(2008/11) November 2008

re: My First Skool @ Jurong
I've check out the childcare I wanna register Lucas in ... Its at the first floor kind with windows ... very quiet area and that block is back facing PIE. Not bad. Abt 5mins walk from my blk.

peanut,
Firemen so hero leh ... not keen ah? Or you prefer to see striptease? Hehe.

Tonite wanna go makan anot? MIL bring Lucas go BIL hse for a nite ... I so she bu de and gotta stay at home alone after work till hb comes home. I told hb this is the first and last time I let his mum bring Lucas away cos I wanna see and accompany him everyday. Yesterday when MIL says she will often bring Lucas go BIL hse then I got v unhappy and when Lucas refuse drink milk and keep calling my MIL, I keep ask him shut up. Then she gave him eat peanuts again (every nite), I scolded him for eating rubbish. Shld be obvious I'm nt happy. When I told hb juz nw I nt happy abt yesterday, he says I telling pple I so petty. Maybe menses coming, I get so moody over this till nw.

ah lian: think the old ppl only understand things like heaty & choke. probably they brot up u & ur sis without any problems so they don't understand what are allergies. i generally leave my MIL & parents alone cos i trust they know wat to do. but i must say dads know less. so u shd work on ur mum

nut, lian, minky, glad_gal: kai is really not motivated at all. i really have to find out what makes him tick cos i believe he is not stupid. sigh. i look at kkmum, aly_nat's & dymples' kids doing so well & i donno what to say.

minky: kash recommended me to give my kids childlife multi-vit. but luke doesn't like it & he has had all his teeth since v young so i give him the same chewables as kai. tried vidaylin gummy bears & scotts vit c so far. 2 yrs old can take chewables. this is not isaac, right?

mummy jo is having separation anxiety
time to have anor one.

Gd Morning Jo and ahWen!
haha.. ya, seems like Jo is having separation anxiety. I m so used to K not at home.
ahWen, u got 3 young kids, of cos have to leave them to their grandparents lor, else u will go crazy!

Minky, can't go for the Sat gathering liao. The big one and the small one not well yet.

thks all for the advises for bb name!
i will shortlist a few to decide...

wtan
i tot of it before... have fren's bb name Ashten already.. hehe.. Ethan i like .. but it's common.. see how lor..

jo
i tink it's normal to have this kind of feeling especially it's ur 1st & only child. hehehe..

olwen,
Since Lucas, my hb doesnt wan 2nd one .. slowly I also prefer to spend my time on Lucas ... having one already not enuff time for him and myself, not to say second one. Haha.

Yah .. think I'm having bad separation anxiety like Lucas. Yesterday nite before Lucas sleep .. I ask him to hug mi and he refused then I went to sit on my bed and he started to cry.

I cant imagine when I'm nt ard, they will feed Lucas with junk food without stop, especially before his milk feed.

Gathering
Aiya, still so many mummies here that I have not met, but I cannot make it to the gathering. So sad
. Anyway, hope you ladies have a good time!!

Olwen,
Ya, talk to him and possibly figure out what makes him ticks. Kai is a smart boy. And don't be so hard on yourself. Your plate is overflowed with 4 kids + a hb and a demanding job! No mean feat to handle all this while maintaining your sanity. I would hv gone crazy if I were in your shoes.

Vitamins
I'm also on a look out for vitamins for nat. But I can't find any liquid vitamins that does not contain lysin. I was told lysin cause heatiness. Is it true? Any mummies know of liquid vitamins that comes without lysin.

Jo,
besides seperation axiety on your part, it's also maternal instinct. Nothing wrong to feel this way, and it will get better as time passes. Are you bothered with this becos you miss him, or you don't think he is in safe hands/environment?

Darlest,
your trip does sound like fun but tiring. was it ok for your gal? Were you able to find suitable food for her easily? Post some pics of your trip?

<font color="0000ff">Thai trip :
any1 been to thailand with your 19mth? any advise on where to stay &amp; what to look out for?

wonder if it's safe for our 19mth, food &amp; safety wise?</font>

I wanted to buy crayons for Lucas but he tends to bite on crayons in his zoo-phonics class. Are Crayola crayons non-toxic?

Aly_Nat,
Both. I wld definitely miss him and I know he is sure safe in BIL hse but is the junk food that they will give him when I'm nt ard.

JJmom, no no, not in CC. Dun worry. Its one of the company's recreation hall.
Hugomum has brought hugo to bangkok sometime back i tink.

jo...
aiyo..dun get upset &amp; inaccidentally blame Lucas la..not really his fault to eat the peanuts also leh..but the snack is soo hard, he got teeth to bite &amp; chew ah?

ali..
icic..maybe u can find another name sound ending with "ten"..but spelled as "then"? or something?

hello everybody,

Can I can a confirmation from everyone on this list if they are confirm coming as it makes it easier for those preparing food to know how much to cater. thanks

Time for a little get together moms, toddlers, babies n hbs are welcome:
It is going to be tea time, welcome to bring some goodies along.
Date: 5th June 2010 (saturday)
Time: 4pm till late or till chilipadi say "the party is over"! lol
Venue: Chilipadi's place in hougang (Thank you for opening your house again )
1) Chilipadi + Megan + Emma + hb
2) Minkybear + Issac + hb (fried fishballs)
3) Kiki + BBQ + hb (Kuihs from Bengawan, any special request?)
4) Lilian + K + hb
5) Happy + Jie Jie + Caden + hb
6) Enne + L1 + L2 + hb
7) Liv + Ethan + hb (eclairs/mochi desserts)
8) Alibaba + T + maid
9) Nut + A
10) Olwen + 4 kids + hb + Maid! (sushi)
11) Joyce + QiQi + elder son + hb ?
12) moomummy + D + maid

C u guys on Saturday

Time for a little get together moms, toddlers, babies n hbs are welcome:
It is going to be tea time, welcome to bring some goodies along.
Date: 5th June 2010 (saturday)
Time: 4pm till late or till chilipadi say "the party is over"! lol
Venue: Chilipadi's place in hougang (Thank you for opening your house again )
1) Chilipadi + Megan + Emma + hb
2) Minkybear + Issac + hb (fried fishballs)
3) Kiki + BBQ + hb (Kuihs from Bengawan, any special request?)
4) Happy + Jie Jie + Caden + hb
5) Enne + L1 + L2 + hb
6) Liv + Ethan + hb (eclairs/mochi desserts)
7) Alibaba + T + maid (pizza - share with Nut)
8) Nut + A (pizza - share with Ali)
9) Olwen + 4 kids + hb + Maid! (sushi)
10) Joyce + QiQi + elder son + hb ?
11) moomummy + D + maid

My address is 237 Hougang St 21 #03-400.

Morning, mummies.
Love to join but unable to, going for toddler's congress. Have fun.

err..word of caution.
chillipadi,nut, can remove the address? Not so safe to post here.

Jo,
It's your maternal instinct that is acting up on you. When you dun get to see your own kids the time when it should be, you get worried.
I also never allow my kids to spend night away from me, even if it is over at MIL's place.

Re:My First Skool
I think it depends on individual branches. Had 4 friends' kids attending (including my cousin) So far 3 withdrawn and only left 1 friend who just started in Feb. She said so far so good, but her only attending hrs class there.

Mummies going for the gathering, take more pictures and post them here

hi jjmom, i bought my gal to puket when she comming to 12 mth. as long as u buy bottle distilled water for ur child usage shld be fine. tat time, i hand carry a small slow cooker to cook her porridge there. i cook rice with bottle food. if not, u can also ask for plain porridge at the hotel and u bring along those heinz bottle food to add into the porridge. i also bought cereal along too.
i will be bring my gal to koh samui end of june.

hths =)

hi aly_nat,
yes, it super tiring!! on the last days, my whole body aches esp my legs muscle.. oh man.
my gal behave very well the whole trip even it hot, dusty and etc. i think the she enjoy the most among us. haha.. hhmm.. ok, will try to post some pix here..

poor nut, aiyoh so careless. must be very painful!! *ouch*

As mentioned earlier posting on the gathering at my place, I have checked with the manicurist andthe following are the cost:-

Classic Manicure: $16
Classic Pedicure: $22
Classic Mani and Pedi: $34

Classic Manicure &amp; Pedicure includes:

* Nail Filing &amp; Cuticle Removal
* Sea Salt Feet Soak
* Lavender Feet Scrub
* Hand &amp; Feet Massage
* Apply Cuticle Oil, Base Coat, Nail Lacquer, Top Coat

Express Manicure: $8
Express Pedicure: $12
Express Mani &amp; Pedi: $16

Express Manicure &amp; Pedicure includes:

* Nail Filing
* Apply Cuticle Oil, Base Coat, Nail Lacquer, Top Coat.

Transportation cost: $12- $15

Pls let me know who is interested. If we have enuf numbers, than I can arrange for them to come.

Mummies that are coming on Saturday, any of u don't eat beef? I am thinking of cooking spagehtti I stead of bee hoon. Pls let me know than I will use chicken or pork. Thanks. Sorry so many postings.

Olwen,
Aiyohz... dun say that leh. You've got to manage your quadruples in addition to Kai is not easy wor. *hats off*

Anyway, J1 also not doing fantastically well at school. Only scored band 3 for CL and EL and got band 4 for Maths. *aarrgghh* I'm scared next year when she goes P3 and got Science how? Anything you can email me lah. hahahah... then we can console each other.

My First Skool,
June 1st was Janessa's 1st day in CC. She did quite well and din cry for 1st two days. Maybe cos I was with her through out the half day from 8am till 12 noon. But today, when only my dad send her in, she started bawling and refused to go in. When dad brought her to her class, she ran to the door and screamed to be let out. Haiz... hope she can adapt fast in CC.

Gathering,
*sob-sob* wish can join in... but cannot. Cos working. Somemore my hub sssooo anti-social. If ask him go sure face black black. But if I go with J3 only, he will also face black black cos he cannot cope with J1 and J2 alone.

Wah, organising gathering ah. So fun! Haiz, wish i cld join and mkn tog...hee

lilian, u very notti again leh. Saw me nvr approach me then how i knoe its u. Ur fb dun have ur pics. Dun b secretive leh. I wun bite. I know my tummy very big liao but no reason to b scared mah. Lol, juz kidding ah
btw, i received letter from little neuro tree for july intake. Quite tempted to go. But for one, budget quite tight but feel my gal mite learn before her playgrp nxt feb. Wanna go tog???

dymples
hahaha.. ur hubby also one kind ah? same la... my hubby also dun like.. He may not black face but he'll b like living in his own world.. either staring into blank space (like asking him ther is going to cost his life..) or watching movies from his handphone.. which also giv people impression tt he's DDAAAAMN bored over there.. I see liao lagi more stressful.. so nowadays i rather go myself without even asking him

mummy2nia.. hehe.. me notti i know. I shy lah u see...
But tat day, we juz pass by each other at the exit of TM. U come out, i go in. Oh ya, ur tummy pretty big liao.
Dun tink wanna go LNT, cos she has her PG (90min) on every Sat morn liao. Enough for her, and me. hehe.. Normally Sat afternoon we go Tamp for makan and shopping. She quite enjoy her PG class
More chance for her to socialize ard compared to LNT, am happy with that.
Wat PG is Nia gog to nxt Feb?

Lilian
wher is ur gal attending her PG? DO u accompany her in ther? And if so whats e difference between that to one at lets say Zoophonic preschool enrichment class(wherby avg a class consist 10 tods)? Me also find LNT so so only and exp.. Finshing her term in Jun and looking at starting 4 lessons trial at Zoophonics.. 1.5hrs incl Chinese.

Peanut,
Yah lor. Dunno him lah. Recently getting more and more snappy and grumpy. Little bit little bit not happy will 'bark' at me. Worse still, he gets even more irritated when the gals will start to fight and whine, etc. Then end up we start fighting. Haiz... I'm starting to hate weekends.

Nuts,
My gal goes to somewhere nearby my hse (Tampines Mart). Yes, for those once-a-week PG, one parent is to accompany t child
I think ZooPhonics is pretty similar to PG. Maybe Moomum and Jo can tell us more abt it. In PG, as t name suggest, its mainly playing. hehe...Got nursery rhymes, finger play, art &amp; craft, some phonic/counting/color, outdoor play, action songs etc.

It depends wat u r looking for lor. U want those serious training ones, then shicida, LNT, GUG perhaps more suitable. If u want play-play ones, then PG, Zoophonics, Gyms, Julia Gabriel, (wat else??) more suitable.

据《新报》报道,一名26岁的缅甸籍女佣,涉嫌在雇主的洗发水和隐形眼镜的药水里,加入漂白液,企图伤害雇主一家
Whats wrong with these maids?!?!

halo mummies!

piangz..so many postings ah? cannot read all.. :p

nut,
u starting ur gal for trial lessons at zoophonics? my boy had just attended their PG during May. The reason why i sent my boy there is becoz he doesn't really socialize very much and well.I think not bad there. though I'm not the one accompanying him for his lessons twice weekly, but I can see an improvment in my boy's socialising skills ever since he's been there. the teachers are quite patient with his crankiness and eventually, they got my boy's trust oso.
Like what lian says, if you want your gal to learn more things, then Zoophonics might not be tat suitable bah coz over there, they mainly concentrate more on play stuff.

dymples
pat pat.. tink marriage life is like that lor.. hav to find way to spice up life, or else as days gone by, and as sparks get lesser &amp; lesser, u'll start wondering why is this stranger doing in ur house.. hahaa...
And sorry how old are your 2 older gals again?? they always quarrel and fight?

moomummy,lian
yah me planning to sign up zoophonics trial coming Jul when she finishes her LNT term. Yes my main purpose is for her to hav some fun and i'm sure they provide some learnings as well.. Only ting i heard they hav 15mins story telling!! Doubt my gal can keep her attention for that long. !

Peanut,
Yup yup... I know just what you mean. There are days when I'm starting to wonder why I ever married him. Especially when we fight over the smallest things. hahahhaah... J1 is 8-yrs (primary 2) and J2 is 6-yrs (K2). Yah lah. everyday sure to fight and argue with each other. Somemore now J1 starting to answer me back. *fed-up*

nut,
I'm sure as time goes by and when the kids get used to it, they'll sit down to listen.
My boy also cannot really sit still during story telling time(was told by my maid), he'll be roaming around the classroom, touching here and there, digging for toys to play...etc. but i believe they'll appreciate the story telling one day.

Lian, machiam movie hor, pass by each other. Haha. Dat day i went to soo many places. Nvr bring nia cos i wanted to grab many stuffs. Went ikea, then go centurysquare then tm then giant. Shagged at the end of the day and hungry. Ate at burger king wit hub. Quite nice to eat without havin to look after nia. Oppsss. Haha!

If u and nut review lnt like dat then i lo wan to go already. Juz dat my hands are itchy. Tried tumble tots and didnt like the unprofessionalism in the teachers. They were too rigid and had no confidence in my gal. Plus the kids in th class onli got two. So boring! Will b brining her to the mosque near the interchange cos they got playgrp, can learn everything including prayers etc. Went to queue on thr registration day. Registration starts at 9am. We were there at 9.15 and were number 6 out of 10 in the class. The classes there are pretty hot and i asked my frens who enrolled their kids there got gd reviews so juz go there. Oh ya tot of enrollin her to berries world of learning to learn chinese when shes 3 yrs old too

jjmom,
I just went to phuket with R in may. We stayed in millennium patong resort. i happened to know a fren who is very sensitive to XXX. I was pretty worried about choosing a hotel esp after tsunamis but she assured me that hotel very clean. My stay was very pleasant. I bought spore water to mix with local water. Then i just use hotel room kettle to boil water. R was ok with it. Food wise, i will order white rice and give some beancurd, chicken and egg. Just choose restaurants that are cleaner.

I have some bad news. I will need to postpone the gathering this Saturday to sometime later this month. Just came back from the doctors, Emma-Jane is suspected to have either HFMD or Chicken Pox. The doctor cannot be ascertain as the rashes she has to too little to give a confirmation diagnoses. She has been having a fever since yesterday but we thought it was teething issue as she has 4 teeth coming out at the same time. But this evening we saw some suspicious rashes and brought her to see the doc. So to play safe, I will need to postpone the gathering to later this month. So sorry for the last minute notice and inconvenience caused.

Morning mummies!! Olwen, ya nt for Issac my friend's kid. Thanks for all the suggestions will let her knw. Chilipadi, hope Emma is fine soon. U try to keep Megan safe too so that she doesn't get infected. Mommies want to shift the gathering else where e.g. Outdoor, beach, kite flying or some other suggestion? Or really postpone it?

jo: u will be surprised, as he grows older he will spend less &amp; less time w u then the 2nd one will fill tt gap. then as they grow up together, u can bring them to more places together. one alone will get bored going on outings alone. don't be like me. the gap between kai &amp; the others is so huge, he can't play w them &amp; they also donno what he's trying to do w them. especially if u have settled in ur job, u never know what might happen in future. not to curse u but u know co r always restructuring. next yr is a good yr. rather than dragon which is too popular.

ah lian: sorry forgot to tel u. the vegan seaweed paste has no msg or artificial seasonings. my MIL quite careful abt such stuff. i also bot pigeon baby seaweed flakes for their porridge. smells nice but i never tasted before. my family does eat beef, but not me, so i buy minced beef for their porridge too. the beef porridge smells really nice.

dymples, aly_nat: i got to spend more time w him lor. leisure time too, not just teaching him spelling. i really feel sorry to him sometimes for saddling him w this big bro burden suddenly

chillipadi: sorry to hear tt! do take care of emma-jane &amp; thanks again for opening ur house to us.

minky: i'm ok either way. but somebody got to let liv know cos i think she ordered her eclairs already. wait, i think i have her handphone.

Chilipadi, hope Emma recover fast fast, n hopefully not HFMD!

mummy2nia, its a snippet from t local news. Abt a siao myanmar maid who added bleach into her employer's shampoo and contact lens solution, just to revenge. It was on the NewPaper headlines yest i tink. U shd know better than me! U r from 'that place' where news comes. heheh
Hmmm... T PG at t mosque sounds gd! If me, i will prefer that to LNT

good morning mummies!

Chilipadi,
oh no..so sorry to hear that. Hope emma-jane gets well soon. Take care too!

Minky,
is the beach still out of bounds due to the oil spill case recently or is it okie liao? can consider going for kite flying. postponing the gathering also okie for me.

olwen, does Hougang Pt's NTUC sell t vegan seaweed paste? Which section? I can grab one pack later during lunch. hehe
Agree w u regarding t age gap. My SIL kids' age gap are huge. 12-6-NB. When I asked the 12YO if she's excited abt the NB's arrival, she replied me NO cos babies are troublesome. haha.. Her 6YO boy doesn't know how to play w my K too, even though I can see he tried.

morning... !

chillipadi: ohh.. must take care of ur darlings.. xin ku ni le..

olwen: thanks for remembering hee...

ya i ordered liao and yesterday no access to Internet whole day coz off-site.. saw the cancellation last night.. so immediately sent email to cancel the order.. haha this morn the lady super onz.. called me say cannot cancel so last min.. so i jus say sorry lor, dun care la.. so she say next time i order will have extra delivery charge.. i say ok lor..

moomommy and olwen, let's c how many vote to still meet up. Beach i went with issac last weekend still ok except the smell of oil was there. this week they say safe already right?

Liv, so u vote to postpone the meeting right?

gd morning mummies
chillipadi,
hope it's just teething, &amp; not HFMD.. &amp; get well soon. do take care!

minky
T got fever last night due to the booster jab taken the day before.. i duno if he will still have fever again tmr anot. in any case if shift to another place for gathering i wont mind to join. but provided he is free from fever unless u guys dont mind T to join if he still got fever..

nut,
u order pizza already?

ali, i don't mind him joining as long as he is up to it i guess since fever is not infectious. it is more your decision actually.

chilli padi,
speedy recovery to your gal.

Olwen, Lian,
Regarding big age gap, I think the situation might be slightly better if the older sibling is a girl. Aly was and still is a big help to me in taking care of her sis. The biggest plus point is Nat loves to hear Aly read out loud. I think she is attracted to Aly's high(er) pitch voice. And Aly is very animated when reading to her sis.

An experienced mum once told me, teach the older one well, and the younger one will (hopefully) pick up the good traits. I always tell Aly that her job is to love her sis. I tell Nat her job is to respect her elder sis - at the moment, it is more for Aly to hear lah
We don't let Nat get away when she behaves unreasonably towards Aly.

Olwen, hope things work out for Kai soon

Chillipadi,
Oh dear. Wish Emma a speedy recovery. Take care yah.

Olwen,
Yah... need to spend more time with Kai. Actually me also guilty of this. Well, it's really not easy for you to juggle time between you 4 babies, Kai, work, home and hub. I got 3 kiddos and cannot manage already. Can't imagine you got 5 leh. *pei-fu*

Age gap,
Personally i find a age gap of about 3-4yrs is jux nice. My 2 older ones are difference by 22 months and I find it too close. Nowadays only know how to fight, squabble and irritate each other. But when it comes to J3, the older sisters dotes on her like dunno what. Always give in to her. Haiz...