(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

mum2ndx,

ya.. and ppl less likely to suspect if u've recently given birth coz the tummy still there.. can somewhat blame it to no-exercise thus the spare-tyre.. haha..

JowinBB, pls edit for me: EDD 5 Dec. Stay: Bt Panj/Jurong East. Thx!

iemik0, u must rest well k.

I will be taking my oscar test next Mon and seeing gynae on Wed.

oh man! very khang-kho!
wanna vomit but couldn't as nothing comes out!
and mostly air!

Thanks Jowin for updating for me. Have to really eat alot of fruits esp now coz preggie r prone to constipation.

My tummy r really showing, still haven buy any maternity bottom, all my pants cannot fit liao. Have to spend a bomb again..

Thanks LuthAdel & Funshine!

Will remember to drink more water before i go.
Actually, each time, i hv to do test, i am very nervous and scared....

Keeping my fingers crossed.

Just curious, can see the gender aldy? My fren told me, she can see her bb's gender during oscar! Dunno real or not

Dear all!!!

I just told me boss abt this baby!! and iv got bery bery positive feedback!!!! feel so nice n relieve.... not like the previous one....

Hi Mummyhamster,

is your friend bb a boy? Coz my friend told me that for boy...can detect earlier..3 mths lidat..whereelse for girl normally 4-5 mths.

dee -> take care. i can understand.

How many of your hubby saw you facing such a difficult morning sickness and said he appreciates what you are going thru?

Mine did...so sweet. But in return i told him, he is not welcome. i naughty.

Hi Meredith,

Ya u are right! Hers a boy and she said can see the dicky so obvious! hahaha...

Tot she was exaggerating.... haha...

Reddates, I am also nervous abt my oscar this week. *pray hard*

Just came back from KKH. Gyane said baby around 9.5weeks old. Gyane also prescribed me Vit B tables which could lessen my nausea and increase my appetite. Hopefully it works. Lost abit of weight also.

Frankly speaking, my food intake now is even lesser than my 5 yr old niece :p

Last night went to Swenson to eat Black Pepper Seafood Spaghetti, it was soooo spicy. Still couldn't finish it though the portion itself already looked small. Had Merri Mint and Sticky Chewy Chocolate, its simply delicious and heavenly!!

Can anyone help me edit the update?

28) Name: lavendery
EDD : 26th Dec
BB# : 1
Gyane: Dr Tan Kim Teng
Hospital: KKH
Stay: Jalan Membina
FTWM

Ladies.. i'm just wondering.. in a case (touchwood) that lets say the results are not good.. what would you do? coz that day when i went to see gynae, she asked me again if i wanna do the tests and i said NO, then she says that in the case if my child has down syndrome, i cannot "blame" her and made me sign a "contract" that she has already offered the tests to me but i declined.. coz to me, i feel that even if my child is disabled in any sort its still God's will and its still ultimately my child..

tkud8
dr dono wat's d prob. but did a scan to confirm tt baby is well. so juz gotta be a good ger n listen to her. 1st time stay in bed for so long.

firstbaby
thanks. =)

phylicia,

wah, how come ur gynae say such thing leh? or perhaps she had encountered bad experience before?

with my 1st baby, we didn't do the test as well and my gynae respected our decision.. he didn't ask us to sign any contract whatsoever..

not planning to do for the 2nd baby too tho gynae will be measuring the neck thickness at wk13 for us.. of course that's not 100% accurate.. to us, the odds are 50-50.. either the result is yes or no.. even when the ratio is high or low, the result is still at 50-50 and gynae's OK or NO sign isn't 100% a guarantee too.. until the big day comes..

so, have faith and trust in God that He knows what's best for us..

gals
me help to update the chart when free

Just order online some maternity clothings at old navy and GAP..

really not much clothing to wear liao

For me, if the results are not good. I would consider terminate the pregnancy **touchwood**

Reason is becos my colleague herself, she got a down syndrome elder bro who is 8yr older than her. But he only has the mentality of a less than 3yr old kid. The mum took 8yrs to have the courage to conceive my colleague due to this matter.

Everytime she would complain to me how frustrating and the inconvenience it is to have such a mentally challenged elder brother. She blamed herself for being the unlucky slibing. Sometimes she couldn't help but wonder why other people could have normal healthy siblings but not her? Being the younger sister, she has to take care of her elder brother instead.

Her mum also made her promise that in the event if she passed away, my colleague has to take care of her brother for the rest of her life.

So when my colleague found a bf, she must make sure that her bf should be able to accept the fact that her brother will need to move in together with them one day if her mum ever pass away. And who will take care of the brother at home when both of them are working?

But of cos, this is just one side of the story told by my colleague herself. I hope whatever i say would not affect your decision. Stick to your own beliefs, the child is yours, his/her life depends on u. Think carefully.

lavendery, ya.. can see what kind of "burden" the child would be..

Dee, probably just wanna "cover her backside" ba.. its a public service mentality. i'm in public service.. see all my nonsense colleagues covering their asses all the time.. your gynae so sweet, even offer to check the neck thickness. she din mention to me.

my stand to my gynae and my husband is that.. i dun think its a 100% so why bother.. i think i will live in regret for the rest of my life if i had to "kill" my baby just coz i think my baby is not perfect enough for me. my husband just think as long i'm happy he is happy.. haha..

If it is the 1st pregnancy, I would go ahead with the pregnancy despite the results. That was what i did during my 1st pregnancy coz the bb is afterall a gift and my own. But i must admit, it wasnt easy going thru the entire pregnancy. I prayed very hard and with the Grace of God, my 1st girl was born, normal & healthy. I thank God for that. Test of faith, i would say.

With subsequent child, one probably wont take the risk. Like what lavendery said, it will be unfair for the siblings to take up the responsibilties of taking care of the less privileged child.

Of coz, just have to pray hard and hope for the best.

phylicia,
I think I will terminate the pregnancy too if mine oso **touchwood**.. why let he/she n us suffer the rest of the life? with so many issues to think abt. the child wont know how to take care of themselves. I think we r not too good in this...
me n hubby share e same mentality even with our 1st baby.

Mum2ndx
My hubby & I share the same view as you.

For those going for NT or Oscar, don't worry too much and just take it as a knowledge base routine scan.

i think it's pretty hard for us to accept.. esp if e child is a ger, how is she going to protect herself.. that's a point we have to consider ba..

I just received a phone call from the clinic. I pass my OSCAR Test... yeah...

By the way, what is prenatal package? My hubby paid for it but he dun know what is consist of. I thought prenatal package is the gynae package which consist of consultation, scanning and medication.

Delivery package does not consist of this, rite? Delivery package is the delivery charges and room stay, etc.

Please advise me.

I'll be going for my NT test on Thur afternoon. A bit nervous but i shall just hope for the best since gynae said that i'm young and should be considered "low risk".

Like some of the MTBs here, my hubby & i will end the pregnancy if our baby is abnormal.

Funshine: I think prenatal package is with your gynae. The delivery package is with the hospical. It doesn't include fees of specialists and other additional charges.

Phylicia/Dee;
Well I guess the gynae need to protect her own interest in these cases. There was such a case with 1 of the local hospital's top gynae sued by a couple for damages when the gynae did not offer the mother (in her young 20s) tests and in the end she gave birth to a downie. She felt that if her gynae had offered her the test, she woulf be given a 2nd chance to consider her daughter's fate.

Mother-to-be,
Just my 2 cents worth, everyone have their own opinion and mind set when it comes to these kind of situation. We are not wearing one's another shoes to give a better comment of the issues. Perhaps we should not discuss about all the "if" and "if not" as I find it rather demoralising, especially pregnancy should be joyous and happy. Don't mean to offend anyone if I believe God has its own plan for all.

Be happy, don't think too much and enjoy the 40 weeks nuturing a whole new life

Hey snnowy,

No one is arguing here but just as you say, airing their own opinions in a friendly environment. I've been following the discussion and I do not find it demoralising at all .. I think it's heartening to know that all of us are grappling with the same "what ifs" .. IF we were to get a test result that's non-desirable.

Gosh, u girls still having MS? I still am.

Can't wait for it to totally go away!!!

morning

how is everyone feeling todae? got bad MS n cant take meds. argh. currently 12wks 4daes n my MS onli started in wk11. so funni. how do u ladies cope wif MS? tummy feels veri bloated as well. =(

Dear all, stay positive hor.. else our bb can 'feel'.. I used to be quite paranoid during my first preg when my NT and OSCAR failed then need to do amino, lucky bb turn out ok.. I think all these 'advanced' technologies can make us feel assured yet more paranoid at the same time lo..

Morning Ladies,

snnowy, hehe.. your 2 cents is good.. yup yup.. i agree with all of you.. i actually ask this question in the very first place because i started feeling as though i'm being super stubborn and idiotic for insisting on not taking the test.. haha.. saw that most if not all, are taking it. well.. i did try for this baby for a long long time.. and i always have this stubborn-ness to go against the flow..

my hubbie told me when we first found out abt baby that he was born at home and his mom nv went for ultra sounds, check ups and tests.. his mom nv took folic acid or prenatal vits.. nv had epidural or c-sect or anything of that sort and she gave birth to 15 children.. haha.. i very pei fu her.. to me pregnancy is a very magical thing.. but its nature so i just dun wanna complicate it.. hehe..

iemik0, take care oh.. MS very pantang one.. hehe.. say liao then will happpen one.. maybe you started a little later than us so yours will end soon ba.. hang in there! =) i think a few weeks back we were talking abt ginger tea.. try it if you can take the taste of ginger.. it will help lessen the bloated-ness..

Like having a debate, anyway I guess everyone will be nervous over all the scans, it's natural instinct, who doesn't hope for the best rite? All these advance technology can help alot of ppl but oso cause alot of undue stress to ppl. We have to learn to take things easy now, if not will affect the bb. Especially now that's alot of depressing news happening around the world, sometimes I really dun feel like hearing/seeing all the news, kinda demoralizing rite? Hmm......we should count ourselves very lucky that we r living in this kind of environment.

Meilik,

Have added u.

Hi Sharon
SA test is sperm analysis for your hb to see how good is your hb's sperm.

Perhaps this cycle, you may just O late

Good morning....haha.. yesterday i dreamt that i m pregnant with a boy.. haha.. lets see how truth it is =P

Hi Samantha
Yes, MS still not go away leh..

Same as iemik0, my MS worsen at week 10...suppose to fade rite? but not yet leh...

Have not logged in for a while.

Just saw my gynae on Mon. Baby is now 12 weeks 2 days. Actually my doc did not mention Oscar test until I ask her abt it. She said if I want ok lor. Normally she only recommend Triple Test at 16 weeks and the detailed scan at 18 - 20 weeks. Now I am not sure if I want to go for the Oscar test.

BTW she mentioned that baby might be a boy ...

Morning ladies

Wow, we have certain progress in our pregnancy. First we were all talking about hearing heartbeat then the various test and NOW the GENDER!!!

I'm getting so excited by the minute as we'll only get to see my gynae in 2wks time and she did say that we should be able to detect the gender by then. At that point I would be in my 16wks !!! Wow

My MS has definitely subsided and now my energy level is back too.

Just to share with you my frustration yesterday. I was on the MRT heading home (towards west) and all the seats were taken. Then I saw this preggy lady who is a lot more advanced standing there and no one gave up their seats. So finally someone near me got up and I quickly tab her to ask her to take the seat. One man tried to fight for that seat and I gave him a hard glare. He gave it up. Then mins later another preggy lady board and the guy seating in front of me start to close his eyes!!! Again another seat vacant so I asked her to take it. She was so kind and turn to me asking "how about you? you're pregnant too."

I just said outloud that she is more advanced and should have the seat. After that no one bothers to offer me a seat. BTW, in the evening my tummy will be quite expanded (don't know why) and I do start to look preggy (me 14wks now). So I had to stand all the way until Jurong East when most pax got off.

When I related this to my hubby, he was furious that it had to be pregnant woman giving up seats to other pregnant woman. What happen to the others who are well! Just airing my frustration.

Hi LuthAdel
Dun be angry... i did read a blog b4 , can't remember the address.. stating tat, " who say pregnant ladies have the privileges to seating? and its just a courteosy to offer the seats and not a "MUST"...

I can only say that these people, just do not understand how dangerous when a pregnant lady fall, how one lady suffer during pregnancy.. Just no basic courteosy and selfish....

I am not sure if this just happen in singapore. When i m in japan. its not like this at all.. for elders and pregnant ladies , alot of people are willing to stand up and offer them their seats. Willing to queue to get into MRT instead of dashing in...

phyl, thanks. but mi don like taste of ginger. hehe. nv touch ginger for my whole confinement as well. baby jaundice level quite high so manage to escape as i tbf. lolx.

hehe. guess all of us r excited to know d gender of our baby. for boi can be quite obvious. my boi was detected at 3mths.

i juz went to c dr on mondae n she tried scanning baby's bottom, c nothing. so im hoping my wishes come true. =)