(2008/11) November 2008

Reading to tots:
For me sometime i read to her when she;s in her cot getting ready to sleep.. this way she wont hav chance to crawl away.. hahaha... but stil if she's not interested in that book she can do someting else like playing with parts of the cot.. then i'll be like u gals reading to wall and i'll find myself reading louder and louder in effort to catch her attention.. then in e end finally get frustrated lor..
If not in cot, i'll read to her on my own bed.. but mus make sure its a book she's inteested in..

Re: Reading,
Mummies who r reading - pls keep up your effort. I read somewhere that a young child's mind is like a sponge. They may seem to be oblivious to your reading, but surely, something will get into their head. When reading a story, read with expression and feeling. Sooner or later, they will be lured by the sound of reading. Make books readily available. They will thumb thru the books once a while. I read to Nat since she was 5 months old, but until now, all that she say is bye n jie jie, and everything else is bababa. N I will cont reading to her, and into the air.....

pnut, i hate outdoor dining with my gal too. last sat aft the kite flying we did tat and she couldn't sit still and refused her food and just wan to KLKK, i ticked her off and she went wailing in the public as if i've abused her, buay tahan, then ended up we all got to swallow down our food in mins and cheong home...

Peanut
ABC n 123? go back to the good ole' Sesame Street series. The other one is Playskool, but I dunno whether it is available in Sin.

Jes, tink V was tired after t kite flying. They tend to fuss more when tired
Mine also can't sit still in high chair de la.
After 5min sitting, she starts to throw things down. Another 5min later, she will attempt to climb out.

Jes
yah lor.. i tot if she's hungry then she'll at least stay put for a while to hav her meal.. but i was wrong.. she jus wan to get down after a few mouthful!! And its tiring! Can't hav our meal in peace and gotto follow her around! Worst she act as if she wan to pang sai in e restaurant and in e end i've to bring her home to put on potty (lucky restaurant jus downstair), only to find out in e end she played me out and me do a wasted trip home!

moomummy,
Dun worry abt the speech. Some kids do talk at a later age like my elder gal. My elder cant speak even a word at 18mths. She onli started talking 1-2 words at around 23mths.And at 2.5yr,she then started forming 3words sentences which is soooo slow as compare to her peers.But nw(4YO),she is a chatter box,talking non stop at home.At times,i wish she can stop talking for 5 mins!
Just keep talking to him,input stuff to him,he is listening! I guess he knows, but jus dun wanna open his mouth!

My boy oso v slow in his milestone.He still cant walk and talk yet.Still cruising around @ 16mths and onli word is 'ball'! Everytime i asked him to call me,he ignored.

I tink as long as we keep inputing stuff to them,they are absorbing.Jus few weeks ago,i realised my boy can sign 'milk' to me.(I showed him baby signing times a few wks ago oso)
Dun give up!

lian, dun tink so leh, cos she's still full of energy after we reached home, i tink she's just fussing over nothing lah as she just wanted to be on her own KLKK, piang.. what a nightmare dnr for us.

pnut, haha, nini sure hv a lot of patterns during outings. thats y alot of times we choose to eat at home instead of dining out, i can't imagine if i had to swallow my food everytime we are outside... so stress ah

peanut,
at least ur nini can say 'mama' leh. how i wish my boy can blabber now. haiz..

happy,
I do understand that some kids are late bloomers. but I just can't help getting worried abt it. really very gek sim lor. play with him, he's not interested. read to him, boh chup. talk to him, no response and doesn't look at me. everything oso negative.sianz... but i'll still continue to entertain him lah, until one day he finally realize that i actually exists lor.hahaha..

re:eek:utdoor dining
yah, my boy also can't sit still on the high chair. will try to climb out of it. and when we tried to stop him from doing so he'll scream and scream until his face turned sooooo red and then we have to carry him outside in order to make him stop screaming. usually we'll have to take turns to eat lor..

Alibaba & wtan,
Thanks for the advice. Will apply the calamine lotion which i supposedly by for the heat rashes(which turns up to be fake measles)

Peanut,
My boy calls me papa. He refuses to call me mama. To think I still breastfeed him until now. "gek sim" ;)

Finally free to come in..

Enne, Lian, ya lor.. some more i love flying kite. u all plan liao nv tell me if confirmed or not leh.. are we gg to organise another? actually we go fly kite almost every wkend.

Wtan, i got my kite at a bookshop too. can fly leh.. also triangular shaped. try again? must check if u tie everything correctly.

Moomummy, ur PD is very sharp to have picked it up. cos most PDs would have brushed it away, saying it is normal that kids dun talk so much etc. all the same, don't be dishearted. at least u spot the prob early. when u get home, spend lotsa lotsa time with him. i dunno if it is better for ur boy to go for childcare or not. at least there, he gets a lot more interaction than with ur maid who just let him watch tv. can think abt it. At childcare peer pressure can help them learn faster too.

Peanut, u are the same as me, worry a lot. hahaha.. actually for me, the more i read the more worried i m. i know worrying doesn't do anything either but i still worry. As to disciplining Nini, i think positive discipline book will be a hit with ur MIL. no shouting, no smacking, no crying involved. u got ur book yet?

Re: reading
I echo the views of some of the mummies here. doesn't mean they don't look interested then u stop reading. ur kids dun wanna eat, u didn't stop feeding right? keep it up. they are still very very VERY young. starting now isn't too late. if u only want them to love reading when they go to pri sch, it may be too late.

I think i posted it before, read in a place where there is no distraction. start with one book first! don't expect ur kid to want to sit through 3-4 books esp since they haven't get into the routine of reading. i, though, disagree with reading when ur kids are not paying attention. it is like u talking to nobody. if u see them distracted, then stop. else they will always rem that u will continue to make noise even if they dun pay attention and that it is FINE to do so.

Let ur kid choose the books they like. if u kid is a Barney fan, get a Barney book, etc etc.
they will keep reading the same old book again and again. so make sure u have a few Barney books around. get books with actions, like pop outs or flip outs. this will increase their interest.

Don't give up ya? Z is now able to sit through 5-8 books now. it wasn't done over night but u need to persevere. make it part of their routine every night, or in the aftn, for abt 15 mins.

moomummy
we are the group of worrying mummies.. ahahaa.. lets giv one another encouragements and hope 1day these little rascals wil let us hav a peaceful mind soon! I remm ur boy like mine always hav awakenings at nite? Any improvements these days?

Bear
yes i agree! e more we read e more we worry!!! aiyor it was when i read up about ADHD in the net that i start to worry even more. i almost freaked out when they said excessive drooling and being alwasy thirsty are some of the symptoms!!! Like that also can lei! wan to faint lor.
Ya managed to get the +ve discipline liao.. they reserve at the store i can get it anytime within 7days

Karen
haha.. sama la hor... Mine always mamamamamamma... and worst ting is i'm e only 1 correcting her! when she call my mil mama she never correct and stil response to her!!! wah liao buay tahan!

bear
yes, I'm trying to spend more time as i could with him. sometimes his reactions and inconsistent responding can frustrate me alot. but still, i'll try all sort of ways to interact with him.

peanut
yes, he still does wake up every now and then. he'll wake up and walk ard the room and play. even if i pretend to be asleep, his face will come very near to my face to see whether i'm awake or not. and if my eyes remain closed,he'll slap my face with his little hand until i open my eyes.hahaha..
he'll be awake at least for 2 hours usually. I'll be very sleepy and tired the next day, but haiz..what to do leh?
Is your nini still waking up at night too?

mine oso jia lat, whenever i asked her to call "mama", she will say "papa"... and i know she did it purposely, and she will only call me "mama" when she NEEDS me to do something for her... haiz, dun know want to laugh or to cry?!

moomummy
yes.. Nini is stil not those sleep-thru-e-nite type of tod.. she'll wake up and whine now and then and we've to either stuck back e tutu into her mouth or feed her some water or pat pat her or shout shutup then she'll go back to sleep.. i'll b thankful enuf if its only once or twice.. if suay suay then numerous times a nite

maybe shall bring him to library one of these days.. kaka... but i tink instead of reading, i will be chasing after him.. stopping him from destroying the books...

moomummy
ur boy play in middle of the night for 2hrs??? so bright enough for him to play ah??? usually i switch off the light.. maybe one curtain down til pretty dark.. sometimes he do wake up.. move about at his area... see if i awake anot... -_-.. den no one hiew him, he will fall aslp back himself.. unless he wan milk...

peanut
oh dear..numerous times a nite?so jiah lat ah? but at least she dun stay awake for 1 or 2 hours like mine. *touchwood*

alibaba
yah lor. i usually leave the night light on. but even with that, it's still quite dark leh. I dunno izzit becoz sometimes i forbid him to climb up his toys box and he purposely wakes up in the middle of the night to do so, thinking tat no one will be stopping him then. hahaha..

moomummy
u cosleep with him on your bed? mayb if he's in a cot and confined in tt small place he wont b hongxim enough to play around..

good evening mummies!

lian, jes, aly_nat, rcb & jinomo: thanks so much for coming on saturday. i so happy to c lian & jes again, rcb too but sorry until now still donno your name! thanks rcb esp for your patches, lian & jes for the pix & aly_nat for aly babysitting. little vicky is cute too.

cheeky lian: u make kayla sound like some deaf old lady. yes, gerard good boy, maybe cos kayla was around. she was also good girl. but she v skinny. Venice too. need fattening. think my rachel will squash them flat if sit on them.

donno whether kiki interested in my stats or not. on 2/3/2010: Gerard 80cm, 10.5 kg. Rachel 82 cm, 11 kg. Luke 84 cm, 10.5 kg. i got all kinds - big & fat, short & fat, tall & thin

enne, bear, moomummy: sorry! i didn't call u all cos i thought u all not free. how abt some kind soul organise anor one this week?

nut, moo: actually my rachel also cannot talk yet. the boys r talking a lot & reading lots of books. partly my mother's fault becos she dislikes rachel & does not want to put effort in teaching her. but her other gm loves her lots as does her mummy so we try to teach her whatever we can in the limited time we spend w her. honestly i don't think your kids & rachel have any disorder. i went thru all kinds of paranoid thoughts with my first one but he is doing fine, in a mainstream school altho bottom of the class. being active isn't usually ADHD, late talkers aren't always autistic. but don't give up reading, i think it's a great way to bond with your kids.

bear: rachel is doing the Z thing too, waking up 5 times a night, crawling onto my matress & squeezing into the same small space w me just to smell my chow chow pillow. i'm so sleepy, i've been yawning non-stop since i reached work. hope i don't destroy somebody's policy by my sleep deprivation. alamak.

olwen
y ur mum dislikes rachel?? prefer boys to gal dun tell me? If so already has 3 grandson stil not enuf?? tts really sad u know.. if i know of anyone who doesn't like my gal i'll b damn heartpain and sad.. kids shd all e treated equally..

good morning mummies!

peanut
yes, i co-sleep with my boy becoz he doesn't likes to sleep in his cot. and there are a few times where his leg got caught in between the railings and when he couldn't remove his leg, he started screaming the whole house down. so after much consideration,my hubby decides to dismantle the cot and let him sleep with me. we are waiting for our new place to come so that he can have his own room and we'll train him to sleep on his own by then.

olwen
its okay lah. hehe..there'll definitely be a another time where we can all meet up again. my mum has asked me to bring my boy to her place this sat, so this sat is out for me,but sunday should be fine.

oh dear, seems like your mum really prefer girls to boys yah? but never mind, i'm sure with your mil and your love for her, she'll do well too.
my mil and fil is the complete opposite actually. they dote more on my hubby's niece and dun really bother much abt my boy. and whereas my mum and dad, dotes on my boy alot. and i actually realize that kids will know and feel who loves them more coz my boy will want my parents to carry him but he'll try to wriggle his way out if my mil wants to carry him. :p

I agree with peanut, grandchildren, be it boys or gals, they should be loved equally. otherwise, when they get older, they'll feel very out of place and sometimes feel inferior when they are around their other siblings.

morning!!

moomummy, don't overworry k.. now they are still young.. my boy also dun respond to my calling, also very pek chek haha.. he also dunno how to call mama, papa etc.. jus blabbering, 15th mth MMR, the nurse ask me can he call us papa mama, i say no, she also looked very concerned, and ask me, "are u worried?" i say no la... then she say "18th mth we review again.."

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Good morning super mummies!
</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Its been like 3million years since i posted, but every now and then been silently reading, congrats to all pregga mamas! Have been really bz trying to keep up with BBA and everything else in the hse.

Sleeping
Same like bear, lately, BBA's sleeping pattern has been somewhat irregular. Waking up in the middle of the night, crying uncontrollerbly, or keeping awake like from 2am, or 4am, its so unpredictable these days! I've also been giving him Hyland teething tablets and believe its helping so hopefully it'll end really soon.

Milestones
i think BBA is also one of the slower ones. Either that or mummy is too exhuasted to keep up with him. I read to him only when it's bedtime, and even then, most of the time, i'm reading more to myself, and honestly, i feel like i can memorise the books liaoz -_-"? 'Beauty and the beast' lar, 'jungle book' blah blah.. read so often i wanna vomit blood.
BBA is really active. As in, he wont sit at 1 place for even 5 mins. If you come to my hse, you'll see my lil busy bee walking ard the living room from 3pm-6pm non-stop. And, he doesn't knw how to speak yet. Doesn't even bother to call us. -.-
If he needs anything, he'll walk over to daddy/mummy and pull our fingers to wherever he wants us to help him "do something". But we still do try to talk to him more like "do you want this?, is this what you are looking for?" etc, just hopefully one day, he'll learn to use the words.

MMRV
BBA took MMRV and had fever 1 week later.

Stats
BBA has 4 upper and 2 lower teeth. I've been letting him "brush" his teeth ever since he started to bite me when i use the finger brush to help him. VERY PAIN LEH!

He is 9.5kg @ 14mths.

Morning mummies ...
Brought Lucas to PD yesterday ... when we decided to bring him to PD, we also realise he have been digging/scratching his nose till his nose right part look red and bad.

The PD say he got a sore throat, rashes on his nose and a pus inside the nose. Have to give him antibiotic. I asked if the MMR cause the sore throat. He says MMR weakens the body, hence I believe plus not enuff drinking water, he got sore throat and fever.

Dunnoe issit bcos of his sore throat, he hasnt been sleeping well last nite and hb and I sleeping beside him also cant sleep well.

COngrats to pregnant mummies!!

Olwen, wahh~ ur babies really of good weight =D Felicia is the same weight as Rachel, though she was born much heavier... well done!

Kiki, Kindly update my gal's stats as follows. Thanks! As of 16mths, 11kg, 4upper n 4lower teeth n 1 molar teeth =)

Jo
mus b... not comfortable so can't sleep well.. But good ting now u found out wats wrong with him and tt possibly explained his decline in appetite as well.. With the rite medications i'm sure he recover v soon =)

Brot my gal back to PD for review on her flu and cough.. Doc said she's recovering (thou it doesn't seem much difference to me!) and she has to go thru another round of medications. If by end of it stil like tt then gotto do nebulizer again.. haiz... Gosh and i spoke too early.. jus when i tot she's getting ok with docs now, she cried like shit again this morning!! mus b the nebulizer done ther traumatized her so much.. Anyway on our way home i told her shame shame shame, lousy bb cried in front doc... hahaha.. like radio recorder kept repeating and repeating..

ANother thing to mention.. ask e doc to do her 15-18mths development milestones and gues wat!! he told me "Oh the 1st page u can fill in yourself".. -_- Then the rest he jus tick tick tick all ok without really checking her and asking me questions!! Wat kind of assessment is that!!!

Moomummy
Ur PD much much better wor.. who is he and from wher ah?

Liv
thanks. I'm trying not to worry oso and everyday when I play with or read to my boy, i'll always console myself that he's just going to be fine and grow up just like any other normal kids. But still...dunno lah, maybe its a mother's instinct and nature to worry, worry and nothing but worry.hahaha..

peanut
my boy's PD is from KKH and from the childrens private clinic. Her name is Dr Mary Daniel, an indian lady.
She's quite patient during our consultations with her and she can also be quite strict in terms of the check-ups on my boy. overall, she's okie lah, but just that our appt with her keeps changing, until my hubby is damn pissed off at times.

Moomummy
good docs are like that.. hav to spend time waiting for them =) Glad u got such careful PD to take care of your boy

hi ladies..
this morn hubby brought Brod went for his review at KKH (coz his last x-ray, KKH doc called to say got shadow patch at his lungs so wanted to make sure all is fine)..so that doc mentioned that he has phelgm maybe it's due to his FM..althou Brod is taking NAN HA 3 but doc said maybe he's not suitable &amp; wanted us to switch to soy based..to try out &amp; see if he will get better in a few days or wks time..for at least 6mths..not sure if i shd go with soy-based leh..or shd i try goat milk's instead..hmm...headache..must think &amp; research to chk what food cld he be allergy to that cause him to be phelgmy frequently..not easy..

<font color="aa00aa">Blood Type
eh, wanted to ask, how u all knw ur baby's blood type ah? I keep looking at the birthcert and health booklet, boh leh.. am i so blur?

it been so so long since i posted here.. Hv been a silent reader all the while..

My little Jaden has 8 upper teeth n 4 bottom teeth.. Have not taken MMR yet, cos have been sick for the last few mths..

Wtan

My Jaden always been having phelgm for the last few month, never seem to recover even though we have trained him to spit out his phelgm.. And he is taking Nan Pro 3.. I also suspect it due to the FM.. as there once when he is having diarrhoea, we switched to soy milk, n miracly he recovered.. but once we back to FM again, his cough n phelgm came back..
So now we are starting him on soy milk again.. Mayb u can try too?

btw did ur PD recommend which soy milk to give?

wtan - if his condition is due to food allergy, there's so many possibilities, esp. now that bb is taking solids. wonder if it might help to see an allergist?

RCB, pie say i forgot to thank you for providing the mosquito patch at the kite flying last sat... where my hub asked sua-ku-ly how come all the kids have the little doggy sticker at their backs?! piangz... and thanks also for tagging me in some of the pics.

and Olwen, thank you again for providing the lolipods to the kiddos.
oh... btw, i din help to take any pics leh. it was ah lian and RCB, hehe.. me like taking "free rides" from everyone, kekeke

Ah Lian, thanks for tagging me in some of the pics too!

Hi everyone! *waves*

Kite-flying: I saw the photos at FB.. so nice and fun.. the weather like not bad, not hot, quite windy. so fun.. wait brandon can walk i also join in the fun..

mommummy: i saw ur thread regarding the speech.. i felt in fact my brandon is among this thread the slowest learner. he still cant walk, speech also very slow.. till now only mama.. and "hmmmm" all the way. he not interested in most of the things.. only himself and ME. sometimes i wonder if he has autism. haiz..
yeah i agreed with olwen i think is at their own pace. and bear also say correct is haha eat must keep feeding.. so i every night bedtime i will tell him story even if he don listen.. hope he will talk one day..

MMR: I also havent take yet. next month cause he also sick may times.

Wah you all had so much fun at kite flying. Too bad I am not fit enuff to go all the way there to join you all. Maybe next time.

Moomummy:
You want to try to get your boy to interact with other kids? That way he may "open up"?

Peanut:
Kids this age are all super active, unlimited energy and short attention span lah. Dun worry too much.

Alibaba:
I am still letting Alyssa use first teeth. Made of milk enzymes and edible products.

When I try to read to Alyssa, she is not interested. But she is interested in flipping the books, especially to close it. Seems like she's not really intersted but actually, by just closing the book-open again-close again, she actually knows what's the content. I also bought Alyssa a kids table and chair and will be giving her colouring books this week.

Peanut:
My gal calls my mum "ma". Coz she cannot say "grand" yet. She calls my dad "pa" also coz of the "grand". We keep repeating grandma and grandpa to her when we see them. But dun overly enforce. he to be able to say the "grand" coz she will pick it up when ready.

Re: Milestones
I really think that dun overworry lah. Some may be abit slower, some abit faster. Each kid has areas which we worry about, and are strong in. As long as its not extremely slow, then no cause for worry. If really that slow, then maybe consult PD or specialist for their opinion. For me, I am not worried about Alyssa's development because she really dictates her own learning, I am unable to control her coz if she refuse, she refuse to do or learn anything. But when she is in the mood, she can count, sign songs, answer A-D and differentiate body parts. She cannot sit through the shortest of shortest of story books and is super duper underweight too. She's prob the lightest here at 8kg (15 mths).

Fifi
Well said. We mummies must really worry less, n enjoy our little ones. I must admit, s'times I worry too much, and that gets on hb's nerves.

We teach my older gal to call my SIL "jiu mu". For a long time, she couldn't articulate the words. One fine day, my SIL realised that she did address her, by calling her "moo" ("mu"). I think my dd only start talking after her 2nd b'day.

Fifi, first teeth is now selling at $21 in the store! Paing.. Inflation sia...
Cannot believe, one small tube of toothpaste can cost $21.

Olwen was saying my K very skinny... wait until she sees your A. hehe..
Mine is really small appetite girl, and very active. KLKK all day long. N hates milk.
Actually me is thinking whether to try pediasure. But I stocked up so much GainIQ during the Guardian promo!

Need 5 More Parents to Take a Quick Survey - help a grad student

This is the last time I will bug you about my survey.
I need to have 5 more surveys completed by March 12 to be able to do my study. If you haven't taken it already, could you please take 5 minutes to respond? I really appreciate your help! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley
University of St. Thomas
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Good morning!
</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jenn
Xie xie ni!

Taka Baby Fair
Anyone gg?

morning mummies: boss is in so i make this a short one.

moo, nut: yes, my mum prefers boys to girls. she loves especially my number 1 cos he was her only grandchild for a long time. can't really blame her. my gm gave her a v hard time over not having any boys. but she's ok lah. she doesn't beat rachel. just scolds her. &amp; she helps me a lot w the 3 boys. funny thing is, on monday night i went home &amp; she was v excited, told me rachel said her first word "por por". such a wonderful thing. &amp; so strange, her first word is to call the gm who's always scolding her.

adensmummy: *wave* long time no see. i also forgot to call u for kite flying. u live in sengkang too, right?

jenn: u too! how r u? javier must be so big already. when u going back to work? want my pump? i think i given up selling it.

RCB: now i know what your real name is cos i saw on lian's face book! ok, i go add u too

lian: aiyah, u never say u want toothpaste earlier. first teeth so ex. i have so many samples of baby bling at home. will be expiring in a month's time too. give me your address. i post to u.

fifi, lian, jenn: yes, i think K &amp; A r v slim. maybe like mummy. i donno y my rachel is not like me. i thought she would outgrow her puppy fat but she seems to be getting bigger &amp; bigger instead. but K got cute chubby cheeks.

Ah lian, the first teeth at $21 is with the brush right? buy the one w/o brush, watsons &amp; guardian both selling at $13+. the other day i spotted this first teeth at a neighbourhood toiletries shop selling at $9.90 only

olwen, 爱之深恨之切
Thks for t offer, but i still have 1 tube of first teeth left in my cupboard

Jes, neighbourhood shop @ hougang ma?
U know, last time Fifi did oversea spree for us, first teeth only cost $9, with brush somemore!