(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

reddates-> hahaha last time schooling take mrt non-peak hours...plenty of seat available..hahaha

but on the serious side..i do give up seat to mother with child/children, old folks and pregnant women. Cos i scared of bad karma for not doing so. Till today..am still doing so.

yippy!!!!

oops! think i gave wrong info. i should say this is BB#2 instead of 1. hee... thought e # column in the chart mean have #? baby exclude e one inside tummy. hee...

can someone update for me? thanks a million..

I prefer advent manual pump. I also find medela very noisy and dunno for some reason, the suction is not very good on me. And i find it very slow (even with teh higest speed), with hand pump, i can control the speed.

Good exercise for the hands!

Working late tonite again! Yikes!

Meilik,

Not so guai 1 during school time, always go out leh, weekends or after school ;p, last time think tat standing more cool mah haha...like no standard when rushing for seats, so kiasu heehee... When taking bus will walk all the way to the behind esp the last row.

Mummyhamster,

Manual pump quite tedious rite? Am thinking to get an electric 1, but dunno which to buy

I'm also curious about pumps. I have heard mixed reviews about electric pumps...some say slow (even at the highest speed) and it's also more expensive. My friend used manual Advent pump & she recommended manual pump to me.

As for the MRT seats issue, my Hubby will help me to grab seats whenever possible nowadays. I think at this stage, i don't look exactly pregnant yet so can't expect people to give seats up to me. Plus i keep wearing empire-cut dresses so it's even less obvious though i have a small belly.

If i'm alone, he'll tell me to take the cab. I can't stand for long periods nowadays cos i'll feel light-headed.

Btw, i heard that newborns should wear hand-me-downs cos these clothes are softer & more comfy. Is it true?

We are thinking of engaging a maid to look after the baby but problem is, we've never done it before.

Anyone has a good & reliable agency to share?

This is a subject of great headache to us as we've heard so much problems that many parents are having with their helpers. *sigh*

Funshine
I had the same problem when I first took my multi-vits & fish oil. I tried taking them on alternate days and it works well. Now at 14wks, no longer have that problem.

Hi funshine,
Not too sure if you take your vits empty stomach? When I was with my first gynae, the nurse told me to have some food before taking the vits, it will cut down the feeling of vomitting.

Anyway, talking about the train thingy. A nice lady did want to give me her seat - although I dun look too pregnant, but then I was wearing quite a big top so maybe she thought I was... :p I smiled and rejected the offer as I was already going to get down in two stops... Hopefully that won't stop her from giving up her seat in future.

As for buses, I took one recently. Paid ac bus fare and was sitting in a bus where the ac is faulty! So I was hot and stuffy for the whole bus ride *SIANZ* Now I got phobia taking bus!

Me going for my oscar next monday at TMC. I may take a day leave too since I have to reach TMC by 8.20am!
Got headache today, so on two days MC. Hopefully with good rest, I will feel better...

LuthAdel,

I've got a myanmese maid to help out, so far so good, think my bb will be taken care by her. I got her through one of the mummies here in the forum, she got a myanmese maid as well. So she try to help her maid frns/relative to get a job here. Quite a nice lady , have to go through all the proper procedure, MOM, medical chk up etc.....She will do everything for you till the maid at ur doorstep.

Funshine,

Think you have to eat something first b4 taking vits as prescribe.

Snowger,

Your gynae din give you MC for the Oscar test? My gynae give me a MC for next Mon NT scan during my last visit.

morning ladies!

mum2dnx
show u d link.
tis is d how d handsfree kit looks like.
http://www.mumsfairy.com/product_info.php/products_id/29?osCsid=3044df5ed70b04c76f067a59cf35f84e

tis is d video on how to use it.
http://www.mumsfairy.com/custom/video.php?id=15

i actually bought d ameda pump from them as well as their survival kit. its veri useful as u can even pump in a reclined position with d survival kit. i can even pat my boi to slp as i pump as he constantly need smone to pat him. w/o d kit, den hav to sit upright n hold on to both d pumps.

they will be at d motherhood exhibition in june. mayb can pop by n find out more. d ladies veri nice n friendly. will demo to u how to use d kit. =)

if mummies prefer quiet pumps, den avent manual pump is good. juz tt hands veri tiring. i used for one mth den give up liao. baby needs constant attention as i look afta alone so end up buying electric pump. hehe.

personally, i find medela pumps a bit noisy. coz got patient's mummies use. not to my liking. kekez. guess its up to individual.

oh ya, for mummies who intend to bf for long, one good buy is d my brest friend pillow. can bf veri comfortably. =) i bring it every where i go. except when shopping la. i try to bf in d car. kekez.

Good morning ladies,

I also use a manual pump the last time. Cleaner and quite easy to manage. Think I will buy another same one this time round.

sigh..

my maid who's been taking care of ma baby since birth is returning to her home country.. now gotta send baby to infant care.. sob.. sob.. she's done a great job taking care of my DS.. something happenned so she requested to go home.. sigh.. she's going home tomorrow nite.. i *headache* coz dunno how DS will be able to cope at ccc..

next maid we get's only to care for the housechore and MIL..

<font color="ff0000">Reddates</font>, don't mind intro the mommy who got u the myanmanese maid?

thx thx..

Reddates,

Same as iemik0, I like my advent manual pump. I used that throughout my previous two kids and actually, i like the fact that i can control the speed. Maybe i dun hv alot of milk, so no need to spend alot of time expressing. For both sides, it takes me abt 30mins, but i got no complaints from hand. ;)

Medela is very noisy and too slow to my liking.

My personal opinion. My fren adores her electric medela pump, tot it was the best creation.

ladies..can i ask a silly question?? hahaha..

now tat we are pregnant, r u gals still making love wif hubby?? during early stage..i not in the mood but lately more energetic liao, so tot i shuldn't deprive my hb..but, must we wear protective?? Or not?

emeraldbride..

yup.. still *ahem* with hubby during 1st tri but most of the time no mood.. eh, didn't wear any protective whatsoever leh.. :p

hehehe dee..thanks! Shudn't be shy abt it ah..tat's how our baby is made anyway..hee

din wear protective den when he ejaculate inside u?? is ok one ah?? we both dunno wat to do hence we had not been intimate for the past 3 mths liao..haha

Mummyhamster,

I thought manual pump quite tedious, so tat time I sold away my Avent Manual pump w/o using. Use an ancient battery operated pump instead. More than 10 yrs liao the pump. But think 1 2 buy another electric pump easier.

Dee,

PM u the contact liao

Hi Emeraldbride
my gynae advise not in 1st trim until baby is stable.. i very paiseh to ask him, when is consider stable and when can we start :p
Poor Hb.. he just got to bear then.....

Hi ladies talking abt pumps
Err. alot of my friends told me manual pump very difficult n tedious to use.. especially for 1st time Mum...n also if we dun have much milk... one of my girlfriend pump until her hand sore also no much milk, until she bought the electric one.

im facing slow in response!! take such a long time to open up the page. anybody facing the same prob or is it my IT trying to block me?? hee...

iemik0,
thank u bery muchie!!!! that was a useful one!

mayb i will buy avent electric pump, but i dun like their bottle teat leh. look so...em...wierd..
i prefer pegieon milk bottle's teat. so soft..

talking abt making love, i stop totally during my 1st tri last time. resume on e 2nd, stop on the 3rd tri. hee...

slow response
me also facing the same prob.. super slow..

make love
hmm.. my prev. gynae (1st preg) said, hold on.. but current gynae (2nd &amp; current preg), didn't give -ve response when hubby asked abt it..
i guess it depends how strong/stable ur preg evaluated by ur gynae..

Morning ladies

Can ask your for advices, i having a sniff neck for abt a wk. Any method to cure, really veri uncomfortable.

a bit paiseh to say, but glad that i am not the only one who stopped making love during first tri. really dun feel in the mood. but also feel bad to deprive my hubby. now that i'm in 2nd tri (coming to 13W), will try again, to see if i can get in the mood.

my gyane told me it was okay to do, but it might depend on your individual situation, so do check with your gynae if it is safe. but no need to paiseh when asking the gynae - they are used to this sort of questions already! :p

Re: Pump
I m using Ameda Dual Electric Pump which I find it gd and fast. Not too ex compared to Medela or Avent Brand. If u intend to breastfeed for long, it would be better to invest in electric pump. Some of my frens bought manual pump but end up either buying electric pump or breastfeed for short term.

funshine, I m taking multi vit (Abbott). Its so huge and I need to break into pieces so tt I can swallow. I haven been diligently taking this mutlivit cos jus feel like vomitting after taking it but for calcium and fish pills I do take them everyday.

Evonne, regarding blackish stools. It may be due to multi vits that u are taking.

For blackish stool, it is likely to be due to the multivit (e.g. iron). But TCM believes that it means you are heaty, so you should eat more fruit and veg to counter it.

Also, we are probably more prone to constipation during our pregnancy, so must be more careful of our food intake, to eat less fried and heaty stuff. I haven't been eating much veg last few days, so am feeling the effects - a bit constipated now

Paulyn:
For stiff neck, I just ask my hubby to help me rub with the Tiger Balm deep heat rub. I also have a cream given by my gynae for my backpain, which I have also found effective when used on my neck. Hope this helps!

hey ladies,

today is my day 2 on my new job. vy vy sleepy in the office. unlike during break when i can take nap whenever i want!!!

the thread moving so fast leh.... a bit blur reading from it.

how's everyone's doing? i m eating, but not a lot lah... just a bit more than last time. n still tired as usual.

hmmm... i still ML with hubby wor. doc din said anything bout things i can't do. but v do it at slower n gentle pace lah...

wah..jaz, envious!! I also tot of changing job but i tot it is quite difficult when we are preggy.. even my current comp dun allow internal transfer. SIAN!!!

Thanks ladies for all the comments on ML..hehe, lately feel more energetic liao, hb also commented i neglected him lately..hehehe :p kisses also fewer cos most of the time i hv, i will sleep! :p

now too early to buy the breast pump rite?? I tot of starting my buying spree when i reach my 5th / 6th mth..u gals tink Malaysia will be cheaper?

Hi Paulyn,
My Gynae advised No-no for medical plaster so long pregnant. I've been rubbing Ru Yi oil every night on the aching part

i got the job as i was headhunted by them... so i disclose whatever concern i have to the new boss n she's ok with it lah. as she worried that i may not go back to work after maternity leave, so the oni T&amp;C is i will get my pay for the maternity leave 6 mths after i go back to work after delivery. so after some thoughts, me n hb think it's fair n square, plus it's a win-win situation. so ok lor....

if the job din come calling, i wud still b at my old job. but i got tired with their culture n non-stop brainwashing. then i discover myself preggie as well, n the travelling distance really wears me out!!! so when this job comes calling, i just jump onto it. it's like everything is fated.

emeraldbride,

i oso thinking to buy stuffs in KL when i go back in August. but my frens hav been telling me that breast pumps r cheaper here in Singapore by 100-200 dollars, for brands like Avent. i think v need to do survey lor...

i'm falling asleep.. can't take it liao.. not enough sleep coz dunno why DS woke up 4am and don't wanna sleep anymore.. BUT wanted to keep STANDING!! *faint*

tomorrow taking leave - yay!
but hopefully can catch up with my sleep..

Funshine,
Yes, the multi-vits &amp; fish oil are both prescribed by my gynae.

RedDates
Can you intro me to the contact for Myanmese maid pls?
Also can you help me with the following queries?
1. Can you maid speak good English?
2. Can she cook &amp; do housework well?
3. How much are you paying for yours now and do you know what is the levy?
4. Do you give her any off days? If not, how do you compensate her?

Thank you so much for the above. I'm really paranoid in getting a maid after hearing so many negative stories from both my friends &amp; from variou forums.

snowy,

y no medical plaster? i hv muscle pain leh.. vy bad somemore. i showed this brand of plaster (salonpas) to my gynae, he said shud b ok to use once to twice a week. but not excessive lah.

cannot use medical plaster?? I m having this nagging pain on my left pelvic since i m preggy leh..bend abit alr feel the pain, last nite last resort bought a super big piece of plaster to use..hahaha

Jaz, u malaysian as well? I will go back next week, mabbe then I will go see the prices but i also udnerstand diff places sell at diff price, sigh!! KL stuff usually not consistent lar in pricing..

i had an heavy lunch.. now bloated..

Hi jaz
great tat ur job is good.. ya, working is like tat.. tend to get more tired...
Take care hor

Hi Evonne
i also have blackish stool, i believe i m over heaty.. when i had fruits juice n fruits daily, i m ok....

Reddates - can pm me the contact too? m also looking for a maid from that region. BTW are they better than the indonesians?

Dee - hi, our gynae are both from RH. Tis my 1st, so would like to ask if this is your second time with RH? Found my bills to be high. Is this normal (at least $290 and above). Is their prenatal package more affordable and worth taking?