcraft at TMC strongly only recommended either medela PIS or avent uno i think....i never use avent uno so i cant comment...but for both my kids i use medela PIS n its reali gd i feel lor..for those who do not wan to spend that much $, what u can do is to get a 2nd hand PIS..there r pp selling in the forum or u can call parentcraft to check if they have contacts for 2nd hand PIS. i got my 2nd hand PIS at $350 that time wif still 9mths warranty from parentcraft referral. For me i am ok to use 2nd hand, coz i change the membrance and the parts that comes in contact wif the BM etc and for the funnel part, i actually wash and sterilise them...its save a lot i feel lor...

if like wat jowin say at robinson selling for $428 then its a v gd buy coz usual price is abt $700+ i think...but do rem thou that warranty is from date of purchase and its a yr warranty so if buy earlier, save $ but then warranty dunno if it will be a prob lor

oh ya since now there is sales, u might wan to check out fridge to go as well..its a cooler bag that can ensure bm remain cold for up to 10hrs. coz our normal cooler bag with ice block for me i feel will last abt 4hrs or so so if say u go bk to work already and u wan to go out, then u need to ensure that yr expressed breastmilk (EBM) will remain cold till u reach hm n put into the fridge and the normal cooler bag wont last that long so the FTG is gd for this...gd investment esp when sometimes we wan to go out wif hubby for some couple time after work, so dun need to worry to hav to rush hm after work to put the EBM into the fridge..so we do not hav to worry abt our EBM spolit...Taka n tangs selling it...

http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/index.html

Sorry to interrupt. I have the following for sale. So please pm me at [email protected] if interested.

(1) Bath Tub with anti-slip support
(opened but not used)
- Didn't use it as I have 2 other bath tubs at home.
- Bought it 2 months ago at John Little for $29.90. Letting go at $15 (neg)

(2) Swaddle Blanket
(washed but not used)
- This is very good to wrap your baby so they can sleep in secure. Didn't use it as I over bought.
- Bought it at $23.90 from Isetan. Letting go at 2 for $30.

Long time no talk... it's been a while since I've logged on. I went to see my gynae 2 weeks ago. He measured the thickness of bb's neck and found that we are on the boarderline. The benchmark is 3.11mm but my bb has reached the 3.18mm mark. So have to take blood test during the next visit and see if we need to do the scan.

But then the doc doc said we need not to worry 'coz the bb looks active on the scan. He said he had patient whose bb's thickness of the neck reaches 7mm mark and turned out to be ok. X)

=P
I sincerely hope it's just the routine check and bb is ok.

Everynight I will talk to bb saying that bb is healthy... bb is good... bb doesn't have a thick neck... hehehehe...

HI karen, hehe.. you sound happy.. no worries.. baby will listen to her mummy one.. hehe.. baby will be fine! =)